Daihatsu admits wrongdoings in crash safety tests for 2023 Perodua Axia, Toyota Vios: shipments suspended

Daihatsu has just confirmed that it has committed “wrongdoings” in particular crash safety tests done for regulatory approval applications for four models. This includes the 2023 Perodua Axia, Toyota Vios (badged as the Yaris Ativ in Thailand and other markets), Toyota Agya and a yet-to-be-launched model.

Toyota’s subsidiary admitted the act in a statement, and added that over 88,000 units of affected models have been sold in Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait and Mexico so far. New shipments have been suspended.

“We deeply apologise for betraying the trust of our customers and other stakeholders and for causing great inconvenience and concern,” reads the Daihatsu statement. Toyota’s separate statement is far harsher.

“Daihatsu’s wrongdoing is a matter that concerns safety, which is the most important aspect of vehicles. We consider this an absolutely unacceptable act that betrays the trust of our customers. Since this problem occurred with a Toyota brand passenger car, we believe that the problem is not limited to Daihatsu,” said Akio Toyoda, Toyota Chairman of the Board.

“We will begin by conducting a detailed investigation and thoroughly collecting facts to understand the situation, determine the true cause, and work diligently to prevent a recurrence. We will also inform the public in a timely manner regarding the facts we learn through our investigations,” he added.

Daihatsu mentioned that “the inside lining of the front seat door was improperly modified, and that there was a violation of the side collision test procedures and methods stipulated by regulations.”

According to Reuters, the door trim on the affected vehicles had been modified with a “notch” to minimise the risk that the door panel could break with a sharp edge and cause injuries when the side airbag is deployed. The modification, i.e. the notch, is not present in production vehicles.

With new shipments already suspended, Daihatsu, together with Toyota, will “re-test (the side collision tests) in the presence of inspection and certification authorities, and if it is confirmed that the side impact performance complies with regulations, we will resume shipment.”

The affected models have passed an internal retest without the presence of authorities.

Daihatsu has assured that “at this time, there is no need for customers using these models to take any action for continued use.”

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Macam2 hal…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • Matti on Apr 28, 2023 at 11:46 pm

That chart doesn’t show Malaysia as a destination country for the Yaris Ativ, only as production country. Does UMW assemble Yaris Ativ here for export? I thought they only assemble local CKD Vios here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • Vios is the same as Yaris Ativ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • When it says assembly malaysia means vios affected

They make ckd vios only in bkt raja, but just the yaris ativ n vios nameplate interchangeable

• davenport on Apr 29, 2023 at 8:37 am

Malaysia don’t export Vios.

I guess our market is under “etc.” in the destination countries.

Already sad that our Vios is actually a Daihatsu, now to be involved in this scandal, what a double blow/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 32
      • Bernie on Apr 30, 2023 at 3:02 pm

Well it is long time ago Toyota and Daihatsu merge together and name brand Toyota. So all Daihatsu design will name as Toyota. This is why everyone think it is Toyota. Most design you will notice it.

• No matter what it is, at least won’t affect much for choosing toyota but only when happened if buying P2, as well experienced owner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • For me as toyota driver, no issues and no complaints so far but I don’t know about perodua which I didn’t drive Perodua before

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • designer on Apr 29, 2023 at 10:28 am

Wait for the first side crash. Then you’ll use a nice Toyota van jenazah instead of your Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 43
        • Nabil on Dec 30, 2023 at 3:43 pm

It a crash test. u crash u know la. how many time ur toyota crash give third party report on it issues. No one got balls to say so. Until now. Crash test always have been look as trophy. But no one expected this.

• Wahaha on Apr 28, 2023 at 11:48 pm

Perodua home grown bred research and technogy. Cheat people

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 9
    • Bossku on Apr 29, 2023 at 1:14 pm

Perutdua has no R&D, ok? Just because they can design new front grille for Perutdua Kars, doesn’t mean that is Research and Development. Just Design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
      • Wahaha on Apr 29, 2023 at 7:56 pm

“Perodua offers end-to-end automotive manufacturing solutions for compact vehicles. These include research on new and current models, R&D activities, manufacturing of auto parts, engine parts, transmissions, paint facilities, vehicle assembly, and vehicle testing.”

