2023 BMW M340i and 330Li facelift coming to Malaysia in March – LWB variant to have comfort suspension

The BMW 3 Series facelift range was launched in Malaysia yesterday, and we’re getting the G20 LCI in three flavours – the 320i, 330i and 330e, all exclusively available in M Sport trim. No M Performance model or the long wheelbase variant at launch, but both are slated to arrive in March 2023.

BMW Malaysia has confirmed that two more variants of the 3 Series facelift are coming in March this year, and given that both the M340i xDrive and 330Li were sold here in pre-facelift form, the two are very likely to be on their way to local showrooms.

The M340i xDrive is the performance flagship of the G20 range, an M Performance model that sits below the M3. That full M car aside, the M340i is the only 3 Series to have a six-cylinder petrol engine, a 3.0 litre unit that makes 374 PS and 500 Nm of torque from 1,900 to 5,000 rpm. As its name suggests, there’s xDrive AWD too. 0-100 km/h in 4.4 seconds means that it’s a serious sports sedan.

The six-pot has an attached 48-volt mild hybrid system. The starter-generator is capable of providing a boost of 11 PS, helping out with brake energy regeneration and supplies the car’s 12-volt electrical system.

The standard M Sport look is already very aggressive, so there isn’t a lot to set the M Performance apart. But you can look out for the mesh in the kidney grille, trapezoidal exhaust finishers, a slim rear spoiler and M wing mirror caps in gloss black. The latter is new to the facelift. There’s a “Pro” package that adds on more black exterior trim and red brake calipers. Not enough? Here’s the M340i with the entire M Performance Parts catalogue slapped on.

On the other end of the scale, the 330Li has a 110 mm longer wheelbase (2,961 mm) over the regular sedan, and is also 6 mm taller at 2,961 mm. With more length between the wheels, rear occupants benefit from an additional 42 mm of legroom. The G20’s looks aren’t severely compromised by the stretch, so the 330Li is a good option for the family man.

The pre-facelift 330Li was sold here in M Sport form, but now that the standard wheelbase 3er range is exclusively M Sport, could the Li switch to a less aggressive image and more forgiving suspension? BMW Malaysia has hinted that the 330Li could have a softer setup – LWB, more space, more comfort, makes sense.

For now, we have the 3 Series facelift in 320i, 330i and 330e PHEV forms, priced at RM283,800, RM317,800 and RM298,800 respectively. Check out our launch report and walk-around video tour for full details and pics.

GALLERY: BMW M340i xDrive facelift

GALLERY: 2023 BMW 330i M Sport

GALLERY: 2023 BMW 330e M Sport

GALLERY: 2023 BMW 320i M Sport

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sanjay on Jan 11, 2023 at 2:07 pm

Waiting for M340i

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • reknown on Jan 11, 2023 at 2:22 pm

Nice

• Hui huat on Jan 11, 2023 at 5:04 pm

BMW MALAYSIA should at least provide ACC or level 2 autonomous as an extra option, Driving Assistant Plus.

Not to talk about the craziness how a 300 K car don’t have any ACC.

Even Volvo Sedans have ACC full loaded with same or lower prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 124
    • Annoying Cruise Control on Jan 11, 2023 at 5:50 pm

ACC for gao lan pa meh? Huat Gor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
      • BMW SALESMAN CONFEM LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
        • Ajax cleaner on Jan 12, 2023 at 9:52 am

Volvo salesman confem Lmao

• Isaac on Jan 12, 2023 at 9:57 am

Who want to bother those crying mercedes fanbois like you, when mercedes fanbois are not telling their truth. Worse still, mercedes fanbois are upvoting horrible comments but downvoting good comments. Mercedes fanbois also using different names but using same statement. What kind of attitude are mercedes fanbois trying to do, unlike those competitors fans are not doing as what mercedes fanbois does now. This can tell on how much worries mercedes fanbois are when seeing losing their Mercedes sales

• Seven on Jan 11, 2023 at 7:23 pm

Let me repeat to you again, even Mercedes C Class also don’t have ACC

• Mr Fakta on Jan 12, 2023 at 9:27 am

Agreed with you, at least offer it as an option. ACC with stop and go is a good feature during jams and speed limited road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • Kian Soon on Jan 13, 2023 at 7:19 pm

ACC is good but option is acceptable not standard yet cause ACC can be problems and that’s why ACC is not standard at the moment

• Vezeroth on Jan 11, 2023 at 5:48 pm

Insane price hike
    6 speakers only
    Unnecessary screens.. so not cohesive…
    Msport suspension dint they learn it was too stiff…
    So dissapointing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 29
  • Eastmile on Jan 11, 2023 at 7:21 pm

Impressive

• 7yearsfd1 on Jan 11, 2023 at 10:40 pm

comfiest for LWB? great. now bring rear seat foldable and 360 cam for LWB and im game

• BMW all the way

• Cappa on Jan 11, 2023 at 11:31 pm

Wagons please

• V tEC on Jan 12, 2023 at 10:17 am

all M sports…aduh, too stiff la for daily usage.