Malaysia-registered Audi driver helps Singaporean fuel up on RON 95 by exchanging nozzles at petrol station

Offering a helping hand is nice thing to do but there are some situations where it’s not the best or right course of action. This recent incident, which was captured on video and allegedly took place at Petron Gelang Patah, is a good example of that.

Posted on the SG Road Vigilante YouTube page, the video starts with a Singapore-registered Toyota MPV being refuelled with RON 95 petrol. As reported several times before, foreign-registered vehicles are prohibited from buying RON 95, which is heavily subsidised by the Malaysian government – this ban has been in place since August 1, 2010.

While such a scene is already unwelcomed, it’s made more curious by the fact that the fuel nozzle being used to fill up on RON 95 was linked to the fuel pump on the other side of the MPV where you’ll find a Malaysia-registered Audi sedan being refuelled.

Upon realising his actions were being recorded, the owner of the MPV swaps nozzles with the Audi owner and begins fuelling the vehicle with RON 97 instead, which is the fuel that Singaporeans are supposed to fuel up on here as its unsubsidised.

As countries, Malaysia and Singapore have good bilateral relations, and perhaps the Audi driver wanted to uphold that spirit by helping the MPV driver save some money by exchanging fuel nozzles. It’s certainly a crafty way to get RON 95 into a Singapore-registered vehicle, and since we’re not lawyers, we’re not certain of the legality of the Audi driver’s actions.

In any case, if you’re asked to exchange fuel nozzles with someone driving a foreign-registered vehicle when refuelling the petrol station, it’s best to avoid any potential problems by politely declining.

As of the latest fuel pricing update issued on September 7, 2022, RON 95 remains unchanged at its ceiling price of RM2.05 per litre, while RON 97 dropped 10 sen to retail at RM4.20 per litre. As for diesel, Euro 5 B10 and B20 are at RM2.15 per litre and the Euro 5 B7 blend continues to be 20 sen more than those blends at RM2.35 per litre. The purchase of diesel by foreigners also comes with its own set of restrictions.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Traitor

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 1
    • Thanks to SG kiasuism for pointing out your own countryman’s idiocy and breaking the law. Looks like there is still hope for SG after all and while nearly all are scum, there are still shining examples that can save that country. God bless SG Road Vigilante!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
      • Kiasu talk kiasu on Sep 12, 2022 at 4:20 pm

Well done. Kahwin la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • Celup King on Sep 12, 2022 at 7:02 pm

It is only through ratting from their own countrymen that we knew this incident. Ada org Msia ambil kesah repot kes ini? Pfftttt!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Dezman on Sep 14, 2022 at 11:03 am

@Alan how dare you to say nearly all Singaporean are scum! You just acted like you are one of the very very rare rude Malaysian. I dare day you are a disgrace to Malaysian.
        I hope you are not making S$ in Singapore and wish you don’t ever step in to our country.

• Dezman on Sep 14, 2022 at 11:04 am

@Alan how dare you to say nearly all Singaporean are scum! You just acted like you are one of the very very rare rude Malaysian. I dare say you are a disgrace to Malaysian.
        I hope you are not making S$ in Singapore and wish you don’t ever step in to our country.

• Hantu Raya on Sep 12, 2022 at 12:22 pm

Very strong word. But you’re not wrong though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • ThePolygon on Sep 12, 2022 at 12:51 pm

Pengkhianat Negara to be exact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 12, 2022 at 4:46 pm

So cheapskate…embarrassing

• When the border closed ,everyone begging for Singaporean to visit Malaysia. Now this and that. I hope the border close soon.

• when these people trying to commit an offence(including those who drive like hooligans) , they won’t even think that dashcam is a norm these days

• At least last time Malaysia govt give changes for biker to use Ron 95.now because of them biker also not able use ron95. We use bike because of earning little.

• Katheryne Wong on Sep 12, 2022 at 10:14 am

This is brotherhood, ha3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Santai on Sep 12, 2022 at 10:55 am

Some of the B40/M40 Household also will help others to isi minyak nanti,
      Using e-WALLET.

https://paultan.org/2022/07/29/targeted-fuel-subsidy-pilot-test-b40-m40-to-receive-e-wallet-credit-but-everyone-to-pay-higher-fuel-prices/

• MaxAz on Sep 13, 2022 at 8:39 pm

Sokey, they can spend their subsidy on their iPhone 14 installment.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 12, 2022 at 11:37 am

Audi ‘P’ plate, no wonder trying to “help” his south island macha brother steal our petrol. No surprises there. Both island harbouring of thieves, pirates, and traitors.

