Tesla Model Y in Singapore – electric SUV priced from RM453k to RM606k without COE, end-2022 delivery

After making its debut in Singapore with the Model 3, Tesla has now put the Model Y on sale in the island republic. Our southern neighbours get the popular electric SUV in rear-wheel-drive base and all-wheel-drive Performance variants, with deliveries starting at the end of the year.

Pricing starts at S$142,271 (RM453,500) for the entry-level version and rises to S$189,995 (RM605,600) for the Performance. The AWD Long Range, which has replaced the base model in most global markets, is currently not offered in Singapore.

According to CarBuyer, these figures do not include the mandatory Certificate of Entitlement (COE). Take the latest COE prices – which breached the S$100,000 (RM318,700) mark for the first time in nearly 30 years – into account and you’re looking at a sum total of over S$240,000 (RM765,000) and around S$290,000 (RM924,400) respectively. Ouch.

For that, you get a range of 455 km on the WLTP cycle for the base model and 514 km for the dual-motor Performance. Tesla doesn’t list a battery size for its vehicles, but the capacities are estimated to be 62.3 kWh and 82.8 kWh respectively, Australian portal Drive reported.

Also not quoted are the power outputs, although data submitted to the Australian government listed figures of 220 kW (299 PS) for the base variant and 393 kW (534 PS) for the Performance. The crossover showed up on Tesla’s Australian online store around the same time as Singapore’s, suggesting that the cars for the latter market were homologated for the former.

In any case, the Model Y is able to get from zero to 100 km/h in 6.9 seconds and hit a top speed of 217 km/h, whereas the Performance completes the century sprint in 3.7 seconds on its way to a top whack of 250 km/h.

The Singaporean model is available with several colour, wheel and upholstery options to push the price up even further, plus a “Full Self Driving” package that costs a cool S$11,500 (RM36,700), although you’d do well not to test the system in Malaysia. However, you can’t get the two rear jump seats – which give the car occasional seven-seat capability – that are offered in other markets.

GALLERY: Tesla Model Y grey import in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Rafizi on Jun 10, 2022 at 8:25 pm

I cant see how “syiok” or “indispensable” is this laptop car.Horrendously ugly,and bad quality finishes.
    It cost nearly 1 Million Rm in Sinkieland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • AhsengNo1 on Jun 10, 2022 at 10:24 pm

Most Singaporean stay at Government flat. Go charger?

• The good thing is their government think for them, chargers installed in flat Carpark. Our flats don’t even get rubbished cleared regularly, who are we to laugh at them.

• One charger in whole of HDB flat is not thinking for them but merely another income for SG Gomen.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 11, 2022 at 10:25 am

Habeslah rakyat Singapura! RM600k car plus RM100k COE this can buy a Ferrari here oledi. Just to own a M40 EV rakyat Singapura have to be T20. I see why they are so stress living there and coming here act like chimpanzees. A nation of highly stressed chimpanzees!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Singaporean Malay on Jun 11, 2022 at 10:20 pm

Mintak maaf bang, tak sengaja la kalau sy speed kat NSHW… janji tak kena accident & selamat hahah

• average sinkie drives honda HRV or hyundai, not tesla dei!

• Sick&Tired on Jun 13, 2022 at 7:30 am

At least they are rich ‘chimpanzees’!! I am no fan of Singapore, but I give them credit! They are so far ahead of us despite just being a small island! We with all our resources are so far behind that frankly it’s embarrassing.

• Sick & Tired on Jun 13, 2022 at 4:03 pm

You are very welcomed to join their island zoo. I’m sure you will be the star exhibit, the human looking animal brain.

• xxXxx on Jun 11, 2022 at 12:21 pm

Expensive? They still sell like hot cake there, crazy rich asian

• Sinkie has alot T01,
      T20 won’t able to afford this.

• T01?

Singaporean Population – 5,686,000
        1% = 56,860

The COE and Model Y also not sufficient to supply to the T01.

• Casual reader on Jun 12, 2022 at 9:00 am

Yea yea. Bring in 10 sold 10, proudly say it sold like hot cakes. *rolleyes*