Anwar-Musk meeting will have a huge spillover effect in boosting Malaysia’s EV ambitions – economist

The upcoming meeting between prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and Tesla CEO Elon Musk is expected to provide a huge boost to Malaysia as it strives to become an electric vehicle (EV) hub in the region, said an economist.

While the brand is already set to officially enter the Malaysian market, Sunway University economics professor Yeah Kim Leng said that a fruitful discussion between Anwar and Musk, slated to take place later this week, could lead to a chain reaction of further commitments that will benefit the Malaysian economy in general.

Speaking to Bernama, he said that regardless of the nature and value of the investment that Tesla intends to bring to Malaysia, any forthcoming commitment arising from the meeting will have a positive effect on the local EV industry.

“Iconic investments typically have larger spillover effects through enhancing, strengthening local and foreign investor confidence as well as crowding in investments. This could open up more opportunities for suppliers, service providers as well as parts and components manufacturers to actively engage with the EV industry,” he told the national news agency.

He added that the meeting will have positive implications, as it affirms the government’s economic direction to pursue high impact, high value foreign direct investment (FDI) and clean energy. “Malaysia’s FDI numbers will continue to edge up should the meeting result in Musk or any of his numerous frontier projects finding a footing in the country,” he said.

Yeah’s sentiment was echoed by Malaysia Automotive, Robotics and IoT Institute (MARii) CEO Azrul Reza Aziz, who expressed confidence that the meeting between Anwar and Musk will lead to economic growth for the country.

“We are thrilled about the possibilities that lie ahead from the meeting. The possibility of Tesla increasing further investments in Malaysia will contribute to our nation’s economic growth and enable the development of a sustainable and environmentally friendly mobility ecosystem,” he said.

Earlier, investment, trade and industry minister Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Abdul Aziz reaffirmed that the potential collaboration between Malaysia and Tesla will seek to look at elements beyond the EV sector. “What we want is to attract more potential or investment commitment in the automotive sector and other sectors that we can market within Malaysia,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Janji dicapati on Jul 11, 2023 at 1:12 pm

Refer my name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • No Free Lunch on Jul 11, 2023 at 1:46 pm

Elon also can close shop overnight big loss billions if those lunatic extremists become the govt.

So it’s a national duty for all rakyat to keep voting unity govt and kick away the crazy extremists once and for all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 12
      • Dah Menang Semua on Jul 11, 2023 at 4:51 pm

SpaceX will support us build Rocket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • Celup King on Jul 11, 2023 at 5:16 pm

Meanwhile after both PH gomen chased away Chinese investments:
        https://paultan.org/2023/07/11/china-carmakers-to-invest-rm6-7-billion-to-produce-evs-in-thailand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
        • Chinese EV’s are sh** anyway. Thank god we didn’t have them, lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
      • Beware..the greenies..they r coming on Jul 11, 2023 at 7:50 pm

Sir,u will be surprised ,those greenies will become Elon’s buddy cronies overnight.Cars r not ‘sinful’ gambling issues.Even the Talibans also want Elon.

• Adamos on Jul 11, 2023 at 1:23 pm

Lucky that we have PMX that will be speaking to Elon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 11, 2023 at 5:32 pm

Anwar gembira, rakyat sengsara
      Anwar di Sg Buloh, rakyat sorak kali sepuloh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • EV Hub on Jul 11, 2023 at 1:31 pm

I think Thailand has 1 leg up higher than Malaysia. It will be a tall order to depend on 1 single US company to transform Malaysia into an EV hub? We are introducing cars with EV credentials 1 year later than Thailand and Indonesia….

• EV enthusiasts on Jul 11, 2023 at 2:48 pm

Although I don’t like Elon Musk but I gotta say that Tesla is still one of the world’s top selling EV brand, and they also have the gigafactory to build enough EV for sold.

• Chinese EV’s are sh** anyway. So Thailand can have them, we have the good quality cars. Plus, I am glad that Tesla might choose Malaysia but even if he doesn’t I am more excited with the DNex – Foxconn Joint Venture compared to Tesla investment. Because car factories are very labor intensive and we probably will end up hiring immigrants to work at Tesla because none of our people want to do this job anymore. Some of our Engineers, will benefit from this but the number will be limited & you can guarantee there will be zero transfer of technology as history has shown, FDI in Malaysia fails to bring in transfer of technology. I am more excited with DNex-Foxconn because no 1 it is guaranteed that we will received transfer of technology to local firms & no 2 we will be producing chips for EV cars. This will be far more technologically advanced and this will also provide a lot of high income jobs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
  • It better be. Thailand is very aggressive in becoming the EV hub in SEA and more is needed to beat Thailand.

• YiLong Ma,the fake China Elon on Jul 11, 2023 at 7:44 pm

Thailand produces approx 1.3-1.4 juta vehicles annually,Sir.This is only for ICE cars.Half is for exports.
      Now EVs r rushing to Thailand,the Detriot of Asia.
      Our market is too small for EVs.
      Elon,if he can let our 6000 jobless dudes rot in the sun for half a dozen jobs,tell me what he cant do.
      He is just doing a publicity stunt,after China buyers r complaining about the many defective quality issues.
      Dont put too much hope in the world’s most eccentric,unpredictable car tycoon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Don’t need outdated yet boring Tesla Model 3, Y.
    Bring the $39k 6 seater stainless steel cybertruck that premiered 2019, almost 4 years ago.

• Bieight8 on Jul 11, 2023 at 3:11 pm

Should ask Elon to bring space X here, so that we can have CKD rocket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • paanjang16 on Jul 11, 2023 at 3:36 pm

Everyone talking like Elon will come in and spend money here. Last time Jokowi went to see him also nothing concrete come out from that meeting. Do note Elon is now busy with a certain bird tech company.

If PMX want Elon to set up Gigafactory here the terms must be more favorable than Thailand.

Until Elon himself come here to cut ribbon for a Gigafactory or something similar I won’t put my hopes up. Hope won’t kena screwed like how Dyson said want to build an electric car in Singapore but U-turn.

• leman on Jul 11, 2023 at 5:14 pm

It is Elon Musk who want to see PM and on Jokowi’s story it is Mr.President who want to meet Mas Elon.

• Proton oh Proton on Jul 11, 2023 at 3:55 pm

Our gov policy not very clear for the EV market, don’t expect Musk will invest.

• nak pi jumpaq org juai minyak ulaq nie buat pa? This guy is a glorified salesman la wei… when is anyone going to see through him for what he truly is?

• Sohai on Jul 11, 2023 at 4:13 pm

We can’t be supporting Tesla to succeed here. This will be in competition with Proton, which ultimately affects its survivor. Don’t forget rakyat owns Proton through Khazanah.

• Hahaha mmg sohai la u

• Squid on Jul 11, 2023 at 4:52 pm

Sell all Proton share to Geely. Then JV with Tesla to rebadge as national car. Protek Tesla hahahahahaaaa

• Khazanah doesn’t own Proton anymore after releasing it stakes to DRB-HICOM. Kidzania also. Pinewood studio also.

• No way elon will invest in EV Manufacturing in Malaysia unless we honour asean free trade agreeement for motor vehicles. Because of proton protection, other fellow asean countries imposed tarrifs for malaysian made cars in retaliation.

• Pro Tesla on Jul 11, 2023 at 6:43 pm

Let’s bring in Tesla EV, tech. Chargers, standards in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Pro EV on Jul 12, 2023 at 11:20 am

Come on Elon, $10B investment into Malaysia. Booost our economic and currency!!!