After a long long wait, Malaysians finally have a decently sized MPV at a decent price to choose from. The new Proton Exora is here and two variants will be available at launch time – a 1.6 litre automatic high-line and a 1.6 litre automatic medium-line, priced at RM75,998.00 and RM69,998.00 respectively OTR with insurance. Head on after the jump for the full scoop on the Exora.
Dimensions, Power, Weight – Technical Data
Firstly I think I have to address the actual dimensions of the car, because when you buy an MPV what you are looking for is essentially a big box to fit your family in. There has been some revision to the data that Proton provided us during the prototype test drive (particularly the weight, which is now heavier – 1422kg for M-Line and 1442kg for H-Line). Here are the final specs of the Exora in comparison to its competitors.
Exora | Livina 1.6 | Avanza 1.5 | Rondo | Innova | |
Kerb Weight | 1,422kg | 1,245kg | 1,120kg | 1,563kg | 1,575kg |
Length | 4,592mm | 4,420mm | 4,150mm | 4,545mm | 4,580mm |
Width | 1,809mm | 1,690mm | 1,630mm | 1,800mm | 1,770mm |
Height | 1,691mm | 1,590mm | 1,695mm | 1,650mm | 1,755mm |
Wheelbase | 2,730mm | 2,600mm | 2,655mm | 2,700mm | 2,750mm |
Track (F) | 1,542mm | 1,470mm | 1,415mm | 1,573mm | 1,510mm |
Track (R) | 1,530mm | 1,475mm | 1,425mm | 1,569mm | 1,510mm |
Fuel Tank | 55L | 52L | 45L | 55L | 55L |
Power (hp) | 125hp | 104hp | 108hp | 142hp | 134hp |
Torque (Nm) | 150Nm | 150Nm | 141Nm | 189Nm | 182Nm |
kg/Nm | 9.48 | 8.3 | 7.94 | 8.27 | 8.65 |
The power figures above are quoted in horsepower, which has been converted from most of the “PS” measurements that Japanese companies use. As you can see the weight is now heavier, which would throw off all our previous calculations on the Exora’s power to weight ratio.
The Exora’s 125 horsepower has to pull 1422kg of weight now which means 11.376kg per horsepower, which is actually one of the better performing numbers among its competitors unfortunately the amount of weight that each Newton Meter has to pull is one of the worst. It’s the amount of torque and the torque curve that matters when it comes to pulling a lot of weight.
Design
Design is subjective but I personally feel the Proton Exora is quite pleasant to the eyes. I don’t quite like the chrome strip at the rear but it doesn’t hamper the vehicle’s functions as an MPV. The brake lights are LEDs but the signal lamps use conventional bulbs. The radio uses a bee-sting antenna mounted at the front.
The M-Line model lacks foglamps, the chrome on the rear strip and the pieces of trim on the front grille, and it also lacks the black-out stickers on the B-pillar and C-pillar. I feel the Exora looks better with the blackout pillars (though when I did my own little survey one colleague thought the opposite was better and another was neutral about it) but it should be easy for you to place your own stickers.
Both the M-Line and H-Line models use the same 15 inch wheels. These are wrapped with either Goodyear Assurance or Silverstone Kruizer tyres in 195/65R15 size, apparently they are the same for both M-Line or H-Line and which tyres you get depends on luck as different batches will be fitted with either one.
New Proton Exora Platform
The first sketch for the Exora has been in existence for a long time, even in the 90s. The styling was finally fixed sometime in August/September 2007. After that, it took another 18 months of development after the styling fix to reach mass production, which had been ready since March 2009. Production trial 1 had actually started end last year, while production trial 2 lasted the second half of February. Production started sometime mid-March until now.
The new Proton Exora sits on a platform that was developed by Proton engineers with the help of their engineering consultancy partner LG CNS. LG CNS also assisted Proton with the development of the Savvy platform, which was later revised to become the Saga platform.
It has a MacPherson strut layout at the front and a torsion beam at the rear, with the spare tyre stored underneath the vehicle body. It’s interesting to note that this chassis also has a multi-link variant ready. You know how the Wish had both a multi-link setup and a torsion beam version offered? Well, the Exora has the potential for that too. It will be easy to add a multi-link setup at the rear to make way for all-wheel drive in case it is needed in Eastern European countries or something.
In terms of ability to fit a wide range of engines, the Proton Exora’s platform was designed to take anything from a 1.3 litre inline-4 to a 60 degree V6 in its engine bay. An engine as big as a 2.5 litre V6 would be no problem for the chassis to fit, but for now the only engine that’s going to be fitted to it in production is the 1.6 litre Campro CPS.
The Campro CPS engine produces 125 horsepower (127 PS) at 6,500rpm and 150Nm of torque at 4,500rpm. The gear ratios are the same as the Waja CPS but the final drive has been modified from 4.406 in the auto and 4.312 in the manual to 4.625 for both the auto and manual. In the auto model, the Exora cruises at 2,400rpm for 80km/h and 3,000rpm for 110km/h (approximation from looking at the meter panel). It has been rated to consume 9.2 litres per 100km on the combined cycle and 7.2 litres at 90km/h constant. The following are the Exora’s gear ratios:
A/T | M/T | |
1st | 2.842 | 3.583 |
2nd | 1.529 | 1.947 |
3rd | 1.000 | 1.379 |
4th | 0.712 | 1.03 |
5th | 0.767 | |
Reverse | A/T | 3.363 |
Final Drive | 4.625 | 4.625 |
Because this is their first ever MPV and does not carry over any existing large vehicle platform, Proton has had the luck of being able to develop a monocoque MPV in this segment without having the restrictions of modifying an existing car to do it.
Proton decided that the development process had to start from the inside out. This is why the MPV manages to be spacious without growing into a large sized behemoth. The seat, hip points, interior height and etc were all determined first, only then are the other parts of the chassis and body designed around it, including the exterior design of the car. The designers had to work within these restrictions and I must commend them on doing a great job in making the MPV look pleasant to the eyes.
Based on CAE data, the Proton Exora has a torsion rigidity of 16,683 Nm/degree based on lab tests, and a bending rigidity of 18,823 Nm/mm based on lab tests. Proton claims the Exora was designed to achieve a 4-star rating in Euro NCAP crash tests and it has passed an Euro NCAP equivalent test at a private testing facility in Spain. Actual Euro NCAP testing has not been done yet but as the test specs were the same the Exora should be able to gain a 4 star result in real Euro NCAP testing as well. But for now there is no official test yet so you won’t find the Exora on the Euro NCAP website.
For the first time in a Proton, the Proton Exora uses front impact sensors as part of the airbag activation system. Previously the airbags are only activated via data from an accelerometer. Here are two crash test videos for you to see.
And here are two charts with the international crash tests that the Exora complies with. P0 is an early prototype and P1 is a later prototype that is similar to the production version, so that is why you see some tests that the P0 does not pass but the P1 passes later.
Proton and LG engineers have added a few new features that while are common practice for car manufacturers these days, are new for Proton cars. First we’ll have a look at the Front End Module. It is essentially a single module for the front end of the car that is made of a combination of composite resin/high grade plastic and metal in certain areas to reinforce it. It serves as the front end structure as well as integrates the heat and fluid system mounts, bumper mounts and lighting system mounts.
The benefits for a front end module according to Proton are weight reduction (it weighs 5kg versus 6.5kg for a regular module), higher control of quality (single supplier), lower cost, ease of assembly (from 40 process down to 2 process), and provides a better finetuning ability for the crumple zone. It only uses 5 parts instead of 12 major parts of a conventional module.
Next is the hydroformed front subframe, which essentially carries the engine. Hydroforming is a process which shapes the front subframe using water pressure. Water pressure shapes tubes by expanding them from the inside in a closed forming die. It improves strength and rigidity, reduces weight (by 12% in this case), consolidates the stamping process, and most importantly involves much less welding points (eliminates weld flanges) for a stronger overall construction. Die costs are down 60%, product costs down 20% and weight down 30%.
Proton Exora Body Control Module
We’ve already covered the Body Control Module based on our findings during the prototype test drive a few weeks ago. The Body Control Module is actually supplied by Continental AG (Siemens VDO unit).
Here is a video I managed to record of Proton’s network training manager describing some of the safety and BCM features of the new Proton Exora.
- A battery saver for room lamps, luggage and key ring illumination. These turn off after 30 seconds to ensure they do not make your battery flat if for some reason they are left in a situation where they are on all the time.
- Follow-me-home headlamps stay on for a certain period of time to help light up your walkway when you park and want to enter your house.
- The battery level for the remote key is indicated on the car’s instrument panel briefly when you turn the ignition on. The remote key has a range of 20 meters.
- The remote control will not work if your front door is not closed. The vehicle will also remind you if you activate a remote command if the rear door is not closed.
- There is a door open indicator on the instrument panel that indicates exactly which door, engine bay hood or rear hatch is not closed.
- There is a door opening warning when you reach a speed of 7km/h if any doors are open.
- Tap feature for the signal indicator stalk. This is similiar to alot of modern cars – you just have to tap the indicator stalk (not press fully) for the signal to flash 3 times to indicate a lane change and stop automatically, no need to press fully to turn on and reach for it again to deactivate it.
- Dim-in and dim-out feature for the interior room lamps – Proton says this is better for the eyes at night and it also adds a certain touch of class. The interior room lamps turn off automatically after you lock the car, or they also stay on for 30 seconds and then fade out in 2.8 seconds. When you unlock the car, the room light fade-in in 3.4 seconds.
- Front and rear wiper washer drip wiping – automatically wipe to remove excess water. What happens is when you operate the front washer, it will wipe 4 times and then pause for 5 seconds and then wipe one more time, to remove all the excess water effectively. This is because some of the washer liquid from the top of the windscreen will slowly drip down after the initial wiping, so the last wipe completely removes the washer water.
- Programmable front wiper interval. This can be anything from 1 seconds to 25 seconds. The default is 4 seconds. This is how you program it – you put it into INT and then back to off. Then you wait for the duration you want and turn switch it to INT again. The time duration you waited will become the new interval, up to a max of 25 seconds.
- The rear wiper turns on automatically when you engage reverse gear if your front wipers are on.
- If in SLOW mode, the front wiper changes mode to INT mode when you bring the MPV to a complete stop, let’s say in a traffic jam in the rain.
- The remote unlocks the drivers door only if pushed once – probably push twice to unlock all doors. Apparently you are able to configure this to unlock all doors at once by default.
- There is an alarm activation history kept but I am not sure how to access it, perhaps only at the service center.
- The doors will lock automatically once you reach a speed of 20km/h.
- The doors will unlock automatically once you remove the key from the key barrel.
- All doors unlock automatically upon a crash via a signal coming from the airbag control unit.
- If you perform any sudden braking at speeds of at least 96km/h, the hazard lights will flash automatically.
M-Line and H-Line Differences
The basic features of the car itself is the same between the M-Line and H-Line. They are the same even down to the safety features (dual airbags and ABS), alloy wheel design, brake types (front disc rear drum), seat configuration ability, electric wing mirrors, interior trim and even the tyres. Proton has only kept the creature comforts and minor styling differences for the H-Line.
The Proton Exora H-Line adds cruise control, the LCD screen with DVD player, leather seats, and slightly different trim on the outside – chrome for the grille and rear, as well as blacked out B and C pillars using some convincing black stickers. It’s good to know that the Bluetooth hands-free and audio streaming functionality of the 2-DIN head unit has been retained in the M-Line. If you notice, the leather seats in the H-Line version have a combination material – there is a suede-like material at the sides, which according to Proton was intentionally left there so that the leather would be allowed to expand and contract in a certain way under the hot Malaysian climate and thus reduce the chances of them cracking.
There are still no ISOFIX points and there is only a lap belt for the middle seat in the second row instead of a full 3-point seatbelt. The seat and seatbelt anchorage points are said to be 30% better than regulation minimum requirements, and the steering wheel impact energy absorption is 35% better than regulation requirements.
Another feature of the H-Line is a touch screen portable GPS device which according to them uses an Atmel chipset. This is the same one as offered in the Persona SE. Locking speed was pretty fast. You can download new maps from the internet or at Proton Edar, and updates are free, but I didn’t manage to find out how many updates have there been so far and how frequent the updates are. I would have much preferred a Garmin-based solution.
The Exora’s Interior
The interior quality was typically Proton. There were some uneven gaps between the plastic parts of the dash but hopefully these will be ironed out as the assembly plant gets better at assembling the new model, same goes for the parts suppliers. The gap between the headlining and the front windscreen was quite alarming though, and apparently this was because of the need to wire the DVD player.
The plastics are not soft touch but the designers have picked textures in order to avoid that bare cheap plastic look. The textures were picked based on observations that the designers made while visiting the past few international motorshows. A total of 3 different types of plastic texture are used throughout the car. The upper dash and lower sections (glove box and below) of the dash have a different texture (Organic pattern) than the middle dash are which uses a pattern Proton calls “Orga-Geo”.
As previously mentioned the air conditioning was superb, thanks to the use of two blowers, one for the front and the other for the rear rows. There are air conditioning vents for all 3 rows, with the vents for the 2nd and 3rd row located above the windows. All three rows are comfortable, and a person of 182cm tall like me can fit into the third row nicely with my knee only barely touching the second row. Of course the second row has to be angled slightly more upright than usual for that to happen. Another point to consider is the third row is quite wide, two big sized guys can actually fit without their shoulders touching each other.
The second row and third row have backseat angle adjustment ability, so while you cannot slide them back and forth to vary space between the rows, if a compromise must be done it can be via the backrest angle. The second row will be able to sit more upright for the back row to have more legroom. The third row also varies in angle to create more luggage space in the rear. Speaking of luggage space, here is a video that Proton produced to train its salesmen on the luggage space of the Exora. Bear in mind what you see is with the third row angled rather straight, not the maximum lean angle.
