SILK highway toll evader caught – driver of Honda City pays RM256 owed in toll fare, including admin fees

Highway toll evasion is an offence that has drawn the attention of Prolintas, which has deployed operations to catch users of its highways which have been evading payment of toll fares. Most recently, the highway operator has caught another highway user that has been found to have evaded payment through 59 passages of toll plazas.

The highway user was the driver of a white Honda City (pictured), who was caught on the Kajang-SILK highway and was found to have owed RM256.20 in toll fare including administrative fees. The amount owed was paid on the spot by the driver of the vehicle, according to Prolintas.

Toll evasion is something probably as old as tolled roads, which this typically occurs when a vehicle tailgates the one in front, in order to also pass through before the boom gate closes.

At present, those who evade tolls can be charged under Section 8 of the Federal Roads (Private Management) Act 1984, which states that a fine of between RM2,000 and RM5,000 can be imposed upon conviction. This however requires the toll concessionaire involved to file a civil suit against the offender.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Where is my Starbucks Machiatto,guards? on Oct 17, 2022 at 2:20 pm

Prolintas,the bugger is a hardcore offender..dont just collect whats overdue..get PDRM fine the bastard max RM5000.
    AFTER saman 5K,see whether the dude continues or not.If again non stop violation,get PDRM again .U got all the CCTV recordings as solid proof.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 8
    • Busy Body on Oct 18, 2022 at 2:37 pm

It does nothing got to do with you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 69
      • Good luck to you Busy Body on Oct 18, 2022 at 10:50 pm

May be not now but in future when so many Busy Body like you support traffic offender and not possible you will do a same comment in future when someone hit your car from rear when try to escape paying toll. Good luck to you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • Right? on Oct 18, 2022 at 11:10 pm

Busy Body, don’t tokok here. Are you an idiot to encourage more people to be like an a$$hole like you?

Wear condom dude next time, so your stupidity will not past on your next generation…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
      • Joe kerr on Oct 19, 2022 at 7:29 am

Seems like you are not liked at all,do you need more clues you ain’t a bunch of roses?

• Bodoh on Oct 24, 2022 at 9:51 pm

Study people that support offenders

• The large chrome of the Honda City looks acid rain faded.

• This is my kind of news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • If no money to pay toll then use a bicycle. Why want to be a bangsat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
  • Vezeroth on Oct 17, 2022 at 2:53 pm

Shouldve been fined a large amount as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
  • seancorr on Oct 17, 2022 at 3:00 pm

Saw similar case on LDP. An Almera was so close to the front car on the Smart Tag lane I thought the Almera is going to crash into the other car but then I see what he’s trying to do.

• Fur ODC on Oct 17, 2022 at 3:54 pm

Kalau sekali dua tu, bole la maafkan. Ni kalau dh 59 kali, saman je la trus. Nampak sangat memang sengaja. Bukannya x mampu pon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
  • Sick&Tired on Oct 17, 2022 at 4:39 pm

How did this guy evade paying toll 59 times!!??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Morning Dew on Oct 17, 2022 at 5:14 pm

No need to blur the number plate and driver face next time, just malukan him so he can learn the lesson

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
  • David on Oct 17, 2022 at 5:29 pm

Should charge higher penalty

• how did he get caught on the 60th time?…LULZ

• YAP OON TENG on Oct 17, 2022 at 6:07 pm

must put in in jail for 12 tears n fine 210 million just like the banduan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Busy Body on Oct 18, 2022 at 2:40 pm

Then steal money via 1mdb more worth it

• NoCry on Oct 18, 2022 at 9:22 pm

Nahh nah.. “12 tears”? Should be more tears than that.. that’s too little tears.. unless there are more conditions placed on it like “the tears need to be genuine and judged by crying professionals with score of at least 7/10” etc..

• Got 1 time a van follow me close in toll booth.. knowing his tactic, i just slowly drive n the toll crossbar smash his windscreen n crack, padan muka

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
  • 7yearsfd1 on Oct 17, 2022 at 9:57 pm

why just whats due?! no fine?!

should be at least 10x time amount

like this same like he just pay his buku 555

• Annoynimouse on Oct 18, 2022 at 8:52 am

So they’re saying that the toll concessionaire is not willing to file a civil suit against the offender? I’d say that’s like a win for the driver and a loss to law-abiding drivers in the country.

• Junkies otr on Oct 18, 2022 at 10:10 am

Pls show the number plate

• 59 offence & just let him roaming on the road without heavy penalty..what a shame.

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 18, 2022 at 9:55 pm

how to skip toll?

• ShahCarlos69 on Oct 23, 2022 at 12:37 pm

Hello mr roti canai send me roti telor goyang one set n teh tarik then i teach u based only how to skip toll ok bro…. Huhuhuhuhuhu…, That for day one…
      Malaysia Boleh Lahhhh……

• Alcios on Oct 18, 2022 at 10:47 pm

The guy like doing it for fun. Play less gta ya, in real world yourlife doesn’t take two.

• Mozy shah on Oct 20, 2022 at 2:14 am

Busy body n da honda city driver got 1 thing in common, they’re da result of a failed condom wore by their fathers…

• Rembat

• Rembat sampai maloo

• ShahCarlos69 on Oct 23, 2022 at 12:31 pm

Hello mr roti canai u send me one set roti wth telor goyang n teh tarik then i teach u how skip toll ok bro…… Huhuhuhuhuhu…., Malaysia Boleh lah……