Dego Ride ready to help relieve KL traffic congestion with its motorcycle ride-share service, wants approval

Motorcycle ride-sharing service Dego Ride has asked the government to convey a decision on whether or not it can operate legitimately. Its CEO, Nabil Feisal Bamadhaj, said that allowing it to operate officially would bring more riders into its network, which would allow it to meet the surge in demand for the service in the Klang Valley.

He said that demand for a motorcycle-based ride-share service had grown in light of worsening road traffic in Kuala Lumpur and Selangor, but the company has struggled to find riders to join because of the fear that working for Dego Ride would be illegal, the Malay Mail reports.

“As of April 2022, since the restrictions started loosening up, we saw traffic becoming worse and we saw there is an increase in demand for our service. Today, we have been struggling to cope with demand. We need more riders to support us, but the issue is that the riders were afraid to join us. They were skeptical if we are allowed or not allowed [to operate],” he said during a press conference held yesterday with Lembah Pantai MP Fahmi Fadzil.

The ride-share service was banned from Malaysian roads in 2017 alongside rival Gojek, with authorities citing the high risk of accidents and death amongst motorcyclists. However, it was announced in November 2019 that both services would be allowed to operate under a six-month long trial project beginning January 2020. Then, in November last year, the government put its foot down and declared that it would not allow such services to be offered.

The company said it currently has some 500 riders on the road, which it says is insufficient to service densely populated areas in the Klang Valley like Lembah Pantai, where demands for connectivity to the nearby rail systems are high. Nabil has previously said that motorcycle ride-hailing services would appeal to those who can’t afford to pay for taxis or car-based ride-hailing services like those offered by Grab and AirAsia.

Traffic congestion in the Klang Valley has worsened in the last few months following the lifting of Covid-19 curbs, and suggestions on ways to address the issue have included motorcycle ride-hailing services, with a transport consultancy firm suggesting that such a move should be considered.

By using a more agile vehicle like the motorcycle, which can manoeuvre through heavy congestion easily, Nabil said he believes Dego Ride could be part of the solution. While lawmakers have been divided about letting motorcycles ferry people over safety concerns, Nabil said its own data from the trial run showed Dego Ride’s operation is safe, with zero fatalities reported since its began operating in 2016.

Meanwhile, Fahmi, who is supportive of the idea behind Dego Ride, suggested that policymakers conduct further engagement to fine-tune regulations that would make motorcycle ride-hailing safe instead of dismissing it outright. “If you already have that type of mobility, why not look at ways to legalise [it] and also generate tax [revenue]. I think if it’s done the right way, it can help many people,” he said.

“It’s particularly applicable at these densely populated areas where there will be a high volume of traffic at peak hours for people to travel to transit hubs. So I hope services by Dego Ride, or any type of similar public transit service provider, will be welcomed by the government and lawmakers,” he added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bieight8 on Aug 03, 2022 at 12:21 pm

Fatality rate will go up significantly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Aug 03, 2022 at 2:33 pm

Better implement restrictions (special vehicle pass) to driving on city roads during peak hours. Encourage more travelers to park their cars outside of town and take public transport

• Right? on Aug 03, 2022 at 11:29 pm

Ok what?

Less population = Less jam

Either this or sterilize them or limit the birth rate.

I’ll strongly support this idea.

• Better move Malaysia public listed companies Head quaters (HQ) backed to their respected states .. This will help distribute evenly the working population and REDUCE Kuala Lumpur TRAFFIC JAM tremendously .

• Semi Value on Aug 03, 2022 at 12:24 pm

Now,u see those Food delivery riders riding at breakneck speed,beating red lights,overtaking left and right..already vomiting.
    Somemore,allow this …riders will also do the same as the Foodpanda..the more trips I make,I get more commission.
    This time,more human casualties once fatal accidents occur.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Seeme Veloo on Aug 03, 2022 at 5:44 pm

Brader…food cant report that the delivery rider ran red light, go above speed limit, korek hidung while riding, etc.
      Just like grab car, user can provide feedback. Driver will have to ‘behave’ or risk suspension or ban. Same method will be used for this bike ride thing.

If the rider wants to speed or jumped red light when trying to get to the customer, he or she will face the consequence alone.

Chances of accident to happen (caused by rider not behaving) when carrying passenger is extremely lower than when carrying passenger. One reason is because what i said above. Another reason is when u carry a passenger on a bike, u will automatically becomes more cautious due to the extra load which affect handling and power of the bike.

Why dont u stereotype ride hailing driver. They should ran red light, cilok, uses road shoulder, etc to make more trip too right?

• Saitama on Aug 05, 2022 at 8:37 am

Yup.. another one of those speed junkies rider here.. dude.. just let it go.. M’sian rider are already incureable of this brain virus..

• Safety First on Aug 03, 2022 at 6:37 pm

“November 2019 that both services would be allowed to operate”
      It was no surprise when under Pakatan Gomen our accident & fatality rate was consistently the highest in 60 years. If you cherish your loved ones including yourself, never ever vote them back!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • Right? on Aug 03, 2022 at 11:31 pm

I’ll surely vote them. The more the merrier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • Lolwhut? on Aug 04, 2022 at 6:58 pm

You want to vote them so they can end ur life prematurely? You know, the 14th floor is thataway no need to trouble others if you prefer that

• No trouble lah. Using hailak here. So kebal. They want to hit me, cilok and sayur here and there. Gladly be my guess…

• Tracks on Aug 03, 2022 at 12:50 pm

I don’t see this ride-share as a solution to traffic congestion in KL. But rather it provides an alternative to commuters who are using public transport such as buses, LRT and MRT.
    But assurance need to be given that the rider MUST adhere to traffic rules and not ride as they like.
    Funny this is long long ago, there is our Bas Mini Wilayah (BMW) which serves the community just right being fast and efficient although scary at times.