Proton Exora – Luggage Space comparison with Avanza and Grand Livina
The H-Line models DVD player is a separate unit that is not integrated with the in-car entertainment system. It allows you to stream the audio from the DVD to the head unit installed up front via FM transmission, or the kids up back can actually plug in headphones to the DVD player via the two headphone jacks provided. If you want more I suppose you will have to buy headphone splitters.
A Short Drive Around Cyberjaya
We had another short drive around Cyberjaya where the media drive was held and this time I noticed that the Exora was a little more bouncy that usual. I asked the engineers whether there were any differences between the prototype specifications and the production car that we drove and they said yes, it is possible that the suspension was softer due to a wider distance of manufacturing tolerance especially during initial production. Our car also only had 5 people in it, and there might also have been tyre pressure issues.
Still, the Exora remained a pleasant vehicle to drive. It was comfortable and the excellent air conditioning continued to perform its duties well. The minor road deformities that you can see around are handled well by the suspension, but as I mentioned earlier the suspension felt a little softer so there was a little extra bounce than normal after negotiating speed bumps.
The Exora is a big comfortable box for its dimensions and would suit most of the requirements of the Malaysian MPV buyer. If you want to read more about how the Exora drives I suggest you check out my previous test drive story. We will try to get another Exora out ASAP for a proper real life test over a few days, perhaps some of you can join me on the ride?
Anyway here is a full high resolution gallery of the Exora, both inside and outside. Be back soon with even more on the Proton Exora, stay tuned! I am just really glad that finally Malaysians are able to buy a decently sized MPV for under RM70k, even if its just RM2 under RM70K!
Proton Exora 1.6L A/T M-Line Metallic – RM69,998.00
Proton Exora 1.6L A/T M-Line Solid – RM69,548.00
Proton Exora 1.6L A/T H-Line Metallic – RM75,998.00
Proton Exora 1.6L A/T H-Line Solid – RM75,548.00
Man, 1.4k hits in this site.
This exora threat is so crazy…
Lol.. im tired with the first thingy, first here first there very funny lor
Im also cant enter this site b4, server prob hehe my pc have fever lah
Congratulation to Proton, make sure no1 quality even with the cheapest price, hehe DSZ said Malaysian always want the cheapest and he also mention the famous p1 prob, power window plus we can c some vid ads lol really funny. PM also ketuk2 the Exora hahaha.
Proton Exora : Anda pasti terpegun.
i wait for this since 10 pm ,nice…
Nice!
sweet!
Kudos for proton. Their basic B-line will make other competitors headache with this pricing behavior.
wow
first!
nice car
Kudos. Make sure ya B-line below RM63k!
wow good
first i guess
nice mpv overall
yeah first!
1ST..THINK..
First! wow! not bad for the design and the price.But the name…should have a better name instead of Exora.Thanks Paul for the great info!
Yeah aku pertama bagi komen, memang menawan Exora ni
i'm first….
nice….
weee!!!! launch ceremony a bit boring.. DSZ saved the day.
Nice one Proton!! Keep up the good work!! We'll look about the comments after people had start riding this ride… Good luck and again good work!!
1st….wow
Hi!! just watch the launching and it was great!! Awsome! Congratz to P1, personally there are some differences between this final product with previous teaser/spyshot etc ~ maybe it just me. The front bumper, the propotion of the tyre and the swipe of black colour around the side windows from front to the back ( like wish ) ~~ wow.. speechless
First……
nice….any body wanna buy my old mpv
Nice to see..nice to hold…
P1 exora finally unveiled.. bravo proton.!
Thumb Up to Proton!
can this mpv will compete with perodua mpv? i dont think so.
Well done Proton!!! Its a start.Overall its a good ,competitive product.
Congrate Proton , Well done !!!
BRAVO BRAVO!!!!!!!!!!
…the headlights from new jazz…the grill from usdm accord……
rear also from another MPV, but cant recall which model……
overall ugly. bad performance.
another model to potong malaysian citizens.
hopefully they potong enough off the lower class citizens and stop asking for goverment protection, so that all of us can finally own nice cars that we deserve.
Nice one from Proton..gonna sell like hot cakes!!
Nice MPV! 1st to comment!
Am I first…? Nice car!
first
Nice MPV, beautifully design. Congratulation Proton.
cant wait to test drive it.
Not bad! Well done, Proton!
That lady on Dato' Zainal's presentation was my college mate. Bangga giler wa…Hidup Engine!!!
hoyeahoyeah..congratz proton..such a great success
waa…dunno what to say..-.-"
I am the first to comments. Really nice. Good work Proton
impressive :D pretty good features.proton is definitely improving.i'd get one
1st!!!
nice
me 1st..hehehe…nice mpv
1st comment.. amazing…
lol i like the teh tarik hook pic hahaha
BRAVO BRAVO BRAVO !!!! Proton Exora…. very 1st MPV of Malaysia
first…
wow..
thats alot of information there paul.
I wonder when i'll read 'em all :)
Great post.
And the Exora 1st impression is very well pleasant.
i m a first…………………………
Yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS for exora!
CONGRATS to all protonian .
Moga Exora akan melangkah jauh ke serata benua , membawa cita rakyat Malaysia .
Hahahahah…..
Nice car. I will buy one !
well done proton !!
thumbs up !!
Yup, everything seems perfect. But the achilles heel on this car is the 1.6L engine power/torque : weight ratio…
Why Proton dont want to take the 2.0L V6 found in Perdana & Chansellor to put on it and make it H-line? Since the engine bay can support until 2.5L V6, should be no problem right?!? Pricing can be adjusted, if price around RM80k for a 2.0L V6 (with extra safety features like VSC or TRC), 1.6L from RM70-75k i think this marketing strategy can work!
amazing!!!!
…nampak cantik dari hadapan tapi rekabentuk bahagian belakang agak kurang menarik..
ruang dalam yang luas tetapi rekabentuknya dengan ketinggian 1691mm menyebabkan ia nampak kurang sporty tidak seperti Toyota Wish maupun Naza Citra yang mempunyai ketinggian yang lebih rendah..
..keseluruhannya OK..
hoyeahoyeah..congratz protonians…cool MPV with no way of rebadgement of SETTE can beat em
The price is quite reasonable.
1st??
my dream car has arrive… :)
nice…gud job proton..bravo
Tahniah kepada PROTON….cuma bentuk depan agak agresif sikit…tapi lama – lama nampak okje. Anyway good job PROTON!
looks promising.will visit proton showroom soon
very nice design except for the tail…quite hideous~
i watched the launching at danga bay..
i am very proud of proton~!
good job!
interesting to see the possible variant to the basic platform. good effort from proton. at 69K it will kill avanza. P2 will have to come up with a compelling price for their upcoming mpv to compete
First to comment… Cool report and hope there will be more photos of this MPV coming up soon…
Hahaahahah
Nice car!
may be this is my 3rd car after having 3rd child
Kudos to Proton! You are taking us all to another level! Keep up the good work! :D
1stt!!..Nice…
Finally launched, will go to the showroom to see it!!
first! decent looking car
look good but duno the quality
a bit disappointed for the enginne and dash board
Nice car with nice price… wow!!!
best ever from proton……great!!!
wah bangga seh malaysia mampu keluarkan kereta cam noh…
as one of proton's car owners…what all can say is EXCELLENT!!!!!
good job Proton !!
is there any comparison with chery eastar….seems like ….a bit DNA from Eastar ……well…..you all decide la….
Best cheap MPV ever! So convenient for big families who are moderately rich and poor. What a great MPV!
What a weird kinda photo, Teh tarik? Still not fully developed locally, another Korean product.
Bigger engine bay!? How about Perdana V6 engine or Campro CPS with turbo?
lol..there is way too many people think they are the first to comment.
hopefully there would be a 1.8 soon, price a little on the high side..should be below 60k…
If previously you think 1380KG was heavy. Think again. Its now 1422KG for M-Line and 1442KG for H-Line. To put into perspective, Grand Livina 1.6 only 1245KG.
not bad…but the grill same as persona..btw paul…new persona coming out ah?….means waja gonna phase out??
the design so so oni la…
look like the "body" too big and the "leg" tayar too small, tak padan.
Euro style design "maybe the casis is from euro?"
the spec is good but most pll 1st impression is "design".
and the "design" is the key to attract pll to buy.
seem like proton did't learn more from savvy and tiara.
I see the next proton perdana…….
What the heck with this "FIRST" thing? Are you guy so desperate to get attention?
Nice MPV tho..
design is simple yet still stylish. The thing that amaze me most is the BCM features. nevertheless I think proton is doing the great job.
semua nak jadi 1st haha!!
well overall ok for this mpv..
hope can sell outside from this region!! :)
I'm confused as to how you can all be "frist".
Anyway, the car looks good. Hopefully they can keep the pricing low when they bring it to Thailand. Bye bye Avanza.
first…. y all want be first..
yes this my first comment in PT since i read this blog in 2005
Kudos to Proton for this Exora!
It sounds like it's an excellent vehicle. Juz the torque of the engine is a disappoint (or maybe the gearbox's sluggish if it's the same unit in the Gen2 CPS)..
Kinda regret in getting my Gen2 now~ :P
Maybe an upgrade in the next 5 years for me? :D
Will be checking it out tomoro @ COE since getting my car serviced there! ^^
bravo!! Proton. Baravo.. am I the first?
take a look at the passeneger car on the platform sharing picture. Perdana replacement model?? coool
wow..too worth spending time following for this exora article
..good job proton ..keep moving
There always will be a -ve respond in ANYTHING Proton do these days… but all i can say is, for a car maker that established less than 30 years… Exora is an achievement that i'm proud off!
Those whom complaining about (potential) lack of power from 1.6 Campro CPS… give Proton a chance. There will be an upgrade & update. That's make a sense in a business term.
Those of you who kept on complaining, aware that Proton is business organization that provides more than 10,000 people jobs, right?
all nice but underpowered and fuel guzzler!!! I see many proton staff commenting…job well done!
"rakyat malaysia inginkan kenderaan yg mmpunyai performance like european cars, styling like japanese cars, dan harga malaysia." -DSZ (during the launching presentation)
i think this mpv has full fill the requirements.
btw, i think the front grill has made proton founded their identity:]
nice MPV for family car, affortable, safety, more space, i wonder the FC ? can wait to test drive
correct me if I'm wrong….. the tag line should be "EXORA keriangan keluarga'..but since when it's change to 'EXORA you'll be amazed"???
If previously you think 1380KG was heavy (Exora rumored weight). Think again. Its now 1422KG for M-Line and 1442KG for H-Line. To put into perspective, Grand Livina 1.6 only 1245KG. Hell, even Grand Livina 1.8 is only 1280KG.
nice detailed report. hopefully you can get a full euroNCAP report though. that would be a nice touch.
cant wait to go and get a test drive
is it just me or does the front pic kinda looks like the previous generation honda city
Somehow this is clearly a winner. The rear actually looked sexy with the lines. Else it will look like Innova. Now I have difficulty to decide on my next car change… DSZ totally kicked off a good show, with his aspirations I hope fellow Malaysian will support our product. Like DSZ mentioned earlier on, "Malaysians generally like European engine, Japanese design with Malaysian price" I think it's more like China's price. No car manufacturer succeeded at their first try, so do justice for our new baby, yah!
Proton MD is great during presentation…World Class like Steve Jobs hehehhe
So funny during the famous power windows problem video.
So many first commenter losers for this posts. Get a life. I think this mpv is a great accomplishment and hopefully the production version meets expectations. With this price, the cherry mpv would have a harder time selling. Same goes to avanza as well.
Nice looking gear!
stylish, i like.
Being a 3 times Proton car owner….l can see it's the best car released from Proton. Btw I had just grab a Wish last november…..I will wait for the 2nd Exora production…hmm maybe with an improve 2.0 litre version will move 7 pax with ease. Salute to the Malaysian!
wow.. the only thread with the most "i`m first" thing ~ this exora really give an impact :D
Car is nice, but when u go 2 service center, Alamak!!! Poor response and service!!!!! Damn it…..
Campro is ultimate drinking machine! Furthermore,1.6L pulling 1,422kg body.
[quote comment="230136"]correct me if I'm wrong….. the tag line should be "EXORA keriangan keluarga'..but since when it's change to 'EXORA you'll be amazed"???[/quote]
yeah me too haha..
what's up with that?
Didn't like the rear lamp, ugly.( not my taste ) May be Exora 2 they can change the rear lamp. Overall it's ok. Good job Proton. Still waiting for a manual version.( for sure RM4000 less, should be RM 65000)
for the first mpv.. that is great job.. syabas proton..
This is the best scoop, ever, Paul – right on the dot upon launch. But are you sure there's gonna be MT models? Both M- and H-lines only offer AT. Even Proton's online booking only offer 4 AT choices.
[quote comment="230141"]Proton MD is great during presentation…World Class like Steve Jobs hehehhe
So funny during the famous power windows problem video.[/quote]
Agree. He is A LOT better than Nazmi (current chairman) when he was the MD.
[quote comment="230141"]Proton MD is great during presentation…World Class like Steve Jobs hehehhe
yeah he was great! I'm impressed
I dun think exora will beat produo mpv[base on prvios produo mpv thread]..
just like how savvy beat myvi..it fail..no matter how great their marketing have done. they seem like forgot the product talk for themself.
and i think the satrio neo are the best product since the proton wira era..
the rest are so so only.
proton should look forward ahead from competitor and the next green car will be proton good move. but need to be price competitive la if wanna be success.
at least I can see 10-15 ppl claimed they're the first person to post a comment. immaturity to the max.
neway, kudos to proton.
