2022 Proton Saga MC2 facelift – bodykit teaser shown

Another day, another official teaser of the 2022 Proton Saga MC2 facelift, which will be launched on May 12. Yesterday, Proton showed the refreshed Saga’s new front grille (round logo, X50-style red strip) and a close-up shot of the “four-spoke” shuriken-style alloys; today, we get to see the side of the car.

“Get ready to experience a new level of exhilaration with the new Proton Saga. The Intelligent Proposition is set to make a greater impact with the best handling in its class offering you more than just a new car – it’s an experience,” the caption reads. The headline is “manoeuvrability at its finest”.

The text talks about the Saga handling, but what’s more interesting (because it’s new) is the view of the new bodykit, specifically the side skirts. As you can see, they’re rather thick and prominent, and they will be joined by front bumper skirts for balance. Nothing on the rear bumper. The side skirts and front bumper add-ons are exclusive to the new range-topper called Premium S.

The teaser also shows the 15-inch two-tone wheels in motion. This new rim will be for Premium and Premium S variants – the Standard continues with 14-inch items. Other exterior changes include black side mirror caps and a black rear number plate garnish that houses the Proton script.

Spyshots have given us a glimpse of the 2022 Saga’s interior, which sports plenty of red accents. You’ll find the “sporty colour” on the air vent frames (including the directional tabs), meter rings and steering wheel button dividers. The centre stack has been rearranged in terms of cubby holes, and there’s a new AC control panel that looks like the panel from the 2022 Iriz, but without air flow adjustment and piano key-style buttons. New Proton logo on the steering boss, too.

The 7.0-inch infotainment touchscreen (Premium onwards) gets a gloss black surround, new graphics (including an X50-style Proton logo home button) and a “please check your belongings” goodbye screen seen on Peroduas. The screen looks different here, so perhaps it’s based on the Atlas OS as found in the latest Iriz/Persona.

Other new features include keyless entry, push-button start, auto-fold side mirrors, an external boot release (why was this omitted in the first place?) and leather upholstery. Electronic stability control has also been expanded to include the Standard AT (base Standard MT continues without ESC), although there’s still no autonomous emergency braking.

No changes are expected for the what’s under the hood, and the Saga should soldier on with the familiar 1.3 litre naturally aspirated four-pot with 95 PS and 120 Nm. Five-speed manual in the base variant aside, the Campro VVT is mated to a Hyundai-sourced four-speed automatic gearbox, which was introduced in the 2019 facelift to replace the previous CVT.

Two more days to launch. Perhaps tomorrow’s final teaser would be of the interior.

GALLERY: 2022 Proton Saga MC2 spyshots

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Inb4 trolls, haters, bots & idiots sewaktu dengan mereka.

• newme on May 10, 2022 at 12:41 pm

Tagline bukan main lagi….

“Intelligent Proposition”

“Manoeuvrability at its finest” (itu pun dia eja salah, it’s “Maneuverability”. Apalah Proton ni)

“Designed to make a statement”

Main letak je tagline, paham maksud dia tak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
    • Khalid nizam on May 10, 2022 at 1:59 pm

Spelling x salah …..UK n USA spelling x sama….belajar English ke tak?….suka suka nak hentam saja….buat malu la wei

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on May 10, 2022 at 4:34 pm

Created by Malaysia
        Nurtured by China

• newme on May 10, 2022 at 4:51 pm

oh.. yeke? Sorry lah. I belajar kat USA. Jauh tu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
        • English Teacher on May 10, 2022 at 5:40 pm

Stop trying to justify your foolishness. This is Malaysia where we learn the Queen’s English, this is not USA.

• Anti Moron on May 10, 2022 at 7:34 pm

Oh my.. Stop being stupid and stop bragging more of your stupidity. Just stfu.

