Gojek gets green light from Cabinet for implementation

Entrepreneur development minister Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan Yusof today revealed that the Cabinet has agreed in principle to the implementation of motorcycle-based ride-hailing service Gojek in Malaysia.

The idea for implementing a motorbike ride-hailing service in Malaysia was first brought up following a meeting involving youth and sports minister Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman, Gojek founder Nadiem Makarim and prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

In a report by The Star, the minister said the matter was discussed at length during the recent meeting, and that the project has been given the green light to proceed.

“Cabinet in principle has agreed for this Gojek service to be implemented. The Youth and Sports Ministry and the Transport Ministry have been asked to work together and discuss what laws need to be amended or created to enable this service to be implemented in the country,” said Mohd Redzuan.

The minister added that it could take one or two months for the two ministries to work on a proper manner to allow motorcycle ride-hailing services to be implemented legally, which must then be approved by the Cabinet. “We want to ensure whatever we implement to develop the economy of our youth, it does not contravene the law,” he said.

The idea for implementing a motorbike ride-hailing service in Malaysia was first brought up following a meeting involving youth and sports minister Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman, Gojek founder Nadiem Makarim and prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

Motorcycle taxis have existed in Malaysia in the past, with Dego Ride being one such provider. Dego Ride paid riders who provided the service RM5 for the first five kilometres, and 80 sen for every subsequent kilometre after that.

However, the service was deemed illegal at the time due to safety concerns, with the Road Transport Department (JPJ) also issuing a stern warning to those that continued to provide such services, saying it will seize any motorcycles involved.

With this change of heart, and with transport minister Anthony Loke declaring that a single company won’t be allowed to monopolise such services, we could be seeing plenty of other companies joining in on the action in the future. What are your thoughts on the matter? Share them with us in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Brian on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:33 pm

What PH wants, PH gets. Prepared for more crazy riding on the roads people. You have been warned. Now can PH expedite my request to legally drive a tank on the road? See how I do in F&F6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • Terbaaeeek DS Redzuan. tenkiuu bro Syed Saddiq, Nadiem and our honourable Tun. the previous govt failed us, Be afraid Grab, be very afraid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • 4bini on Aug 21, 2019 at 8:01 pm

So many UiTM, Mara and UIA grads have no jobs. By allowing this, they will have some jobs in the meantime. Don’t think about yourself alone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
      • Ajibkor on Aug 22, 2019 at 8:55 am

Why no jobs,go to root problem.Lack of good English?With degrees n masters,u think they want to be biker transporte r?They rather choose air con office.or just stay home.U survey them first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Avenger on Aug 22, 2019 at 10:44 am

Betoi jib, go to root problem…. 60year regime phailed to choose air con office for every single graduan with degrees n masters. Sembang larr bosskuu… dulu2 luu ok jerk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
        • The root problem? Each family too many kids…. Supply more human resource then the rate of economy booming…. So no job lor!

• Your Frens on Aug 22, 2019 at 9:11 am

So right abang. Subsidized the unemployed UiTM, Mara and UIA grads attend lesen moto B2 , and help them free 40l petrol.

They can help to deliver my ofis bills, bayar bil api/ambik road tax dan send mekdi to my galfrens. Gogo Gojek, rakyat Malaysia merdeka!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Victor Lee on Aug 22, 2019 at 9:15 am

You are right. Lack of good English is the main problem why these people cannot get jobs

• Zucare on Aug 22, 2019 at 12:47 pm

1970s NEP New Economic Policy objective of attaining national unity and fostering nation-building through eradicating poverty and restructuring society. what rakan2 muda ekcelli attain is, Gojek & 1Mdb…. Tingkatkan prestasi, kurangkan kontroversi dan berdiri diatas bakat sendiri sighh .

• Jeremy on Aug 22, 2019 at 5:42 pm

Lack of good English didn’t stop Japan, Korea, Taiwan, China, Germany, France, Italy, Spain, Sweden, Denmark, Norway, Finland, Russia, etc, etc from providing their citizens with good jobs.

