When Perodua launched the second-generation Axia in February this year, the carmaker said it would continue to produce the E variant of the first-generation model to fulfil its role as the most affordable car in Malaysia. At the time, the company did not reveal when the Axia E would be reintroduced (the original plan was sometime in April), nor did we get any details like pricing and specifications.
However, it looks like a launch could take place soon, as paultan.org reader Muhd Hamka spotted two units of what is very likely the new Axia E. The steel wheels on both cars are an obvious giveaway, but what’s more interesting is the grey unit in the photos.
The previous E variant in the 2019 Axia line-up was only offered in Glittering Silver and Ivory White, so this grey hue appears to be a new addition that will be part of the 2023 update. What won’t be added are body-coloured side mirrors as well as parking sensors and a wiper at the rear.
Curiously, the sighted cars appear to sport the face of the 2017 Axia instead of the more recent 2019 model. The older car had a less aggressive front bumper with subtler creases for its faux corner intakes, while the accent trim on the grille didn’t swing upwards at the edges. It’s the opposite on the other end of both cars, with the rear bumper appearing to be the one found on the 2019 Axia E with larger faux corner outlets.
We only have these photos to speculate on for now, so we’ll have to wait until an official launch to confirm this mix and match look (perhaps to save cost and reduce the price?), along with other potential updates. What is already known is the 1KR-VE 1.0 litre naturally-aspirated three-cylinder VVT-i engine will make a return with a five-speed manual transmission.
The E variant, lovingly referred to as the “driving school spec,” has been around ever since the original Axia debuted in 2014 and remained in the line-up when the model received was updated in 2017 and 2019. Prior to its temporary absence from Perodua’s line-up, the 2019 Axia E retailed for RM24,090 on-the-road without insurance. How much do you think the new one will cost?
cheap axia is the best way for B40 to own a car.
Is why 40K Saga better choice
50K Axia not exactly “entry”
lol 50k is the full spec axia 2023 , you want all the tech inside your car , you pay more la
20k++. Civic drivers run their mouth without thinking
When I retired I also will choose this for my Manual Grocer fun.
Cash Buy.
I hope that’s in say, 3 years. If it’s 30 years away….. lol
So where are build car people first mantra? Where are those ADAS, airbag, safety features? Money still talk right.
Kecoh lah kau. Jual murah salah, jual mahal pun salah.
P2 salesman.
If can,P2 prefer no airbags to maximize profits.Just pathetic P2 treat rakyat like beggars.give skeleton old specs to present a “Rahmah” Axia.PMX,pls call the P2 CEO to present a proper budget car.
They have tons of safe cars. Did you see them? Nope. Just base the entire company upon this one car that literally just exist to make transportation for the masses possible. The very definition of hater you are.
ADAS is for fake drivers who just need a box to move them around, those basically has no much ideal on handling the box with 4 rubbers…
To be honest, the old Axia with LED lights looks waaay better than the new Axia.
The new Axia is butt ugly (pun intended)
Should name the new one something like “Grand Axia”, because it loss the low price tag.
Saw few days ago on trailer. Perhaps Axia Rahmah?
So the new cheap Axia, is the old Axia?
If the ‘new’ Axia E is still the 1st generation model, perhaps the price should be less than the old one.
Why? The other same things in life from years ago also shot up in price.
Shouldn’t the licensing for the older previous generation Daihatsu B100 (Axia B200) design be cheaper now that the new replacement 2nd generation Axia A300 (Daihatsu A350) is already in production?
Isn’t it likely that Perodua will just continue to use the already existing tool & die and assembly line set-up to produce the 1st generation based Axia E without additional investment costs in manufacturing equipment?
At around (maybe) 25k price, either get yourself this Axia…or a 250cc motorbike. Your choice
Hope it will still cost 24K.
That would be worth an applause
I hope they out do themselves with a RM19,990 price tag!
Good price is the best feature!
Funny
Low spec got LED taillights
Latest very high spec use dinosaur light bulbs
Got ABS and airbag or not?
This car, to me, is the perfect car for KL commuting. I’m on my 2nd Axia E (drove the first one for 5 years and then gifted it to my nephew), and these cars have never failed me. I bought both cash and never have to worry about bumps and scratches and can just park them anywhere without thinking twice. I leave my 370Z and GS450h at home and use them for weekend fun or outstation travel, where items airbags/ABS/ADAS/ESP etc etc are really only needed then. But for KL city driving, the Axia E is perfect.
Probably revealing my age, but my first car, the Sunny 130Y for those who remember, was also prices at RM25K when new back in the 90s. Perodua have done well to keep a car like the Axia E prices as such in the 2020s. Bravo
Sunny 130Y prices in the 90s? maybe you meant prices in the early 80s.
Even at the beginning, a super low spec Kancil 660EX, with 4 speed manual, and a fuel lid that can only be opened with a key; costs about RM24.5k back in 1994.
yeah, getting so much of a car like the Axia 1.0 now in 2023 at numbers similar to a kancil 660EX in 1994 is absolutely amazing.
You could buy the small bumper 130Y for 25k in the 90s. Very, very basic car. No power steering, no radio, no central locking (forget remote locking!), wind-down windows, and the best part… only side mirror fitted on the driver’s side!
Ah… fond memories.
The Sunny 130Y during the 90s was 40k. Yes, TC relaunched it in the 90s.
It was my first car when I bought it new.
It did not have a power steering…
But it has power reng
Old or new bumper still same just a piece of plastic only for this pricey tin can better buy old japanese car for this price.
Senang karat senang kemek senang masuk GH. Mari mari jual murah murah beli dua dapat satu. Suckerz in bahasa Melayu is it penghisap or pesedut? Enlighten me
This car is all about the price. So let’s see if there is a price reduction which will be a big enough selling point.
I would buy this car rather than take risk with a second hand that potentially was under water before.
This is the type of car that you buy to lenjan on everyday groceries run or even short drive to nearest mall. Small, agile and fuel saved engine. Thank you Perodua for offering this to Malaysian.
It is also a good first car for your kids, if the alternative is motorcycle.
in terms of safety, it is miles ahead of riding a motorcycle.
And more reliable than buying a second hand.
It will serve the puropose of driving from point A to B, safely… with aircond.
Aku beli 2018 axia e putih. semuanya masih original kilang. 212k penjimatan minyak mmg terbukti. Kalau warna grey masih keluar.. mmg ngam lah beli lagi satu.
I can see another cost-saving measure
– No defogger elements in the tailgate glass (same like latest Axia LoL!!).
No seatbelt,no rear mirror,no signal,no radio Because Malaysian rarely use it.
Do u know that 2018 axia G 2nd hand is selling for rm35k
If use new DNGA body with old 4at gearbox with harga RAHMAH, confirm laku macam BEZZA.
Feels like milking a dead cow with Axia news
Aircond kuat bocor. Engine ok walaupun gegar. Gear box akaki susah tukar gear satu ke dua, rpm naik. Body amat sesuai dlm bandar n jln kpg. Highway kena slow sikit.
This is stupid are perodua secretly trying to stop production one of the cheapest car in Malaysia like where the second gen axia e
is very weird that perodua did not introduce second gen axia e maybe it will launch in december hopefully because it could be the new driving school vechiles and for poor family that can’t afford the high spec vechiles. In my opinion I recommended the second gen axia e to be launch tho because the second gen might have the touch screen radio unlike the first gen axia e.