2022 Perodua Alza D27A teased for the first time in Malaysia – based on Toyota Avanza; Dual VVT-i engine

Perodua has begun teasing the 2022 Alza (codenamed D27A) in a new video posted to its social media channels. The video, which actually focuses more on the carmaker’s Smart Build sustainable blueprint, contains several shots of the upcoming Alza, although the finer details are harder to make out because of the dark setting.

Based on what we can see, it’s obvious the all-new Alza will be based on Toyota Avanza/Daihatsu Xenia. The profile of the all-new Perodua MPV is virtually identical to its close cousins, but there are some noticeable styling differences.

Firstly, the D27A appears to get an X-shaped face in the spirit of the Ativa and as illustrated by Theophilus Chin in his earlier renders (sans the vertical DRLs). The headlamps are also reshaped to be more angular compared to those on the Avanza and Xenia, which likely entails a Perodua-specific grille as well.

On the mention of lighting, the LED reflector headlamps feature a horizontal light strip at the top of each cluster that serve as positioning lamps. Elsewhere, the fog lamps are not circular as they are on the Avanza and are rectangular in shape instead.

Moving to the rear, the taillights don’t seem to differ much from the Avanza’s, as they bear the same L-shaped signature and the clusters are bridged by a trim piece with the Perodua logo in the centre. We don’t get a shot of the interior but expect it to be roughly similar to both Toyota and Daihatsu’s MPVs.

2022 Toyota Avanza (left), Daihatsu Xenia (right)

As for what will power the D27A, we previously reported that the model should get the Avanza’s 2NR-VE 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated Dual VVT-i four-cylinder mill with 106 PS and 138 Nm of torque. This looks to be pretty much double confirmed, judging by the ‘Dual VVT-i’ badge on the fender. The 2NR-VE in the Avanza is paired with a D-CVT driving the front wheels, and we should expect the same for the Alza too.

The same report also indicated three variants being made available to customers, namely the X, H and AV. We still don’t have an official launch date, but for now, are you excited for the new Alza?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Why no 1.0T on Jun 15, 2022 at 4:37 pm

How come no 1.0T from Ativa? Perodua should give us 1.0T option for this Alza so we can have the cheapest RM20 road tax and insurance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Celup King on Jun 15, 2022 at 4:47 pm

What a shame to call themselves national carmaker but all they are doing is just rebadge, rebadge, rebadge. No creativity, no originality, no Malaysian pride, hanya rebadge dulu, rebadge kini, rebadge selamanya, rebadge sampai akhirat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 34
    • Mr. Sotong on Jun 16, 2022 at 4:29 pm

This means you know nothing about Perodua developing new models in Japan for Daihatsu and Toyota.

If this was a forum sudah lama kena kick by admin lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Kunta Kinte Archives 2013-2020 on Jun 17, 2022 at 9:22 am

https://paultan.org/2019/07/17/perodua-working-with-daihatsu-to-further-develop-local-component-suppliers-presence-in-global-markets/

“Perodua says it is working with Daihatsu to further develop its component suppliers to explore markets beyond Malaysia, forming part of the automaker’s commitment to help grow the country’s automotive support industries.

Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad said the capabilities of its local suppliers was progressing strongly, moving on beyond mere production and piece processing, with two suppliers now part of the Daihatsu global parts supply chain. He added that Malaysian suppliers are close to Indonesian suppliers in terms of cost competitiveness.”

• Kunta Kinte Archives 2013-2020 on Jun 17, 2022 at 9:24 am

https://paultan.org/2016/02/26/discipline-and-japanese-5s-key-to-peroduas-success/

“Morita san said that Perodua plants practice Dojo, which means “home of practicing”, to maintain quality and service standards. The veteran boss explained that the company implemented a 5S workplace organisation method comprising five Japanese words – seiri (sort), seiton (set in order), seiso (shine), seiketsu (standardise) and shitsuke (sustain), to create a pleasant workplace for all.”

• Roti john on Jun 15, 2022 at 5:16 pm

Game-Changing Alza finally got an all new model based on the Avanza, habisla Proton Exora!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Kunta Kinte Archives 2013-2020 on Jun 17, 2022 at 9:18 am

Mohd Darus Ismail on Dec 22, 2017 at 9:14 pm

No point investing millions. Cause now, ALL Malaysians are going for Perodua. Better for Proton to give their factory to Perodua cause Perodua is having too strong a demand.
      Before the new Myvi, people may consider Iriz because of 2 reasons. It had VSC and more airbags.

