2022 Toyota Yaris 1.5G review in Malaysia, from RM74k

The Toyota Yaris might be getting a little long in the tooth by now, but that hasn’t stopped people from buying the hatch. In fact, there’s a bit of a waiting period right now, even with the slight price increase (around RM3,000 more) that came with the latest facelift.

Design-wise, the exterior gets a welcome revision, but the interior and mechanicals were left largely untouched. All three variants – J, E and G – of the hatch share the same 2NR-FE 1.5 litre four-cylinder engine with Dual VVT-i, making 107 PS at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. A CVT (with seven-speed Shiftmatic mode) sends drive to the front wheels.

What was considered to be a big upgrade was the addition of Toyota Safety Sense, but only for the E and G variants. This includes pre-collision system (PCS), lane departure alert (LDA), blind spot monitor (BSM) with Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA) as well as a 3D panoramic view monitor (PVM).

So, how does the Yaris stack up against the all-new Honda City Hatchback? Is the badge worth ponying up over the already impressive Perodua Myvi facelift? Find out what we think in the video above. You can also read our in-depth written account, or browse CarBase.my for a closer look at its specifications.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• yapyw on May 26, 2022 at 7:46 pm

The MyVi wins on Cost (cheapest of the 3), the City wins on having the largest cabin, but the Yaris wins on Quality & Reliability? U need to own a Toyota over a longer term to understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Eat My Smoke on May 27, 2022 at 7:32 am

Vios been using the platform since Dugong 2007. Now is just clearance time. The next-gen will be having stronger DNGA platform.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • Fact Checked on May 28, 2022 at 1:01 pm

Current Myvi (R800) obtained better scoring than the Vios in same ASEAN NCAP tests. Bear in mind, Myvi has lesser airbags than 7 in the Vios

• Kapchai on May 27, 2022 at 8:22 am

0-100.
      Myvi D-CVT is faster than Yaris CVT and City Hatchback CVT.
      Later DNGA Yaris Sedan, with D-CVT will be better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • U think everyone also want to do 0-100 like u izit

• Alvin on May 28, 2022 at 8:42 am

Correct.
          <13s 0-100 is proven competent with all the 1.5L Compact B Sedan in Malaysia.
          Overtaking @ Malaysia regulated speed @ 100km/h-130km/h smooth and adequate.

Don't need ah beng street racing, reckless Overtaking.
          Reckless overtaking at kampung road is like comparable to a Moose Test,
          Speeding, sway, and back to lane in short distance.

@ Moose test, most sport sedan fail at the speed of 70km/h-80km/h.
          This is why rural road overtaking is very dangerous, can lost control,
          Especially we also have many young drivers on the roads.

Overtaking should be done over a very long stretch of road, otherwise, it's comparable to moose test. Keep this understanding.

• What the? P2 fanboys so bored cannot find P1 posts to wank their little d*cks that they even start civil war in big brother Toyota treds? MCO has lifted, no need stay coop up in your dinky rooms, please go outside and find a life.

• Tortilla on May 26, 2022 at 7:48 pm

The current upgraded Vios feels quieter, better NVH than City.
    the DNGA gonna make it a solid premium Vios, value for money compact Sedan.

• Eat My Smoke on May 27, 2022 at 7:35 am

Next Vios premium, still early to say. Probably not until facelift ×2times later. Usually Toyota will “act only when sales no good” to keep cost low. Entry category after all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • Wait till next DNGA Vios comes out, then you will realize that whether it is premium or not, even before the facelift

• Seribu on May 26, 2022 at 7:50 pm

Nice. How about Yaris GR-S?

• Truth on May 26, 2022 at 7:55 pm

E spec yaris is sufficient, value buy

• I would choose this over city hatchback. Got blind spot monitor, rear cross traffic alert and 360 degree camera. City hatchback don’t have these three but come with LaneWatch yet only comes with one side and problem with camera screen quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Sam Loo on May 26, 2022 at 9:47 pm

Good car. Toyota still the best RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Eat My Smoke on May 27, 2022 at 7:36 am

Correct. But that’s after Honda and maybe Mazda now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
    • I never understand people who focus on RV all the time. Kereta baru beli nak pikir pasal nak jual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 46
    • Before buy car already thinking to sell? Then better dont buy car, buy property better. Just get a Saga will do fine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 20
      • Haters gonna hate on May 27, 2022 at 12:27 pm

U wan get married with your car is it ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • So b4 you marry ur wife you already thinking of divorce is it?

• Haters gonna hate on May 27, 2022 at 1:38 pm

Stupidest human being ever, wife is a life time partner which you won’t consider of changing it, but you will consider change a car.

Go get a better brain please, you are humiliating yourself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • Elon Fanboi on May 26, 2022 at 10:21 pm

The most reliable car on market right now. U will never regret own it.

• Eat My Smoke on May 27, 2022 at 7:37 am

Ask Myvi first la. The real King of Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
      • But reliability between Yaris and Myvi are not similar. Myvi also don’t have Apple CarPlay and Android Auto as well

• Kinte on May 26, 2022 at 10:23 pm

Hate it when motoring journalists simply says Toyota Safety Sense without specific version. TSS 2.0 is what in Corolla with ACC until stop and Lane Centering. So Matthew, which version of TSS is this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Dwayne on May 27, 2022 at 8:41 am

Any bought Toyota Sense will get Factory update @ service center.
      You just need to look at the spec if it has stop go, lane centering, If don’t have, you won’t get any upgrade.
      Existing features update still get for better respond, reaction, smoothness suiting local traffic.

Just like.. same iOS/Andorid but at different phone, have its own limitations due to missing hardware. But they still call it vanilla iOS 15/iPadOS 15, Android 13 or Android Go

• Virus everywhere on May 27, 2022 at 9:48 am

Don’t read, then no hate. Make everyone’s day

• Dettol on May 27, 2022 at 8:24 am

Overall the Yaris is great for city use, easy parking, easy drive, save fuel. The biggest issue of this car is the turning radius, for a small car, I can say that the turning radius is a crap, you can’t make a proper u-turn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • I don’t see anyone complaining about turning radius. Maybe you have to retried for Yaris again

• Dzulcar9 on May 28, 2022 at 6:21 pm

Yes you are right. I m owned one the draw back is the turning radius and it is very obvious same as proton waja before. My Mitsubishi Triton turning radius is better comparable with the car size. Another draw back is the steering adjustment and a missing left foot resting floor. Other than that it is great car with a very quiet driving car compare to my crv 1.5 turbo (a noisy cvt gearbox almost the same as my previous proton exora) and comfy riding. I bought one for my daughter when I ve test drove it and compared it with other make for a same class competition. I would never regret to own the Yaris.

• My happy & zippy car