LRT Kelana Jaya Line – seven days of free travel for all; details for cash, My50 pass and TnG card users

Earlier this evening, Rapid Rail announced that the LRT Kelana Jaya Line will reopen in full starting at 6am on Monday, November 14, two days earlier than scheduled. The service has been disrupted by the closure of 16 stations along the line since November 9, and was supposed to be fully operational again on November 16.

In its statement announcing the reopening of the entire KJ Line, the company also said that it will compensate users with free rides for seven days. Previously, Rapid Rail had announced free fares to KJ Line users for every day of the service disruption, and though the service will have been suspended for a total of five days, KJ Line users will be given free travel for seven days.

This will apply to all users utilising the Kelana Jaya Line, be it My50 pass holders and those using cash (for tokens) or Touch ‘n Go cards. Here are the details on how the free travel will apply for each:

My50 pass holders

For My50 users, they will be given additional free travel for seven days when renewing their My50 pass after expiry. Renewals can be done from November 21 to December 20, 2022. Users simply need to go to any customer service office at LRT, MRT, Monorail and BRT stations and the customer service officer will validate the additional free travel days.

For My50 customers with passes expiring between Monday, November 14 to Sunday, November 20, they can use their pass as usual without any charge. All you have to do is ensure that at least RM5 of stored value is maintained in the pass.

Touch ‘n Go card users

As for Touch ‘n Go card users, they can use their card as usual on the KJ Line without any charge between Monday, November 14 to Sunday, November 20, provided that the start or end destination of their tavel is at any station on the KJ Line. Again, TnG users are reminded to ensure that at least RM5 of stored value is maintained on the card.

Payment by cash for one-way travel

Finally, all users utilising cash to purchase tokens for travel on the Kelana Jaya Line will enjoy free fare from Monday, November 14 to Sunday, November 20. Users simply need to go to any customer service office at LRT, MRT, Monorail and BRT stations to obtain a special one-way travel token, provided that the start or end destination is at any station on the KJ Line.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bieight8 on Nov 13, 2022 at 11:58 pm

What if break down again within the free travel period…

• Why So Serious on Nov 14, 2022 at 9:41 am

It is free yeah. I never heard of anyone would complain about getting free even if it doesn’t work.

• Dah bubar..where is my Starbucks machiatto ? on Nov 14, 2022 at 3:23 pm

U dont know meh? The Canadian experts r crashing at those budget chowkit hotels..not allowed to fly back so soon.Nanti,another “disappearance”.Wee Wee gonna pee in his diapers.
      WeeWee sure kalah this round GE15..before GE,dah kena train “disappearance”. So his seat also “disappear”Nov 19.

• This compensation seems miniscule compared to other countries when their public transport failed. Some even get sued. Here, they only get a slap on the wrist ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Chong Or Pei on Nov 14, 2022 at 9:07 am

Nobody will be reprimanded either. It is the Malaysian way. The haves vs the have nots.

• Why So Serious on Nov 14, 2022 at 9:43 am

At least they give for free. What’s the point of getting sued if the compensation money will come from taxpayers anyhow.

• should sack the prasarana management

• Ruslan Bahari on Nov 14, 2022 at 7:17 am

In all honesty, the free rides should apply to all lines that connect to the affected stations. Because your temporary closure impacted not merely KJ Line users, but all users that needed to use the Kajang Line, the Ampang Line and other lines that feed into or interface the KJ Line. Essentially, your entire network.

• Li Peng on Nov 14, 2022 at 10:16 am

Some people even used the line to reach ETS to Bukit Kaju Hitam at KL Sentral! All ETS should be free for 7 days too!

• https://www.fibercare.com.my/fibercare on Nov 14, 2022 at 3:53 pm

if breakdown must call the insurance to arrange for the towing and send for repair. carpet cleaning services

• Tu Man on Nov 14, 2022 at 6:40 pm

i love this already

• Tu Man on Nov 14, 2022 at 6:40 pm

thank you goverment