• Stupid on Aug 22, 2019 at 10:37 am

Why u mention only those uni? a lot of other public and private uni grads also don’t have a job. By the way, English is not the only way to get money maa. Please, Merdeka first!

• panjang on Aug 22, 2019 at 4:11 pm

Yup, even if the can master English…lets just face the fact that newer generations cant cut it in working environment. When the going gets tough…they pull the ejector seat lever.

• Ollie on Aug 26, 2019 at 5:07 pm

NO IDEA what you’re talking about more crazy driving. Every single day with Grab or no Grab – Gojek or not – its utter madness and all the motorcyclists where Ahmad Ah CHong or Muthu just wants to kill themselves on the road

• YB Albert on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:44 pm

Now with Panda,Grab,McDee ,KFc riders speeding without giving a damn to road safety,our menteri is only compounding the problem.What a stupid idea.Just disgusting n unacceptable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
  • isengard12 on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:51 pm

The Cabinet should think twice about letting GoJek come into Malaysia.

Just look at how GrabFood & FoodPanda mcyclist rides on the street nowadays. They run red lights and zipping in and out faster than you can blink are some examples. They care no less for their own safety & the others

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • Robert De Grandis on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:59 pm

This is very good news. Actually Syed Saddiq proposal is very good. This is because there are too many Mat Rempits around causing trouble. By giving them jobs as Go Jek riders, at least they will stay out of trouble.

Too many of them in Bandar just rempit and causing trouble.. Come from the Kampungs into Bandar and cannot get job, they rempit and do nonsense.

Government has seen, even with the increase in Grab Food riders, there is a decline in rempit.

Give them jobs, they will stay out of trouble.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 40
    • They need Industrial 4.0 jobs and opportunities, not donkey jobs like Gojek. Government is seriously neglecting them. If they go ahead with Undi18, by next election they will surely be voted out of office.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 19
      • panjang on Aug 22, 2019 at 4:12 pm

What is Industrial 4.0?
        Automation…with automation comes lesser needs for manpower. Get it?

• EDITOR on Aug 23, 2019 at 9:48 am

Lesser need for manpower but with much higher skills so many more engineers are needed.

• Copy Paste on Aug 21, 2019 at 9:49 pm

Copy paste: “They at least don’t come here with fake names, spread lies, hate speech and racism. They have more self-respect than you do.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
      • James on Aug 22, 2019 at 12:52 pm

Who is being racist? I don’t see anything racist in his post.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • English Teacher on Aug 22, 2019 at 5:47 pm

An ostrich do not see when he puts his head into the sand.

• newme on Aug 22, 2019 at 8:26 am

You really think with Gojek, there will be lesser mat rempit on the road? You think mat rempit have no full time job?

• Zahrin Mahmood on Aug 22, 2019 at 8:30 am

Too much of pampering have resulted in the formation of a lazy society

• Zul Maksom on Aug 21, 2019 at 6:02 pm

I personally disagree with this idea. Don’t talk about legalizing it when we, in the end, cannot control it. Data also shows that bikers often break the law. It crowded the road and endanger safety. Look at how the road is going to look like in Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand, and Indonesia when the bike flooded the road. Can we control them? The answer is no. Sound pollution also will be higher. Are we moving to the developing nation or backward just because we want to create an economy to this bikers? I am sure there are better ways of dealing with youth in elevating their income. Do we want our road to look like in Cambodia, Vietnam, Thailand, and Indonesia? Don’t just analyze the data as per se. Analyze holistically. It creates more complexity in the future. More accidents, more crime, more pollution, more social degradation, more laws and rules needed and many more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
    • Desmosedici on Aug 22, 2019 at 9:22 am

Which ‘data’ u talking about bro, the one u pluck from air?

• sir rhys lee on Aug 21, 2019 at 6:04 pm

so fast. yesterday said still in conceptual stage, today already approved. anthony loke got poked by saddiq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Cowboys on Aug 21, 2019 at 6:10 pm

Ride motorcycle with Mat Rempet…. I will not, because not safe at all.

