2022 Proton Saga sighted again, with keyless entry

Behold, the 2022 Proton Saga has been sighted once again by intrepid reader and car spotter Putra Kamrin Azran, who has sighted the latest upcoming iteration of the national car in the hills of Genting Highlands.

This time around, there is a new detail on the car and it’s visible in profile view on its front door handle, which is keyless entry for the brand’s entry-level sedan. This will be joined by keyless start too, according to our source. The last major revision for the Saga was released in 2019.

Elsewhere, the 2022 Saga wears the same outward appearance as at its previous sightings, with a new Proton roundel front and centre, joined by a front lip, mirrors and alloy wheels finished in black. The rear of the car’s exterior appears to be carried over from the current model.

The mechanical specifications of the Saga are expected to remain the same, should this set of updates emerge in the 2022 model year. The sedan is currently powered by a 1.3 litre four-cylinder naturally-aspirated engine producing 95 PS at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm.

The last revision two years ago introduced a Hyundai-sourced four-speed automatic to replace the CVT, while a five-speed manual continued to be available for the base Standard MT variant; time will tell if the stick shift will carry on into the Saga’s upcoming revision.

GALLERY: 2022 Proton Saga spyshots

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Same L0rr on Jan 23, 2022 at 12:15 am

Too late to give keyless entry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 46
    • Yeah. It’s already selling like hotcakes. No point adding more features to an already popular sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
      • Anonymous on Jan 23, 2022 at 12:47 pm

You are stating the exact problem that Proton had in the early 90’s – failing to keep the momentum going. “We’re the fastest growing car maker in the UK, why would we improve anything now?” We know how that ended up.

It’s not as if they have a monopoly on the budget sedan segment. They have to keep working on it to stay ahead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
        • Unknown on Jan 25, 2022 at 1:18 am

It is like pouring water into a glass that is already overflowing, meaning pointless to add more features when it is so feature-packed for an Asegment sedan.

• I was being sarcastic to the original comment. Why quote me?

• Celup King on Jan 23, 2022 at 2:08 pm

Keyless entry is nothing new. Car thieves have been doing it since the automobile was invented.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Anonymous on Jan 23, 2022 at 12:37 pm

Not really. The Saga is catered for a different market. It’s the cheapest sedan in Malaysia, and the exclusion of keyless entry and push start/stop is expected. Perodua only offers those features starting eith the 1.3 X which is over RM42k (top spec Saga currently is still under RM40k). Budget offerings are often a bit later in having “mainstream” features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Bossku love saga on Jan 25, 2022 at 6:59 am

It new an all new replacement model for this legendary Name “Saga”. Something like new platforms TNGA, DNGA, MBA or whatever, new 1.3/4/5 turbo engine, new 5/6speed gearbox, better infotainment system, floating screen, 8 speakers with build in subwoofer.

• Anwar JV Sabrikor on Jan 23, 2022 at 1:51 pm

Albert Einstein once said, “if you keep doing the same thing but expect different results,this leads to INSANITY”
      Come on,P1…this facelift is nothing more than multiple over used “CAR BOTOX”.
      Its like a baby overfed with the same milk until he burps badly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
      • Eyesore on Jan 24, 2022 at 12:58 pm

proton never said it’s a facelift…. you are the one that call it facelift… it could be just a minor changes or minor updates…

you call something that it is not, then you wanna get disappointed… wth? lol…

• Contradiction on Jan 24, 2022 at 5:26 pm

You bodo, doesn’t mean others are also bodo. Geddit?

• Spin Too Much on Jan 25, 2022 at 9:25 am

And if others are the smart S’s, you’re the smarter S.