Now, Myvi got VSC plus so many airbags PLUS

1) good after sales and first class support
      2) Excellent RV. Use 3 years also still can sell RM38k
      3) Time tested VVTI Toyota engine worth RM80k from Vios
      4) SC never say, “Biasalah bang, ini Proton”
      5) FC one of the best in the market
      6) Warranty claim also no dispute
      7) Perodua is cash rich. They don’t mind when you claim warranty
      8) Company not near bankruptcy. They give you high quality expensive parts to make the car.
      9) When claiming warranty Perodua company not worried they losing more money cause cash rich
      10) Got 5 stars based on 2017-2020 Stringent Protocol. No tipu tipu

So, of course now the No 1 choice is Myvi. Pls Proton, don’t waste millions upgrading your showrooms. Come join Perodua

• RM65k?

• RM57k?

• Dompet friendly
    Petrol friendly
    Power friendly
    Space friendly
    Comfort pun friendly
    Hi-Tech, Solid

Syukur

• Toyota king of king. on Jun 15, 2022 at 5:43 pm

Yes very excited. P2 is now the new king of king. Cos of Toyota DNA the ultimate king of kings. U can’t go wrong with Toyota. Every where u go ppl will salute you. Your boss will promote u , yr mother in law wouldn’t bully u so much etc etc.

• (Like) 2022 Perodua Alza.
    (Dislike) Honda BRV

• Product that will cannibalising each other.
    Aruz vs New Alza
    Ativa vs Hyryder

• Excited?

No.

• SadekSegaraga on Jun 15, 2022 at 8:43 pm

This Based on Avanza or an exactly copy of Veloz? Both avanza and veloz got different interior

• The Senai on Jun 15, 2022 at 9:08 pm

Should i trade in my Perodua Aruz ?

• Haidi on Jun 15, 2022 at 11:46 pm

Looks like Ativa face and Ativa butt.

• Drnumber on Jun 16, 2022 at 1:53 pm

Wait for uncle rally ride up genting.. see can climb fast or not.. this car sure heavy like aruzz

• Autodriver on Jun 18, 2022 at 4:06 pm

You are wrong. Aruz is rear wheel drive which has extra weight on RW driveshaft. Aruz high spec is 1300kg which Daihatsu Xenia (aka Alza) top spec weight is only 1115kg. Even factor in the electronic parking brake and some other stuff the new Alza highest spec expected curb weight is 1150kg which is 150kg lighter than Aruz. Mind you that this new Alza is built under DNGA platform where one major feature is more rigid but lighter weight. Aruz was built on old platform which has lesser ultra high strength steel with lower weight than the new Alza.

Myvi with new DCVT is faster than the 4AT version. Hence this new Alza with lighter in weight and DCVT sure got better power than Aruz.

• Azman on Jun 16, 2022 at 1:56 pm

Good car for young family.
    5 seater + 499L of Boot Space, fold up extra 2 boot seats.
    0-100 12.5s
    Solid and Premium

Time to get rid of my inheritted 2004 Honda Oddysey for this.
    This Alza Cross looks more stunning and spacious.

• Add Cross to it's name sell you higher ok ka? on Jun 16, 2022 at 8:05 pm

MPV not SUV, which part of it suggests it’s a Cross?

There’s no way this thing will be a cross or with the Cross name on it come on, if you know what cross means and the true identity of the country of make.

• doodoocakes on Jun 23, 2022 at 1:29 pm

Solid? How can you even tell?

I own the Ativa and that car is definitely not THAT solid.

In terms of build and comfort levels, the Ativa is still no where close to the 2008 Honda City model.

• Sohai on Jun 16, 2022 at 2:07 pm

I was hoping it looks more like a Veloz back with full length LED.. maybe Toyota will launch it

• Mr Mar on Jun 16, 2022 at 7:09 pm

Orang bising kata akan makan sales aruz @caniballism, tenang sahaja itu masalah perodua, kita beli atau tengok sahaja. HAHAHA

• Renaldi Soeryadi on Jun 17, 2022 at 12:29 am

To be honest, I like the front end. More sporty than Avanza, let alone Xenia as it’s donor car, like an Ativa that combined with Raize’s headlamp. I wonder if Perodua add other features in terms of ASA/ PSDA to new Alza, like ACC that Toyota Avanza/Daihatsu Xenia cars don’t have?

• Akulahni on Jun 18, 2022 at 5:56 am

Whateber it is should b no problemo as long as it chip or reasonable prise, smart n interligent + tahan lasak.. for dis proton kena improve in aspek of car design n retink on price…baru can calen pro2.

• Honey, I shrunknthe US’s Sienna!