Proton signs agreement to re-enter South Africa, aims to grow export sales by more than 300% by end-2022

Proton will be re-entering South Africa, as it has signed an agreement for the appointment of CMH Group to be the distributor of Proton vehicles in that market. The virtually held signing ceremony will see the first shipment of fully imported models enter the South African market in September, beginning with the X50 and X70 SUVs, the carmaker said in its statement.

The national carmaker is optimistic about its prospects in the South African market, and it aims to more than double its sales volume there in 2023, it said. Proton has seen its first-quarter total export sales this year increase by 175% compared to the same period last year, and that figure is expected to grow even further as it aims to increase export sales by more than 300% by the end of this year, said Proton.

In terms of exports as of the first quarter of this year, 794 units of various models were shipped out in March, and Pakistan is Proton’s largest export market, accounting for 690 units last month. Prior to the addition of South Africa, Proton currently exports to 13 countries, and has local assembly operations in Pakistan, Kenya and Bangladesh, to be joined by Sri Lanka in the second half of this year.

Proton is also taking an increasingly prominent role as part of overall vehicle exports from Malaysia, the carmaker said. This was 12.9% of total exports from Malaysia in 2019, growing to 30.2 in 2020 before reaching 60.9% last year, which made Proton the top exporter of vehicles in the country, as well as showcasing its export performance despite difficult market conditions due to the pandemic, it said.

“Proton’s long-term goals require exports to play a major role to grow the company’s overall sales as total industry volume in Malaysia is expected to remain flat. So, we are exploiting the strength of our new products, our brand and even the links Malaysia has with other countries to establish a foothold in many new markets. This is then bolstered by establishing knock-down (local assembly) operations where possible, which also helps to grow local economies,” said Proton director of international sales Steven Xu.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Dong Gor on Apr 28, 2022 at 7:05 pm

Only x50 and x70.. Pure Geely cars. In other words the other proton models are outdated/ not competitive out there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • Jaguh Global on Apr 29, 2022 at 8:14 am

Proton now can compete globally so let’s remove the car tax excise duties.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • Amran on Apr 29, 2022 at 12:29 pm

P1 dah lama kata xpe bukak saje tapi P2 kata jangan!

• Agreed, no need for preferential treatment locally anymore since they apparently can stand on their own two feet now. Equal and level playing field for all car manufacturers, please.

• excise duty are applicable to ALL cars, P1 & P2 included. in a way it’s good as it forced ALL manufacturers to open factories here – even Porsche, MB, BMW had to open factories here in order to sell, which created many high-level jobs that employs locals.

but again, the excise duty should be removed for ALL cars, then replaced with luxury tax – maju countries already did this as the rich don’t care about the tax while the B40 & M40 can enjoy reasonably priced cars.

• Raja Kamarul on Apr 29, 2022 at 11:18 am

What is your point, Dong Gor? And if you bothered researching, PROTON did say the Saga will follow. Even if they didn’t, what is the issue? If the market is pro-SUV, would you send a lesser car where margins are already thin? Are you assuming, yes, assuming that there won’t be any co-developed cars with Geely?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Muhammad Najmi on Apr 29, 2022 at 12:26 pm

They Sold Sagas in Pakistan and Bangladesh, two countries with one of the largest population in the world….

• Brian on Apr 29, 2022 at 12:30 pm

Stoopid comment. In South Africa the roads are like shits, SUV types like X50/X70 would be more suitable to enter such markets and once they have a better understanding they could adapt their sedans to African road conditions. Your like saying since Porsche only CKD Cayenne here that meant others Macan, Cayman, etc are outdated/ not competitive in our market? Stupid logic.

• Shamshir Hassan on May 01, 2022 at 3:51 pm

^And here’s a comment that haven’t seen some really mean twisties people can do around Joburg. What, is all of Africa an untamed savannah to you? Also, hilarious that you’d put a CCP SUV at the same standard as a Pajero or a Jeep.

• Hamxa Anjum on Apr 28, 2022 at 7:35 pm

Proton launched X70 in Pakistan in December 2020 and hasn’t delivered a single CKD unit yet. Its April 2022 already. hopeless experience

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • KJ, University of Oxford on Apr 29, 2022 at 2:38 pm

Hamxa
      You see those guys in the photo giving the thumbs up?
      To themselves as “superheroes” while the poor fanboy is cursing his service centre for this reply,” Sabar ,Tuan..spare parts dari China lambat,Shanghai now lockdown.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Copy Paste on Apr 30, 2022 at 1:17 pm

Copy paste: “Actually i’ve read a news yesterday, that for Pakistani Market. Yesterday, The x70 are already began to be delivered to the customers, while the saga has been delivered in early April ….

X70 = https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=494157029157953&id=100498595190467&m_entstream_source=timeline&__tn__=%2As%2As-R

Saga = https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=476207087619614&id=100498595190467&m_entstream_source=timeline&__tn__=%2As%2As-R”

• Anjumm on Apr 28, 2022 at 7:37 pm

they maybe shipping to Pakistan but no one is buying due to company’s lack of commitments. more than 1 year and zero deliveries.. now people are not even buying Proton cars and cancelling already booked units

https://carspiritpk.com/zero-sales-of-proton-x70-reported-in-march-2022/

• Muhammad Najmi on Apr 28, 2022 at 9:14 pm

And Always Remember, ok You Know what this is too much…and i know some of you guys who are Either Proton Fanboys or Proton Users here are going to pissed off …

But Always remember to prioritize and focus on Spare Parts Availibility Issue too for both in Malaysia and Exported Too …

So that Sales will continue to grow and the problem of spare parts when the car breaks down will not make customers dizzy, so please prioritize that too ..