#SamanPLF1595 #SamanSCQ3434L

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 18
      • Seriously? What does being “P” plate have anything to do with this? You’re generalizing a state of your own country. Who’s the traitor now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 33
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 12, 2022 at 3:48 pm

Try talk to people of that state, they think Singapore is their motherland rather their own country. We nurture the best talents there in IT, engineering, sports, and what they did? They lari to adopted motherland Singapore and contribute there. Others would call them traitors but they don’t feel that way, only their selfish selves importance. Does that make them our rakyat? Phui!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 13
          • if u want to be racist, get lost. Idiot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 13, 2022 at 2:54 pm

If you want to be a traitor, get lost from Malaysia. Idiot!

• Ajibkor on Sep 13, 2022 at 10:50 pm

Imma traitor, Evaded billions of taxes. Imma idiot get lost from Malaysia!

• 8A+ student still can’t get accepted into universities. Of course people are leaving. Foreign countries offer better stuff, so it’s natural Malaysians are leaving.

• stop talking idiot! What’s wrong with Penang plate car owner. Go to hell!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 23
        • Sick & Tired on Sep 13, 2022 at 8:33 am

Everything that is wrong with Malaysia, comes from P, born in P, or created by P. When D_P came in, they almost wanted to secede and join S, go figure what’s wrong with P.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • Enjoy your life. YOLO on Mar 09, 2023 at 5:45 pm

Here get lost, there racist, other fellas go to hell. What kind of breed of this generation?

Better you guys castrate each other, so that will not breed like tomorrow and tainted this earth.

Chillax and take a deep breath…

• Habibu on Sep 12, 2022 at 10:23 am

Clear car plate number, can easily find both cars. If unable to find the Estimate, summon the Audi driver twice.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
    • Sick & Tired on Sep 13, 2022 at 8:28 am

This is why His Excellency FM Zafrul is pushing for targeted subsidies. This is the kind of abuses by the T20 that has no need for RON95 but they used their right of access to this cheap fuel to help Sinkies steal our petrol. The rich does not need the fuel, they could easily afford RON97, yet they go abuse their rights as citizen to do this so here is clear case to move ahead with the enhanced subsidy program after GE15.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Bieight8 on Sep 12, 2022 at 10:59 am

Treason

• both related kooooot

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 13, 2022 at 2:58 pm

Both ahpek and macha brothers are related by shared bonds of common traitorhood.

• Kalaivenesol on Sep 12, 2022 at 11:29 am

Take some action. Both should be given maximum punishment. Especially to our Malaysia citizen. Against the law..Singaporeans like him should be banned from entering Malaysia. Otherwise we can’t stop this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Kalai on Sep 12, 2022 at 11:30 am

Take some action. Both should be given maximum punishment. Especially to our Malaysia citizen. Against the law..Singaporeans like him should be banned from entering Malaysia. Otherwise we can’t stop this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • john is otak batu on Sep 12, 2022 at 2:36 pm

my dear kalai, u can drag them to Putin’s yard & execute them with firing squad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • lancau ini suma

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Lee Yee Huat on Sep 12, 2022 at 12:28 pm

Charity for the wrong cause – Audi owner – traitor to nation shld b taken action too in addition to the foreign registered car driver…

• Celup King on Sep 12, 2022 at 6:59 pm

Charity to the poor okaylah. Charity to those from richer country for what. Oh wait, we are the kind of people that buys cars just for the profits to enrichen Jepun further. No need to say more.

• chandran on Sep 12, 2022 at 12:49 pm

Very bad, don’t let this things happening again, this subsidize for Malaysia plate number only, action must taken, next time will never repeating the same things as well,it is not fair rich people enjoy this subsidize! hope that government immediately take action on it because ron95 for B40 house hold, not for foreign register plate or for richmen,

• Haters gonna hate on Sep 12, 2022 at 3:58 pm

Yes is not for foreign register plate, they should get penalty, but is not meant for B40 only, please make your fact right.

Is this why u want to stay at B40 bracket forever ? Enjoy every subsidy given by government ? Leeches

• He is just B40 loser.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • Aura89 on Sep 13, 2022 at 9:15 am

Considering there are a bunch of people with high end luxury cars saying this is their right, you are clown.

People are just greedy POS these days.

• Rich Malaysia pay more tax and contribute to Malayia, why they can not have the subsidiary? Ask yourself what u contribute to Malaysia as B40 loser! Everything just waiting people to help.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • LK Tan on Sep 12, 2022 at 1:00 pm

Cheapskate Singaporean. Hope police asks him for a kopi chat.

