2023 Proton X70 review in Malaysia – new 1.5L turbo three-cylinder engine better than the 1.8L turbo 4-pot?

The Proton X70 MC was launched in June last year, with the biggest change to the popular SUV being the adoption of a 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine to replace the previous 1.8 litre turbo four-pot.

The direct-injected TGDi mill powers four out of five available variants, but if you still want the larger-capacity motor, it can be found on the most expensive version of the X70 MC, the 1.8 Premium.

With 177 PS and 255 Nm of torque on tap, the 1.5 litre TGDi engine makes 7 PS and 45 PS less than the 1.8 litre powerplant. However, peak torque arrives sooner with the downsized engine at 1,500 rpm compared to 1.750 rpm with the 1.8 litre unit, which is also 43 kg heavier.

A seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission – introduced on the locally-assembled (CKD) model back in 2020 – is standard across the range and you can get all-wheel drive on the 1.5 Executive as an alternative to the default front-wheel drive.

In this video review, Hafriz Shah, who himself owns a 2018 X70 that is over four years old now, gives his verdict on the improvements made on the X70 MC and whether it is a good buy compared to close rivals such as the Honda CR-V and Mazda CX-5.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• More fuel saving is better

X90 if use MHEV1.5T, better

• Dah Menang Semua on Jan 06, 2023 at 4:41 pm

Short answer, is, NO
      High number on paper
      Not as great as 1.8T in real-world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Made In China on Jan 06, 2023 at 2:06 pm

4 pot engine is better than 3 pot engine, no matter what brand. Because I have been using cars with these two types of engines, the long term usage will show the true weakness of 3 pot engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 8
    • Anonymous on Jan 07, 2023 at 4:21 am

By that logic V6 engines would have to be the worst engines in the world. The inherent imbalance of a 3-cylinder, doubled. Heavier balancing shafts with twice as many reciprocating parts.

I have had the Myvi 1.0 for 17 years. For multiple years it was serviced just once a year. Went up and down Cameron Highlands, Fraser’s Hill, went to Penang from Klang and back, and stalled for who knows how many times when I learnt how to drive with it. It travels 8000km annually, and the only major problem it had was an overheat from a leaking radiator. It was already 14 years old by then.

Toyota’s KR engines are not the exception. Those who make terrible 3-cylinder engines are bad at making any engines full stop. There are excellent examples of 3-cylinders everywhere and the list isn’t short.

I reckon you haven’t been judging the engines, but the cars. The Myvi’s NVH is subpar only because it’s made to a budget. The engine is not as well counter-balanced to keep them cheap. A 4-cylinder engine with only 2 mounting points wouldn’t be as refined either. I’m sure you wouldn’t be so against 3-cylinders if the ones you’ve driven are BMW i8, Honda S660, Ford Fiesta, or Toyota GR Yaris.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • pot yang kene sedut the bes hahaha

• Mudin on Jan 06, 2023 at 4:20 pm

Bro Hafriz,
    When was the last time you replaced the OE shock absorbers and mileage churned out on your own unit? How about related chassis/linkage bushings, if any?
    Over time, worn parts do reduced the initial/new car’s subjective feel?

Technical & subjective points (may) have to be considered when comparing ride handling between a new & used unit albeit many great automotive reporters have been chirping on this subject while canvassing sales for auto makers.

Meanwhile, keep up the great work & efforts made for all the car nuts in here :)

• Medic on Jan 06, 2023 at 6:45 pm

Come on Paultan, there are so many new cars in the market yet you choose to review this dinosaur?
    We need previous driven seasons i.e comparison of different segments of car which will help to decide our future purchase. I purchasedmy first car based on your review (honda city vs almera vs vios). Please do those series again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
  • David on Jan 06, 2023 at 11:34 pm

Junk junk. Full stop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Car Enthusiast on Jan 07, 2023 at 11:48 am

3 pot vibrate at low idle (small body kancil). The large suv may not noticeable. As fuel economy it’s always how the driving (pedal to the metal/gentle press). Tax based on engine size may be the reason. Only issue is the turbo, is it come with a timer like most diesel. Hot turbo engine shut off can damage in long run (suprima s), like on highway to r&r park where you don’t drive slowly enough for a while for it to cool down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • SCion on Jan 07, 2023 at 5:30 pm

Modern turbo engines no longer need cooling down. When you turn off the engine, there is a auxilary water pump that will continue to flow water thru the turbocharger bearings to prevent oil coking.

• Anony guess on Jan 08, 2023 at 5:40 pm

True, if it’s the water cooled turbo, which can be expensive. But the oil cooled only turbo do still exist and being used on today car.

• Not a mechanic. on Jan 07, 2023 at 11:52 am

3 pot vibrate at low idle (small body kancil). The large suv may not noticeable (if new). As fuel economy it’s always how the driving habit(pedal to the metal/gentle press). Tax based on engine size may be the reason. Only issue is the turbo, is it come with a timer like most turbo diesel. Hot turbo engine shut off can damage in long run (suprima s), like on highway to r&r parking where you don’t drive slowly enough for a while for it to cool down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6