• Mr minister(s), if you guys really have change of heart, focus on re-legalize dego, a local based company first. Bringing in investment is really a poor cover up when u have a working platform already established locally

• John Doe on Aug 21, 2019 at 7:06 pm

They gave so many problem and easily given to GoJek….It’s laughable all PH policies , all cyclist please go attend class and take exam like Grab please ! Same servicing

• C.P. MOHAN on Aug 21, 2019 at 7:21 pm

I see some issues like safety and weather, but also see some opportunities like parcel & food delivery and e-commerce. Overall think it is a good call since issues are business risk, but the government must nevertheless look at the safety aspect. Blue taxi – ‘They say a barking dog is less dangerous’ Gojek proves my point

• Mahatma Coat on Aug 21, 2019 at 7:39 pm

Who would be brave enough or silly enough to ride on the back of a motorbike of someone you didn’t know?

NOT ME !!

With the total disregard for road rules in many cases in this country, I can see this ending in tears.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 21, 2019 at 7:47 pm

Mat rempit vs taxi drivers when the taxi association protest to the govt. No need to guess who’s gonna win when a fight breaks out….

• Almighty Snack Bar on Aug 21, 2019 at 9:31 pm

Hahahahahaha…

I thought they will bring in GoJek to provide competition to Grab, see see is to bring in motorsharing platform.

Hidup Pakatan.. Hidup Hidup..

• Kongsi birkin on Aug 22, 2019 at 1:06 pm

Sharing economy is next big thing. sambung bayar sharing, motorsharing, basikal sharing platform.

• Tz1234 on Aug 21, 2019 at 9:51 pm

With safety in mind, wonder how big the market will be? Needless to say the road condition, driver attitude in Malaysia. In addition, how’s the insurance coverage while all accidents are blamed on 4-wheeled vehicles but motorcycles.
    The psychological confirm distance between strangers, riders are basically will not be existed. I won’t engage such services.

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 21, 2019 at 10:24 pm

So many supported Gojek, while some others opposed the idea. I say let the fact speaks for itself.

Go see with your own eyes how motorcyclists behave and ride their bike in KL.

Go witness yourself the abang-abang rempit in full action in KL during wee hours.

Then, you decide if you wish to ride Gojek, As the Malays used to say “Lu pikir sendiri la”

• hondaman on Aug 21, 2019 at 10:39 pm

Next, Tuk Tuk on Malaysian road. Safer then motorbike.

• Joyceline on Aug 21, 2019 at 10:54 pm

Well…..if they insist, just make sure their motorcycles are 100% stock and get inspected every 3 to 6 months.

Additionally, make sure their insurances enough to cover the cost of a car if something happen.

Camcorder, speed limiter and ABS should also set to compulsory items on each bike for safety purpose.

• Anonymous on Aug 21, 2019 at 11:22 pm

This is HYPOCRACY… and DISCRIMINATION towards our local businesses. Local co DeGo Ride had been operating but banned by PH Govt…! Now sudden U-Turn…?!!! This is utter disgraceful of PH Govt killing local businesses then opening our market to foreigners…! Guaranteed will be in shambles and receive backlash..!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • stastasta on Aug 26, 2019 at 9:59 am

dego was banned by BN, not by PH.

• LimKPeng on Sep 15, 2019 at 9:48 pm

To be exact, Dego was banned by both PH and BN, here is an article I found.

https://www.bikesrepublic.com/featured/ministry-of-transport-to-dego-ride-cease-operations-or-face-action/

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/dego-ride-ban-line-transportation-system-first-world-nations-says-deputy-minister

I urge you all do more research to avoid any misinformation. I can only give 2 links, I actually have at least 5 tabs regarding Dego Ride banned issues, haven’t gone through them all but these are the 2 I found with date attached on the article.

• azhar on Aug 21, 2019 at 11:23 pm

Im sure they already consider safety and all..even singapore allow gojek to operate…most important thing is the regulation

• Sparcov on Aug 22, 2019 at 8:20 am

This happened after Indonesia president visited Malaysia.
    Grab car operating in Indonesia, so allow Gojek to operate in Malaysia. Air Asia operate in Indonesia, allow Lion Air to operate in Malaysia. This is a big picture thinking.