Stated by Perodua at their website. So that means they are involve to rig the test.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • safety first on Apr 29, 2023 at 6:38 pm

It’s a new safety feature. If the front doors fell off during an accident, it’s easier for bomba to have access. We have to be grateful that we have such safety-focussed engineering staff at Perodua/Toyota/Daihatsu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
  • Bonmessi on Apr 29, 2023 at 12:17 am

Samurai honour spirit is not a japanese spirit anymore. Takata airbag before, daihatsu now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
  • Keeenzeeer on Apr 29, 2023 at 12:42 am

Lol. Axia axia tin can, trying to fool msians bragging about blah blah crash test. This is a crime when you try to play with safety matters, its about a personal life or even a family inside the car you compromise. dont trust perodua anymore.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 8
    • Aikon on Apr 29, 2023 at 10:59 am

You and your 25 likes can say don’t trust Perodua anymore but there are hundreds of thousands who don’t care and will still buy. They only have 3 things in mind; fuel economy (tin can mah), reliability and those two lead to better resale value. Just see lah if there are any booking cancellations because of safety. Pretty sure they won’t cancel and buy an Iriz. Instead, they are hoping the other person cancels so they can get their car faster!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 18
      • Bossku on Apr 29, 2023 at 1:16 pm

If the buyer is B40 or even M40 Malaysian citizen, what choices do they have other than Perutdua or Potong? Mercedes or Rolls Royce?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • Aikon on May 05, 2023 at 12:12 pm

Isn’t Proton better known for their safety? But most people only tend to focus on fuel consumption and RV. Price isn’t even a factor as many Perodua cost more than their equivalent Proton counterparts. Well, keep on buying what fits your needs then.

• Keeenzeeer on Apr 29, 2023 at 1:31 pm

Thats stage of our economy now, in fact some of the best selling car here is the tin can car with no regard of legit safety concern like the one in developed countries, dont tell me about those adas gimmicks. People will still buy sub-standard car which is perodua made and don’t even care about the safety concern because those are the only car they can afford. Its actually a wake up call for malaysian policy makers, lets create a level playing field by not endorsing policies which benefits the so called national jaguh kampung car, our auto industry is not going anywhere. And if this crash test fraud is not solved and no one taking responsibilities then there will be more manufacturers do the same

• Resale value again…. pathetic old msian mindset.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
        • Alexis Mitoma on Apr 30, 2023 at 2:17 pm

If everyone frenching rich like you and can afford to give away 5yr old Citroen to those beli-surat-khabar-lama uncle for 50 cents before buying a new car paying full in cash, then different story.

For majority of Malaysians, not just limited to B40, the resale value helps to either clear outstanding hire purchase or can be used as deposit for new car. People who buy new Harriers or Camrys every 3-4 years actually top-up very little.

• kingx on May 01, 2023 at 2:07 pm

True, B40 mentality safety is last. Jimat dulu.
        At long as got roof and door and safer than motorbike can d.

• Bernie on Apr 30, 2023 at 3:05 pm

Yes dont trust peraduan anymore. Because it all design by daihatsu. For safety it can break into 2 pcs. This is worst scenario

• What notch lar, what sharp edge lar. Simple thing like OIL FILTER also cannot solved. What are you talking about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 7
    • Bossku on Apr 29, 2023 at 1:17 pm

It is called Semangat Malaysian! We are proud of our “Products”! Support Malaysia, ok?

• KopiO on Apr 29, 2023 at 12:45 am

QA and QC has gone down to the drain…No more Toyota, it’s now a “toy” “on” “the” “air”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 47
  • You think they will be honest in reporting their investigation? That OIL FILTER issue also they blame it on vendor. Padahal they are still buying from the vendor despite the problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 11
  • No good on Apr 29, 2023 at 4:13 am

What the fuck, this is so irresponsible move. You were betting consumer life against your greed. Unacceptable and disgusting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • Bossku on Apr 29, 2023 at 1:20 pm

Calm down. You get what you pay for…cannot expect Mercedes type QA on a kar made with shoestring budget, ok? At least you can say ToyoDai has reliability…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
      • effyza on Apr 30, 2023 at 12:54 am

Your logic: everyone should accept cheaters since everyone get what cheap price they pay for.

