Singapore-registered car seen fuelling up on RON 95 – Shell employee notices, promptly stops fuel pump

Another instance of a Singapore-registered car fuelling up on RON 95 has been captured in a video posted by SG Road Vigilante. In the incident, which occurred at a Shell station in Johor on February 28, 2023, we can see the passenger of a Honda Odyssey assisting the driver in filling the MPV with the subsidised fuel.

However, this was noticed by a Shell attendant, who promptly stops the fuel pump. Shortly after, the passenger is seen getting back into the car, which then proceeds to drive away from the station. Praise must be given to the alert Shell employee who managed to stop the illegal act.

It is a rule that foreign-registered vehicles can only fuel up unsubsidised RON 97 petrol and not the subsidised RON 95. As for the purchase of diesel, foreign-registered vehicles are limited to 20 litres per day at petrol stations within 25 km of the Malaysia-Singapore border gate.

If you’re thinking of emulating the Shell employee’s actions, don’t. While it is within his line of duty to stop a fuel pump, acting as a vigilante and hitting the emergency stop button can cause further delays for everyone looking to fuel up.

This is because certain stations may have different failsafes and protocols, and it may even take some time for fuel flow to be restarted. Instead, confront the motorist and calmly inform him/her that filling up with RON 95 is not allowed for foreign-registered cars.

You can also file a complaint with the ministry of domestic trade and consumer affairs (KPDNHEP) via its e-complaint platform or WhatsApp them at 019-2794317. Whatever it is, no violence, please.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• NotChad on Mar 03, 2023 at 6:01 pm

Braib the employee 5 SGD, already equal to few hours of his work, then pump 95 like a chad singaporean. But this V not a chad.

• Sam sung on Mar 03, 2023 at 7:06 pm

Again aiya

• years of positive reinforcement behaviour have numbed SG motorists to the illegal act of fueling with subsidized petrol in JB simply because no one ever stopped them for donkey years! it will take years for SG drivers to alter their bad behaviour because old habits die hard, esp when you always get away with it

• RicoT on Mar 03, 2023 at 7:52 pm

Why not deny entry into Malaysia for Singapore registered cars caught pumping RON95?

• Pukima sinkie on Mar 03, 2023 at 8:05 pm

We should hit the emergency stop button of water supply to sinkieland too

• Sinkie cheat ..A Clear and Present Danger on Mar 03, 2023 at 8:38 pm

The Sinkie cheat must be stopped at the JB checkpoint n remanded,his car sita until court case is over.
    Why r we being so soft when they break our laws?
    When we break their laws,they dont give a damn to our appeals.
    Time to act tough with unfriendly n recalcitrant neighbours.

• neutrino on Mar 03, 2023 at 10:45 pm

Just blacklist the car. Simple.

• Great job from this attendant, just straight up shut off the fuel pump haha.

• Law abiding citizen on Mar 04, 2023 at 11:22 am

Thumbs up Bro

• Roselind on Mar 04, 2023 at 12:41 pm

Can’t understand why the petrol stations are not directed to cater one or two lanes or pumps specifically for foreign-registered cars only.

• Notice alone is not enough. What is the punishment according to the law? Is it severe enough to deter them?

• Pukima sinkie on Mar 05, 2023 at 1:04 am

Shell attendant should have shoved the fuel nozzle into that sinkie’s mouth. Nak sangat ron95? Minum sampai puas!

• Rushdi Ahmad on Mar 05, 2023 at 9:36 am

Just abolish subsidized fuel altogether, save everybody a hassle from govt to enforce it to petrol pump owner, Malaysian had to make do without it as other nations in S.E.A (except Brunei) the world does not end without it, target ed subsidy is pain in the ass to enforce and more work for govt

• wolveray on Mar 05, 2023 at 11:29 am

wow…what happened if the custumer decided to hiit you back with baseball bat.
    It it worth it with low pay and yet received violence from custumers

• Fauzan on Mar 05, 2023 at 5:34 pm

Don’t be a cheapskate lah make SG malu only

• Pirakas on Mar 05, 2023 at 8:27 pm

You clearly have the registration number, just fine them at least SGD10k according to ZTP!!

• We have rules. What’s the enforcement? Why not summon these offenders and charge them in court. RM100’000 fine may pinch their pocket.

After all they are charged in their own country for littering.

Why are we letting them drive away? Can the Ministry of Domestic and Trade pass a legislation to impose a fine.

Thanks. Rar1

• Mohd Hamdan on Mar 06, 2023 at 1:16 am

Stupid kiasu fuck! Always wanting free goodies

• Sin Hiap Pheng on Mar 06, 2023 at 2:09 am

Everyone is in the crunch. Even the f#ckin Singaporean go to this extent.

• menteri tido

• Ben Yap on Mar 06, 2023 at 8:27 am

just hit the stop button and viral his face la.

• the amount of haters on Mar 06, 2023 at 9:37 am

the amount of haters (jealousy?) to Singaporeans is amazing in here. Some even proposed ban Singaporean cars, or block the water supply to Singapore. Why? Are you so uneducated that you go all out at the smallest opportunity? Shame on you people.

• Willy on Mar 06, 2023 at 11:09 am

Have signage on the pump panel .

• Subram on Mar 06, 2023 at 1:39 pm

Why no violence?? If the Singaporean fueling his car is a violent person & causes mischief, than I as a patriotic Malaysian will not hesitate to manhandle him even hammering him & ensure he gets back to his country with stitches on his body.

• Scott Free on Mar 06, 2023 at 6:29 pm

I guess in M’sia you can get away with it. Heck, you can get away with anything!

• There are calls on Vigilante sites for intervention. Thanks for the calm and informative post.

• Jimmy Low on Mar 06, 2023 at 3:51 pm

Malaysia can create more jobs for enforcement officer deploy 2 officer every petrol station issues summons to those foreigner vehicles and also can safeguard petrol station 24 hrs

• Confront them and tell them calmly like telling a robber for not robbing our house.

Instead we’ll give them 12 gauge so that he/she will be sorry for trying to rob our house.

• potato on Mar 09, 2023 at 9:03 pm

i am surprised no smarty pants starting illegal selling of ron95 to singapore car owners at slightly above retail price for small profit.

• JinxLinx on Mar 20, 2023 at 11:40 am

Ooh kesian miskin freeloader….what next? Air murah?

• Fucking Coward on Jun 01, 2023 at 4:56 pm

Hmm