2022 Proton Saga MC2 teased before May 12 launch – “four-spoke” alloy wheels, circular badge shown

Officially announced in a press release last week, the updated 2022 Proton Saga (codenamed MC2, or Minor Change 2) has been teased on the national carmaker’s social media channels, drumming up excitement for the launch – now confirmed for May 12 at 9:45am. As previously reported, the entry-level sedan will get a mildly refreshed exterior, a far-reaching interior redesign and several new features.

The sole image shows the new 15-inch multi-spoke alloy wheels on the Premium and new Premium S variants, which comes in a two-tone finish with four of the spokes picked out in silver, giving a shuriken-like look. Also visible is the range-topping variant’s bodykit – body-coloured on production cars rather than black on the development prototype.

Included in the post is a link to register your interest, which shows another photo – this time of the front end. Although the fascia is recognisably the Saga’s (no change in design here), the Infinite Weave grille gets the new circular Proton badge, which made its first appearance on the company’s indigenously-designed models on last year’s facelifted Iriz and Persona.

The full-width Ethereal Bow strip on the grille is also finished in red instead of chrome, just like the X50 SUV. Unfortunately for those of you hoping for Perodua Bezza-style LED headlights, it also appears the Saga will stick with halogen lamps, as hinted by the yellow glow. Black door mirrors and rear number plate garnish (the latter still incorporating the Proton script) are also expected to feature.

Recent spy shots of the car’s interior have also shown a redesigned centre console, sporting red-trimmed air vents (including the directional tabs) and the new Iriz-style digital air-conditioning controls (which still lack air flow adjustment). The centre storage slot under the vents has also disappeared, replaced by a larger cubby next to the 12-volt socket; the cupholders underneath appear to have been revamped as well.

Elsewhere, the Exora-style three-spoke steering wheel gets a new airbag boss with the Proton roundel, as seen on the Iriz and Persona. Behind it, the twin-dial instrument cluster – still with the monochrome LCD multi-info display, it seems – gets red instead of silver rings.

The seven-inch infotainment touchscreen on the Premium and Premium S looks to be the same as before, albeit with a gloss black surround, new graphics (including an X50-style Proton logo home button) and a Perodua-esque “please check your belongings” screen. Notably, however, this still looks to be the same Android-based operating system as before, rather than the new Atlas OS found in the Iriz and Persona.

Other slated new features include keyless entry, push-button start, auto-fold side mirrors, an external boot release and leather upholstery, all of which are limited to the Premium S. The availability of stability control has also been expanded to include the Standard AT (the base Standard MT continues without this vital safety net), although there’s still no autonomous emergency braking, unlike the Bezza.

No changes are expected for the mechanicals, meaning that the Saga should soldier on with the same 1.3 litre naturally aspirated Campro VVT four-cylinder engine as before, pushing out 95 PS at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Also staying put is the four-speed Hyundai-sourced automatic gearbox – which was introduced in the 2019 facelift to replace the old CVT – and five-speed manual.

GALLERY: 2022 Proton Saga MC2 spyshots

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Kinda preferred the rims on the pre-facelift Saga – those looked surprisingly classy. This will probably still remain one of the best value buys in its segment, though.

• Raja Celup on May 09, 2022 at 4:37 pm

Lol…KDK fan rims design and that lipstick red lines. Lmao!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Well, “looks” are always subjective. Each person with their own view of it. If you don’t like the car looks, you would say the rim design look like kdk fan and the red lines are “lipsticky”. Otherwise, you might say the rims look like a nice big shuriken and you’re loving the red lines cause it looks sporty. So, yeah.. only amateur will attempt to sway people by mentioning the looks instead of other more important features.

• newme on May 09, 2022 at 12:06 pm

Tukar badge, tukar grille also want to tease ah? Lain lah tukar engine or transmission. Paling tidak pun tukar headlight…. something that affect the usability of the car. Ni tukar grille… amende ler.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
    • Muhammad Najmi on May 09, 2022 at 7:54 pm

This is a Facelift, not a new generation Saga. Please learn the difference.

I agree, that the headlight design has not changed like the Iriz and Persona. But at the end of the day, Reliability, Affordability, versatility and durability are paramount to this facelift. Hopefully better than the previous facelift.

• newme on May 10, 2022 at 9:26 am

Tau facelift, takyahlah teasing teasing. Teasing tu klu major change.

• Vaaudewan Palakrishnen on May 09, 2022 at 8:11 pm

Major changes done on internal rather than external.. Keyless..push start.. Digital aircond control is not a big deal??
      What car in market you can get this can spesification with bidget price??
      Know the fact or spesification before comment… At leat they dint desing sampan car!

• You mean to Bezza headlights that doesn’t work rain? Rightttt…..
      Proton are using their facelift budget to change things that will be meaningful to users not bling bling stuff that doesn’t work.

• Top Gun Maverick on May 09, 2022 at 12:58 pm

Launch lah..bring it on,Proton.
    But fanboys and fangirls…be forewarned…due to chip shortage…you may get your beloved Saga by January next year.
    P1 has a reputation now “NOT SURE WHEN DELIVERY “due to chip shortage. Make no mistake,P1 already has attributed last month’s 32% drop in sales to chip shortage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 44
    • Just another fanboy….yeah….you are….Top Gun Maverick…lol

Fanboys….are….whatever….

• Anonymous on May 11, 2022 at 12:30 pm

EVERYONE is affected by the chip shortage. Toyota suspended 5 of their factories in Japan because of it. Perodua too suffered lower sales from the chip shortage. They suspended Myvi production for 2 months last year from chip shortage. So why is Proton the only one getting the flak?

• Ground europe passenger on May 09, 2022 at 2:13 pm

Timing belt campro. Im waiting for persona TCECF (Code named Timing Chain eEngine Change Finally.

• Bob Mal on May 09, 2022 at 2:34 pm

Better not sweat it since Proton is betting huge in Malaysia for its 3 Cylinder Turbo engine which uses timing belt for its future models and having a large investment with Sapura Industry for manufacturing of this engine.

• Seeker on May 09, 2022 at 7:33 pm

Current saga is made in china no one want

• Dang Friday night comes early for you eh? You sure seems to down quite a substantial amount of alcoholic beverages. It is made under Chinese supervision but in no way made in China. Dude, Proton is Malaysian. Why even make and ship it from China?

• TiadaGigi on May 09, 2022 at 9:45 pm

Hahaha.. stop it! Your hipocrisy is showing. If you’re so against China made, you wouldn’t be posting your comment using your Made In China iPhone or you won’t be wearing your Made In China Levi’s jeans right now.

• zainal abidin on May 10, 2022 at 7:49 am

Proton, how about a 1.6 4AT version?