Dego Ride motorcycle taxis will be seized, JPJ warns

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) is sending a stern warning to those that continue to provide motorcycle taxi services, most notably Dego Ride, by saying it will seize any motorcycles involved in providing such a service.

“I’m issuing a warning that this time, we will not issue summons but will seize their (operators) motorcycles. Now we have identified over 6,000 operators who have registered and I understand they want to resume operations. Two weeks ago we only issued summons, but this time we will seize the motorcycles,” said JPJ enforcement division director Datuk V. Valluvan Veloo in a report by The Sun.

Valluvan said police are conducting investigations into the operation and a statement had been taken from Dego Ride chief executive officer, Nabil Feisal Bamadhaj. “So far we have issued three summons and we have identified active Dego Ride operations in the Klang Valley and that they get their clients via WhatsApp,” he said.

The Transport Ministry had previously stated that motorcycle taxi services are illegal in Malaysia due to safety reasons, ordering Dego Ride stop its operations as it did not have the proper operating licence.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• As basher says, we shud aim to be 1st world; like Taiwan. So just ban them just like Taiwan.

All bashers agrees right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • Sub_zero on Feb 24, 2017 at 8:48 pm

Since when taiwan ban motorcycle? It’s mainland china, and ONLY in big city

• Taiwan ban Grabuberdego dan yg sewaktu dengannye. Pls read more.

• Kim John Enam on Feb 24, 2017 at 4:17 pm

How to enforce Gerard?
    If the person ferrying passenger possess a valid license to carry a passenger, and the person books online via an app (which means the transaction is encrypted), both rider and passenger will not be able to held liable for the charge.

Another threat from authorities without clear picture how to implement. Easier in North Korea, passenger behind rider is a capitalist, riding on our hardworking communist citizens. we do not like capitalists.

we generally shoot them.
    burn his house. beat his mother.

• Borneo Darul Seram on Feb 24, 2017 at 5:43 pm

JPJ undercovers use app to book dego ride then wait rider show up. gotcha into a trap.

• azrul on Feb 24, 2017 at 6:27 pm

What app are you talking about? If I want to use Dego I will have to fill up a form on its website and wait for an SMS for confirmation.

Paid cash, no such thing as encrypted transactions with Dego.

• People are just making an honest living, not by robbing a bank or by extortion.The country economy is getting worse now and lots of retrenchment. Why want to push the poorer group into crime ? People have mouths to feed at home too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
    • Gov dun wan pipu to make money by endangering other pipu. Go find some other jobs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
    • Albert on Feb 24, 2017 at 5:05 pm

If Dego Ride is dangerous,then YAB Minister should go on his rounds each day to catch thousands of motor cyclists who carry more than1 pillion rider.
      Just go to any school in the morning…thousands bring 2 kids on their bike to school.
      These are even more dangerous.They cant control the bike in an emergency.YAB can even be knocked down if he comes into the pathway of these ILLEGAL BIKES.
      Dego ride riders just want to earn an honest living.They cant have the luxury of being driven in gomen Pondanas.
      Grabcar,Uber currently r deemed illegal.Why just target DEgo Ride?
      THis year another 50,000 jobs will be lost from 100,000 lost the last 2 years.Have anyone died being a Dego rider or passenger?
      Infact,the KFC and Mc Dee riders r even more dangerous without passengers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
      • Imagine them McDees riders deliver u like some happy meal. Still can happy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Boboy on Feb 24, 2017 at 5:32 pm

Maybe the safety life of a person is much more valuable than current economy problem?

• And deswai Gov thinks far ahead compared to some rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
      • IGP mom on Feb 25, 2017 at 9:57 am

But it’s not govt to decide what’s dangerous and what’s not and then use the law to force. So riding a bike itself with family members and friends are not dangerous, but specifically Dego for making some profits by the riders are. What logic?

• Its Gov prerogative to ensure the safety and wellbeing of all rakyat despite less liberties, otherwise why have laws in the 1st place?

• lilytan on Feb 27, 2017 at 9:19 am

Have a share in dego and everthing will be safe and sound.

• Ben Yap on Feb 24, 2017 at 5:30 pm

i also wanna register as a motor taxi provider.

when a chic rides the bike with me, i can keep playing with my brakes…. hehehehe….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • alldisc on Feb 24, 2017 at 5:39 pm

So night time JPJ will be racing with rempits.. Day time, race with Diego.hahahah

• panjang on Feb 24, 2017 at 5:55 pm

Under what law or clause or just plain stupidity does the bike be seized?

• Running an unlicensed business. Just like seizing mobile carts, premises, trade ware, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Zoomba on Feb 24, 2017 at 9:25 pm

Read up la the issue from beginning… don’t be just plain stupidity to ask question for the sake of asking question…

• Just let people make an honest living.

• NancyOrdirector on Feb 25, 2017 at 12:21 pm

I thought Nancy just said no need to ban?
    hmm… do we listen to Nancy of prime minister department or this JPJ director?
    which one lagi power ah?

• No need ban. Just dun issue them lesen perniagaan. If still continue, then seize assets. Thats what they mean.

• RicoT on Feb 25, 2017 at 4:48 pm

Dego should be banned, more than 50% of the motorcycles either could not show their proper license plate number or have missing side view mirrors. How do you allow such motorcycles on the road in the first place. Dego couldn’t enforce this rules on their providers in the first place as well.

• MiniTurbo on Feb 25, 2017 at 6:35 pm

from my knowledge and experience, JPJ only make noise…..and very little action…