Tesla Light Show feature demonstrated on Star Wars Day in Malaysia – Model Y, Model 3 EVs in formation

The Wesak Day public holiday was on May 4, which also marked what’s known as Star Wars Day. In celebration of the latter, the Star Wars Malaysia Fan Club partnered with Tesla Owners Malaysia to produce a short video featuring the Tesla Light Show function, joined by club members in costumes depicting characters from the movie franchise including Chewbacca the Wookiee.

Here, the Tesla Light Show was choreographed by Daren Yoong, who posted the video, and was demonstrated with a formation of 16 Teslas comprised of a mix of the Model Y and the Model 3, where the vehicles were synced to a given music selection, which in this case was the Imperial March theme from the series.

Released towards the end of 2021, the Light Show function was launched to operate on either .mp3 or .wav audio files, which can be synced to a lighting sequence that can run for up to five minutes. As shown in the YouTube clip recorded in Malaysia – as well as a very recently uploaded one from Singapore – the Imperial March sequence spans just over three minutes.

Tesla presence in Malaysia has not been official to begin with, as units from the American EV maker in the country have arrived through grey import channels. That is set to change, as Tesla EVs will soon be available for purchase directly from Tesla Motors, MITI minister Tengku Zafrul Aziz announced on social media earlier in March this year.

The official entry by Tesla into the Malaysian market will see the American company establish a head office, and to set up Tesla Experience Centres as well as a Supercharger network. In February, we reported that Tesla Services Sdn Bhd had been renamed to Tesla Sdn Bhd in October 2022, with the change in SSM data indicating the firm’s change in operations and preparation for an official market entry.

Bought a new Tesla? You need to make sure it has an insurance cover note 7 days before delivery day. You can use our Tesla Insurance service to get it insured.

Sell your car, get paid in 24 hours

Renew your car insurance with us, 10% discount!

Use the promo code 'PAULTAN' when you checkout for 10% discount!

Renew Car Insurance

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• That's great... on May 05, 2023 at 11:28 am

We all know Tesla isn’t good as a car. It’s good that the owners find clever uses for it.

Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Allan Jensen on May 07, 2023 at 11:46 am

Buddy you have no idea about tesla. Best car I’ve ever owned

Thumb up 8 Thumb down 3
      • Buddy...with all due respect on May 07, 2023 at 1:41 pm

I like to call a spade a spade.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Xv9AdwtfD8

If you need to watch Netflix in your car, just stick an iPad on a Camry. It’s still markedly a better car.

With that kind of money, if you need range, get a Taycan.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 5
  • ROTI CANAI on May 05, 2023 at 12:15 pm

hmm, is it any good as a car

Thumb up 2 Thumb down 1
  • Star War Fans on May 05, 2023 at 2:32 pm

May the force be with you

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0
  • Kevin Henry on May 05, 2023 at 2:39 pm

Looks the finish on the Tesla is really bad. Compared to the the BMW or Merc no comparison on the finish

Thumb up 4 Thumb down 2
  • holofanboi on May 05, 2023 at 2:56 pm

Uh…there was even a chewbacca with a bowcaster… Feel like this could have been better edited to give a different energy. As it is the video gives the wrong feel, almost childish.

Thumb up 4 Thumb down 1
  • Effort ok lah. Story line koyak

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • azhar on May 07, 2023 at 12:09 pm

Lots of stupid hater comments..im not surprise if malaysia are one of the slowest EV adopters in the world

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 3
    • anti redneck on May 07, 2023 at 1:22 pm

actually almost every carmaker selling EVs in malaysia at reasonable prices (consumers not stupid to buy from slaughterhouse pricing like mbm) are selling out their stock… byd atto 3 got 1000 on the road for example. the comments you read are from all the very vocal rednecks

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0
    • This must be news for you. on May 07, 2023 at 1:43 pm

Tesla is not the only EV maker in town.

There are better choices out there.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0