One Proton model to face end of production by the end of 2023 – X50, X70, X90 to stay for probably 10 years

According to Azmil Abu Bakar, Proton’s senior director of group technical procurement, one of the national carmaker’s models will be discontinued by the end of this year. This was revealed during today’s Global Investors & Vendors Convention 2023 that focused on the Automotive Hi-Tech Valley (AHTV).

“The distinct models that we are still running… six… four original models of Proton, we’re still holding except for one model that we have announced to the supplier that we are going to EOP (end of production) by the end of the year,” said Ainol.

“The other three models are going to be here for quite a long time, and the X series is obviously going to stay for probably, I would say, 10 years, but my message to the local suppliers is very simple: as much as you keep on being competitive for the current models, if you were thinking of expanding I think this is a good opportunity to have a study of potential collaboration with those suppliers who possess a higher level of technology and look into the possibility of supplying (components) for EV cars,” he added.

No mention was made as to which Proton model is facing EOP. At present, the “original” models are the PIES range, which includes the Persona, Iriz, Exora and Saga. Of the four, the Exora is the oldest in the line-up as it was released back in 2009, although it has been updated over the years, with the latest version being revealed in August last year.

By comparison, the Iriz has been around since 2014, the second-generation Persona since 2016, and the third-generation Saga since 2016. Again, it’s not said which model is facing EOP, but the Exora makes for a very likely candidate given its age – it has been rumoured that the Geely Jiaji will form the basis for the MPV’s replacement.

Ainol was responding to a question posed on the specific components and technologies that Proton is currently seeking in anticipation of future models. He also noted that with AHTV, the company is prioritising more towards electric vehicles (EVs) and autonomous vehicles, and components relevant to these fields like EV-specific tyres, battery packs, battery management systems, electric motors, EV platforms are the sort of parts being looked at.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• suomynona on Jul 17, 2023 at 7:29 pm

No prizes to which model will be eliminated, but with the X models sticking around, still in doubt if homegrown Protons will ever return

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • honey badger on Jul 18, 2023 at 10:02 am

You know it, I know it. We are just a re-badger and they know it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • yes they will. Proton is catching up with the tech first before going back to designing their own car. ignore the bottom comment. he don’t read enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • suomynona on Jul 19, 2023 at 10:28 am

Of both your comments, I’m rooting for yours to come true for sure

• suomynona on Jul 19, 2023 at 10:33 am

*Comment edit, they meant the X nameplates will stay. Hopefully it could be our own designs of course.

• Bob Mal on Jul 17, 2023 at 8:22 pm

Glad these Vendors finally able to compete instead of bleeding Proton and Malaysian tax payers money for decades.

• My guess would be the Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Driver on Jul 18, 2023 at 10:45 am

On the other hand, Iriz and Persona share the same platform and many parts too (unlike the Exora). But we have to wait and see.

• bobby on Jul 17, 2023 at 9:13 pm

perdana

• Ramesh on Jul 17, 2023 at 10:28 pm

Proton Persona replacement is coming.

• Cibet bulu bulu on Jul 18, 2023 at 12:03 am

My guess:

Either Exora or Iriz. People loving MKII Persona, but people disliked Iriz. Couldn’t see on the road often like MKII Persona.

• Proton la on Jul 18, 2023 at 1:10 am

Might be the end of exora

• Hemalatha on Jul 18, 2023 at 1:06 pm

My exora been paid more workshop to repair n maintenance. Regret so much until ecu i hv changed but can’t detect what is the problem….

• ThePolygon on Jul 18, 2023 at 6:55 am

End the other 3, Saga remains.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Syaiful Nizam Hassan on Jul 18, 2023 at 7:30 am

Most probably Exora coz it’s the oldest & longest model present… It’s replacement will be major facelifted X90 (Geely Haoyue L).

• James on Jul 18, 2023 at 7:37 pm

Not a replacement at all. How you replace 70k car with 150k car?? Aiya malas nak makan MCD mom no la sayang, jom gi Restaurant Gordan Ramsay.

• Dear Proton,
    Hopefully Exora will have end of life bare naked specs like axia E and priced below 40k.
    CSR for malaysian.. pls pls pls…

• Iriz lah. Kena bantai myvi. Berapa kerat je jual bulan2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Matchy on Jul 18, 2023 at 10:48 am

most likely exora… barely see any new one on the road nowadays.

• artms on Jul 18, 2023 at 12:18 pm

Because the new ones also look like the old ones. Hard to differentiate.

• suomynona on Jul 19, 2023 at 10:31 am

I’ve seen a good several Exoras with the Thundercat badge few times per week, I’m surprised there’s still buyers,

I even sat in one on a Grab ride back from airport, all I’ll just say is, its hard to improve anything on a decade old design

• low speed acc on Jul 18, 2023 at 12:31 pm

Hopefully not persona, best value sub rm60k sedan at the moment.

• sayonara exora on Jul 18, 2023 at 1:10 pm

exora end is here, simply cos its the oldest model and ppl are crazy for suv, although the body type isnt really good for 7 seater.
    iriz sales bad but since same platform as persona, unlikely one go, other stay. saga will stay cos is export model with strong sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Iglesias Woo Wen Kai on Jul 18, 2023 at 1:30 pm

So many expert here share their worthless view I say Exora was value for money no turbo trouble only dumb people never maintain car complain. I using from 2013 no problem carry heavy load no loss of power.

• @NotBruceWayne on Jul 18, 2023 at 2:20 pm

Scrap’em all, bring Lynk & Co 06!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • ROTI CANAI on Jul 18, 2023 at 3:33 pm

x70 is super outdated dah

• So become PIS or PSI or ISP or IPS or SPI or SIP?

• 2 stroke junkie on Jul 18, 2023 at 4:58 pm

Haha from PIES to PIS

• Losantara on Jul 19, 2023 at 3:55 pm

Exora must gi

• Jawabandar on Jul 20, 2023 at 9:37 am

Exora and preve must go and maybe if proton wants to design themselves instead of relying on Geely line-ups, maybe can start with A and B car segments to replace saga and iriz. Do your wonders proton.

• Sick&Tired on Jul 21, 2023 at 8:24 am

We malaysian’s don’t deserve to get new models every 5 or 6 years like every other country! 10 years is considered very good already! Well done Proton!!

• RavenAii (Member) on Jul 23, 2023 at 9:14 am

Exora end production, but then Proton relaunch into E70 barebone model to cater panel van buyers, while launching the V70 Jiaji.