Singaporeans shake car vigorously to get more petrol into the tank – this may cause more harm than good

It is no secret that Singaporeans pay less for fuel in Malaysia after factoring in the foreign exchange rate. For this group of individuals (possibly a family), getting as much of that “cheap” fuel as possible warranted a group effort to “shake” their vehicle with much vigour at a petrol station in Taman Pelangi, Johor Bahru.

The humorous incident was captured in a video that has since been shared widely on social media. In it, a woman is seen pumping fuel while three of her companions, including an elderly woman, push the Singapore-registered car up and down. At least they appear to be filling up on RON 97, which, while unsubsidised here at RM3.35 per litre following the latest fuel price update, is still far cheaper than RON 95 in Singapore – it is currently averaging around SGD2.70 (RM8.85) per litre there.

Such a sight is not uncommon, and there are even instances where Singaporean drivers would tilt their cars to get as much fuel in. However, overfilling your vehicle’s fuel tank outweigh the perceived benefits of getting that extra drop to gain that extra kilometre on the road.

The action can damage car as it can overwhelm the Evaporative Emission System (EVAP) that is designed to store and dispose of fuel vapours before they are released into the atmosphere. Overfilling can cause liquid fuel to enter the charcoal canister (or carbon filter) of the EVAP, which is designed only for vapour, damaging it and potentially other parts of the system, requiring what would likely be an expensive fix.

If you hear the click from the fuel nozzle, you’re done refuelling and there’s no need to continue forcing more fuel into a tank that has a limited capacity.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• The stuff you’ll see when you’re connected to countries that have more expensive petrol than you.

• Sinkie on Jan 05, 2023 at 6:44 pm

Our kiasuism is unbeatable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Arrogant people on Jan 06, 2023 at 8:37 am

1st world country with 3rd world mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Siok Sendiri on Jan 06, 2023 at 1:09 pm

Not every Singaporean is like that. But I get iti, n Malaysia you need this sort of distraction from your woes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • Ex DAP supporter on Jan 05, 2023 at 6:46 pm

Kiasu at its best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • haha
    if SG registered vehicle, pay the the price in SGD. case solved. no more funny scenes… is an eyesore for Johorean… as they seeing every days

• I wonder how picture can tell that those are Singaporean….. Just because of the car is Singapore registered plate doesn’t mean the driver and passengers are Singaporean. Don’t forget, a lot of Malaysian PR who also can drive Singapore registered car into Malaysia.
      By the way, I’m Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
  • ROTI CANAI on Jan 05, 2023 at 7:09 pm

sinkies are mechaphiles

• No no. Shake the car, your 40l tank will magically transform to 60l capacity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Rizal on Jan 05, 2023 at 8:49 pm

Korang apa tahu..Kan diorang top scorer exam IB seluruh dunia.. hahaha

• butthurt on Jan 05, 2023 at 9:34 pm

smart enough to earn in SGD, but dumb enough that you should opt for a diesel vehicle instead.

• Kiasso on Jan 05, 2023 at 10:01 pm

It’s just the joy of togetherness making fun… hahaha

• i dont understand how shaking a car can make more fuel go in if the tank is 50 litre by shaking it the tank will magically become bigger? though singaporean are very smart lol

• So they are practicing what they learn from National Service. CPR!

• Kea Was on Jan 06, 2023 at 8:02 am

Won’t it did better to buy fuel additives if you are so worry about fuel consumption that itself at least will work better for the long run.

• Dingo on Jan 06, 2023 at 8:31 am

The ultimate kiasu…driving Corolla somemore. If you know the profile of Corolla buyers, Toyota reliability, cheap to run, silver color also because its the easiest to keep clean. This the ultimate cheapskate family ever.

• Haters gonna hate on Jan 06, 2023 at 9:06 am

Same mentality with those people modified exhaust, body kit, rims etc, magically the car suddenly increased to 450 horsepower

• The SG people kiasuness knows no bound.

• newme on Jan 06, 2023 at 9:10 am

How much extra can they get? The most is from Geylang Lorong 2 to Lorong 6 only.

• The only time where all family members work as one team. No handphone or other gadget to distract. Quality family time.

• TCLL JAMES on Jan 06, 2023 at 10:36 am

yo.. let’s pump it!! Could someone please put some rap music to the video.

• wonder what will they do when charging their EV car in future, hahaha.

• newme on Jan 06, 2023 at 1:57 pm

They come Malaysia to charge up all their xiaomi & pineng powerbank lah. Later use the powerbank to charge the car.

• newme on Jan 06, 2023 at 11:18 am

What do you expect from people that serve nasi lemak with sausage and nuggets while claiming its the best along with other dishes.

• @Snakebabu on Jan 06, 2023 at 12:58 pm

The art of pushing air mass from the tank..the real Airbenders..:P

• Cuti Cuti Malaysia on Jan 06, 2023 at 1:20 pm

This is a “Must Try!” holiday experience during the cuti cuti Johor Bharu, let’s do it on next trip to Johor, very instragram-able & tiktok-able experience.

• Lee Kok Siong on Jan 06, 2023 at 1:45 pm

They don’t realize overfilled gas tank can flood the evaporative charcoal canister… bye bye SGD!

• Recond on Jan 06, 2023 at 3:53 pm

No worry on that, after few years still can sell to Malaysia as a recond TOYOTA, accident free, lady owner, careful driver, low mileage…

• these are the small % of Singaporeans that stopped school at Sec 3