Prime minister Anwar Ibrahim meets with Tesla CEO Elon Musk via video call – EV brand launching July 20

Prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has met with Tesla and SpaceX CEO Elon Musk via video call, with the meeting also attended by minister of investment, trade and industry Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Abdul Aziz; minister of communications and digital Ahmad Fahmi bin Mohamed Fadzil as well as Lauren Dreyer, SpaceX senior director.

In an official release, Anwar said he welcomed Tesla’s interest and investment decisions in Malaysia as well as an opportunity for Musk to visit the country. He also congratulated the electric vehicle (EV) maker on the opening of a local office together with Tesla Experience and service centres in Selangor this year.

Ahead of the brand’s launch next week on July 20, the Tesla configurator for Malaysia has gone online, with the Model Y being offered with prices starting from RM199,000, which so happens to be the best selling car model in the world in Q1 2023. The first batch of Superchargers were also revealed on the official website, with 10 locations listed so far.

“Malaysia will continue to strengthen its commitment to net zero carbon emissions as early as 2050. Malaysia has a comprehensive plan and ecosystem as well as competitive resources to support the clean energy industry, including electric mobility,” Anwar said in the release.

The meeting also touched upon the potential offering of Starlink services to provide fast internet access to more areas of the country, particularly in rural areas. Starlink requires minimal infrastructure and land to provide satellite internet access, making rapid rollout possible.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Can you charge my port?

• No Free Lunch on Jul 14, 2023 at 3:32 pm

Only a modern forward-thinking open minded progressive govt can bring in more investors here !

Therefore we all Malaysian voters must ensure that green wave lunatic crazy extremists never gonna rule govt again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 21
      • That’s why PHBN much better than PN. PN is real fail government and fail to the people. Why?

– Emergency declaration for bad reasons for staying in power
        – RM Currency also losing a lot to other countries
        – Price hike for foods and others including poor and middle but only cares for rich
        – PN politicians are traitors but wanting power to stay longer
        – Not caring for the poor and middle but only cares for rich especially protecting policy for mercedes but never care all other brands
        – Didn’t do much developments for buildings and new projects

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
        • World record on Jul 15, 2023 at 8:14 am

– The first in the world using cirit birit as official excuses

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Suck it on Jul 15, 2023 at 2:28 pm

What

• Ex PN Kedah Voter on Jul 14, 2023 at 4:45 pm

Klau geng PN Pas jaga reban ayam pon X layak..

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 14, 2023 at 6:24 pm

Kipidap Malaysia! Hidup PH! Hidup Anwar! #MalaysiaMadani

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 8
  • big on hype… little to no details. as usual.
    meet up with owners of Geely, Great Wall, BYD lagi baik! at least depa buat keje cepat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 30
    • 4GR-FSE on Jul 14, 2023 at 3:03 pm

i think you are missing the point.. All the Chinese companies are just making cars that run on electricity. Tesla is building the entire eco-system from EV to software development to charging infrastructure. Their software is the one that differentiate themselves from the rest. Not to mention Elon Musk also owns SpaceX and Starlink. We have very good companies that specialized in aerospace that could benefit in this partnership, and utilizing their satelite system for deep rural areas.
      Have you seen how Bapak Jokowi was trying so hard to lobby Elon Musk to invest in Indonesia?

It is like do you rather to have Apple or Oppo Vivo to invest here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
      • BLT Sandwich on Jul 14, 2023 at 8:16 pm

Well said. Or you can ask if you prefer Google or Baidu to invest in Malaysia

• Katheryne Wong on Jul 14, 2023 at 3:06 pm

Cool bro. The western work concept is smooth & steady, they prefer profit over volume. No need to quick3 but low quality standard.

• Peppa on Jul 14, 2023 at 4:22 pm

Chinese brands? Ew

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Amran on Jul 14, 2023 at 7:00 pm

Bila kata nak meet, riuh betul semacam Elon Musk akan datang Mesia. Rupanya just Zoom meeting je.

Manatau Elon pakai body double, Anwar pon tak perasan.

Alahai kalau setakat ni je, xyah nak gemparkan berita syok sendiri ke semua orang. Padahal Elon pulak sendiri jumpa Face to Face dengan Jokowi. Tu lah baru meeting yang bererti!

Piraahhh laahh Anwar!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 33
      • amranbodo on Jul 15, 2023 at 7:38 am

Alamak bang tau la butthurt tapi simpan la sikit bodo tu. Malu sume org nampak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
        • Kaum Rempit on Jul 15, 2023 at 3:31 pm

Amran ni sejak 2019 mmg bodo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • Casual reader on Jul 15, 2023 at 8:55 pm

Anwar fanboy butthurt on the truth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
          • Kaum Rempit on Jul 16, 2023 at 10:47 am

Kalau tak nak Malaysia maju, gi berambus dari negara ni lah. We don’t need lazy + traitors to remain in this beautiful country!!