• Let’s see how many millions millions they’ll be fined for this…

• Bossku on Apr 29, 2023 at 1:22 pm

Probably not! They sell those kars in third world countries! Not sure if those Arabs would consider themselves as first world countries…but, it is not Americana..so, no fines expected…maybe their own Japanese safety authority might fine them.

• DeWalta on Apr 29, 2023 at 2:17 pm

They won’t be fined since they essentially caught themselves here. Likely scenario is that some higher-up in those testing facilities ordered the rigging and one of the employees involved decided to leak the issue to Toyota/Daihatsu main office. If whistleblower went to the media first, then this story would have played out differently because an external testing body would have found out first.

At most, they will have to make a recall to fix the issue (if the cars without the notch fail the crash test), or they compensate customers financially. If the third-party investigation they commissioned finds more wrongdoing at those assembly plant or crash testing facility, then more models might be affected.

• designer on Apr 29, 2023 at 9:10 pm

“. Likely scenario is that some higher-up in those testing facilities ordered the rigging and one of the employees involved decided to leak the issue to Toyota/Daihatsu main office.”

The higher-up of the testing facility ordered the production of Toyota’s without this mysterious “notch”?
        I heard many stupid excuses already, but this is one of the most infamous.

• MalaysiaRIP on Apr 30, 2023 at 2:27 pm

Read the fucking article!, The rigging part is basically a notch welded into the door. Not an entire fabricated line. Some “designer you turned out to be”. That’s why this country going to be run by Talibans soon, thanks to rempit like you who got the cranium capacity of an oyster.

• ripdaihatsu on Apr 30, 2023 at 7:50 pm

And idiots like you think that a car company can simply forget “a notch welded into the door”? Have you ever worked in the industry before?

• ripdaihatsu on Apr 30, 2023 at 7:56 pm

Car companies have a revokable license to build cars and bring them into the market without further inspection by authorities. If they now “forget” to weld a notch with safety function into the doors, this is no simple matter and can cause revoking of the whole production license.
        Malaysia alone won’t help, as this cars were exported to other countries too.

• Let’s see how many millions millions they’ll be fined for this……who are the people monitoring the tests? Own staff or external experts combined??

• Perodua: Building Cars People First…
    1…to die
    2…to be cheated
    3…sure kena
    4….
    Can continue la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • Bossku on Apr 29, 2023 at 1:24 pm

Potong is better? Come on…as long as a kar is made by Potong or Perutdua, it is crap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
      • Did anyone mention about proton? Halusinasi.

• You are the biggest fool in the world. I have a Cerato. I have a C Class. I have a Subaru SUV. I used to own a C5. I used to own a Sentra. I used to own a V6. And I have a Preve. And guess which car gives me the most confidence to go fast on road bends? It is the Preve. Which car has the lowest maintenance cost so far? It is the Preve. It may not be the most comfortable, that goes to the C5, but trust me, you can’t afford to maintain a C5 nor a MB (I spent RM25000 on the MB in the past three years). I have also driven a relative’s LS400. A S80. And a colleague’s MyVi on the highway. Hence I am in a good position to know what I am talking about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • Pro Original Proton on Apr 30, 2023 at 4:24 pm

You nailed it right. Typical Malaysians looked down on our own car – real car designed and manufactured locally by Malaysians for Malaysians – but you proved we have the best of talents, engineers, assemblers in Proton and suppliers. No thanks to Jibby who betrayed our only national car and sold to
          china.