Gooluck P1, and i hope my suggestion here will be heard by you guys, please …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Ruslan Bahari on Apr 29, 2022 at 11:19 am

Fully agreed. Cars that are ordered months ag in Malaysia still remain undelivered. Same with Pakistan.

Get the basics right first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Muhammad Najmi on Apr 29, 2022 at 12:39 pm

Actually i’ve read a news yesterday, that for Pakistani Market. Yesterday, The x70 are already began to be delivered to the customers, while the saga has been delivered in early April ….

X70 = https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=494157029157953&id=100498595190467&m_entstream_source=timeline&__tn__=%2As%2As-R

Saga = https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=476207087619614&id=100498595190467&m_entstream_source=timeline&__tn__=%2As%2As-R

• KJ, University of Oxford on Apr 29, 2022 at 2:32 pm

M Najmi
      Do you know,in Bolehland some people start ‘Mt Everest ” celebrations when they have just arrived at base camp?
      The ardent fanboys have been taken for a ride.
      As long as the “syiok sendiri” DRB dudes are around,you will hear of spare part shortages till year end.
      Would anyone recommend others to buy a Proton if these spart parts issue go unsolved,while at the same time they boast we r going to export to Africa,Pakistan and even USA soon?
      Use your brains to think.Dont just join the crowd.Park your covidian Rm in another notable car brand.We r not saying other brands have no issues,but P1 part shortages is like the war in Ukraine now..they need to have war room meetings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
      • https://paultan.org/2022/02/07/chip-shortage-expected-to-continue-this-year-report/
        Oh wow in your tiny little dream world DRB dudes are so great they can affect chip shortages worldwide. Wow.

Wake up lah! The only one celebrating at Mt Everest base camp is you and you are doing it naked outside displaying your kemaluan for all to see. Memalukan diri saja.

You ask people to use brain, well you should go get some since Covid has probably rot it so bad that your nothing more than a zombie troller spouting nonsense.

• Indon on Apr 30, 2022 at 9:55 am

Proton will fail…nobody wants to buy Proton except malaysian nationalists…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • https://paultan.org/2022/01/04/proton-leads-malaysian-exports-3018-units-in-2021-over-100-increase-continued-growth-expected/
            I guess in the world there are over 3,000 nonmalaysian malaysian nationalist

• Muhammad Najmi on Apr 29, 2022 at 4:56 pm

Thank You for reminding me then

• Edward Tan on Apr 28, 2022 at 11:25 pm

Can’t even cater for local demands and yet exporting overseas. The buyers in Malaysia are still waiting for their X70. Some have been waiting for almost 4 to 6 months. Please take priority for local demands first.

• Muhammad Najmi on Apr 29, 2022 at 12:23 pm

Lol, the world still have a problem with microchip logistics and availability issues…for real…..

• Celup King on Apr 29, 2022 at 12:58 pm

https://paultan.org/2022/04/28/2022-tesla-model-3-one-year-waiting-list-in-australia/
      Everywhere also same lah

• Zoom zoom on Apr 29, 2022 at 5:03 pm

Yes.. handle your local sales first. my col X50 flagship booked Nov21.. supposed 6 months collect in Apr22 but salesman said will delay for another 3 months to Jul22.

• Copy Paste on May 01, 2022 at 11:57 am

Copy paste: “https://paultan.org/2022/04/28/2022-tesla-model-3-one-year-waiting-list-in-australia/
        Everywhere also same lah”

• Mecloud on Apr 29, 2022 at 8:47 am

Quality problem, spare part problem, service center altitude, still the same old Proton you revive because of Geely car if the current practice continue it’s just matter of time people will stay away from Proton and the history repeat itself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
  • James KWON on Apr 29, 2022 at 11:04 am

any place Geely brand cant sell, they send Proton to cover them. smart move but underneath still Geely China car. this is not true Proton car to be proud of.

• Chong Or Pei on Apr 29, 2022 at 3:06 pm

Yes, better buy Perodua kan? All local. NOT!

• Shamshir Hassan on May 01, 2022 at 3:54 pm

At least that’s a Daihatsu rather than a commie-made papier-mache soapbox racer.

• Bob Mal on Apr 29, 2022 at 11:09 am

Guess Proton not exporting into neighboring country particularly Thailand & Indonesia so much nearer says a lot about their saturated market or ??

• Raja Celup on Apr 29, 2022 at 5:23 pm

Thailand & Indonesia national car is Toyota. Lain-lain brand dari China pegi main jauh-jauh lah okay.

• No wonder they still remain poor countries, all profits sent back to Japan. They should wake up and realise they are enriching a rich country while they remain a shithole.

• Celup King on Apr 30, 2022 at 3:17 pm

Proton still king of export while P2 got telor figures all sales only local cannot sell outside. Total failure brand.

• year 2021 sell 1 car to South Africa.

year 2022 sell 4 cars to South Africa.

x50 x 2, x70 x 2.

settle, 300% increase.