• Unknown on Jan 23, 2022 at 5:24 pm

Due to floods and chip shortages, Proton could not make enough Sagas to sell…

• Audi fan on Jan 23, 2022 at 1:35 am

Holy shit! Previous FC looks like Audi, and now The surrounding panel gap mimicking Audis, so tight, leaving CKD japanese and P2 so far behind.Just wishing someone in the sagas engineering team propose led sequential turning signal tho

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 13
  • Sangka Baik on Jan 23, 2022 at 7:53 am

Lambang depan tutup, tapi kt bonet terpampang aje proton saga…hehe
    Moga2 ade pemantapan dari segi engine dan penjimatan petrol dengan harga yang berpatutan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • Newme on Jan 23, 2022 at 10:50 am

1 year 1 variant. When comes to part replacement, takde stock… because need to maintain too many different parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
    • Amazing on Jan 23, 2022 at 1:34 pm

Wow, u seems to know everything.
      Major car company should hire you instead of qualified/educated engineers, marketing, management..i bet u can do it all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Even if the staff consists of highly qualified/educated graduates in various fields, it still does not guarantee success for the company as it depends on the leadership qualities of the top management (board of directors).

• Ghani on Jan 24, 2022 at 10:41 am

When you surf here to bukak komen, u have to give an impression like u know everything. If not, nanti kena cyber bully tau..

• Best A segment Sedan, must buy : )

• Shiro on Jan 23, 2022 at 3:48 pm

Tak minta banyak Proton, air-con kaki dgn arm rest sahaja. Design dah cun habis skrng ni. Mcm mustahil untuk dpt ejin baru & elektrik power stering kn?

• Common User on Jan 24, 2022 at 11:26 am

elektrik power steering? haha. berat sikit daripada hydraulic power steering. pengalaman guna elektrik power steering viva elite dengan gen 2. lagi sedap pakai hydraulic power steering.

• beamcruiser on Jan 23, 2022 at 7:04 pm

I think its about time to get a new shape altogether. Its a bit dated.

• Onanodus on Jan 23, 2022 at 9:27 pm

I think you mean smart key system? Keyless entry has been on the Saga for years now.

• Saga MC2 on Jan 24, 2022 at 8:34 am

I quite like the minor change given to this car. More appealing and sporty design, keyless entry. I do hope they install leg oom aircond at the front (my only complaint on this Saga). Maybe can use aircond unit from Persona/Iriz to save cost. As long as this model can keep the price the same as the 2019 model. For a sedan car below 40k top spec, definitely will give a hard time for Bezza

• GoalDigger on Jan 24, 2022 at 9:38 am

Proton seems to be repeating what they had done previously: Keep on refreshing aged model with non essential features to lure buyers.

This is one of the main reason Proton lost the market share. Now, why are they repeating this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Contradiction on Jan 24, 2022 at 5:25 pm

https://paultan.org/2021/12/21/malaysian-vehicle-sales-for-november-2021-by-brand-proton-up-8-3-volvo-by-134-mitsubishi-holds-fifth/
      Read and then come tell me is Proton losing market share or actually gaining?

• newuser on Jan 24, 2022 at 4:09 pm

any AEB? convenient features more important than safety features???

• Celup King on Jan 24, 2022 at 5:48 pm

According to Mitsu Jepunis CEO, this car safety features are designed to meet our ASEAN region market demands. Oh wai….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • sohaiiii on Jan 25, 2022 at 7:19 pm

Means asean awareness on safety is very low…no wonder malaysian accident contribute high death because of many proton cars with low safety condition on the roads..hahah

• Safety First on Jan 29, 2022 at 12:48 pm

You fool. Better awareness is about driving better not simply counting on the safety features save your life. THINK SAFETY FIRST, NOT RELY ON SAFETY GADGETS!

• Anonymous on Apr 04, 2022 at 5:12 pm

Good handling is part of safety.other than that its just driving skills and road awareness. Car has more than enough safety features for premium variant

• zainal abidin on Jan 25, 2022 at 9:22 am

Hopefully there will be a 1.6 variant with Hyundai gearbox. And the headlights with 4 bulbs set up, like the previous FLX. And LEDs front and rear if possible.