• Alistar Conrad Foo Ling Yew on Apr 29, 2023 at 8:28 am

Most expansive tin can in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 21
    • Don’t feel any tin kosong car on my new vios so far which is more solid than my old vios, it is only you that can’t able to afford

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 31
      • synergy on Apr 29, 2023 at 10:35 am

Perodua is one of the design contributor. Do you know anything about Toyota-Daihatsu-Perodua synergy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Bossku on Apr 29, 2023 at 1:25 pm

I would disagree! That title belongs to Potong X90!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
  • YamTuanMuda on Apr 29, 2023 at 8:30 am

Ketetin kosong cap pisau

• Jeorcirno Avez on Apr 29, 2023 at 8:48 am

Jepunis ni mmg suka menipu ehhh.. dulu2 bab fuel efficiency, pastu airbag, pastu car safety.. ni car safety lagi.. adoii. Psl fuel efficiency tu pun st kurang percaya lg kalau tgk kt meter dashboard keta. Kalau isi minyak from point to point baru tau fuel efficient ke tak.. rupa nya tak fuel efficient sgt pn. Sama jer dgn kereta cc bsr dan cc rendah.. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 25
    • Driver from new vios and old vios, have no complain and no issues so far including fuel efficiency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 17
      • happy dgna_owner on Apr 29, 2023 at 12:19 pm

Yes, me too. To overcome the safty flaw at my new Vios, I put two tree branches left and right into the doors. A P2 designer I spoke with told me, that would be according to DGNA standards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Gerard on Apr 29, 2023 at 9:26 am

Stiff competition now, because Korean cars with better technology, safety, nice ride handling, and quality has dominated in the global market
      In Malaysia it is picking up. But still albeit slow bcoz ppl still live in the shell and preach the japanese mades even it is Ahbeng, AhPek and lala looking. Look at the vios, so lalamui style with the skirtings and sad face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
      • Bossku on Apr 29, 2023 at 1:27 pm

So are Kimchi kars that you worship! Aim higher…at least look at a Mercedes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Justice on Apr 29, 2023 at 8:48 am

That’s why the new vios under daihatsu platform is not worth…go for models under Toyota’s genuine platform…not the ones under daihatsu/perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
    • Bossku on Apr 29, 2023 at 1:28 pm

Wrong! Aim higher, ok? No point to aim for another lawn mower.

• So far don’t have issues on my new vios, running perfectly and smoother than my old vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 20
    • safe&smooth on Apr 29, 2023 at 1:44 pm

Yes, I put bamboo and old pillows into the front doors of my new Vios. So far running perfectly safe and smooth.

• Dugong feeling even sadder now. Can made the bumper even bigger to made it look sadder.

• Not only dugong, still got Mickey mouse ativa with the potong shop led light roaming around and the cars feel so hollow, but seeing the proud owners driving.

Reminds me also the many Jinjang style fridge on wheels called HellFarts, on the road. Empty vessel garnished with ugly chromes.

japanese car designs and reliability going downhill, now they want to save cost by cutting here and there? No wonder those has taste, knowledge and money go for the Koreans and Contis.

• Patutlah production Axia macam dah stop jer

• Aikon on Apr 29, 2023 at 10:11 am

Aiyaa, Perodua can cheat all they want, there will be still legions of fans who will buy and only want fuel economy and reliability which leads to resale value. They won’t care about these stupid safety matters lah. Since when was a Perodua ever bought for active or passive safety? The ADAS is just for marketing only and I guess most Perodua owners don’t even know how to use them – evidenced in FB posts where owners ask really noob questions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Bossku on Apr 29, 2023 at 1:09 pm

Yes! That is why Potong is the best car in Malaysia! Oh, typo, should be Proton! Go Harimau!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
    • ADAS whatsoever but still not wearing seatbelt and use their signal stalk is still a loser.

• user1010 on Apr 30, 2023 at 10:44 am

Its good that Perodua disposing cheap mentality people with low quality car in a most legal way. In other words, high fatality rate, cheap turbo, etc.

• designer on Apr 29, 2023 at 10:20 am

That’s obviously the “P2 share of Daihatsu design” that many people are proud of.

• Wahaha on Apr 29, 2023 at 11:13 am

When is Perodua issuing a public apology? Always claim advance technology and play a role in the R&D of the car. “Perodua D55L” crap when many knew it’s just Daihatsu Rocky. So now how? This cheating fiasco Perodua play a role or not? Own the responsibility too please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • They are taking responsibility. That is who they are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • responsibility should be taken before release instead of putting human life on the table just to meet the timeline.

if you were the victim and your only car is in workshop for weeks? in Malaysia, good luck enjoy scheduling your trips.

