2022 Honda City Hatch V-Sensing in Malaysia – RM92k

This is the day many have known would come – Honda Malaysia has finally introduced the City Hatchback V-Sensing. Like its sedan counterpart, it sits between the City V and range-topping City RS, and is priced at RM91,708 (SST-exempt sum, applicable until June 30, 2022). Included in the price is a five-year unlimited-mileage warranty and five times free labour for servicing.

Now with Sensing, it features seven of the advanced driver assistance systems (camera-based) previously reserved for the RS. Those include adaptive cruise control, autonomous emergency braking with pedestrian, cyclist and oncoming vehicle detection, forward collision warning, lane keep assist system, road departure mitigation, lane departure warning, and auto high beam.

All this for just RM3,848 over the regular V? That’s a good deal right there. So good in fact that 34% of all the City sold in Q1 2022 were equipped with Honda Sensing.

The rest of the kit remains the same as the V, so there’s still Honda LaneWatch, reverse camera, six airbags, full LED headlights, LED combination tail lights, 16-inch wheels, an eight-inch infotainment touchscreen with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, and eight speakers.

As per the sedan, the hatch also has Honda Connect services that include automatic collision and alarm detection, speed and geofencing alerts, a vehicle locator and emergency calls. The smartphone app also allows users to check their vehicle status, control their car remotely and be reminded of their next service.

The City Hatchback is available in five exterior colours, including the new Ignite Red and Meteorite Grey Metallic. The three other hues shared with the sedan are Platinum White and Crystal Black Pearl and Lunar Silver Metallic. See what we think of the City Hatchback, or browse CarBase.my to take a look at its full specifications and equipment.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• mikehighseas on Apr 12, 2022 at 3:05 pm

Earlier buyers of City hatchback V variant will not be happy chaps….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Its not like the upgrade is for free lah, its nearly RM4k dearer mind you so not all VSpec buyers would willing to pay that extra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • Mr Fakta on Apr 12, 2022 at 5:57 pm

They know very much Honda sensing is coming to hatchback looking at the sedan.

• cheese on Apr 12, 2022 at 6:02 pm

They should have launch V Sensing together with other variants last year.

• Savon on Apr 12, 2022 at 3:15 pm

Without blind spot monitor and 360 camera, no buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • B-segment will be breaching RM100k and it will be a norm

• I think old Jazz looks prettier than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • cheese on Apr 12, 2022 at 3:31 pm

Now only come with V Sensing. Should have already launch V Sensing last year together with other variants. Yet, still come with cheap lanewatch instead of bsm.

• aumeow on Apr 12, 2022 at 3:42 pm

Ugly car. Design looks terrible. Back also copied from 1 series hatchback

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Something serious wrong with your eyes… don’t see which part is a copy of 1 series… oh, it’s hatchback, copy from others. Duh…

• aumeow on Apr 13, 2022 at 2:22 pm

Do you think behind of this City hatchback looks almost same as 1 Series, also when comes with tailight parting?

• You only look at tail lights instead of the entire rear? OK… sure. Whatever that tickles your fancy.

Many has commented that it looks like the A class hatchback but OK, tail lights look like 1 series.

BTW, BMW never had a hatchback until 2004. Honda’s first hatchback was in 1972 but sure… Honda needed to copy 1 series.

*Gotta love you Honda haters. FYI, your down votes are not going to stop people from buying what they like. But it certainly is stopping me from considering Toyota so well done.

• Logic? on Apr 16, 2022 at 11:47 pm

It is not right thing to copy. Each have their own designs. Downvotes doesn’t mean that people are still buying as you think. Upvotes and downvotes can tell whether people agree with you or not. We don’t hate anything. If you don’t like toyota as since you are always toyota hater, then don’t buy, no one is ever forcing you.

• SlowPoke on Apr 18, 2022 at 9:14 pm

With all the comments on rear looking like BMW and Mercedes. Am I the only one thinks it looks like 2012 Audi A1?

• So unfortunate that many saw this coming, because it’s true. It’s like if a phone manufacturer released a phone with less RAM than expected, then a few months later they release a new variant of the same phone but with increased RAM! They did this for the City sedan which was fine since that had no precedent, but when they released the City hatchback it should’ve come with V Sensing, or the V should’ve just been standard with Sensing. Serious money grab move.

• Carl25 on Apr 12, 2022 at 6:18 pm

why no low speed follow?

• probably stereo camera failed to gauge near object distance, if equip with radar sensor it may archieve low speed auto cruise

• Vito Aditya on Apr 14, 2022 at 3:10 pm

No electronic parking brake.

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 13, 2022 at 8:46 am

blind spot monitor please?

• Carl25 on Apr 13, 2022 at 6:53 pm

why no radar then..

• Somehow the back looks lame…so plain and not “garang” ….even Suprima’s back looks way better ..