• Biasalah…proton bang

• troll_seeker on May 10, 2022 at 3:17 pm

Hahaha.. cmon la “newme”, you should know better la.. do some research first before commenting.. your stupidity is showing! hahaha

• Ejaan betul on May 10, 2022 at 4:54 pm

Ejaan betul la tu.
      Yg baca tu faham perbezaan ejaan UK dan US ke tak?
      Komen bukan main lagi

• Malaysian English uses British Spelling :

https://www.ldoceonline.com/dictionary/manoeuvrable

Bruh …

• Muhammad Najmi on May 10, 2022 at 5:46 pm

Cambridge :

https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/manoeuvrability

• English Teacher on May 10, 2022 at 5:37 pm

manoeuvrability – UK spelling
      maneuverability – USA spelling
      Ask yourself if we were colonised by UK or USA?

Before you sound people, either get your English correct or your history correct, either one or both.

• Simpan sikit bodo tu ya. on May 10, 2022 at 9:11 pm

Terserlah ‘kebijaksanaan’ ko tu newme. Ingt org dlm proton tu level2 ko ke? Asek nk kondem je tahu. Caknalah sedikit utk masa dpn tuh.

At least they are getting better. May I ask, what is your contribution to our beloved country?

• Paul ban on May 11, 2022 at 10:03 am

You sound like stupid when you speak english

• B40 rejoice

• Obanama on May 10, 2022 at 1:27 pm

Really had enough with all these facelift teasers. Do we really need to have a separate bodykit teaser for Proton Saga.

• trull_siker on May 10, 2022 at 3:20 pm

I will remember your name and expect you to comment the same thing when other brands do it (teasers or separate teasers). If you don’t, I will consider (heavily) that you’re just a hater.

• outdated design. No teaser needed!

• Sabrikor,Ajibkor,Hamidikor (SAH) on May 10, 2022 at 2:56 pm

Elon Musk…if he got the time to look at this outdated design…of my gaud….”where is this Car Manufacturer,in Timbuktu? “

• boteotb on May 10, 2022 at 3:25 pm

Imagine your wife, that you’ve been married for years wearing something new – a dress or something – and you blurted out “outdated design. No teaser needed!” to her..

• Husnuzon... on May 10, 2022 at 9:14 pm

Husnuzon je. Mayb dia xde wife tu. Gi rumah merah, tu yg x perlu teaser2…

• Dong Gor on May 10, 2022 at 3:16 pm

it’s the same car on the road for 5 yrs already…what is there to tease? aiyo… no matter what you change, the metal shit is still the same la. reserve “teaser” for something more special please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Hang suka hang beli, x suka just stfu. on May 10, 2022 at 9:15 pm

X prnah dgr apa itu teknik pemasaran?

• JUST GIVE US 1.6 ENGINE OPTION

• Up to you... on May 10, 2022 at 9:17 pm

Different target segment la… They need to keep it as cheap (affordable) as possible. If 1.6, the price may shoot to +-50k.

• Celup King on May 11, 2022 at 10:58 am

HAHAHA right later people complain about higher fuel consumption then haters got more to hate. Why should proton do something that is not what they buyers wanted.

• anonymous_C on May 11, 2022 at 1:21 pm

1.6cc engine option is one off… if offer will kill off Persona/iRiz sales

• Anonymous_C on May 11, 2022 at 1:39 pm

Change of logo is like a company making a statement, but a Malaysian company “updating” a logo does not have the same business statement (from global company perspective).
    Dropping the shield layman terms meant does not require protection or just letting indicating change of management?

Proton introduce logo back in 2019 (from previous 2016).
    New logo only applies to Proton X50 (2020), Persona/iRiz (2021). Now Saga just got new logo in 2022.

Don’t think Exora will get this new logo.

• TiadaGigi on May 11, 2022 at 11:03 pm

Here people are talking about the car features and you’re assessing the logo? Riiight.. that is a concern.. only for superstitious people!!

Regardless, it’s only natural that they will go for the new logo eventually. What is the purpose for changing it in the first place when they’re going to use the old design anyway?