BYD YangWang U8 – 1,304 PS/1,680 Nm four-motor EV SUV, tank turn capability; from RM650k in China

BYD brand YangWang has unveiled its fully electric SUV, the U8, a ladder-framed model that will be pitched against future electric versions of the Land Rover Defender and the Mercedes-Benz G-Class.

The YangWang U8 has been claimed to measure 5,300 mm long with a wheelbase of 3,050 mm, and rides on 20-inch wheels shod in tyres measuring 275/60. For comparison, the Land Rover Defender in 110 guise measures 5,018 mm long including its tailgate-mounted spare wheel, 2,105 mm wide and 1,967 mm tall with a wheelbase of 3,022 mm.

According to Car News China, the electric motors in the U8 produce in the region of 220-240 kW (299 PS to 326 PS), and peak torque that ranges from 320 Nm to 420 Nm, for combined outputs of up to 1,304 PS and 1,680 Nm of torque.

The U8 uses BYD’s Blade batteries, though battery capacity and range for this electric SUV have not been revealed; its electric powertrain is what the manufacturer calls the e4 platform, where independent operation of each motor enables the U8 to perform manoeuvres such as the tank turn, and will include various drive modes including ice and snow, sand, a ‘floating water’ mode.

Thus equipped, the YangWang U8 does the 0-100 km/h sprint in a claimed three seconds, and its independent motor control offers real-time torque output regulation of up to 1,000 times per second to aid the driver in controlling the vehicle in the event of a tyre blowout, and BYD claims that the YangWang U8 can continue to be driven at up to 120 km/h with a flat tyre.

The U8 is the first model to emerge from the YangWang brand, and pricing for the electric SUV is expected to start from 1 million yuan (RM649,290).

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• put in a 20mm cannon to complete the look! sheeeeesh

• Perusahaan Sampan Nasional on Mar 09, 2023 at 2:15 pm

kudos to car deaigners making sure front headlights situated low enough NOT shining towards driver’s head of oncoming cars.

• It’s now longer than car park – disturbing the harmony and safety of regulated public car park zone. It even risking itself from rubbing each other/ wall while entering Office/Hotel/Residential Tower that only constructed to required guideline.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
  • With a vehicle so utterly powerful and tall (with poor visibility), one day something bad’s going to happen and regulators will step in. Imagine a vehicle like this mowing down al fresco dining areas or even just ramming into a coffee shop. Unimaginable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
    • Just stop imagine this and that brother… Use your imagination at onlyfans…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • QuackMcGuffin on Mar 10, 2023 at 12:57 pm

A simple toothbrush could still be made into a shank in the wrong hands. It’s not about the item, it’s about the intent to kill. If a person really wants to, they can steal an Axia and drive into a mall and ram people inside. Why imagine useless scenarios that would happen once in a blue moon?

• Watchers on Mar 11, 2023 at 8:54 am

Or you can even kill a person with a pencil. I once saw a man killed three men at a bar with a pencil. Oh wait, did I? No, I actually heard the story from a russian mob

• Meowman on Mar 09, 2023 at 4:49 pm

Does it come with free rust spot like the Atto ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Amriji on Mar 09, 2023 at 7:37 pm

Rust due to??? Sure it is not because of exposure after dismantling of the accident vehicle?

• Jacob on Jun 21, 2023 at 2:22 pm

Probably will, since it floats on water and capable of driving on it.

• Hummer on Mar 09, 2023 at 5:53 pm

Why so many BUTT-HURT ? Hummer is ~45% Larger and Bigger than this “idiot” . Why not Ban … Hummer from Malaysia Road ??

• Typical advertisement talk without any real-world value. The battery will last approx. 5min with a load of 959kW…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • Amir sabiren bin azizan on Mar 09, 2023 at 8:01 pm

Great new from suv truck complete

• ROTI CANAI on Mar 10, 2023 at 7:34 pm

nowadays, buy a grille, get a car

• Sohai on Mar 12, 2023 at 11:51 am

Why a EV needs such a big front grill design?
    To catch bugs?

• Concerned citizen on Mar 14, 2023 at 1:54 am

Land rover defender wannabe. Keep dreaming hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Edmund Ong on Aug 30, 2023 at 2:44 pm

About 15 years ago, I spent a couple of years in China. Being a foreigner, I relied heavily on public transportation. A friend of mine suggested that I consider getting an inexpensive car and recommended a BYD. I test drove the BYD, but I abandoned the idea due to concerns about its build quality. However, my perspective on BYD changed significantly when I recently test drove the Atto 3. Over the years, BYD has clearly faced challenges and managed to achieve remarkable results.

Similar to numerous companies in China, they began by offering cheap and affordable products before gradually evolving into a formidable force. They initially started as imitators but have now transitioned into being innovators. This transformation has caught many other nations off guard, as they never anticipated China to emerge as a frontrunner. The driving force behind their success is undoubtedly the relentless hard work they have invested.

Reflecting on the past, I used to hold a negative view of Chinese products 15-20 years ago. However, my perception has shifted dramatically. Nowadays, I would readily choose a Chinese product without hesitation, regardless of the occasion. In fact, I have no doubt that the U8 has the potential to outperform even established models like the Land Rover Defender and the Mercedes G Class.

• Common Dude on Sep 16, 2023 at 11:01 am

Was very sceptical about the car and it’s price tag but, the last straw was pulled when the door handle popped out…

• Haja mohiadeen on Nov 02, 2023 at 5:30 pm

I m interested