Proton parts shortage update – all 147 3S/4S dealers now have one-month stock of 22 fast-moving parts

Proton has stepped up its aftersales parts availability across its entire network of 147 3S and 4S outlets around the country, which from now on will have at least one month of stock for 22 different fast-moving parts, the carmaker stated in a social media post.

Of these outlets, five centres will have three months’ worth of fast-moving parts stock, it said; these are Atiara Johan, Lesydear Automobile, Pantai Baharu, LHM One Stop Car and The Apple Auto.

“After listening to a lot of customer feedback, we are aggressively improving our aftersales service to meet their expectations. There are many steps left to take over the coming months and, we expect to make more improvements along the way, but for now this will help ease customer concerns and waiting times for service parts,” said Proton VP of sales and aftersales Edmund Lim.

This comes after the carmaker acknowledged the issues facing aftersales parts availability at its dealers, which has resulted in some customers’ cars being stuck at official service centres as they wait for the required parts to arrive. Some would be partially serviced with the parts available at the time, and subsequently require the owners to return for the tasks to be completed when the rest of the parts arrive.

While the noise surrounding the matter of parts shortages afflicting Proton seems apparent, the carmaker isn’t perturbed, though it is taking the matter seriously and are working to rectify the issues, said Proton deputy CEO Roslan Abdullah.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• seancorr on Apr 01, 2022 at 5:14 pm

I believe this is the only brand who needed to hold a press conference to address this long standing issue that has been happening for years. They may have Geely onboard now but there’s so much they can do when they still have old blood from Proton that used to be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • Arnie on Apr 02, 2022 at 5:57 pm

Well that was a fast period they have stocked up 1 months worth, so expect a quick turnaround to meet their 3 months target ahead of schedule. Again quick thinking by Proton management solved their problems once more. Brilliant!

• Chris Rock JV Will Smith on Apr 02, 2022 at 6:37 pm

Chris Rock will have a new joke for people who gian gian wait 6 months for X50 only to discover spart parts nightmare .It is like having a vacation in Ukraine only to discover you are trapped by Putin’s missile strikes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • Spin Too Much on Apr 02, 2022 at 6:40 pm

There is no problem with Proton, only socmed blows things out of proportion. As CEO Roslan said, majority are not facing any issues. A car has thousands of parts but only 22 parts are facing shortages. Statistically that is minuscule to insignificant.

Just coz Proton is actively engaging with the media while other brands choses to ignore it *looks at Toyota* doesn’t anything more than Proton now actively choses to squash fake news that might just become a long running myth similar to that power window bunkum.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Jill Rosmah on Apr 03, 2022 at 3:49 pm

The spare parts problem at P1 has been going on since the launch of X70.
        Nobody is spinning a story to undermine Proton.
        Roslan n DRB dudes have been sleeping on the job,till Dr.Li has to chair war room meetings.
        Other car distributors also have problems ,but not at this magnitude,where car owners literally curse their luck buying Protong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
        • Amran on Apr 04, 2022 at 8:31 am

Every brands are all the same, no matter where you go

• X70 Buyer on Apr 04, 2022 at 8:35 am

You are right. Nobody is spinning stories here except you and your fake accounts. I do not have any problems getting spareparts & consumables for my X70 and neither anyone in my group. The only one cursing Proton is you, all because its success rob you of your P2 sales. Yes we know you work for them.

• Muhammad Najmi on Apr 11, 2022 at 1:15 pm

But at least those who complain are people who have X70 and X50 for real. If it’s true that they have an issue with their car and give criticisms also ask for help to be honest, then it’s fair. And just as well if they file a complaint with SA to the Proton HQ, for those who get poor service from the Outler-SA, and that’s also fair …

I hope Proton monitors people who actually have issues with the original owner (not “fake” people who are not the owner of those two models on social media and like to spread fake rumors) X50 and X70 on social media and are more active in responding to criticism both on social media and other complaints …

• aumeow on Apr 04, 2022 at 10:04 am

Said honda salesman

• Kanasai on Apr 01, 2022 at 8:13 pm

Like what poton techician inform me, all the pakcik makcik high at poton management duwan to listen to uncle geely who warning sparepart long lead time, everybody so syiok think sale so good no need to stock up on spare parts. Now all kanasai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Contradiction on Apr 04, 2022 at 8:40 am

At least proton are also focusing delivering cars. I don’t see anyone complain about spare parts

• khan mohd on Apr 01, 2022 at 10:03 pm

bcareful those who service car at LHM one stop nilai,they even buy parts from spare parts shop outside when they have no stock n even they are using topup oil from shell bottle,the service manager there is useless n uneducated name david.

• Muhammad Najmi on Apr 01, 2022 at 11:17 pm

Whatever happens, this year Proton must focus on logistical issues (on auto parts and parts) and production first (on new car orders and orders that have been waiting for a long time for unfinished cars), so that new models will be released later. no or not. unlikely to get a problem like this, Good luck Proton…

• After approval from insurance from a minor accident… we waited 6 weeks for X70 Parts n installation… the system is so poor that there was no Eta of Parts status available. Even the customer service phone is always unavailable and no return call after leaving messages… is really a painful experience

• Melania Rosmah on Apr 03, 2022 at 3:54 pm

Spin Too Much should read and digest this feedback from disgruntled Proton owner.
      Perhaps Spin too much is a P1 DRB lapdog.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
      • X70 Buyer on Apr 04, 2022 at 8:36 am

That is rich coming from a hired P2 lapdog troll. Talk to me if you want to know X70 has part problems. It has none.

• David on Apr 02, 2022 at 3:48 pm

Aim to be Asean leader yet struggling to manage parts. Shiok sendiri

• Quick Silver on Apr 02, 2022 at 5:18 pm

So what are these 22 essential parts that SC is required to keep 3 months stock?

• alldisc on Apr 02, 2022 at 5:40 pm

Now who is this Edmund Lim as so called VP, does he really has the knowledge and experience or he landed a job there because of his cable to Dr Li?

Come on. Geely has been with Proton for half a decade. And you dont knowledge how to predict parts storage and required?

Go to umw toyota and learn their Kanban concept. That is to knowledge how many parts an outlet has ordered in the past 6 months and divide by 180 days. That day You will knowledge what is the average stocks per day required and You work it out how many u need to store according to number of working days in a week and number of trips made by HQ warehouse and then you will get the monthly average demand number as guidance.

• WONG WL on Apr 02, 2022 at 7:11 pm

tipu la, same day i did my service at atiara johan, i was told NO STOCK for air cond filter, crazy talk BIG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11