Merc C63 AMG charges up a crest blind, encounters traffic jam, somehow avoids major pile-up accident

This is some escape. We see so many accidents these days, thanks to dashcams being everywhere, but this one is rather unusual. It’s quite dramatic, it’s posted up by the driver himself, and there’s actually no accident at the end. Which is pretty surprising given the circumstances.

The video starts off at a traffic light junction, and judging from the buildings around such as Mah Sing’s Icon Residence, this is in Dutamas, behind Publika. The lights turn green and the Mercedes C63 AMG camcar goes for it. It’s a slope and you can’t see the traffic ahead, but traffic is what he saw right after the crest.

It’s a big bumper-to-bumper traffic jam, and it’s at this moment when the driver releases an ‘Oh!’. To his credit, the driver immediately knew that it’s too short a distance to brake to a stop, so he went for the drain. I meant kerb (must be the Eurobeat). The Merc then straddles the kerb before cutting into traffic, with ‘jialat jialat jialat’ overlaying the fast beats.

This is billed as a near miss, and it is. It’s a combination of instinct and luck. As the Merc dived to the left, the first car in the queue (white Myvi) was aligned to the right and there was just enough space to squeeze in. Also, there was enough space between the traffic and the road furniture, and no bikes.

At the end of the video, the driver showed off his unscathed Merc after the light off-roading misadventure, but others might not be so lucky. Let’s take this as a reminder not to speed into a crest, as we don’t know what lies ahead. It’s the same common sense for blind corners. A cautious speed gives leeway to react should there be an obstacle or traffic jam immediately after the peak.

Do you know of other blind crests? We can think of one on the NKVE, Klang-bound after Shah Alam. Anyway, why so fast?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mr. Sotong on May 10, 2022 at 10:37 am

I bet his life have changed so much for the better now hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on May 10, 2022 at 11:51 am

He’ll just becoming more furious and better driver

• Amran on May 10, 2022 at 12:09 pm

Fengtau music & jialat till heaven. Tau je lah spesis mana ni dari.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 23
    • Other videos of his reckless driving is circulating. He is just the same

• Kariayam on May 10, 2022 at 8:40 pm

he just posted it on the web to flex his save, so hes probably gonna repeat the same thing sooner or later and take someone out in the process.

• Ben Yap on May 10, 2022 at 10:39 am

when u scream jialat multiple times, skill level will auto increase a thousand fold.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • TokHoi on May 10, 2022 at 10:42 am

The Initial-Drain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • he need to do 3 things after this:
    1. change his underwear
    2. clean up his seat
    3. spray air freshener in the car liberally

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Vincent on May 10, 2022 at 10:50 am

Everyone read and knows their car performance from 0-100km/H. But how many of us really care what is the 100-O in seconds??? Well.. perhaps 100 to 30 will at least save you from major injury!

• Katie on May 10, 2022 at 11:16 am

Depends on his current Tyre, brake choice and car loading condition.
      His decision to swing aside is the right choice, instead of damaging his front engine bay – directly loosing his car 2nd hand value.

But this Car visibility also not so good,
      Excessive long hood,
      Sitting low looking at the sky before going down the crest,
      Speeding over the crest instead of slow down looking ahead first

He deserve a saman, reckless driving, damaged the drains.
      Altough he did a skillful and safe maneuvering after the reckless driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • It’s AMG so much power so how to drive slow? Even Kancil Turbo very fast not forgetting the all time fast Myvi.

• Kapchai on May 10, 2022 at 11:34 am

Depends who is the driver.

A professional driver will ensure:
      1. Safe completion first
      2. Fastest completion is secondary.

Otherwise, once the car skid off, he just ruined his race.
      This is for cap ayam, amateur driver.

• uzair on May 10, 2022 at 11:46 am

Remember those turtle turning Mustang a few days before? So much power.

• Celup King on May 10, 2022 at 12:19 pm

Sam car also turn turtle. Does her car have as much Mustang power?