While ordinary road user like me don’t really care much. Road Safety is important, socioeconomic is important, environmental is important, Rules of law is important.

While we have tonnes of problem managing the traffic in Malaysia, we cannot afford to have too many motorcyclist on the road. Death Statistic prove that the riding pinion is the highest in Malaysia.

Ever since the introduction of E-Hailing like Grab Car, the amount of traffic increase! new car selling increase, logistic sector increase, Job opportunity surely increase as well. Which is good for the Country economic as everyone can have part time earning.

At the same time, we might lost millions of business from public transport as everyone will go for more comfortable e-hailing. Taxi driver will have no job, public bus will be less people, billions of MRT, LRT will lost its business. At the end is the government to suffer.

In Indonesia it works as the public transport are not superior compare to Malaysia. Also due to the population of Greater Jakarta which is more than 20 million living in the city. In Greater KL, we only have approx. 10million but with better infrastructure in place.

• newme on Aug 22, 2019 at 8:28 am

We should ban ministers from going overseas. Each they come back, they will bring in idea mengarut instead of the good things.

• Frust on Aug 22, 2019 at 8:24 pm

exactly bro. we just see what bijan had done ,

• Chavez on Aug 23, 2019 at 9:53 am

Lucky he didnt do much harm unlike Madey Look East policy that robbed the country of 30 years potential.

• Come on youth minister, is this the best we could offer the young ones to mitigate unemployment? Just because some likes to ride bike, hence u find em opportunity to become bike e-hailers? Let’s say another group likes eating, hence u find em opportunity to work in restaurants? Another type that races with car, u get em opportunity to drive grab? Is this going to bring self-development and sustainability to the youths and country?
    Me being a regular bike rider for the past 20 years, I feel the safety risk involved in riding a bike is getting worst year after years due to too many external factors. I don’t see any serious improvement in motorcycle safety, year after year the statistics of death due to riding / pillion increases. They can even be wearing a full riding suit and race helmet worth a small fortune, yet the risk of getting involved in an accident still remain high due to dangers pose either by other road users or the road condition, etc. First, regulate and mitigate this risk and make the road a safe place for all to use before ever thinking of allowing for a bike e-hailing service or programme for unemployed youths, whatever u call it.

• This is really stupid.
    1. Indonesia don’t have MRT, LRT and very poor public transport.
    2. Indonesia population is 10 times more than us and Jakarta population is 5 times more than Klang Valley.
    3. Traffic in Jakarta is horrendous.

And our brilliant ministers think is a good idea to implement it here. What are we going to do with billions of investment on our MRT?

• wawasan2020 on Aug 22, 2019 at 10:59 am

As long as don’t rempit against opposite way..im okay with this..

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 22, 2019 at 11:32 am

So, will Anthony force these motorcyclist to take PSV license? If Grab drivers are force to take PSV, then by right Gojek motorcyclist should also take PSV. Not easy to pass PSV test, you think Mat Motor can really pass PSV test?

And what about insurance to cover customers? Who will bear the extra premium incurred?

Cakap jer senang abang Minister. See how you implement this.

BTW, you cabinet Mini-Stars aren’t addressing the core problem of Mat Motor unemployment. Simply bringing Gojek doesn’t go to the root issues. It’s not even a long term solution. Pakatan Hopeless is clueless.

• Typical Malaysian on Aug 22, 2019 at 2:54 pm

Mat Motor unemployment, komplen..

bagi Mat Motor employment, lagi komplen…

• SushiRulez on Aug 23, 2019 at 9:08 am

Good job. Let the traitor Anthony Tan who left for Singapore feel the heat in his own backyard

• stastasta on Aug 26, 2019 at 10:01 am

grab will easily launch their own motorcycle hailing sevice to compete on the new front against gojek and dego.

• Keeps the mat rempit busy doing something productive and makes the unemployment stat look good. Hope they don’t ban female riding pillion behind male rider.