• Hiroshima Ghost Rider on Sep 12, 2022 at 1:22 pm

Oh My God !!!! OH MY GOD!!! Such dangerous criminals on the road!!! This people should be caned and put in jail 20 years for such criminal behaviour :-/

“Stilling” nearly a full tank 95 is so much really disgusting !!!

Shame on them! SHAME LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • An Badrik Charles Devkon Evel on Sep 12, 2022 at 4:34 pm

Aiyaa. Buat malu driver Audi. Kanneena sheebai! Pokeman, son of panda! If you unable afford fuel up Ron 97, don’t use luxury cars. Dear singapoor driver, if no money to buy Ron 97, put CNG or buy budget MPV if have much money use EV! Don’t steal M’sia government subsidies! but some these singapooreans, spend money on uncessary things and show off! Phui all bioscopers!

• No one is perfect bastards on Sep 13, 2022 at 7:48 am

Shame to the people who took this footage ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Steven on Sep 13, 2022 at 8:27 am

Who care

• Sukri on Sep 13, 2022 at 8:29 am

Tq kerna perhatin minyak subsidi utk warga msia only.

• Roger on Sep 13, 2022 at 8:41 am

I don’t understand.
    Isn’t Malaysia’s RON97 is still way cheaper than Singapore’s RON92?
    So, why there are still some who wants to break the law and use RON95 reserved/subsidized for the Malaysians? Just to spite the people?

• Why can’t they pump Ron97? It’s still cheaper than in SG. And come on your currency is more than 3 times ours. Migrate to Malaysia and earn Ringgit la if you want cheap Ron95!!!

• B40 guy too on Sep 13, 2022 at 9:37 am

I dont see anything wrong the audi driver have a good heart and the estima from what i know if driving estima sure will be a decent person this whole situation is wrong malaysia should be a high income country with cheap petrol we shouldnt care about this or have a way to have a better solution the problem start at the top the government is the cause for this ,those 2 in the vedio u can see how stupid government make people stupid by taking vedio kepoh, kind audi driver and smart singapore friend , from this we can conclude penang people is kind heart , ramdom malaysian people taking vedio is stupid and nosey , singapore people smart but maybe no honor and barrasing too but maybe he is a malaysian and then the audi driver is your friend maybe he belanja the friend our good quality minyak , again the problem allways start at the top and cascade down to this kind of example. Malaysian ppl are good but
    With a bad system this thing will happen probably got black market , i would do the same to help a singaporean rather since people smugglinh petrol from malaysia to sell in thailand or singpore probabaly more than this 1 person ever use petrol in his life i will do this too kudos to my audi fren such a kind person

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • I hope the next Sinkie you help will give you a lifeline and bring you back to Sinkie because we don’t like turncoats anymore than any other self respecting, loyal and patriotic citizen of their own nation. You sound like those people smugglers who justify their acts with “helping those less fortunate in their own poor shithole”. Yeah right.

• I would do this too

• Andrio on Sep 13, 2022 at 11:13 am

Supposing audi owner can refuel ron95 in his car but he decided to let it be fueled in his matcha brother while he pump ron97 just to strengthen up our bilateral relation in the 2 countries, so it has got no fxxxing problem with all the non sense arising

• VinceK on Sep 13, 2022 at 12:56 pm

Petrol Station No CCTV and no Personnel working ??!!
    They just ignore or pretend to be blind ??!!
    And the person taking this Video also kept quiet and did nothing …

• Please , fellow citizens of Singapore. Don’t try to cheat the tax payers of Malaysia , let their own politicians do that honorable task.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 13, 2022 at 6:53 pm

We prefer to be cheated by our own than get stolen by foreigners.

• Billions of dollars being ripped dry by their government, now these common folks crying over trivial costs saving issue. How phethetic .

• Subsidi ini untuk warganegara Malaysia, kan? Pada pendapat saya, tak salah kalau si dia dapat buktikan lah!

• Lorne on Sep 13, 2022 at 3:49 pm

Report then ban the traitor from buying Ron95 also…. X guna punya orang…Esok2 gov. tarik balik subsidi, species ni yg bising lebih… Small2 not die

• Yvvone on Sep 13, 2022 at 4:34 pm

You mean Singaporean driving SG registered or Malaysian driving SG registered vehicles, perhaps the writer should put on a special make spectacle plus a big binocular to ascertain it is a Singaporean driving a Singapore car

• THEY ARE PROBABLY RELATIVES OR FRIENDS. THIS HAS PROBABLY BEEN GOING ON FOR YEARS. ***THEREFORE IT IS NECESSARY FOR OUR GOVERNMENT TO START TARGETED SUBSIDY A.S.A.P. TO HELP THE B40 GROUP.