BYD to open manufacturing and assembly facility in Vietnam, proposes forming of local supply chain

Chinese automaker BYD plans to expand its electric vehicle manufacturing and assembly operations into Vietnam according to the country’s government statement citing BYD chairman Wang Chuanfu, reports Reuters.

Through a government-issued statement following a meeting between Wang and Vietnam deputy prime minister Tran Hong Ha last week, Wang, who is also founder of BYD, said that he expected Vietnam to create favourable conditions for BYD to complete investment procedures, according to the report.

In February this year, a Bloomberg report stated that three southeast Asian countries – Vietnam, the Philippines and Indonesia – were competing to host an assembly plant for BYD electric vehicles.

BYD Atto 3, Malaysian debut

Currently, BYD’s manufacturing presence in Vietnam is via a factory for the assembly of electronic devices and parts in the northern province of Phu Tho. The Chinese manufacturer also proposed a forming of a local supply chain, according to the Vietnamese government statement.

News of BYD’s first Southeast Asian electric vehicle manufacturing plant emerged in April 2022, and in September last year the manufacturer purchased a 96 hectare plot of land in Rayong, the automotive hub in Thailand. In January, a separate Reuters report said that a planned Vietnam plant would also supply parts to this plant in Thailand.

Meanwhile in the Malaysian market, the BYD Atto 3 saw 1,000 vehicle deliveries in Malaysia in the first 100 days since it was launched last December, after which it reached the 100-unit customer delivery milestone in January.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Kea Was on May 10, 2023 at 2:31 pm

No idea why you would make another factory in the same left hand drive country as China when our region here all the way down south all is RHD area.

• MarkX on May 10, 2023 at 4:46 pm

Vietnam labor cost is way way cheaper in the region.
      China labor cost is already very expensive, even more expensive than Malaysia.

China GDP per-capita: 12,556 USD
      Malaysia GDP per-capita: 11,109 USD
      Vietnam GDP per-capita: 3,756 USD

• Wrong Info Simply say on May 10, 2023 at 9:02 pm

This guy never been to Vietnam for long

• MarkX on May 11, 2023 at 4:05 pm

For your info, I have been traveling to Vietnam (in fact SEA countries) frequently for business trip and I used to work in China close to a year.

• Tandoori on May 10, 2023 at 4:49 pm

To avoid US tariffs targeting goods from ? Plus Vietnam labour market is more stable

• Why dont invest here on May 10, 2023 at 9:01 pm

Then better buy Geely. At least got plant herr

• Col Josh Albert Goj on May 10, 2023 at 11:51 pm

The cost of production is they key to choice of country to put your plant. Plus Vietnam won the bid because it offered more to BYD.

Rather shallow to ask why put a plant to build right-hand drive cars in a country where cars are left-hand drive when the goal is to build as many as possible at lowest cost for sale to Asian/Asean countries. It is like our free-trade zones attracting manufacturers to build only for export. Makes no difference if what they build is useable to local “natives”. Besides, what difference does it make if the workers/population will or will not be able to buy what they produced.

Think “out of the box”, brother

• Gabriel on May 10, 2023 at 5:18 pm

Why we Malaysian terlepas this project?
    Anthony Loke what are you doing?
    We Malaysian do not need the ability to renew driving license for 10 years, we need jobs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • MarkX on May 10, 2023 at 9:45 pm

Eh.. ni kerja Miti, bukan Pengangkutan..
      Jangan suka suka panggil sesiapa..
      Please learn about the ministries responsibility before commenting..

• Col Josh Albert Goh on May 11, 2023 at 12:02 am

Why are we so arrogant to think a huge conglomerate like BYD must come to Malaysia to build a factory? It has nothing to do with what our Min of Transport is doing or not doing anything about it. The decision lies in BYD. Can the Min of Transport even offer low labor cost like Cambodia? As it is we probably has more public & declared holidays so workers can expect double or triple pay to work on public holidays. And Min of Transport has nothing to do with labor?

If we want to criticize, do so constructively and fairly. Then only can our comments be “value added”

• Autodriver on May 11, 2023 at 9:50 am

What is this to do with MOT? You do need to visit psychiatrist ASAP. It is nothing do with MOT for foreign investment at all.

Why Vietnam not Malaysia? Look at our job market, plenty of retail shops, companies and factories are not able to hire staff despite the salary offer more than RM 1500 but nobody want to work. Look at mamak stall most anek are from India. RM 1500 is small but many people are starting with low salary and gradually increase depend on our ability. Look at Malaysia worker comes work 3 days a week and missing for another 3 days. While in Vietnam job market is small and people hunting for job. Average factory worker is RM 1000 and people are hardworking. If you are businessman which place you would want to invest.

• MITI,,,,we Malaysians want to know what happened? Macam mana boleh Terlepas peluang begins? BYD please reconsider your decision .

• Kingsley Nguyen Ko Tak on May 10, 2023 at 10:31 pm

Don’t be so sensitive they chosing Vietnam easy crossing mekong river go back CNY. Some more Vietnam got soup noodle and dog meat be tolerant a bit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • vietcong car club on May 11, 2023 at 12:55 pm

We wish Vietnam becomes powerful can reclaimed whole SCS renamed Vietnam sea and all its islet and shoals