I LIKE THE HOOK FOR THE "TEH TARIK" MALAYSIA ADER KELASS MAN!! HEHEHEH
good job proton.
from the front look , its like a sporty car, a sedan…proton next car should come like this with a futuristic and appealing design like honda..
anyway, this exora is surly good in many ways…hope proton will become a better car manufacturer and able to beat the others…hate to read ugly remarks and comments from Jeremy Clarkson and Top Gear website…
Sure, a lot of complain about underpower. Better wait for Perodua MPV or engine upgrade to 1.8 first.
went to the showroom…i had to see the butt myself. i was initially put off by the rear design surfaced on the net but…actually in flesh it didnt look that bad. indeed this mpv is humongous it felt really big. the head clearance is impressive
i have nothing but praise for this mpv but as someone rightly put, it Achilles heel is indeed the 1.6 engine and with official kerb weight of over1400 i'm skeptical of it pulling power i told the sa about my concern an rewarded with a test drive up bukit langat in 5 days time…
if u guys notice, the rear's wiper is not centered. kinda ugly in my point of view.
like the last picture..teh tarik tu penting woo..
Great stuff there Paul..very comprehensive and informative review on Exora….Kudos
Yeah right… the only reason people buy this MPV is because the other brands are having their taxes cruelly high. I wonder if this were a fair market, I bet any Proton will bungkus. And Proton is talking about helping their own Malaysians…
soo bigg.. yet so balance.. good2 proton.
nice mpv!!!
Tahniah PROTON!! as malaysian we should be proud of it!!
those yg keep complaining n condeming, sure u all not really truely malaysian…better all of u guys perform new team, n make ur own car, kasi tgk sket hasil nye mcm mane…
lol the demo on the luggage space is funny, it looks like the size of my naza ria space. with the seat upright of course..
its the same size as annova, that is a big car..
if people can drive a 1.3 avanza, 1.6 exora should be no prob
heck even perodua mpv will be powered by a 1.5
this is perfect for normal people and the general public, the rest can go suck an egg or get an alphard.
whats the fuel consumption compared to its competitors?
funny, so many ppl claimed to be 1st lolz
whoa, pretty impresseddd!!
[quote comment="230166"]Yeah right… the only reason people buy this MPV is because the other brands are having their taxes cruelly high. I wonder if this were a fair market, I bet any Proton will bungkus. And Proton is talking about helping their own Malaysians…[/quote]
I agree with you Steve, if only Honda Stream had no tax that high…
Look better than i think…
Korang komen berebut cakap 1st tengok..aku lg le 1st tengok, kat supernau pukul 8pm dah di pamerkan untuk umum..
TAHNIAH PROTON. YOUR NEW BABY REALLY NICE. MALAYSIA FIRST MPV. VERY PROUD OF IT…..nice to see tun mahathir during launching.
the car alarm system so complicated…make me pening…need a long time to used to it…
[quote comment="230163"]if u guys notice, the rear's wiper is not centered. kinda ugly in my point of view.[/quote]
Agree with you. Placing it like on the VW Golf is more like it.
i saw sat and oogled our new MPV, i am really glad that Proton finally
done us proud. this is really a good product and i see than it has a certain presence.
anyway really glad that malaysians will get a good bargain.
now we set our sights on a 1.8 Mivec -Wajalution!
SECOND!
Front headlamps looks like old Accord & front bumper looks so Civic. Copy here, copy there! Overall still alright BUT what about power?? Enuf??
Hoohoo,if I thought the prototype was fugly,this is just horrendous.
Goodluck to Proton in these trying times!
[quote comment="230170"]lol the demo on the luggage space is funny, it looks like the size of my naza ria space. with the seat upright of course..
its the same size as annova, that is a big car..
if people can drive a 1.3 avanza, 1.6 exora should be no prob
heck even perodua mpv will be powered by a 1.5
this is perfect for normal people and the general public, the rest can go suck an egg or get an alphard.[/quote]
Have you compared the weight? :D
Good Job to you Proton Team!
very nice ..thank
wats wif all these 1st to comment ?
very nice MPV , but dat packet of drink spoil the broucher…
make it look so cheap
like it……
can wait 2 go 2 the showroom….
guys… at the end of the show.. there's a black exora with bodykit.. anyone saw it?
Congatulations Proton! Good effort!
With nice exterior design, comfortable tailored interior, combined with BCM which provide solution on simple & small thing and also uncompromize safety even with low price.
Worth to buy, value for money! Two thumbs up for this Malaysian MPV!
damn, the car is beautiful even tho it came out late hehehe, Great work Proton!
good presentation…welcome EXORA……dont forget to booked
WOW! Congratulations to Proton for their achievement!! Nice new features really worth it for RM70k..
Did anyone notice the SECOND LAST PICTURE FROM BOTTOM? It showed a hook to hook bagged teh-tariks. THAT'S THE MALAYSIAN WAY!!! XD
That's something us Malaysians can be proud of!!!
Happy birthday, Exora! Best wishes for Proton.
This forum looks bombarded with proton marketing ppl???
nice review!
Now wait for P2 MPV….overall not bad, just the engine, 1.6 not enuf for 1400kg++ car lar… unless it has turbo/kompressor :P
I love the cruise control knob……normally found in premium model only.
The teh tarek hook makes it more Malaysian……..
How about a double deck MPV on the next drawing board…..pls put in your comment.
love the seats n steering wheel!
haizzz, wish those seats can fit in my satria..
hope it will spawn to new breed taxi with better security to driver and comfort to passenger and more room to passenger luggage …
cheers
referring to Chips from motortrader, Proton spend RM450 million for R&D and No less than 32 vehicles were crashed, nine of them cost a million ringgit each while the other 23 cost between RM200,000 and RM500,000 each.
So buyer cuma perlu bayar RM70 K utk EXora ni rasanya amat berbaloilah.
must buy
Nice car with superb design,bravo job from Proton & Sheikh Zainal team this time,congrats!!
Very good looking! anterior also exterior and i'am sure this will be a great model by proton! i hope proton will produce MPV with 1.8L or 2.0L next year. Syabas Proton. I proud to buy Malaysian product!
Congratz to Proton.
Either Exora is better or worse than other competitors it dont bother me so much bcoz i feel proud that malaysian can built their own MPV. It is not difficult like rocket science but still not a lot of hard work and know how.
By the way, i hope Proton already counter measure their quality issues which i think more important than their wide space and powerful CPS.
Anyway, congratz!
good job proton…!
Congratz to Proton.
Either Exora is better or worse than other competitors it dont bother me so much bcoz i feel proud that malaysian can built their own MPV. It is not difficult like rocket science but still need a lot of hard work and know how.
By the way, i hope Proton already counter measure their quality issues which i think more important than their wide space and powerful CPS.
Can't wait to ride Exora.
Anyway, congratz!
say goodbye to grand livina, avanza.
those two models will defintely be affected by this newcomer.
really surprising, the price and stuff offered.
but quality wise, lets see how it holds up.
HAHAHA!! I noticed even Najib fell asleep during Datuk Nadzmi's speech lol!! But when it's DSZ's turn, I salute him man!! He knows his stuff well, he knows how to show appreciation for the people behind the making of Exora, he talks abt how there was once proton is associated more with p/w problem than anything else, excellent English spoken fast, clear n precise. He definitely knows how to make a grand apprearance. Absolutely brilliant. All hail DSZ!! All hail Proton!! All hail Exora!! :D :D :D
I lol-ed when he talked abt Msians like to complaint etc, definitely sounds familiar in this blog, right, fellow TJCC-ers? :D Most importantly, he made a very big reference to Chips Yap n his 'teh tarik' hook, ahahaha!! At last, Proton have teh tarik/char kuey teow hook!! HOOORAYY!!!!!
all p2 salesman die already..
Alhamdulillah… finally the new baby born officially.
Salam..
can sumone please explain to me what is final drive ratio? i undrstand the other gear ratios, but not the final drive. thanx
Dont compare with avanza.
i'm totally hate it..
avanza is nothing…
bravo proton.
I will booked it tomorrow.
Yeah ziewa.. I also saw it at the end of the show. A black coloured Exora with bodykit and also may be 16" or 17" rims fitted. The rims lokks different from H line and M line.
Salam..
oh thank god. the knobs at the center console is placed for normal human usage!
errmmm 75k,wirh 1.6 campro cps,better smash for grandlivina or cherry 2.4 maybe citra rondo 1.8….but then congratulation malaysian people
I agreed with him..
Malaysian always asking for this only when come to cars..
European tech, Japanese style, Cheaper price..
hahahaha..
The presentation by the CEO was great eventhough ada tersekat-sekat..
weee….
great effort!
the third row seats are completely useless.
[quote comment="230166"]Yeah right… the only reason people buy this MPV is because the other brands are having their taxes cruelly high. I wonder if this were a fair market, I bet any Proton will bungkus. And Proton is talking about helping their own Malaysians…[/quote]
there's nothing we can do about the taxes..
god damn u guys have thick skull
This one doesn't impress me, seriously..just another crappy model from Protong deemed god send by gullible Malaysian public! Save all your ahhhs and oohhs to the day when IT really deliver on world class product.
i've never seen anyhting as ugly as this. Please stop buying cars like this. its awful.
Dear Paul? i just come back from Proton showroom(around 12am) the Exora really built in good quality and can fit 7 adult easily.
But i don't agree the title for this article Proton Exora: Malaysian's First MPV.
Everyone know that the Malaysian's First MPV is Proton Juara, i think you need to study before you post the title.
gud luck proton
thank you basher… the more you all bash the more improvement from proton.
in this economy crisis, we hope proton can do well for local market and export market.
we can rule the macro and micro economy. Pitty on Singapore now, their economy defisit to 9%. great depresion now. i hope Proton will more succeed as the our money will circulate among us. we shud reduce buying imported cars so that we will not suffer a great depresion like our neihbour do.
close shop better !
Liang: FYI the Juara is a Mitsubishi van.
Is it coincidental that the popular new cars from Proton (maybe Pesona but definitely the new Saga and Exora) all were designed and released after Tengku Mahaleel's departure from the company? Was TM really that bad ie. not listening to buying public? It seems as if Proton today is listening to what their customers want, hence the decent cars that they make today.
My wish for Proton
– get rid of crony companies and improve QC
– tie up with another automotive company and grow outside Malaysia
Ha ha ha nak tergelak baca komen I'm first, I'm second. Isk Ishk standard budak darjah 1 jer.
Anystupidcommentbyfetusway, Congratulations to Proton! Nice presentations and good song choice too. Good looking MPV, but too bad it's quite heavy to match it's power.
So, bagilah peluang kepada guinea-guinea pig menjadi bahan test dahulu kepada masalah-masalah yang bakal dihadapi sehinggalah ianya menjadi ok.
Good luck.
anyone snap any pics of Exora Prime? do share with us..
Nice one proton… Looking forward to hear a more powerful engine for this car… I'm going to the nearest showroom to see the car tomorrow… Hopefully can test drive it..
Very very nice design for MPV with that price. I think its very affordable. For those who want to wait for for P2 MPV, just forget it. The P2 MPV will be high in price (remember P2 Nautica 1.5L, its a failure) between rm80-95k with cramp space on the 3rd row and very small luggage area. This exora is very practical as a family mover. Good job proton. Go for more better products with Malaysian price. Your new tag proton, Proton… Good product at Malaysian price. LOL.
[quote comment="230245"]Dear Paul? i just come back from Proton showroom(around 12am) the Exora really built in good quality and can fit 7 adult easily.
But i don't agree the title for this article Proton Exora: Malaysian's First MPV.
Everyone know that the Malaysian's First MPV is Proton Juara, i think you need to study before you post the title.[/quote]
the juara was a commercial vehicle….much like the rusa(by p2)it's not classified as an mpv.
[quote comment="230254"]Is it coincidental that the popular new cars from Proton (maybe Pesona but definitely the new Saga and Exora) all were designed and released after Tengku Mahaleel's departure from the company? Was TM really that bad ie. not listening to buying public? It seems as if Proton today is listening to what their customers want, hence the decent cars that they make today.
My wish for Proton
– get rid of crony companies and improve QC
– tie up with another automotive company and grow outside Malaysia[/quote]hey'its unfair to come up with such a statement….mahaleel single handedly transformed proton form a 'tukang tukar badge' like p2 into a full fledge automaker..he made the right step by funding for RnD…the mpv project was started during his era…so did many other projects…such as the gen2…WAJA…even the persona prototype was out during TM's era…
the shape is still not growing on me yet.. looks p2-ish..
but then i'm very proud of it..
the pic of that teh tarik really cracks me up at 3am in the morning .. yeah.
i'll have a rondo instead
Just like DSZ and others has said……..rather than "cakap lebat", Better those who complained about underpower thingy to TEST DRIVE that mpv itself and compare it with its rival.
Selain dari power to weight ratio
Performance kete ni combination of all parts;
Kalo kete tu power tp berat = Lembab
Kalo kete tu x berapa kuat, tp tune kat gearing and weight rendah = optimized performance.
But i do believe that this mpv is optimized to the best interest of the general public.
just my few cents.
From themalaysianinsider:
“Malaysians want European technology, Japanese design but Malaysian prices,” Syed Zainal quipped.
This is really the malaysian mentallity! Thank you for noticing it. And good luck achieving all 3. This shows SZ knows what people want and not just go about building stuff people don't need.
BTW, people still want a 2.0L engine in the exora!
can the mpv moves (crawls) after fully loaded at final weight of 2 tons? I believe the engine is still running with timing belt
If the test drive/FC is okay, then easier for Proton to move forward to ASEAN market first (Indonesia, Vietnam, the Philippines), then Taiwan, South Africa, Egypt or even India.
But, again Proton inevitably need more potent engine to address certain markets. For such amenities throw in Exora, this mpv pretty good for a fleet operator.
Exora come with ABS with EBD + Back up EBD (BEBD) ?? Brake – Front – Ventilated Disk / Rear – Drum??
Paul Please advise.
Thank you.
'Tuan, aku ada di sini!'…hahaha, so funny when the presenter mentioned it. But why the horn doesn't suit the car, I mean the sound. It's like a hunk with a boy voice. Maybe it's because of the noise pollution thingy, so proton makes the horn sounds softly?
congratulation proton!!!
