Tesla Singapore country manager laid off as part of EV maker’s reduction of its global workforce by 10%

That was fast. A year ago, Christopher Bousigues was appointed as country manager for Tesla Singapore. Now, the Frenchman has announced that he has been laid off, his retrenchment apparently part of global job cuts that Tesla boss Elon Musk has warned about recently, the Straits Times reports.

Bousigues, who was previously with software firms SAP and Microsoft before his Tesla gig, made the announcement via a LinkedIn post over the weekend. “Tesla announced a 10% of workforce reduction. My role was chosen to be eliminated as of today,” he wrote. He added that he was proud to have been the automaker’s first country manager in Southeast Asia, and establishing the business in Singapore.

“In the past year, the team and I built the business from the ground up, made the Model 3 a common sight in the Singapore car landscape, set up two showrooms, one service centre (that I affectionately call the Jewel of Asia), developed a network of seven superchargers across the island and successfully launched Model Y yesterday (last Friday) with overwhelming response,” he stated.

Bousigues said he did not believe in keeping quiet about his job loss. “When something like this happens, you wonder what is the best course of action, and whether to remain discreet or even silent about it. Ultimately that is not how I am built. Transparency and honesty are non-negotiable to me, so sharing this news felt like the right thing to do with my network. I profoundly believe that when a door closes, a gate somewhere else opens,” he explained.

The report added that sources familiar with the matter told the publication that Tesla Singapore will not have a country manager after Bousigues’ role was chosen to be eliminated, and that Tesla’s Hong Kong office will now oversee operations in Singapore, similar to how Audi Malaysia is managed by Singapore and Mercedes-Benz’s Indonesian operations overseen by Malaysia.

Earlier this month, having told staff to return to the workplace or leave, as he warned about the risks of recession, Musk told Tesla employees that he could cut 10% of jobs worldwide at the carmaker.

In an e-mail sent to employees, he stated that he had a “super bad feeling” about the economy, and that the company would be reducing the salaried headcount as it has become “overstaffed in many areas.” As of the end of 2021, the company had around 100,000 employees worldwide, it was reported.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 14, 2022 at 8:22 am

elon musk adopting china company style

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • newme on Jun 14, 2022 at 8:56 am

It’s business, nothing personal. Here, people that screwed up for decades not only keeping their jobs but also promoted.

• Here we finally give chance to people that have never shown competence to step up but they screwed up so badly it made us remember why we never gave them the opportunity to step up in the first place.

• Ghani on Jun 14, 2022 at 11:15 am

Habeslah Singapore! Even Tesla is doubting they need a country manager on this island when they got super shocked at the overtop high level of COE it cost cost to buy a Tesla going up to 1/6th of the car price itself. This level is Ferrari territory and Mr Bousigues badly misjudged being in Singapore. Well he lost his job for his errors but these high powered execs usually don’t go jobless for long unlike our B40s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Belum Habis on Jun 15, 2022 at 3:43 pm

You really underestimate them. Look how they’re forging ahead and leaving us behind in their pollution-free dust.
      People come and go. Money can be made back. Tesla won’t fail, Singapore won’t fail, Christopher Bousigues has offers lined up for him. Better not to shoot off your narrow mind and take care of our own backyard instead.

• masak la on Jun 15, 2022 at 1:37 am

Masaklah wei..no one is spared even the matsalehs..all humans will be replaced with apps-elon style

• Suzanne G. on Jun 15, 2022 at 1:14 pm

@ChristopherBousigues Good luck in your next job, it looks like you had a successful history and did a great job forTesla. You will get offers and this was the right thing to do by sharing the info.