• Bossku, still waiting.. on Apr 29, 2023 at 12:18 pm

Folks, calm down. In life, you usually get what you pay for…if ToyoDai use the same QA as those prestige/lux car makers, they would close factories long time ago! At least ToyoDai have the guts to admit one of their workers screwed up! (they would blame their workers, not their boss, ok?)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Komen alternatif on Apr 29, 2023 at 12:18 pm

Salesman honda …. apa macam? Macam mana nak capitalise situasi ini?

• Bossku on Apr 29, 2023 at 1:11 pm

Honda is not much better! Another Japanese lawn mower. Aim higher, ok? Ask how Mercedes is going to capitalise situasi ini?

• Komen alternatif on Apr 29, 2023 at 4:45 pm

Merc vs honda pulak dah. Oi saleman merc camne nak capitalise situasi nie ? Saleman honda cadangkan nie?

• hailat on Apr 29, 2023 at 2:17 pm

at least they admitted …better than those who hide all the ceebai fark and wait for it to explode…

• Wahaha on Apr 29, 2023 at 7:58 pm

Got caught then admit lar

• haiyan on Apr 30, 2023 at 2:34 pm

no point just admit….need to force kau em to pay compensation to each affected buyers and pay hefty fines else the same fark will repeat ……bottomline everyone cheats and no one is so saint…fark

• FrankC on Apr 29, 2023 at 4:21 pm

does that mean, umw toyota in malaysia will cease assembly of vios until further results confirmation ? .. same too with Perodua Axia ?
    surprisingly no official statement from perodua in malaysia yet.

• Komen alternatif on Apr 29, 2023 at 4:50 pm

Merc vs honda pulak dah. Oi saleman merc camne nak capitalise situasi nie ? Saleman honda cadangkan nie?

• Komen alternatif on Apr 29, 2023 at 4:54 pm

Daihatsu = Toyota
    Toyota = Lexus
    So lexus pun kualiti dipertikaikan

Kereta apa nak beli nie?

• user1010 on Apr 29, 2023 at 5:13 pm

Article written by macai Perodua. Great. aXiA iS a GrEaT cAr… Hmppph..

• Raja Kamarul on Apr 29, 2023 at 6:21 pm

I wonder if owners would start a class action suit. Clearly there’s an issue. Given that the “safety features” are part of the product pricing strategy, some impact in pricing would be cause for action.

For P2, I suggest they quantify this and them offer owners a rebate in the form of maintenance coverage.

• Harry on Apr 29, 2023 at 8:11 pm

Please read the issues mentioned with regards to “the door trim on the affected vehicles had been modified with a “notch” to minimise the risk that the door panel could break with a sharp edge and cause injuries when the side airbag is deployed. The modification, i.e. the notch, is not present in production vehicles”.
    It’s not like an airbag or safety belt or other mechanical issue. I trust Perodua, Daihatsu & Toyota as they are very well know for their very high standards and they chose to admit a minor mistake, rather than hiding it.
    Well done P, D & T!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • Once bitten, twice shy. A cheater is still a cheater. Samsul,Syuk, Daihatsu so on and so forth.

• Keeenzeeer on Apr 29, 2023 at 9:26 pm

Wow! minor mistake? Its about one’s life and you said a minor mistake? I guess no one here wants to experience such a ‘sharp edge’ stabbing their heads once shxt happens. Though i praise toyota for spilling the tea, but investigation should go thoroughly and i hope its not perodua’s part regarding axia in cheating them crash test hahaha

• So all can happen is, that a sharp edge cause injuries when the side airbag is deployed? Cut off my legs i.e.?
      This are good news! Well done P,D & T!

• Proof that Axia and Vios share & come from the same R&D facility. Unannounced model probably just a new Bezza.