Feel like crying…why? Got my 114K Honda Civic about a month ago…wish I can turn back time…and just get this H Line Proton MPV…much cheaper, look handsome and with "playground" for my kids…Congrat Proton…
Congrat. proton 4 the lunching this Lady Exora….. im proud 2 u proton,
i think i knew why proton not lunch the manual 4 this exora hehe…..it all about marketing hehe !
p/s: if u giv a chance to choose to buy this Lady Exora or upcoming produa MPV which 1 u choose…..with same price tag plus it manual hehe??????
Long live Proton!!!
Very nice MPV!!
Malaysian MPV from Malaysian for Malaysian, EXORA!!
good effort proton, keep it up!
cheers!
Paul could you do me a favor? If you could put pictures that uneven gap between plastic parts. As I'm not in bolehland to see it myself. Thanks!
Nice comprehensive reviews btw.
Very creative n innovative. Malaysian taste. Value for money. Malaysian MPV. I ve 3 cars but i ll consider to ve exora. I am confident this MPV sure can sell here and abroad. Congrat P1!
Excellent job by PROTON!!
its fee great to see a Malaysian MPV.
and very proud to say that my fiancee is one of the hardworking proton team memer…
nothing to shout ,,,,! average and seems cincai in certain area..
RM 70,000 is expensive , will trap the poor and low end middle class into trouble – in debt !!
beware .. with trouble 1.6 waja engine
mpv terbaik….harga terbaik..tahniah proton.
proton products always problem , better wait for imported model from produa….sure excellent like myvi
produa MPV based on toyota , sure quality one maaa like myvii
dont complain bout taxes…
itu cara kita nak jaga produk kita,
itu cara kita nak jaga ekonomi kita utk jangka masa panjang,
kalau semua org mampu beli honda, toyota n bla bla…ke mana circulation duit kita? jgn compare strategi malaysia dgn negara maju…
See..tengah ekonomi gawat pun kita mampu launch malaysian's MPV,
rakyat malaysia masih mampu beli keta…
while rakyat negara maju tgh semput2 kena buang keje…
I LOVE MALAYSIA..
CONGRAT PROTON!
So the hype and the waiting have ended. it's finally here. There's some interesting fact here i like to share with you especially what was mention during the launch.
The Exora name:-
1. The winner come with a tag line of 'keriangan Keluarga' so where is it? The tagline now is 'Anda pasti tergezut' (Terpegun actually.
2. Those at TV1 pronounce it as Accsora instead of Exora (something sound like exhaust). Hmm… Wrong pronouncation or Bahasa Baku?
The MD:-
1. Wow, the presentation look like a launch for I-Pod. kudos to this. the way he present he really know what it is all about. this mean he follow through all the design to manufacturing process.
2. For the first time the 'behind the curtain' people have their say. All the team members involved. this is good. We can also see Azlano.
3. He has been in proton for 3 years, and it is translated into 3 new best selling model. Thank god his contract extended.
4. The video from the launch suggest proton done an extensive research and market survey. this is good. Even the infamous power window failure in Proton's car synically put into their mind. good job.
5. It's an international Product. Another good point.
6. They come with the final product in 18 months. Wow. A lot of savings here just never jeopardise safety aspects.
7. Proton slowly has the old face but with Toyota/Perodua heart in it. Why? Syed Zainal said they do extensive market survey and research. They come out with the right product for the right market.
The price:-
1. It's competitive. I hope it will long last. I wonder when will Toyota and Nissan cut their MPV's price soon.
2. The competitive price also mean Waja will be defunct sooner than we think.
Kudos to them. Just make sure not to be arrogant after this just like before. Just like what Najib said, failure is not an option for proton. Still, wait in coming 2 years these 1st batch will be recalled. :-) Even big companies do this.
in summary…it's a POOR MAN MPV
[quote comment="230235"]I agreed with him..
Malaysian always asking for this only when come to cars..
European tech, Japanese style, Cheaper price..
hahahaha..
The presentation by the CEO was great eventhough ada tersekat-sekat..
weee….[/quote]
Yeah, this one got me laughing..Malaysian Price! Lol
[quote comment="230309"]Congrat. proton 4 the lunching this Lady Exora….. im proud 2 u proton,
i think i knew why proton not lunch the manual 4 this exora hehe…..it all about marketing hehe !
p/s: if u giv a chance to choose to buy this Lady Exora or upcoming produa MPV which 1 u choose…..with same price tag plus it manual hehe??????[/quote]
still have to wait that P2 mpv, but from this first look at exora, can i expect better looking local-brand MPV? ;-)
[quote comment="230261"][quote comment="230245"]Dear Paul? i just come back from Proton showroom(around 12am) the Exora really built in good quality and can fit 7 adult easily.
Everyone know that the Malaysian's First MPV is Proton Juara, i think you need to study before you post the title.[/quote]
the juara was a commercial vehicle….much like the rusa(by p2)it's not classified as an mpv.[/quote]
The Juara is a rebadge of the Mitsu Town Box. But Exora is design and Manufactured by Proton/ Malaysians. Proud to be Malaysian.
Aduh, aduh , aduh BAGUS BANGAT PROTON kapan mau sampai keBogor Pak?
I would like to say …TAHNIAH ….
Soon I'm looking for this MPV after I settle down my finance crisis :)
Guys, don't wait ….let's go to PROTON showroom today …be a witness and start put your Downpayment ….
Congratulation PROTON
how about the fuel consumption? comment plz
steve, u really think if proton ceased to exist you will get a new honda stream at RM30k OTR in this country? wake up dude! they will tax u regardless there is proton or not!
and i wonder why ppl complain its a 1.6? its 125hp, thats good enough for me. why go for 2.0 which suck up your petrol, pay more road tax and pay more for the car just for an increase of 10-20hp? malaysians want a practical car. if u want power, dont get an MPV. get ferrari instead.
big CONGRATULATION to DSZ and P1 team!!!!
Thanks Paul for your brilliant info about Exora.
anyone who own avanza 1.5…
have anythiing to say??
Do you know what is power/torque : weight ratio?
Math calculation is always right, if it is underpower. The FC would not be great also.. Have u heard before that 1.6L Wira FC is better than 1.5L/1.3L wira? Coz it is also due to the power/torque : weight ratio… Proton MPV need at least a turbo 1.6L engine or a 2.0L to move it, from my personal view…
Well done proton,something to be proud as a Malaysian.Affordable and elegance,has it's own style and another challenge for other international models.
Keep it up.Malaysia Boleh!!!!
hahaha. the teh tarik ikat tepi hook is class. well done proton on the first mpv.
Nice MPV
V6 us nice but wouldn't be economical… (fuel wise) after petrol naik, car value will crash..
wow… tapi macam mitsubishi grandis laa pulak..
aku tak akan tertipu dgn proton lagi…hahahah tarak kualiti
[quote comment="230061"]…the headlights from new jazz…the grill from usdm accord……
hopefully they potong enough off the lower class citizens and stop asking for goverment protection, so that all of us can finally own nice cars that we deserve.[/quote]
This is the kind of people who only knows how to 'condem' people!
If you are a Malaysian, then u should be ashamed of yourself!!
If we don't support ourself, who do you think would??!
'potong' 'potong' 'potong'
'potong' your dick and feed it to the dog la like that!!! Even the dog wouldn't want it! Haha!!
persona saya belum sampai dua tahun dah mula ada problem..so i hope exora tak macam tu..one more thing bila complaint, ayat power yang keluar "biasa le
encik, proton"…anyway tahniah proton..
Lowering tax for foreign cars will help malaysians? Help what? Help YOU to buy cheap?
We have been too self-centered for so long. Want to know what actually helping malaysians? buy own products helps local business creation helps local skill/tech development helps domestic job creation helps more money circulated domestically helps growth consumer industry helps …… and so forth. Lu pikir la sendiri.
Do you think buying foreigns will have the full chain like above? Do you think money won't flow out of the country and enrich all those japanese, koreans, indons and mat sallehs if we buy kias, hondas, avanzas and the like?
That's why foreign co are taxed heavily simply the protect the abundant derivative opportunities of the locals. Any wise leader will think of this.
Get wise. Get real.
i really like its meter display.
Wow! there are many place to put your belonging…
What i really like is this statement "Proton claims the Exora was designed to achieve a 4-star rating in Euro NCAP crash tests and it has passed an Euro NCAP equivalent test at a private testing facility in Spain. Actual Euro NCAP testing has not been done yet but as the test specs were the same the Exora should be able to gain a 4 star result in real Euro NCAP testing as well"
I like a statement which is clear and honest.
With the torque of 150Nm, I do not think Exora has power to move 1,422kg body. Even I also feel that 1.6 Grand Livina is abit under power with 4 or 5 people in the car.
Just good OOL design. Overall design wise, its 5 to 10 yrs old oready!!!
What da' heck with this FIRST thing?!! Bloody so yesterday…get a life and don't waste ppl's time scrolling reading that silly FIRST thing!!!! :-(
Good job Proton! It may not be a great MPV but a very well decent effort by all of you. Love the teh tarik hook at the front, the vacuum socket at the rear, the top dvd player with usb connector, the GPS system, the TNG personal slot…oh ya, let's not forget…the importance of glove box ( :-) hehehe)! Still, agree with the rest that this Exora archilles heel is it's weight and the torque thats got a hard time doing it's job! Oh ya, the steering looks need to be improve…still thinks it's ugly but better than previous thou…since most of the time your hand are the one that's gonna stick to it the whole time. Yeah, I'm heading to Proton showroom this weekend….cheers everyone!
Looks like Toyota Wish gaining some weight after a few years.
i,m the first….cool stuff and bravo for those 250 engineers…
Comparing exora with others may not bring out the best in exora.ask najib to use it as his official car.why use others when proton can be the best.
This car is underpower. avanza 1.5 is better deal.
why ooo why there's no manual??…better performance with manual…and the engine at least 1.8…1.6 cps wayyyyyy underpower
Great job to Proton for continue evaluating… this elementary model price would help lots of Malaysian that can not afford multiple vehicles at home, an opportunity to have a proper size MPV.
I like it. Paul, banding dengan gaya antara old Stream & Wish, mana yang lebih bagus. Ciri yang disediakan aku tengok lebih bagus sebab ianya lebih bercirikan malaysia. Betul gak cakap DSZ yang Malaysian nak yang macam Eropah, bentuk macam Jepun tapi nak harga murah (Malaysian). Teh Tarik/Char kuey teow Hook tu yang menarik. Sebab kengkadang tak tau nak gantung kat mana kalau beli bungkus kalau dah ramai dalam kereta. Kawan aku kat Singapore sanggup naik Danga Bay semata nak tekngok Exora. Dia kata dalam luas. Tempat duduk selesa dan betul posture. Paling dia bengang sebab ada teh tarik hook yang MPV lain tak ada (idaman dia). Dia bawak 6 orang lagi member nak try duduk kat dalam. Respond, senang nak masuk, selesa, luas kat tempat duduk belakang. Impress lagi ada aircond blower untuk setiap row belakang. Jalan jauh sampai perlis pun dia nak pakai Exora nie. Sayang dia kata, dia dah beli Freed, kalau tak nak gak sambar exora nie. Beli kat malaysia, pakai kat s'pore. Jimat, murah. Dia ada kata yang Exora ni ada sikit macam Stream 1.7 (old model) tapi lagi selesa. Overall OK, cuma rim tu bukan yang dia suka tapi masalah kecik je sbb banyak rim sport jual kat luar. boleh tukar. ;)
Read more: "Proton Exora: Malaysia’s first MPV from RM69,998!" – http://paultan.org/archives/2009/04/15/proton-exo…
[quote comment="230249"]close shop better ![/quote]
LOL… You are very funny…
I bet you P2 MPV will be damn ugly and high FC like the Myvi 1.3A
totally inspired by toyota wish.. mostly the interior design. anyway good job proton.
Very Nice Congrats Proton. For those who post -ve remark u guys only know who to complain what so great about foreign cars – i hav a Merc C200 & BMW E46 also got problem and quality issues. I bet you P2 MPV will be damn ugly and high FC like the Myvi 1.3A
Nanti beli… convert engine to V8 beemer atau V10 ferrari. tak pun masuk enjin boxer subaru . convert to rear wheel drive. boleeey drift wa cakap lu… anyway… for an mpv… nak bawa orang. bukan nak gi racing…
[quote comment="230428"]This car is underpower. avanza 1.5 is better deal.[/quote]
Desprete Toyota salesman. Lot's of avanza booking cancel. Avanza, reduce the price & then the stupid toyota supporters will buy again. LOL. ;)
congrats proton…
thanks for this beautiful lady exora..
great mpv for malaysian
not suitable for 'europe malaysian' or 'japan malaysian' as for them..proton never ever deliver good product.
let us malaysian support malaysia product.
what can I say is this MPV is so simple in design but practical in usage.
with the price level, proton provides exora with the best acessories and spesifications.
mana boleh dapat kereta macam ini dengan harga yg sangat rendah.
even, the toyota or honda yg harga mahal pun tk dapat offer accesories and spec macam exora.
apa2 pun, berbaloi untuk dibeli.
tapi, i tak mempunyai keinginan untuk membelinya kerana for me, exora tak mampu nak tanding estima or stream dari segi design. design depan tak ubah macam gen2, dan belakang agak kosong.
bolehlah Proton…
The Fuel Consumption isn't sound promising for us, 9.2 L per 100km is way too high!
But since now the fuel is so inexpensive, then~~~
WAIT, we need to save our mother earth resources before the fuel on the earth is being expense of by all of us.