• Saitama on Aug 05, 2022 at 8:43 am

Yeah.. soon KL is gonna be flooded by brainless speed junkies making it almost impossible for cars to navigate safely for them.. I repeat ‘navigate safely for them’ just look at what happened in India.. If you can drive in India without heart attack, then you can do it here.. else forget about it..

• Up to you... on Aug 05, 2022 at 4:01 pm

At least appreciate their sacrifice for us. During lesen also they told us to watch out for small (motorbike, bicycle etc) right?

• Elon Fanboi on Aug 03, 2022 at 1:12 pm

Sorry, too dangerous.

• stink body smell! Not hygience to share helmet too. Brong own helmet so troublesome. Damage hair style too. Under hot sun, sure sweating, how to meet clients? Dangerous riding attitudes. Not going to work at all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
    • Alasan? on Aug 03, 2022 at 11:35 pm

Mcm ko wangi bak kasturi sgt. Just give feedback if you are not satisfied with the service. Then what is your solution?

• Lanhb on Aug 03, 2022 at 2:16 pm

Did the trial period offer any holistic solution to the worsening traffic problem?

• Lolwhut? on Aug 03, 2022 at 6:40 pm

LOL! Trial period only for 3 months, the next 3 months was gr8 success as virtually got no traffic at all.

• the driver on Aug 03, 2022 at 4:15 pm

All these naysayers and doomsayers above. Look at the stats from countries that use it and then analyze. The problem in this country is that cars are taxed so much that wanting to be a taxi or ride hailing driver will make me think twice or thrice.

• Lolwhut? on Aug 03, 2022 at 6:41 pm

Really ah? So which First World country uses such service to gr8 success?

• Alasan? on Aug 03, 2022 at 11:39 pm

Are you still living in 80s to use all info from capitalist country? You no good ah? Cannot make decision?

• Lolwhut? on Aug 04, 2022 at 6:59 pm

You still no answer me wei. If nobody else using this service why even bother? Motor riding is dangerous as it is without innocent people involved.

• Nabil Dego on Aug 05, 2022 at 12:07 am

Countries – China. Thailand. Just to name 2.

Want to ban motorcycles outright?

• Are those First World countries? Last I check nuh uh.

• Mat Silau on Aug 05, 2022 at 3:52 pm

1st world (Capitalist bloc), 2nd (Communist bloc), 3rd world…

So yesterday lah Gary. What do you expect?

Still worship them? That’s why they still think that you are inferior species…

Dasar mengagungkan penjajah.

• If they behave like other motorcyclists, a big NO!!

• Right? on Aug 03, 2022 at 11:36 pm

Feedback dude. Not satisfied, can give feedback what. Simple. Don’t berkarat sgt okay.

• Lolwhut? on Aug 04, 2022 at 7:01 pm

How do a nonbiker know that rider is dangerous or not. A bike can suddenly accelerate and that is normal but for a nonbiker it would be like a sudden ‘jump’ unlike acceleration in a car. Dont get me started about cornering…

• You don’t know dashcam? Just report it with bukti. Or is it you want the so-called 1st world country to decide for you on what to do next with your wifu also?

• https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/7eleven-settles-suit-against-dego-ride-founder-and-operator

What happened here? Are they even trustworthy?

• Ben Yap on Aug 04, 2022 at 11:02 am

imagine male rider fetching a female pillion and he stomp on the brakes too often. hahahaha….haram la….

• That one can control one, female rider for female pillion.

If not, just enjoy it lah. Don’t like, ask nicely, if not, report it lah. Life is simple, don’t make it complicated.

For me, I’ll support this idea. Good move tho.

• Nabil Dego on Aug 04, 2022 at 11:52 pm

Thanks for your wonderful comments and feedback!

I guess that the points raised here are all occurring in countries with public transit options for commuters that include motorcycle taxis.

• Good move on Aug 05, 2022 at 4:08 pm

Just do it lah. Don’t worry, I’ll support this idea. Need more fund can discuss. No prob.

• Nabil Dego on Aug 05, 2022 at 12:03 am

Thanks for the comments and feedback.

I guess the points raised here are occurring in the countries which provide motorcycle taxi services as an option to the public.

Do any of you travel with a motorcycle in or outside Malaysia? Or have friends who do?

• Saitama on Aug 05, 2022 at 8:31 am

Here in M’sia.. already the rider are like cowboy’s with their own law riding the road.. adding this service, we’re gonna see lots of dead bodies on the road soon.

• Sarcasm on Aug 05, 2022 at 4:12 pm

Tiap2 hari ada yg lahir. Can be replace. You can’t see how crowded the gov labour room? 1 marhaen die, 10 shall be replace. No effect to the Malaysia economy.

• Britney Speared on Aug 09, 2022 at 9:10 pm

I suggest use this service when it is raining. The wet lady on the backseat might be an eyecandy.

• And can get complimentary check in for drying/changing your wet clothes. Brilliant idea.