• Turtle Power TMNT

• Isaac on May 10, 2022 at 9:23 pm

Sma’s car was turned by the people who stopped to free a kid that was crushed under the car. Don’t spread misinformation if you don’t know the full story.

• Calvin on May 11, 2022 at 12:51 am

That is a misleading information sold by Sam supporters. If you look at the amount of damages cause it is no doubt she lost control of her car and turn turtle upon crashing. Please stop propagating such misleading info, correct those who told you such messages and chastise them for it.

• hobbes on May 11, 2022 at 5:50 am

@calvin all the stuff about turned by people is in the official files la come on. all verified by forensics etc

• Calvin on May 11, 2022 at 11:08 am

Hobbes, please stop spreading such misleading info. A little common sense can tell you this case is still under investigation and no info are shared to claim the contrary. Please show your so-called forensic evidence if you dare. Forensic by whom? CSI? NCIS?

• Don’t speed when you can’t see what is ahead, as simple as that.
    “When in doubt, just slow down, not flat out”
    Not everyone is Colin McRae

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Pure Luck. What if there was a biker stuck by the left there? Shud not have even carried that speed over the crest. Common sense – zero. Respect for speed – zero. Dumb A%$€ – 100%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Jacky on May 10, 2022 at 11:23 am

There are also the tunnels, I can think of the tunnel from Taman Tun to 1Utama, from Taman Kinrara to Bukit Jalil expressway and from Jalan Loke Yew to Sunway Velocity near Taman Pertama MRT. There are blind spots just beyond the bend, you wouldn’t know if there are any traffic built-up in front.

• all hail king myvi on May 10, 2022 at 11:41 am

myvi will just fly on top of all the cars, pathetic merc can only go left and right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • yapyw on May 10, 2022 at 11:58 am

if he had rear-ended my car, I’d call Hulk to sit on him

• Dave2d on May 10, 2022 at 12:00 pm

I hope he likes buying new rims, tires and maybe suspension

• dave4d on May 10, 2022 at 12:30 pm

name me one rich person who doesnt like having an excuse to spend on modding his car

• TMJ and his father. The really rich has no need to mod as their cars comes fully customised as how they wanted.

• dong gor on May 10, 2022 at 12:03 pm

car is good, driver is also good. hence can avoid this accident. if car is not good, and don’t know what you are doing, just drive slow and sure can stop in time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Voshak Hui on May 10, 2022 at 12:23 pm

North South highway seremban to labu stretch

• Buy c class also no class, tq for the entertainment

• Super Duper on May 10, 2022 at 2:21 pm

TTDI to Bandar Utama tunnel.
    There is a blind spot at the curve. and motorists can never know when traffic has build up and spilled over into the tunnel.
    Always drive slowly and keep to the left most lane when entering this tunnel.

• Average Malaysian on May 10, 2022 at 2:47 pm

Dear admin,

How do I report this person to the local police?

His reckless driving act endangered may road user like us.

• Dont worry. I believe there are some people out there already doing this.

• jalan Tun Razak. The infamous Lamborghini mishap

• It should be able to brake within 3s for a vw at 100kmj

• Why he didn’t use a brake…all luxury car have powerful brake…smh

• ROTI CANAI on May 10, 2022 at 8:40 pm

crap tyres crap brakes

• Steven Chin on May 10, 2022 at 8:47 pm

The song Nite of Fire inspired him to drive fast

• noob drivers always tekan in straight road…

i saw once in NKVE near damansara exit…front car all jam already…this car still speed and ram two cars in front.
    From far can hear the poor fella slam his brakes…but still too late…

that’s why these people has no brains…they think their brakes can defy the law of physics…can brake instantly

surprised to see so many cars love to tailgate people closely too on highway…even a 911 ceramic brakes takes some distance to stop the car…

• Final destination on May 12, 2022 at 4:35 pm

Walking by the beach and somehow eventually you ll wet your feet. Death has tag this guy and death will come back to collect him sooner later. He avoided the hell this time but look at final destination, they die 100 time horribly after that.