TNB Electron EV charging stations in service by 2025 – two dedicated hubs in partnership with Gamuda Land

Tenaga Nasional (TNB) has entered into a partnership with Gamuda Land to build two electric vehicle charging stations at Gamuda Land’s property development projects in Selangor. Both companies have inked a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to develop the EV stations, or charging hubs, which will be branded under an Electron name.

Slated to begin service by 2025, the Electron stations are set to be located at Gamuda Cove in Southern Klang Valley and Gamuda Gardens in Northern Klang Valley, and will serve communities in the projects as well as visitors to the water theme park at Gamuda Cove.

The charging hubs will be powered by rooftop solar panels, which will help offset electricity from the grid and support a greener environment. While no specific technical details were revealed, the companies said the stations will be compatible with plug-in hybrid and full EVs of all vehicle makes, and will house both AC and DC fast chargers.

Just like conventional petrol stations, the Electron stations will include a host of services such as food and beverage outlets, convenience stores and more to serve motorists as they wait for their vehicles to be charged.

The two companies said the EV stations will accelerate the development of the ecosystem and infrastructure for EVs in the country, thus supporting the sustainability vision of both companies.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Is the charges provided free for car and can use solar energy to electrick car?

• Jack Tan on Oct 28, 2022 at 5:49 pm

You must be stupid to think its free. Of course not!

• sohai on Oct 29, 2022 at 11:58 am

Good job bcoz always a looser when u late in game… 2025~2030 we will start Hydrogen Fuel Cell and no longer needed the Charging station, world will save from tnb massive burning the dirty air pollution coal to generate ectra electricity which impact on green house and climate change… sohai… tn

• So, if a Proton car enters this station, will it becomes hydrogen?

• Helmi on Oct 29, 2022 at 12:45 pm

EV charging stations shouldn’t just have charging booth & small shop like regular petrol stations. They should be connected to malls, restaurants, barbershops, spas, arcades, cafes & remote offices where people can spend their time while waiting for their cars to get charged.

• Hatehoggers on Oct 30, 2022 at 6:27 am

The idea of it connected to malls and stuff is good, but knowing malaysian mentality who like to hog the charger, there will be issue of not enough charger and long waiting time unless they implement penalty charges if they hog after complete charging…DC charging would not consume an hour of ur life afterall, a quick 20min of charging shud generally suffice to get some rest/solat and a loo and enough charge for u to reach ur destination , otherwise, u shud be charging ur car at home more

• Kariayam on Oct 29, 2022 at 7:37 pm

I love how there’s a 458 in the artist’s impression image.