2023 European Car of the Year – Honda Civic, Ora Good Cat, smart #1, Vinfast VF8/VF9 in the running

It’s that time of the year again – a list of candidates for the 2023 European Car of the Year award has been revealed, with quite a few familiar names on it. You might even (or could soon) own one of them. Among those in a list of 45 cars are household names like the Honda Civic, Toyota Corolla Cross, BMW X1, and Mercedes-Benz GLC. Even the new Nissan X-Trail received a spot on the list.

There is no shortage of electric cars on the list either. Among them are the BMW i7, Vietnam’s Vinfast VF8 and VF9, Xpeng P5, Nissan Ariya, and Mercedes-EQ EQE. Those that will eventually be in Malaysia also made the list, including the Ora Good Cat and the smart #1.

Among other notable new cars that made the list includes the Ferrari 296 GTB, Range Rover, Lotus Emira, Maserati Grecale, Peugeot 408 crossover, Toyota GR86 and the newly launched Ferrari Purosangue SUV.

A final list of candidates is due to be released in the coming weeks. They consists of new cars on sale or will be on sale before the end of the year in five or more European markets. Later on, voting will take place to determine seven finalists before the winner is announced. The ‘Car of the Year’ award has been given out since 1964, with the most recent winner being the fully electric Kia EV6.

Pan Eu Jin

Pan Eu Jin is a firm believer that good things don’t come cheap, but cheap cars can be good. How a car makes you feel behind the wheel or as a passenger should be more important than the brand it represents.

• Jaguh Global on Sep 22, 2022 at 3:08 pm

Bravo Vinfast and Haval !

Where is Proton missing from the list ???!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Thinking on Sep 22, 2022 at 3:17 pm

these list are probably sponsored?

even Civic Sales struggle in 2022,
      at the whole Europe, last few month can sell less than 100 units/month.

Honda itself in 2021, is at very low sales volume ranking too,
      No.28 @ Europe.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 22, 2022 at 5:40 pm

Hundreds of billions wasted to bailout P1 …but still failed. Stupid madey projek n kroni BN.. Proton better kolos shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • Why don’t you do your research about COTY before you make such a baseless comment? What’s the point of having a COTY if it’s sponsored? Then the rich manufacturers like VW, MB and BM will always be at the top.

If you’ve done your research, you’ll know that it’s not influenced by car sales. EU will typically buy EU cars, like JP will have 90% JP cars. Sometimes, I wonder if I’m the only senior citizen here.

• Aaron on Sep 22, 2022 at 7:29 pm

2021 sales ranking @ Europe:

1. VW – Jaguh Kampung
          2. Peugeot
          3. TOYOTA
          4. BMW
          6. Mercedes Benz

Betul jugak, 90% buy Europe car..

• Bangala on Sep 22, 2022 at 3:52 pm

Tuu smart #1, tak nampak tuu ke. More importantly mane P2? Tau berkokok kat kampung je ke? ke ke ke ke

• Aduyai on Sep 22, 2022 at 4:00 pm

How low of iq level one must be at to be able to ask such question?

• FudgeMeSideways on Sep 23, 2022 at 8:12 am

Is Vinfast VF8/ VF9 even sold outside of Vietnam yet? I have failed to find a single ownership review on YT outside of vietnam. I’m still watching with bated breath, the spectacular collapse of Vinfast.

• John Gagal on Sep 24, 2022 at 9:10 am

Don’t worry, Khazanah Vietnam will buy bailout Vinfast.