[quote comment="230061"]…the headlights from new jazz…the grill from usdm accord……
hopefully they potong enough off the lower class citizens and stop asking for goverment protection, so that all of us can finally own nice cars that we deserve.[/quote]
U can go buy ur deserved car.. as long u can afford . . no need to bash anything . . . dont like it, than leave it.. that s ur money . . u decide it . .
congrulation proton…
Horsepower is not really important in an MPV I reckon. What's more important is the torque. Some have argued that Proton needs to turbocharge the engine but this may not be the solution, as it increases fuel consumption.
What they need to do is source a diesel engine asap , maybe from Renault. (say, the 1.9l used in the Scenic. It's got only 118bhp, but a massive 221lb of torque)
Good luck PROTON.
Kawe dah tengok kat showroom.
Pado kawe its quick nice( because this is the Malaysia First MPV).
Compare to others MPV..mantop..
Nice job proton………
Bintang baru dalam keluarga proton….
Semoga terus bersinar……..
Belajar dari suka duka kisah silam…proton kini mencipta sejarah baru….
Semoga terus maju….
Tahniah Proton
CONGRATS PROTON!!!!
I'watched the launching on TV and also saw the M-Line black colour Exora live.
IMHO Exora design, gadgets, accessories are good and value for money.
As I already own a MPV, I didn't book. But I would if I haven't got one.
The issue is maybe the 1.6 engine. But one should test drive 1st to confirm its capability (as an MPV & people/family mover).
All the best and please take care on after sales service and built quality.
waaa…..
congratulation proton..
smart gile….
berbaloi dgn harga….
Look like proton indeed put in lots of effort to come out with Exora. A lot of nice thingy and useful features, even got cruise control (in higher version though). Good job!!
Nice photos…but took me several time to actually see all photos.. always database error.
1st impression:
1) Look not too bad. Although not a looker like Caldina or Stream, at least not the usual Proton-ugly like Juara, Arena, Savvy, Gen2 and all the other eyesore Proton inflict on us over the years. As in, you wouldn't felt embarrass driving this.
2) Surely badly underpower for such a big car.
3) Pricing is ok for market, but only because of Tax. Still, I don't feel many buyer in this environment (but same for all brands la, Jap or Conti).
4) Seating position for 3rd row of seat look very uncomfortable from Paul's picture. Look at the man's legs.
5) Perodua MPV should still thrash this Exora kau kau provided Perodua marketing and management give it right pricing, features and didn't made any big mistakes.
WOW. I have to get EXORA, insha Allah. It is marvelous. I cant wait to book for one.
Proton has made Malaysians and Muslims proud.
Keep up with the good work!!! More grease to your elbow!!!
Ali Salman, PhD
UKM
Congratulations to China factory for supplying the BCM to Proton ! Well done Proton !
[quote comment="230413"]Lowering tax for foreign cars will help malaysians? Help what? Help YOU to buy cheap?
We have been too self-centered for so long. Want to know what actually helping malaysians? buy own products helps local business creation helps local skill/tech development helps domestic job creation helps more money circulated domestically helps growth consumer industry helps …… and so forth. Lu pikir la sendiri.
Do you think buying foreigns will have the full chain like above? Do you think money won't flow out of the country and enrich all those japanese, koreans, indons and mat sallehs if we buy kias, hondas, avanzas and the like?
That's why foreign co are taxed heavily simply the protect the abundant derivative opportunities of the locals. Any wise leader will think of this.
Get wise. Get real.[/quote]
A foolish perspective only looking at it from a simplistic point of view.
1st) This argument is only valid if Potong is similar or close to foreign makes in quality. Is it, even after 20 years? You know the answer.
2nd) If not being similar in quality and still forcing Malaysian to purchase the car, you are putting Malaysian life at stake.
3rd) The so-call tax we paid to G for buying Japanese car, where does it go? Inside their pocket? Considering: the road tax we paid is not cheap, and almost anywhere we drive on the road also need to paid toll?
What a joke. Don't bring your UMNO values here, its not appreciate.
gud job proton!
even in the 3rd row.., bole duduk selesa tuu..
aksesori semua mantapp
[quote comment="230200"]This forum looks bombarded with proton marketing ppl???[/quote]
….and Toyota too…
[quote comment="230438"][quote comment="230249"]close shop better ![/quote]
LOL… You are very funny…[/quote]
are u a Malaysian and patriotic? why Malaysians now like to complain unnecessary? hmmm…
How's Exora perform compare to Toyota Unser?
Is that grey paint job the same as the persona SE grey? cause those look sexy :D also is the leather seats the same as the Persona SE? black with whitish stitching?
Congratulations to a China factory for supplying the BCM to Proton ! Congratulations Proton !
watever u'll say…..me congrat proton coz its not easy to develop ur own car instead p2 juz replace the facelift hehe
Proton Exora has kick Avanza, Grand Livina, even Naza Ria and Innova asss..and for Chery eastar? sorry bro u r not qualified in this league haha!!
Good job there Proton…proud to own it next year…had to demolished 2nd hand 2003 Odyssey RA3 from my MPV wish list eventhough it price around RM80K something and had more power than Exora (and so i had to change my fast n furious driving style habit).If they upgrade the engine to 1.8 than i think all its rival can meniaga tempat lain lah ha?!!
P/S : Dream of Stream
Nicely done Proton! looks like the engineers and designers are finally working as a team again to produce good cars. We've seen a good revamped Saga and now Exora. They paid attention to small intricate details such as having many compartments, bag holder, TouchNGo card compartment, etc., which is definitely a good thing. Since MPVs' are designed mainly as family cars and majority of the customers are mothers, these designs certainly appeal to them. Looks like they've done their homework.
Had some initial reservations over their capabilities of producing a good MPV, but on first impression seems like they have done the job well. Way to go Proton!
ask the malaysia goverment to use Exora as their official car… then malaysia car market will be better then bungkus….. hehe……
my opinion: lower the tax lar. since it is malaysia buat.. what so high tax n price?
if can be lower it then i can guarantee im fully support malaysia product…… NICE!!!!!!!
aiyoyoyo amma…
we have high tax for the car because we got low taxes for everything else….
if they lower the tax for the car, they will increase the taxes for something else..
u never gonna get low taxes for everything u know..
welcome to the real world (except brunei)
Looks like a job well done by Proton, though there are still rooms for improvement. Congratulation!
However I would still go for a Rondo due to my belief that it is still better value for money…
[quote comment="230487"][quote comment="230438"][quote comment="230249"]close shop better ![/quote]
are u a Malaysian and patriotic? why Malaysians now like to complain unnecessary? hmmm…[/quote]
Malaysian u know… they have this mentality that every japan product is better than malaysian product.. n they like to complain about everything.. n they like sensation stories…
how the hell u got ur phd with that english ?
Congratulation to all protonian. Nice job. Dream to have one……
[quote comment="230481"][quote comment="230413"]Lowering tax for foreign cars will help malaysians? Help what? Help YOU to buy cheap?
Get wise. Get real.[/quote]
A foolish perspective only looking at it from a simplistic point of view.
1st) This argument is only valid if Potong is similar or close to foreign makes in quality. Is it, even after 20 years? You know the answer.
2nd) If not being similar in quality and still forcing Malaysian to purchase the car, you are putting Malaysian life at stake.
3rd) The so-call tax we paid to G for buying Japanese car, where does it go? Inside their pocket? Considering: the road tax we paid is not cheap, and almost anywhere we drive on the road also need to paid toll?
What a joke. Don't bring your UMNO values here, its not appreciate.[/quote]
I don't remember mentioning any local brands here, neither proton nor perodua.
You are the living example of self-centered being with short sighted lazy mind.
You want all taxes you paid must be converted into benefits you yourself must have, and not others. All you want to believe that all money goes into the pocket of govt and never comes out. If money never comes out, our country dah lama bankrap. IMF would be already at our doorstep. Bro, you need to have at least a decent idea of how an insurance company works before you can take it at a greater height.
btw, me never an UMNO member and never thought to be one. But your spell on the road tax, make me wonder whether your have succumbed to the UMNO values of bangsa subsidi.
Get nice.
Proton really did it right this time. Can't wait to go to the show room.
congrat to all malaysian!
i ve been dreaming of "our" pride mpv since year 2000 and this is the moment we've been waiting for since.
hope all the feature kickin' or par with others.
quality is what we expect most…
not a bad car…but still come to one question… do we really need PROTON??… if other cars are free from taxes… i don't mind 'it' to be there… but if imported cars are still expensives due to taxes…. sry la proton..u are too much protected… u will never be competitive enough…
nice mpv……my choice to replace my old civic eg. saw it eye to eye..design is good interior and exterior. nice job proton. only not sure about on the road performance, in the showroom performance really ok.
tahniah Proton
& juga team work Exora
atas usaha keras anda merealisasikan
mpv pertama buatan malaysia!
:)
i will go to showroom today
and look in front my eyes
rather than give komen membabi buta
without getting actual fact!
pada siapa2 yg duk tanya proton
ada buat ke crash test ke tidak
sila tgk sendiri video kat atas tu
tengoklah sampai terbeliak bijik mata
klu avanza,livina takdak pulak
terhegeh2 nk tanya ada crash test ke tak
hmmm~
[quote comment="230536"]not a bad car…but still come to one question… do we really need PROTON??… if other cars are free from taxes… i don't mind 'it' to be there… but if imported cars are still expensives due to taxes…. sry la proton..u are too much protected… u will never be competitive enough…[/quote]
Oh grow up please. If we are willingly to pay 30% to 45% for our income-tax like other developed country than we can imagine to have less taxes for cars..
Menawan. Boleh bersaing dengan MPV lain. Patut dah lama keluar MPV
proton hv no QC… wat the hell la this company,japanese car better..
berat la weih this MPV,bole daki bukit ker.
Why is lap belt only installed for the middle passenger in the second roll seat ? Lab belt can cause serious abdomen injury. 460, you mentioned that there is 3 point safety belt for it earlier on. And, you mentioned that all the seat belts are pretensioner and load limiter equipped. Where ? Only the front seats are equipped with it.
[quote comment="230512"]aiyoyoyo amma…
if they lower the tax for the car, they will increase the taxes for something else..
welcome to the real world (except brunei)[/quote]
what taxes are gonna be LOW????????? lower the car tax even can help proton also!!!! dont worry about other foreign car to be lower. If not…… SURE kalah teruk…….
Well done proton….nice car….this weekend will go to showroom
the rear wipers should have been integrated into the rear windscreen, ala wish.
[quote comment="230245"]Dear Paul? i just come back from Proton showroom(around 12am) the Exora really built in good quality and can fit 7 adult easily.
Haiya….The tag Malaysian's First MPV meant it's design and own by Proton.Juara was just a rebadge!
I think YOU need to study before you post.Don't easily point your fingers without knowledge bro…even monkeys can do that
Proton? Of course will never again! Why? Lu fikirla sendiri.. Adiosss
Good work PROTON.
Eventhough I work with the 2nd national car maker,
I feel proud myself seeing my fierce competitor are
up and ready for the next challenges ahead.
May this will lead to a healthy competition.
Let us be the best automotive industry in the world.
tahniah kpd proton krn dpt mengeluarkan sebuah mpv yang begitu menawan dan cantik.diharap dpt menjaga kualiti supaya boleh bersaing dgn model lain. sya dh book hari nie rm1k. boleh dpt dlm bulan 8 atau 9 thn nie.
i thought the tag-line was "Keriangan Keluarga"? whatever… very nice mpv, interior was better than what i've expected.. now need for a TD :)
How come so many jokers think they're first? Will we see an end to this childish nonsense?…
Mantop..mantop..
Good Job Proton!
Sekali lagi Proton mula melangkah ke arah pengeluar kenderaan yang berdaya saing. Tahniah kepada warga Proton. Walaupun pelbagai komen positif dan negatif yang diterima, namun, ambillah komen tersebut sebagai input dalam memajukan lagi industri automotif Malaysia. Kepada semua warga Malaysia, usahlah hanya panda memberikan komen, bagilah cadangan juga….dalam erti kata lain, komen yang membina.
Semoga Proton terus mempertingkatkan kualiti produk-produknya di masa akan datang!
congratulation…..
NEVER TO LATE….
saya akan beli sebab ada pengantung tehtarik…
Daniel,
You seem to have a major deep seated hatred towards proton. Whats with it man!
Tahniah keluarga terbaru proton. Aku dah guna dua jenis MPV buatan Korea dan Jepun. Lepas ni boleh beli Malaysian Made pula. Utk makluman semua, MPV luar negeri pun ada masalah juga. Tapi oleh kerana buatan luar negeri tiada pun org kita termasuk pak dan mak menteri heboh mcm dahulu tu.
Sad to read malaysians banging down their own brand.
just back from coe. the car was really amazing. well, at least for a proton. DSZ was there. he explained to me abit about the front composite frame thing. i think i even got more excited meeting him and talked to him personally LOL!
[quote comment="230525"]
You want all taxes you paid must be converted into benefits you yourself must have, and not others. All you want to believe that all money goes into the pocket of govt and never comes out. If money never comes out, our country dah lama bankrap. IMF would be already at our doorstep. Bro, you need to have at least a decent idea of how an insurance company works before you can take it at a greater height.
btw, me never an UMNO member and never thought to be one. But your spell on the road tax, make me wonder whether your have succumbed to the UMNO values of bangsa subsidi.
Get nice.[/quote]
Err………….its actually benefits NO ONE else have. Except for benefits to a few cronies and some workers in Potong factories. Not to mention high tax helps to enrich even few more cronies with AP system.
I think when you complain self-centered and lazy mind you actually talking about the supporter of our "national" car, who is actually the one self center and lazy.
Self-center: Not willing for G to remove high taxes on imported car as this will impact their business.
Lazy: Not willing to improve themself and their company so that even if G remove tax system, their company could still compete.
So 26 million Malaysian need to be burden with keeping this few thousand people with jobs. Such a shame.
