KPDNHEP looking to prevent sale of subsidised RON 95 to foreign cars – offenders may be prosecuted

The unauthorised sale of RON 95 to foreign vehicles has become a big talking point since the land border between Malaysia and Singapore was reopened to travellers on April 1. Photos of our southern neighbours filling their cars using the recognisable yellow pump have surfaced on social media, triggering widespread netizen outrage as the lower-octane fuel is heavily subsidised for local consumption.

Now, the Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Ministry (KPDNHEP) wants to put a kibosh on this practice as it moves to prevent RON 95 from being sold to foreign-registered vehicles. According to The Edge, the ministry is looking into ways to improve the Supply Control Act 1961 and plug any loopholes.

Deputy minister Datuk Rosol Wahid said KPDNHEP wants to tighten enforcement with measures that include a proposal to punish the individuals involved. “We are now studying the matter and had a meeting yesterday to strengthen the Control of Supplies Act to ensure action to be taken against those involved,” he told reporters on Friday.

Currently, KPDNHEP can only take action against petrol station operators and not the foreigners who fill up with RON 95 petrol themselves. Foreign-registered vehicles have been barred from using the government-subsidised fuel since August 1, 2010. Individuals caught violating the Supply Control Act 1961 (Act 122) could face up to RM1 million in fines, up to three years in jail or both, while entities and companies may be fined up to RM2 million.

The ministry has previously said it is conducting checks at petrol stations in Johor Bahru to prevent Singaporeans from pumping RON 95. It and the Petroleum Dealers Association of Malaysia (PDAM) has also urged the public to report such occurrences, providing details such as photos and locations.

Reports can be made from either KPDNHEP’s e-complaint platform, a WhatsApp message to 019-2794317 or via the toll-free hotline 1-800-886-800. Under no circumstances should you press the E-Stop button to try and teach rule-breakers a lesson – this could interrupt fuel flow for the entire station and delay everyone trying to refuel their vehicles, particularly as restoring the supply may take a while.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Concerned Malaysian on Apr 11, 2022 at 5:05 pm

May be prosecuted? This is taking advantage of our tax money and government subsidies. It *Should Be*** prosecuted.

• Why So Serious on Apr 11, 2022 at 5:42 pm

May be if station operator see a Sinkie car trying to pump RON95, he can switch off that pump from the computer system rather than pressing on the emergency button. That way it is safer to use and the felon gets the drift he is being marked.

• bieight8 on Apr 11, 2022 at 5:25 pm

Just remove fuel subsidized can save 28b and won’t have all this nonsense…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
    • Why So Serious on Apr 11, 2022 at 5:47 pm

Sinkie Education Minister should better educate his fellow countrymen jangan bodoh sombong take advantage of subsidies meant for our rakyat. Berlagak macam le kaya, macam le highly educated, bawak kereta lawa masuk border, tapi otak tinggal kat pulau semasa dorang lalu sini.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 1
  • Rafizi on Apr 11, 2022 at 8:49 pm

“WE are now studying the matter….” Oh my gaud..sekarang kami akan memantau”..whole life studying…
    The idiotic Sporean from picture only sweat alot,but deep inside he knows until the cow cross the border,nothing happens.
    As usual lah..happy galavanting while all the “studying” goes on.
    Just pathetic bunch of “officials studying this,studying that”with no concrete results.
    Hello,’studying” is for undergraduates,not for tax funded gomen servants.Just totally unacceptable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 12, 2022 at 11:57 am

If Rakyat SG had studied properly then they would know what is wrong and right, tak perlulah orang kito utk study macam mana nak punish dorang. Enforcement comes when education failed. To rely on enforcement that tells us SG education has failed to teach them right from wrong and to follow rules.

• Thibbs on Apr 12, 2022 at 12:33 pm

What do you expect…bolehland is land of study. subsidized petrol study, anti-hopping law study, tol abolishment study, beg sekolah berat study, 5G study, EV study,..

NO ACTION, STUDY ONLY and at the end of the day we still have stupid bunch of Ministers.

• Rafizi on Apr 11, 2022 at 8:54 pm

Why tell Lee Hsien Loong cabinet what to do?He let us prosecute his moronic dudes but we are busy “studying” one proposal after another.
    Same for Thai PM,he doesnt interfere if Thais are cheating at out pumps.
    It is Bolehland who has no ‘mechanism” and system to apprehend the culprits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Ghani on Apr 12, 2022 at 11:39 am

Don’t push blame to Malaysia, your sinkie high education mana? Never thought you to obey rules kah? Or you only obey rules like prisoners, never follow unless constantly being threatened? So you think Lee Hsien Loong would be okay if we treat your rakyat as prisoners and potential crooks is it?

• Please stop using that picture with sweaty t-shirt. Or crop that part off lah. Haha.

• Alwin on Apr 11, 2022 at 11:08 pm

Very simple, you just put a notice at every Petrol Kiosk, saying “you’re under the surveillance of Malaysian Government, once caught, we will “OKONG” you and fine SGD 300.”

All Singaporean will go for RON 100.

• Raymond on Apr 12, 2022 at 7:08 am

Just assign a few Ron 97 only pumps dedicated to SG cars. Switch off Ron 95 from these pumps. SG cars this way, the rest can pump in any others. Just like passport control at immigresen.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 12, 2022 at 12:02 pm

Nobody can control which they will go. What happens if small petrol stations with 2-4 pump stations in small plots? Undoable for all.

• Old story but never resolve. Hopefully this the last statement. Singaporean just laugh at us how slow our government react. Billions subsidy go to foreigner…. shame on you !

• Celup King on Apr 12, 2022 at 3:50 pm

Betui! Shame on them! Sinkies kurang ajar atau tak mau belajar. Take photo then name them & shame them. PaulTan should not pandai2 cover the number plate pls. Give our internet trollers something to do rather than come and shit here.

• v-tec fan on Apr 12, 2022 at 11:31 am

i think this story have been gone for years, and yet until now still no action only study study study….until when? 2035? when all move to ev car. than study again how prevent subsidies for Ev pulak…facepalm

• Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 12, 2022 at 12:04 pm

Rakyat SG study for 50 years still cannot learn right from wrong and never to steal. Come here become sampah.

• Rocky on Apr 12, 2022 at 6:44 pm

Don’t worry so much la, should let them come more often. Our neighbour doesn’t have many cars also. Welcome them to spend here instead.