• Ankor on Jul 16, 2023 at 8:43 pm

Where is the investment? I hear only open up shop. Wth. As usual all hype & spin & lies. All the ph supporter all believe like a cult. Dont know want to laugh or angry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 17, 2023 at 8:08 am

Aik! Dah 60 taun suruh kaum Ah beng berambus dr sini tapi dorang marah pulak. Skarang dah jadik kjaan kurang 1 taun je dah naik hidung suroh orang kluar dari tanah air mrk. Sendri berambuslah klau tak suka. We don’t need commies + traitors to remain in this beautiful country!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Kaum Rempit on Jul 17, 2023 at 11:53 am

Oi bangang @rakyat, aku org Melayu lah. Jgn nak buat hal kat forum ni

• Zek Ampang on Jul 16, 2023 at 9:50 am

Any difference kalau dia datang fizikal?

• Lets See on Jul 17, 2023 at 8:11 am

If you have sxx, do you think its better fisikal or virtual?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • letsseedumb on Jul 17, 2023 at 12:15 pm

Bro compared meeting with s**. How stupid

• Ben Yap on Jul 14, 2023 at 2:39 pm

what is tengku zafrul doing there in the meeting? he didn’t even bring in any foreign investments to Malaysia. already lost in election and cannot bring in foreign investments to malaysia until PMX has to bring in tesla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 29
    • Then maybe you should double check your info. If he really useless, why need PMX bring him in the meeting. You believe everything politician said about their rivals? Or when the boast bout themselve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • 4GR-FSE on Jul 14, 2023 at 3:06 pm

Is just your ignorant and naïve for not reading and knowing what is happening in the ministry.. Can people nowadays read more and stop looking at short clips, headlines and incomplete information from social media? Can our younger generation have more critical thinking and research more?

• Yeahsure on Jul 14, 2023 at 3:31 pm

wow..dont choose to be stupid bro…will take you no where…

• hazri on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:17 pm

i dislike zafrul too, but any achievement from him even little, we should appreciate. i just feeling grateful that he is not finance minister anymore.

• ScooterDude on Jul 21, 2023 at 12:08 am

It’s like saying the marketing and sales department is useless because the person signing it is the boss that signs the contract.

• Bobby on Jul 14, 2023 at 2:56 pm

Weather is getting from bad to worse, EV is a starting point to resolve this issue.

Those that can afford this new technology, kindly try to kick start this EV thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • 4GR-FSE on Jul 14, 2023 at 3:14 pm

it is naive to think that EV can solve all this problem. Do you know that Volvo even admitted themselves that EV production emits more CO2 than regular cars? The total emission of CO2 in EV production is equal to production of regular car plus 100,000km of driving with petrol.
      EV only contribute to less than 10% of the solution. If you want to save mother nature:
      1) Reduce consumption
      2) Prolong the lifespan of whatever things that you have
      3) adjust your aircon to 25degree
      4) add solar panel on your roof
      5) take public transport
      6) consume less meat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Shazz on Jul 16, 2023 at 11:31 am

I cannot agree more that EV is not an actual solution. Rowan Atkinson has penned a good article.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yiga3atlTRs&t=406s

• It will be interesting to see what kind of draconian tariffs our gomen will put in place after zero tariffs for EV ends in 2025.

• hazri on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:25 pm

even this is only virtual meeting, it is good to see mas elon in suit. usually he just wear plain shirt like mark zukerberg. this meeting about space x, to provide poor internet in rural area. this is good effort especially in borneo, terengganu, kedah, kelantan. thanks pmx, you still can think how to improve states that reject you in election. how big your heart is.

• Gabriel on Jul 14, 2023 at 11:29 pm

Video call only? What the heck?
    Elon met Jokowi in person. That is how a progressive malay government of indonesia did their work.
    The poor exchange rate government led by corrupted undersea tunnel leader is so mindblowingly poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Pro EV on Jul 15, 2023 at 9:27 am

What impotant is the result. You can meet and hug but we get the inverment. That is how our leaders liberated this beloved country from Britain with negotiations and diplomacy. Malays are smart and tolerant. Yes we are.

• Salah on Jul 15, 2023 at 5:28 pm

Jawa bukan Melayu

• Austroasiatic Peninsula on Jul 16, 2023 at 12:56 pm

Go back school study geography ethnicity. Wildly claiming indonesian javanese as malay same like claiming vietnamese as chinese.

• Pro EV on Jul 15, 2023 at 9:24 am

I predict Tesla sales will superceed Continentals within 3 years. Trust my words.

• If PN Myuhiddin as PM, this won’t happen

• Casual reader on Jul 16, 2023 at 10:10 am

With Azmin as his righthand man, Muhy might have gotten a F2F meet same as Jokowi

• Squid on Jul 17, 2023 at 9:46 am

And what value has that F2F meeting brought to the Indonesian people so far?