• If crash safety was a concern among Malaysians nobody would be buying motorbikes

• Komen alternatif on Apr 30, 2023 at 10:02 am

Not the issue here. The issues are:
      1. Toyota = daihatsu caught cheating!
      2. No doubt they admitted but still cheating is not acceptable esp concerning safety. Imagine how many recalls they hv to make and how much time you need to spend at SC later.
      3. What are toyota doing and for how long?
      4. Meantime u want to spend money to buy affected product?
      5. Till then … honda is better

• Honda also still not good, reliability and quality issues still got…honda crash safety test need to improve like HRV…not better than other brands

• Right. And people can survive without legs too, so no problem with this DGNA invented pintu-bom.

• Competition More Please on Apr 30, 2023 at 9:09 am

time to take away their tax relief protection laa and let everyone else bring in their option of affordable car to compete so more choices for the people to buy new budget car. If not much choices ofcourse la many will worship one brand here as it is the only affordable option in the market. Meanwhile our neighbors country get lots of car option on a very affordable price range too

• Boy Racer on Apr 30, 2023 at 10:59 am

Government protecting local car manufacturers with heavy import duties because they are forever in their “infancy” stage, while they are trying to kill us. At the end, Malaysians suffer both financially and physically.

• topgear on Apr 30, 2023 at 10:59 am

Our local car journalist don’t know anything about cars neither do experiments on the car just like how Top Gear does. When Jeremy destroys a kelisa in an episode, we were enraged by the act, but that’s how you should test a car’s body. They did a lot of crazy experiments in the name of journalism and educate the users thou they may seem super rude. I never seen a professional car journalist like the trio from Top Gear, namely Jeremy, Hammond and James May. Our local car journalist only know to review cars with stock scripts.

Shame on you guys.

• GengM on Apr 30, 2023 at 12:58 pm

Toyota safety are terrible… No wonder can only sell in malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Hakim on Apr 30, 2023 at 1:07 pm

Proton juga yng reliable. Haha

• Kelissa on Apr 30, 2023 at 8:29 pm

Don’t worry. Malaysian will accept the wrongdoing as long it is not from Proton. Malaysian will close 1 eye when it is Perodua cars.

• Phuddi sung lee on Apr 30, 2023 at 9:26 pm

Tday its hot news tomorrow all would forget bez strong presence of this brand in the world, so later all ok, they well knw how to satisfy the world

• Lato Sam Loo on Apr 30, 2023 at 10:01 pm

As usual, you see PariaDua fanboys here being so defensive but eventually they didn’t buy one themselves.

Talk is dirt cheap. Where is their action (buy the moving coffin)?

Lastly, I wonder if the airbags and VSC can help you from crashing while you tailgating at every highway.

You know the PariaDua driving methodology:
    1. Once they get into the car, they start imagining they are driving AMG Mercedes, M340i, GR Supra.
    2.If they are at your front, they try their best to smoke you.
    3.If they are at your back, they will tailgate you so close that they can look at your dashboard too.

• Jimmy Dean on May 01, 2023 at 12:28 pm

This is not the first time it happened.

• kingx on May 01, 2023 at 2:09 pm

Axia buyers not too bad but those that paid 100k premium price for a deathtrap Vios godcar, gudluck suckers

• Alcios on May 01, 2023 at 5:24 pm

Like 10 years ago mostly car with 2 front airbags good enough to prevent driver and front passenger hitting the front when accident. But then now h brand gives 6, t brand want win with 7 airbags protecting knee lah, shoulder lah. The side door supposed to have enforced harden steel inside. Does airbag in the side door trim necessary for safer?

• KalauDahMiskin on May 02, 2023 at 9:12 am

No problem here. Small issue only. Tak involve major safety issue. Kudos to P2 for making clear and elegant clarification. Toyota was just over acting. So pls continue buying P2 for its engineering, handling and fuel efficiency prowess!

• Seitha on Dec 20, 2023 at 3:11 pm

Volkswagen- fraud
    Toyota-fraud
    Now Daihatsu- fraud

How can the rakyat be assured we are getting value for our money?

What othe car manufactured has fraudulent data?
    Tesla also cannot trust!!

• Vios,axia Ariz ativa not safe as it’s side impact test was fudged .there you go never buy indon cars

• should I consider to cancel my booking for Perodua Alza ? i saw another article do mention Perodua Alza involved too… Daihatsu is shit ! QUALITY OF Toyota is in DOUBT!