As a foreigner, I find it amazing to read malaysians bashing their own brand. Proton may not be prefect but it is your brand man!!
semalam aku g tengok dkt show room..
design ok utk first mpv..
gear box auto masih pakai mitsubishi..
pace luas & selesa..
bravo to proton!!!
just came back frm the showroom.
Not yet available for test drive so it's difficult to judge the power of the car.
I guess it will be abit underpowered.
But still, i tried all 3 rows of seats, all very comfortable. I'm 1.78m tall.
Interior very well designed, switches have abit of feel to them compared to persona.
Sometimes, i read all the comments frm bashers, i feel really sad.
Not all of us are well off to get whatever cars we want. If i can afford it, i will most prolly juz keep quiet instead of complaining about other cars.
It's like complaining about other ppls wife not being beautiful or sexy enough. Hey, if we all have a choice, we all want supermodels as a wife and driving around in a ferrari. But how many of us have?
Nobody is pointing a gun at our heads forcing us to take a bank loan to buy a proton. Hell some can't even get a loan approved for a proton!!
Bottom line is this, everyone have their own budgets for tranport, some can afford foreign makes and some could not. There's no need to come in here and tell everone how lousy proton is just to make ppl who own a proton feel bad. I love my proton, but an honest opinion, i hate the service centre staffs!!
I myself currently drive a persona, it's a good car. Not great in anyway but good. Upgraded frm my 8 year old iswara. hehehe
Maybe one day i can afford other cars but hey, iswara -> persona already considered an upgrade rite? :-)
Congrats to proton!!
aih… Dah kuar pun nak gaduh pasal Tax plak. Oklah. Kalau tax dah turun, agak2 harga proton turun tak ?. Sure turun punya. Kereta import korang kena kira gak kos pengangkutan nak masuk sini. Duti export negara diaorang campur duti import malaysia campur kos angkut naik kapal tolak kos kurangkan kualiti sebanyak 20% ke 30%. Hah dapat harga pun. Korang ingat duit minyak kapal tu free ke. Duti export diaorang tak kena ke ?. Harga kat langkawi tu korang tak payah kira OK. kalau korang tau keadaan kereta kat langkawi tu mau korang tak nak beli punya. Korang kira sikit ok. Honda stream kuar. Saiz lebih kurang sama, aircond cuma ada kat 3rd seat aje. Harga waktu tu berapa ?. Harga Exora skarang dah campur tax gak tau. Kalau dikurangkan tax untuk semua kenderaan, still exora masih murah. Mungkin boleh dapat dlm RM60k untuk H-line. Sekarang fikir, beli barang sendiri dan buat ekonomi negara bergerak ke atau duit keluar dan kita tengok negara lain kaya. Thailand skarang bergolak. Industri kenderaan mereka juga teruk sebab rakyat kuar tunjuk perasaan tak nak keje. Sekurangnya Tax yang kerajaan dapat tu korang boleh pakai contoh jalan raya. Kembangkan ekonomi dengan rangsangan kewangan untuk peniaga, banyak lagi. Proton dah buat perubahan dibawah bimbingan DSZ. DSZ pun perihatin gak dgn masalah yang lepas2. Semalam dia pun dah janji untuk improve kualiti (virus power window ?). Proton masih muda, banyak kena belajar lagi. Tak macam GM yang dah berpuluh tahun pengalaman (otai tapi degil). Proton banyak lagi ruang untuk pergi jauh. Sekurangnya industri dari negara kita yang size tanah nak macam jepun tu boleh jadi salah satu pesaing industry kenderaan besar dunia. sapa tau. (Dah minyak nak abis, Kata diaorang lah).
aih… Dah kuar pun nak gaduh pasal Tax plak. Oklah. Kalau tax dah turun, agak2 harga proton turun tak ?. Sure turun punya. Kereta import korang kena kira gak kos pengangkutan nak masuk sini. Duti export negara diaorang campur duti import malaysia campur kos angkut naik kapal tolak kos kurangkan kualiti sebanyak 20% ke 30%. Hah dapat harga pun. Korang ingat duit minyak kapal tu free ke. Duti export diaorang tak kena ke ?. Harga kat langkawi tu korang tak payah kira OK. kalau korang tau keadaan kereta kat langkawi tu mau korang tak nak beli punya. Korang kira sikit ok. Honda stream kuar. Saiz lebih kurang sama, aircond cuma ada kat 3rd seat aje. Harga waktu tu berapa ?. Harga Exora skarang dah campur tax gak tau. Kalau dikurangkan tax untuk semua kenderaan, still exora masih murah. Mungkin boleh dapat dlm RM60k untuk H-line. Sekarang fikir, beli barang sendiri dan buat ekonomi negara bergerak ke atau duit keluar dan kita tengok negara lain kaya. Thailand skarang bergolak. Industri kenderaan mereka juga teruk sebab rakyat kuar tunjuk perasaan tak nak keje. Sekurangnya Tax yang kerajaan dapat tu korang boleh pakai contoh jalan raya. Kembangkan ekonomi dengan rangsangan kewangan untuk peniaga, banyak lagi. Proton dah buat perubahan dibawah bimbingan DSZ. DSZ pun perihatin gak dgn masalah yang lepas2. Semalam dia pun dah janji untuk improve kualiti (virus power window ?). Proton masih muda, banyak kena belajar lagi. Tak macam GM yang dah berpuluh tahun pengalaman (otai tapi degil). Proton banyak lagi ruang untuk pergi jauh. Sekurangnya industri dari negara kita yang size tanah nak macam jepun tu boleh jadi salah satu pesaing industry kenderaan besar dunia. sapa tau. (Dah minyak nak abis, Kata diaorang lah). ;)
2nd row seats get too much space. shud give more space to 3rd row!
[quote comment="230538"]tahniah Proton
& juga team work Exora
Tu crash test adalah dari Private Crash Test, bukan Official Euro NCAP crash test.
Pd pandangan saya ni, crash test atas tu m'jadikan Exora ni macam buatan kertas/kertas tebal, sebab bonnetnya dah hancur semuanya, dan A-pillarnya dah hampir kena, tak berapa safety tengok Crash Test tu jer~
hmmm~[/quote]
[quote comment="230538"]tahniah Proton
& juga team work Exora
hmmm~[/quote]
Tu crash test adalah dari Private Crash Test, bukan Official Euro NCAP crash test.
Pd pandangan saya ni, crash test atas tu m'jadikan Exora ni macam buatan kertas/kertas tebal, sebab bonnetnya dah hancur semuanya, dan A-pillarnya dah hampir kena, tak berapa safety tengok Crash Test tu jer~
went just now to the proton showroom jln ampang.
exterior looks ok.
interior looks ok.
it looks much way better in flesh rather than pics! ;)
driving position, i like.
simple dashboard, i can tolerate.
overall finishing, ok. i can spot 3 different textures involved.
proton should look into these not-so-ok pts.:
1. interior. the panel in the dashbrd near the triangular window in front, that looks flimsy.
2. interior. the spacing (gap) between the steering column & dashbrd can be seen when the steering is tilted to the lowest position.
3. exterior. the gap at the plastic at the lower position of windshield can be noticed.
when can i drive one? 8-)
[quote comment="230590"]Err………….its actually benefits NO ONE else have. Except for benefits to a few cronies and some workers in Potong factories. Not to mention high tax helps to enrich even few more cronies with AP system.
I think when you complain self-centered and lazy mind you actually talking about the supporter of our "national" car, who is actually the one self center and lazy.
Self-center: Not willing for G to remove high taxes on imported car as this will impact their business.
Lazy: Not willing to improve themself and their company so that even if G remove tax system, their company could still compete.
So 26 million Malaysian need to be burden with keeping this few thousand people with jobs. Such a shame.[/quote]
dont cry like baby when gov apply high income tax n service tax + any item u wan2 buy gets VAT aka Value Added Tax once they abolish car tax
[quote comment="230626"]Tu crash test adalah dari Private Crash Test, bukan Official Euro NCAP crash test.
tengoklah sampai terbeliak bijik mata[/quote]
looks like some1 never watch crash test video b4
Proton Boleh! Malaysia Boleh! Boleh bersaing dengan latest mpv spt. wish, innova, dan macam-macam lagilah. Lepas ni, giliran Perodua pulak nak buat MPVnya. Platfofm diambil direct dari model toyota. Pasti ada persaingan sengit yang akan berlaku.
Barang baik, harga cantik…. so apa ada hal… boleh beli le. Compare ngan keta import cam Innova, wish, stream tak adil le…. Harga anatara produk proton ngan jenama lain jauh sangat beza. Yang penting bagi MPV selesa dan luas, dan bukannya kelajuan. Ni MPV le bukan keta sedan… huhuhu
surprisingly…the pick-up really good. got change to test drive it last night.
with 5 person no problem at all for this MPV. it feel like drive a sedan car. good job proton. all the best
[quote comment="230633"][quote comment="230626"]Tu crash test adalah dari Private Crash Test, bukan Official Euro NCAP crash test.
looks like some1 never watch crash test video b4[/quote]
hmmm…. biasa le. tu tak tengok youtube Topgear comment pasal waja. Aku rasa exora meet the standard bila antar ke NACP. sebab cabin tu tengok utuh je bila berlanggar. pastu test terbalik pun ok sebab body tak guling banyak pastu cabin pun ok. Ada ke crash test depan bumper tak rosak ?.
Another model going to sell at least 20 years to recoup its investment in platform given the high R & D cost. Good luck to those who book the car, your next generation likely to buy the same car with facelift down the road – same thing happen to the freaking milo tin on the wheel Saga/Iswara.
For future Exora variants, Proton better purchase 2.0L to 2.4L engine and plonk into engine bay, with weight of over 1.40 Tonne, it is definitely under power for 1.6L engine.
Bloated car with a small heart! Price could be lower! What happened to NAP?
Overweight car with a small engine! Another Proton rip off. Why can't they just give value for once & build up a loyal following! They're in this for the long run right? What have they to lose.
On paper and pictures this car looks interesting. I think overall Proton did a good job and I have to congratulate you guys. Seems like recently Proton have been producing cars which are sensible (new gen Saga and Exora) for Malaysian. Don't worry about sceptics, even the largest car producer in the world get bashings now and then.
well done proton… proud of u… the only prob with proton cars nowdays… the weight!!.. too heavy for their engine.. dun worry with critics.. it will make u better.. TAHNIAH
[quote comment="230630"]went just now to the proton showroom jln ampang.
exterior looks ok.
interior looks ok.
it looks much way better in flesh rather than pics! ;)
driving position, i like.
simple dashboard, i can tolerate.
overall finishing, ok. i can spot 3 different textures involved.
proton should look into these not-so-ok pts.:
1. interior. the panel in the dashbrd near the triangular window in front, that looks flimsy.
2. interior. the spacing (gap) between the steering column & dashbrd can be seen when the steering is tilted to the lowest position.
3. exterior. the gap at the plastic at the lower position of windshield can be noticed.
when can i drive one? 8-)[/quote]
Bro,
How's the seat size ? How's the thigh support ?
[quote comment="230626"]
[/quote]
yup betul, bukan official Euro NCAP crash test..
tetapi…
test ni ialah Euro NCAP Compliant.
agak2 tau x maksud "compliant"?
compliant maksudnye hampir sama, cuma xbuat kt Euro NCAP.
drp pembacaan aku, test exora dijalankn di IDIADA Spain.
google plz.
kalu aku xsilap, Japan NCAP pn ada. IIHS America pn ada.
Crash Test.
dlm crash-test, mmg la akn ada besi kemek, tayar tercabut, cermin pecah etc.
tp adakah besi kemik tu masuk dlm passanger cabin? xde kn?
maknanye ok la tuh.
time exora rolling tu ada nmpk A-pillar patah x? xde kn?
maknanye ok la tuh.
ada x dashboard exora terkeluar rapat ke dummy? xde kn?
maknanye ok la tuh.
fungsi crash test ialah untuk validation drp simulasi komputer.
target crash test ialah utk mengkaji struktur chassis kereta supaya boleh direka agar ia dpt memberi keselamatan seoptimumnya kpd penumpang sekiranye berlaku kemalangan.
hasilnye, kereta akn direka agar dpt menyerap momentum (energy sewaktu impact) (baca: kemek) pd tmpt yg kurang-kritikal. pd tmpt yg kritikal (passanger cabin) ia lebih teguh. sila tgk video dgn teliti ;)
xpe, dlm belajar ada salah2 xpe.
tp kalu xngaku salah, xdapek den nolongnye.
man man ooo said,
April 16, 2009 @ 10:29 am · Reply with quote
Nanti beli… convert engine to V8 beemer atau V10 ferrari. tak pun masuk enjin boxer subaru . convert to rear wheel drive. boleeey drift wa cakap lu… anyway… for an mpv… nak bawa orang. bukan nak gi racing
betul… betul… betul… betul… it is MPV. that why la kemalangan di malaysia ni in top rating… ingat nak laju je…
anyway salute to Proton. trully malaysian.
surprisingly…the pick-up really good. got change to test drive it last night. with 5 person no problem at all for this MPV. its a fast enuf car!! juz not enuf road to test the top speed. it feel like drive a sedan car. good job proton. all the best
Read more: "Proton Exora: Malaysia’s first MPV from RM69,998!" – http://paultan.org/archives/2009/04/15/proton-exo…
On paper and pictures this car looks interesting. I think overall Proton did a good job and I have to congratulate you guys. Seems like recently Proton have been producing cars which are sensible (new gen Saga and Exora) for Malaysian. Don't worry about sceptics, even the largest car producer in the world get bashings now and then. Surely pre test needs to be done before you send them for true assesment by NACP. Nak buat test tu semua bukan free, so kalau tak pre test dulu rugi la kalau fail. You can watch other videos on other cars with NACP rating of 4 to compare with the one you just watched in this article to satisfy your questions.
[quote comment="230590"][quote comment="230525"]
Get nice.[/quote]
Err………….its actually benefits NO ONE else have. Except for benefits to a few cronies and some workers in Potong factories. Not to mention high tax helps to enrich even few more cronies with AP system.
So 26 million Malaysian need to be burden with keeping this few thousand people with jobs. Such a shame.[/quote]
haiiya you… give time to Proton aaa…. not fair to compare Proton with T and H badge…. too young for proton…. not reach 30 years yet…. if you remove the taxes from imported car….. of course proton will lose…. give time to proton to revive their corporate image… is it fare to compare 2+ years company with the one who already reached 60 years in automobile sector… think again … i'm trully supporting u ..kassorga …. you are right…
i own proton persona for a year …already … nothing malfunction in my car….
owh …. bad perception among malaysian… too lazy to change your own mentality
owh … proton got QC prob = damn hideous proton
owh … T & H badge got prob = urm… it's ok… can be fixed….
the launch ceremony already told about the infamous power window failure…. i think they already on the way … to improve their QC prob…..
there is no automobile company who wanted to produce such a lousy car… and no quality….
malaysian … we have to remember …. where we going to get our add financial resources if the country's oil resources ran out…. we cant just be the " negara pengguna " for the whole life… whereelse the country itself is getting nowhere…
anyway … it is a milestone for proton … to improve themselves… syabas PROTON…. you make us proud to be Malaysian….
those who want to buy kia, hyundai, t, h….. dont like proton …. dont give lousy comment…. if it is helpful…. you are greet to say…. if just want to give idiotic bashing comment… go to hell to you…..
if u so good enough… change your nationality …. stay at japan or europe as long as you want…..
malaysia doesnt need you….
it's true ….. like DSZ said… malaysian want performance like europe car… design like japanese… and price like malaysia………..
hurm…… do not know how to be grateful….
Not Ah_beng [quote comment="230632"][quote comment="230590"]Err………….its actually benefits NO ONE else have. Except for benefits to a few cronies and some workers in Potong factories. Not to mention high tax helps to enrich even few more cronies with AP system.
not Ah_beng have started again!!!
ok just answer these questions and i guess end of the day you will know why protecting proton is better than lowering taxes(but is still dont agree with NAP)
question one:
who will benefit the MOST if the G lower car taxes??
A.you,because you get to drive cheaper foreign cars
B.Foreigners who build those cars and their own country businesses
question two:
what BENEFITS do you get supporting products from foreign country??
A.Pride and joy of own foreign products
B.help funding R&D in countries like japan,german and america with your hard earn cash and letting the suck all our talented engineers with better salary offer and help them accelerate their development process and push your home country backwards and remain as developing country and let all you hard earn cash enjoyed by some foreigners.
why malaysian made products need G support and protection??
A. so that some cronies can get rich and you get poorer neglecting the important R&D and developments.
B. so that our hard earn cash remains in our country..your kids who want to be engineers,designers,and etc can have a place to work..our talented minds remain in our country to accelerate growth and we can become a developed country and sooner or later our home growth companies can bring back foreigners money into the country and help us earn a little bit more!!
remember everyone…proton and rest of the national companies have not done anything wrong..they were planned to accelerate our country's growth and progress but people who are corrupted and selfish such as those cronies and certain leader who want to get rich fast who is the cause for these companies to be what they are now!!and pity thing is..those people who are stopping the progress of those companies are malaysian too…
as long as corruption stays in our leaders blood,cronies and etc exist..we will have a very hard time to become a developed nation…
[quote comment="230551"][quote comment="230512"]aiyoyoyo amma…
what taxes are gonna be LOW????????? lower the car tax even can help proton also!!!! dont worry about other foreign car to be lower. If not…… SURE kalah teruk…….[/quote]
oi stupid, our income taxes is very low..
go google other country income tax, 20% – 30%
god I hate this typical malaysian
[quote comment="230487"][quote comment="230438"][quote comment="230249"]close shop better ![/quote]
are u a Malaysian and patriotic? why Malaysians now like to complain unnecessary? hmmm…[/quote]
Bcuz some ppl are just plain losers. They glorify the Japanese like they are nipponjin themselves, bt somehow I dun understand why do they refuse to migrate and apply for citizenship there.
What's all this abt life at stake?! HAH?!?!?!!?! Buta sgt ke diorg ni sume, baru je baca Exora gi test, siap gmbr, siap video, tu tak ke bukti Exora ni ada standard keselamatan yg tinggi?!?!
MyBoy,
Somebody else had reminded me something u shud be told: instead of "cakap lebat", go test drive the Exora. JUST. BLOODY. GO. Until then, stop embarrassing our country. Foreigners with PhD are reading this blog.
good job proton! keep up the good work
Bangga aku ngan proton yg dh produced 1st Good Ideal Impressive Malaysians MPV..harga pn mampu milik… prouds!!
[quote comment="230670"][quote comment="230626"]
[/quote]
tetapi…
google plz.
Crash Test.
maknanye ok la tuh.
target crash test ialah utk mengkaji struktur chassis kereta supaya boleh direka agar ia dpt memberi keselamatan seoptimumnya kpd penumpang sekiranye berlaku kemalangan.
hasilnye, kereta akn direka agar dpt menyerap momentum (energy sewaktu impact) (baca: kemek) pd tmpt yg kurang-kritikal. pd tmpt yg kritikal (passanger cabin) ia lebih teguh. sila tgk video dgn teliti ;)
tp kalu xngaku salah, xdapek den nolongnye.[/quote]
i agree with u man…..stupid P1 basher…
[quote comment="230682"][quote comment="230551"][quote comment="230512"]aiyoyoyo amma…
what taxes are gonna be LOW????????? lower the car tax even can help proton also!!!! dont worry about other foreign car to be lower. If not…… SURE kalah teruk…….[/quote]
oi stupid, our income taxes is very low..
go google other country income tax, 20% – 30%
god I hate this typical malaysian[/quote]
haya don call people stupid la you!
I just saw the car from the showroom near my house today and it's really not bad at all… The only thing i dislike about the car is the Uneven lines on the dash!!! It's kinda really obvious at the front passenger center side of the dash…. Proton should really improve that actually… Other than that it's ok… I like the door closing sound… It's sounds more "solid" compared to Persona and previous models…
Proton has done a good, if not superb job in designing the vehicle. It is very, very unfair to say that this is a second class vehicle for Malaysians. For the first time Malaysians can afford to own a locally designed and produced MPV that sits seven for the price of 70k. The vehicle looks stunning, with ample rooms for all its occupants. Maybe the mentality of "Proton ? Mana ada kualiti !" is embedded in the thoughts of many of us. Sure, the vehicle has got lots of rooms for improvements, but that does not mean the vehicle is second to those that are produced by other manufacturers. Maybe the engine is a tad underpowered to propel the vehicle, but I am sure that Proton engineers will rectify this problem soon, by fitting it with a bigger capacity engine maybe ?
[quote comment="230670"][quote comment="230626"]
[/quote]
tetapi…
google plz.
Crash Test.
maknanye ok la tuh.
tp kalu xngaku salah, xdapek den nolongnye.[/quote]
Dahla tu…penat je ko taip panjang2..entah si P1 basher ni faham ke tidak..
anyway,i didnt manage to visit proton showroom yet.lot of work at office..(maybe after this maghrib or isyak try to go to showroom).
guys let us see exora tv commercial.(i patch for you this link)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=32Z_q5poujs
look properly at 0:45, and you will see cameraman's shadow fall on the mpv very obviously…looks funny meh..aiyo,producer..are you rushing to make this footage?
I think Tax subject should be the compulsory subject in SPM. So everyone of us can understand about the personal tax, company tax, even the tax on goods imported. They G have high tax on imported car must have their reason. Should think the advantages not just on the disadvantages point of view.
Back to topic. I really impressed the Proton's first car with BCM. I like the Exora's alarm system. Amazing. I like the guy says Hello, Tuan saya di sini…!!! haha..
aiseh, wanna complaint about tax then log on to our PM's blog lah.
give ur views there.
tell u, try live in japan, then u'll know almost every single thing u pay 5% tax (i really mean it – almost every single thing).
anyway, good job proton.
tak sabar nak balik malaysia to test drive.
Don't call them stupid call them Bodoh. They must surely lead a gawdawful personal life. I mean think of it man. These are people who are so full of negative energy. We used to work where bosses always look at the bad things that we do and never appreciate the good things. Bad is bigger. But in the bigger scheme of things, they're just fluff that get's in the way of greatness.
[quote comment="230545"]proton hv no QC… wat the hell la this company,japanese car better..
berat la weih this MPV,bole daki bukit ker.[/quote]
don't talk without facts.
try urself then share with us here!
[quote comment="230415"]i really like its meter display.
Wow! there are many place to put your belonging…
What i really like is this statement "Proton claims the Exora was designed to achieve a 4-star rating in Euro NCAP crash tests and it has passed an Euro NCAP equivalent test at a private testing facility in Spain. Actual Euro NCAP testing has not been done yet but as the test specs were the same the Exora should be able to gain a 4 star result in real Euro NCAP testing as well"
I like a statement which is clear and honest.[/quote]
Who doesn't ?
[quote comment="230175"][quote comment="230166"]Yeah right… the only reason people buy this MPV is because the other brands are having their taxes cruelly high. I wonder if this were a fair market, I bet any Proton will bungkus. And Proton is talking about helping their own Malaysians…[/quote]
I agree with you Steve, if only Honda Stream had no tax that high…[/quote]
its fair maa…they do not want our car enter their country but we let them in so tax high2 la ..they block our car we tax their car..fair la kan.. that way to protect car industry…
that a rebadge mini van from mitsu ma…check wikipedia
this website is full of proton people posting comments on how "good" their car apparently is. if this awful car is good, then a toyota alphard has to be just sheer mpv pleasure.
Syabas & setinggi-tinggi tahniah untuk Proton!
Satu hadiah kepada rakyat Malaysia sebuah MPV yang amat hebat, mantap, berkuasa dan amat menarik potongan (rekabentuk) air tangan (hasil) sentuhan anak tempatan! Hidup Proton!
I heard from my friend who's working with the exora EURO NCAP testing in spain said that they did not really reach 4 star. some sort of like upper 3 close to 4 star. thats what i heard roughly from him lah. but i love the exora prestige design. looks gangster!
all the bashing has made proton to produce a good looking nice MPV…. nice advert..nice car..if only it has a slightly powerful engine =)
[quote comment="230626"][quote comment="230538"]tahniah Proton
& juga team work Exora
hmmm~[/quote]
ni lagi sorg..pena blaja fizik tak..cube teke saper tercampak lebih jauh kete (A) yg remuk habis serap hentakan dgn kete(B) keras (saper plak yg serap hentakan) dgn syarat 2- 2 xpakai belt..jawapan……….
malaysian mentality…its doesnt matter how good the design is, if it is made in malaysia, nothing is good enough, if EXORA got 10 STAR euro NCAP also still not gud enough….Japanese product is always better than malaysia, come on man……mcm mana malaysia mau maju…kesiann……kesian malaysian, kesian malaysia…
Aku sebenarnya x nk bnyk komen pasal proton, cuma 1st skali aku bangga proton ada inisiatif gk nk wat kete MPV… dah lama dh aku dok tunggu perubahan cm nie… tp ape yg bagus luar cantik, dalam cantik ngan DVD, GPS tp slack btl x de sun roof… Bkn slalu nk blh tgk kete Malaysia ade sun roof… kan kan kan… Tp aku mintak la pihak proton cuba plak wt r/d enjin tebo atau supercharge… Klau nk dilihatkn fuel consumption n power 2 weight ratio enjin tebo ngan supercharge lebih sesuai… x yah nk upgrade 1.6 pegi 2.0…. roadtax pun murah… Xkan proton sanggup labur duit ke UK untok upgrade enjin neo je( cari dalam youtube)… Nak diambil yang pro ngan con, proton telah banyak membantu negara… Ngan employment n providing private transportation tg berpatutan harga…. X kan 2 pn xleh bangga… Walaupin proton nampak cm dah nk terumbang-ambing tp ada gak kete baru, x da plak retrenchment, x de plak nk kna tutup kilang sana, kilang sini… Nie lah future automotive company kita… Bangga? Mustilah…. hang pikiaq la sendiri…. Assalamualaikum.
malaysians.. bunch of complainers.. kamon!! support our national cars!! everything has to complain, puji tanak langusng, cannot progress la ini macam..
RM70k for this crap!!?
Dont be dumb people! this mpv shud be priced below 50k! We poor poor malaysian are forced to pay for the stupid tax which we dont deserve!
cant they use other thing to hang beside the drawer ?? why must use a bungkus of "teh tarik" ????!!! make that car look freaking cheap ……..
yeah its can give A to proton..finally proton mada it. but pls make sure no any comment frm customers, cuase overall look nice but we only know after we driving hope not any simple defect..keep it up prpton
[quote comment="230745"]cant they use other thing to hang beside the drawer ?? why must use a bungkus of "teh tarik" ????!!! make that car look freaking cheap ……..[/quote]
wow.. u have take retardation to a new level
good job to Proton,have a step improvement…for the 1st MPV car.exora.but one thing regarding the safety …impact…35kmh.. ? not so compact car refer to the video test as above. anywhere it is the first MPV car and try to do the best one in future…
thank you to proton Malaysia…Malaysia Boleh lah.!
[quote comment="230745"]cant they use other thing to hang beside the drawer ?? why must use a bungkus of "teh tarik" ????!!! make that car look freaking cheap ……..[/quote]
aiyah..people driving merce / BM aslo can be found hanging at kedai mamak / bangsar / uptown.
so what the heck? open mind la fren.
surprisingly…the pick-up really good. got change to test drive it last night. with 5 person no problem at all for this MPV. its a fast enuf car!! juz not enuf road to test the top speed. it feel like drive a sedan car. good job proton. all the best
yeah, agree. plastic part still not on par with toyota.
during the crash, the hood should be designed to absorb the kinetic energy i.e. crush or folded to avoid the intrusion to the cabin. mau putus kepala ka?
also agree with the underpower issue, but it should be decent enough to carry people.
hope proton will come up with new fuel economy engine with higher torque for the exora with front&rear brake disc, esc and new transmission.
thanz to proton engineers…
I can say Exora is quite a improvement…
I think proton was working with LG on this, same like saga too…
Biar laa derang…tak paham maksud crumple zones in the first place. Kalau paham theory pasal crumple zones takkan bebel pasal bab nih. Renault Modus yang dapat 5 stars pun remuk habis sampai A-Pillar. The point is to absorb energy. Nampak sangat ada orang tak pay attention iklan Toyota dulu pasal GOA. Kalo keras sangat energy transfer maksud cockpit, itu yang kita tak nak kalau major accident. Waja did poorly dalam NCAP pasal overall structure dia terlalu keras kalau frontal. The fact it's even pedestrian impact compliant is already very commendable tau tak?
1st of all i want congrat proton launch a new proton car. nice but i dont know how is a quality ? i lost confidence because use the proton car before, i hope this time really can fight with others car like toyota. Economic was going down is it a good time proton launch now? anyway i hope our country automobil industries business can develop and going up. proton exora make different with another proton car, start from beginning and hope proton can 'fight untill no blood' in car market..u can do it.
klu x suke proton jgn bace laaa…
komen2 lebey2 plak.
nak sgt WISH AVANZA ALPHARD pape je bli laaa..
sibuk2 je kat website nii…..
g la bace website toyota ke honda ke hyundai ke kia ke
x payah la bace al kisah proton MPV ni.. klu nak bash lebih2…
sibuk jee…
xde pun sape2 jemput bace…x malu btol..
[quote comment="230725"]this website is full of proton people posting comments on how "good" their car apparently is. if this awful car is good, then a toyota alphard has to be just sheer mpv pleasure.[/quote]
Toyota Alphard is a different class… I mean not by different in body type class but the other class… Like a Perodua and a mercedes… So no need to compare Exora and Alphard coz that's two different prices…
for those who complain about proton entirely have to think carefully….i m a material engineer at proton sub company….this company is also producing or rather cut blank sheet for toyota and perodua….as ya ll complainerss didnt know, toyota is using a cheap, thin and noncoated metal for their inner and outer panel..their metal supplier is from local company…while proton is using a thick, expensive and some coated material and most of the supplier is from japan and korea….so if you want to complain or talk bad about proton please make sure you have a brain…..
Aiyah.. 1.6 underpower maahh,,
kenapa tak letak enjin lori 16 tayar terus.. ??
walaupun aku tak pakai proton disebabkan crita2 lama tapi aku berbangga dengan proton perusahaan anak2 malaysia..syabas proton
mungkin satu hari nanti aku akan menggunakan proton..
[quote comment="230653"]Another model going to sell at least 20 years to recoup its investment in platform given the high R & D cost. Good luck to those who book the car, your next generation likely to buy the same car with facelift down the road – same thing happen to the freaking milo tin on the wheel Saga/Iswara.[/quote]
your comments really suits you name…. just minus the word "land"
bravo proton……….nice mpv…….great job
[quote comment="230744"]RM70k for this crap!!?
Dont be dumb people! this mpv shud be priced below 50k! We poor poor malaysian are forced to pay for the stupid tax which we dont deserve![/quote]
whats the problem with the tax that you are whining about?do you really think that if there is no Proton, car will be lot cheaper?the G's will create a lot of excuse to maintain the car price to the same level whether there are Proton or not…stop whining la kiddo………….
i just visited the exora, looks not bad, but just my 2 cents that the front design looks like myvi, back view looks like innova :P Anyway, proton did a great job!
[quote comment="230133"]"rakyat malaysia inginkan kenderaan yg mmpunyai performance like european cars, styling like japanese cars, dan harga malaysia." -DSZ (during the launching presentation)
btw, i think the front grill has made proton founded their identity:][/quote]
the front grille is proton's identity? haha i don't know abt that
anyway i think beneath the skin is either a mitsubishi or toyota frame etc
there are only a few minor changes on the lights and interior
[quote comment="230545"]japanese car better..
berat la weih this MPV,bole daki bukit ker.[/quote]
Hahaha.. u remind me what've my mom tell me a couple years ago.. she said, when Proton's introducing their 1st Saga in the 80's, the first perseption of most malaysians was, "ada kualiti mcm keta jepun ke? kuat ke enjin tu? boleh naik bukit ke?"
I wonder, why this kind of mentality still exist in the 21st of century? Come on la bro, kalo x dpt naik bukit.. test mule Exora yg diaorg test hari-hari tu naik pokok ke?
Liang : U think Mr PT stupid ?? I think ur comment makes u a DUMBASS !
[quote comment="230633"][quote comment="230626"]Tu crash test adalah dari Private Crash Test, bukan Official Euro NCAP crash test.
looks like some1 never watch crash test video b4[/quote]
Just spare his/her comment bro… maybe he's dunno what the purpose of "crumple zone".. just ignore thoose bashers…
pity him/her.. typical m'sian mentality.. :)
[quote comment="230057"]can this mpv will compete with perodua mpv? i dont think so.[/quote]
[quote comment="230744"]RM70k for this crap!!?
Dont be dumb people! this mpv shud be priced below 50k! We poor poor malaysian are forced to pay for the stupid tax which we dont deserve![/quote]
fu?k of your head la… harga mpv tu amat sesuai dengan kualiti.. ko nak camana lagi? ini bukan sebab org kita mampu beli atau tidak… tetapi orang mcm ko ni yang kedekut sgt ttp pandang buatan luar negara sahaja..
wahhh..so malaysian car..got hook to gantung teh tarik and so on….nice2…
i'm first
u know whats funny about malaysian mentality? i have one friend who argued that avanza is better coz it's "imported". yes, thats his argument. my jaw literally dropped.
i don't even bother explaining anything to him after that. lol
[quote comment="230595"]just came back frm the showroom.
Not yet available for test drive so it's difficult to judge the power of the car.
I guess it will be abit underpowered.
But still, i tried all 3 rows of seats, all very comfortable. I'm 1.78m tall.
Interior very well designed, switches have abit of feel to them compared to persona.
Sometimes, i read all the comments frm bashers, i feel really sad.
Not all of us are well off to get whatever cars we want. If i can afford it, i will most prolly juz keep quiet instead of complaining about other cars.
It's like complaining about other ppls wife not being beautiful or sexy enough. Hey, if we all have a choice, we all want supermodels as a wife and driving around in a ferrari. But how many of us have?
Nobody is pointing a gun at our heads forcing us to take a bank loan to buy a proton. Hell some can't even get a loan approved for a proton!!
Bottom line is this, everyone have their own budgets for tranport, some can afford foreign makes and some could not. There's no need to come in here and tell everone how lousy proton is just to make ppl who own a proton feel bad. I love my proton, but an honest opinion, i hate the service centre staffs!!
I myself currently drive a persona, it's a good car. Not great in anyway but good. Upgraded frm my 8 year old iswara. hehehe
Maybe one day i can afford other cars but hey, iswara -> persona already considered an upgrade rite? :-)
Congrats to proton!![/quote]
Spot on, Hanz
There's an old saying: You pays your money, you takes your choice
[quote comment=”230993″]
The Crash Test 1 is based on 35km/h at it’s speed already crash like this
how about at a higher speed for 80km/h??? U always drive slow like 35km/h meh~
For the crash test footage at a speed of 56km/h the moving tyre that moved backword to the cockpit already makes a threat to the driver and passenger.
But still, I must mention for how safe a car it is, if u drive at high speed and bang, u’ll sure die. This is what I’m want to emphasize, haiyar~ u guys cannot even accept other people’s comment, somemore call ” stupid” la, apa lah, apalah. C’mon, u must accept and listen to others people comment, P1 will always be a KAMPUNG CHAMPION it’s because u these stupid loyalty supporters even P1 did something wrong and will still accept it,~~~WAIT did I say STUPID, sorry about that.
BTW, the design of the headlamp isn’t that beautiful like DSZ said Japanese design, and the side mirror is just an expansion set from Saga BLM’s side mirror.
PEACE~~~[/quote]
Kalo ko langgar dinding keras yg tidak berganjak sedikit pun dlm kelajuan 35km/j(test crash), bagaimana rasa impak dia? siapa yg serap impak? itulah kegunaan “crumple zone”
walaupun ko driving 80km/j tapi langgar benda yg sama berat yakni sebuah kereta.. ko rasa kereta yg ko langgar tu akan berganjak ataupun tidak berganjak dan kekal disitu mcm dinding crash test? mesti berganjak kan? dan impak kelajuan akan diserap oleh crumple zone kedua-dua kereta dan itu akan menjadikan impak hentakan terbahagi menjadi setengah.
Langgar dinding yg tidak berganjak dan langgar benda yg boleh berganjak lain momentumnya bai…
p/s: ko pernah tgk keta Ferrari Enzo putus dua dlm youtube tak? :)
I went to see the car today at the A&W Lake Garden, Seremban. The car look great especially the interior, looks spacious in comparison to Nissan Grand Livina… I like the seats, they are comfortable and looks nice. However, they still have gap issue… can be seen quite obviously for the engine cover/hood, almost 1 cm gap from the body. The QC Manager should have address the issue before allowing the product to come out of the factory. Other than that, it is an impressive product. Well done Proton.
[quote comment="230803"][quote comment="230133"]"rakyat malaysia inginkan kenderaan yg mmpunyai performance like european cars, styling like japanese cars, dan harga malaysia." -DSZ (during the launching presentation)
btw, i think the front grill has made proton founded their identity:][/quote]
the front grille is proton's identity? haha i don't know abt that
anyway i think beneath the skin is either a mitsubishi or toyota frame etc
there are only a few minor changes on the lights and interior[/quote]
Can provide proof please? If not you will just look plain stupid.
lawa la tu..boleh lah tu..macam wish apa…
lagi satu…aku pekerja kelas bawahan…kewangan hanya cukup makan…tak arif pasai bab kereta ni..lepas baca komen pakar pakar sekalian…ada 2 soalan,
1.. adakah sistem kenderaan kita terlalu membebankan rakyat pasal setiap kali ada proton ada pasal cukai sekaligus..
2.. sekiranya betul betul parah sekali, bukankah kita patut boikotnya? kenapa ada yang terus jadi buta?
i ni ilmu cetek jer..harap jgn marah dengan persoalan i..cuma saya dah jemu jadi miskin..miskin pasal sendiri takpe..ni pasal dirompak terang terang…
really impressive proton
now MPV like avanza , citra rondo , grand livina even innova are in trouble to sell .
livina samller in size but high in price maaa.
AVANZA gone case !!
biasa saja.
buy this car and get free teh tarik….
nice…
[quote comment="230113"]What a weird kinda photo, Teh tarik? Still not fully developed locally, another Korean product.[/quote]
it's 100% made in malaysia for malaysian. no connection whatsoever with korea. it's the first p1 product with the 'made in malaysia' seal.
Tahniah kpd Proton?
Exora memang gempak.
syukur pada Allah krn Malaysia telah berjaya mengeluarkan sebuah MPV yg grand 1st class punye..
besaq pn besaq..
lawa pn lawa..
jom semua rakyat Malaysia g tgk kat showroom anda yg terdekat.
sokonglh produk Malaysia.
;O )
[quote comment="230918"]lagi satu…aku pekerja kelas bawahan…kewangan hanya cukup makan…tak arif pasai bab kereta ni..lepas baca komen pakar pakar sekalian…ada 2 soalan,
1.. adakah sistem kenderaan kita terlalu membebankan rakyat pasal setiap kali ada proton ada pasal cukai sekaligus..
2.. sekiranya betul betul parah sekali, bukankah kita patut boikotnya? kenapa ada yang terus jadi buta?
i ni ilmu cetek jer..harap jgn marah dengan persoalan i..cuma saya dah jemu jadi miskin..miskin pasal sendiri takpe..ni pasal dirompak terang terang…[/quote]
Tengok & dgr boleh la proton nih, nak beli tolong pikir 1000 kali. Dalam video semua cantik semua ok…realiti ? huh
Lagi baik tunggu dan lihat, lihat pengalaman org yg beli exora…jgn dgr ckp salesman…hu hu hu
Jgn dgr cakap perompak wang rakyat…huh
this MPV cannot seat seven adults "comfortably" as claimed by proton.
it is the same category as kia caren as far as seats are concerned. I seated at the back seat for 5 minutes and it was so uncomfortable and my waist and knees started to give way. Mind you i am just 5' 3'' and weigh 60 kg. It cannot even beat avanza for 7 seater. the rest is ok, just wait for a few months to see if there is any major problems.
[quote comment="230960"][quote comment="230918"]lagi satu…aku pekerja kelas bawahan…kewangan hanya cukup makan…tak arif pasai bab kereta ni..lepas baca komen pakar pakar sekalian…ada 2 soalan,
i ni ilmu cetek jer..harap jgn marah dengan persoalan i..cuma saya dah jemu jadi miskin..miskin pasal sendiri takpe..ni pasal dirompak terang terang…[/quote]
Tengok & dgr boleh la proton nih, nak beli tolong pikir 1000 kali. Dalam video semua cantik semua ok…realiti ? huh
Lagi baik tunggu dan lihat, lihat pengalaman org yg beli exora…jgn dgr ckp salesman…hu hu hu
Jgn dgr cakap perompak wang rakyat…huh[/quote]
Sikap yg mcm ni la sebenarnya yg membuatkan Malaysia berada tahap sekarang. Macam mana nak maju. Aku rasa orang2 macam ni yg sebenarnya keje kat vendor2 Proton, tu yang Proton takleh nk kuarkan kete yang the best. Cubalah orang M'sia ni ubah sikap sket, think positive. Asyik pikir negative mana tak sume benda jadi negative?
First!