MBSJ imposing heavier penalty on serious parking violations in Subang Jaya, surroundings from Aug 1

MBSJ will be imposing heavier penalties in the form of stiffer fines for serious parking violations in the council’s jurisdiction, and it begins on August 1.

According to The Star, the offences include premises placing objects to book or obstruct parking bays, parking at non-designated spots, running businesses such as car wash and car repair on parking bays, as well as food trucks occupying public parking bays.

Deputy mayor of Subang Jaya Mohd Zulkurnain Che Ali said the early bird discount given to those who pay their parking saman within 24 hours has also been removed.

“Previously, all traffic compounds were fixed at RM80, with an option of automatic reduction if the fine is paid early. However, after reviewing several parking offences considered as serious, MBSJ decided to remove the option for reduction,” he said yesterday.

Mohd Zulkurnain added that the compound for heavy vehicles that park and obstruct parking spots meant for other motorists has been increased from RM80 to RM300, with no option for reduction.

MBSJ legal department director Anita Abd Jalil said the move was necessary to ensure motorists take the matter seriously. “Motorists who don’t comply with the order are causing obstruction or inconvenience to other road users. Prior to this, the option for compound reduction meant that motorists would pay only RM10 if the fine was settled within 24 hours. They took things for granted since the fine was a small sum,” she said.

Anita explained that food trucks are not allowed to occupy public parking spots to run their businesses, and can only set up shop at designated food truck areas such as Dataran SS13, or for events at the invitation of the organisers.

“As for heavy vehicles, they are required to park at depots or designated spots. But some take the easy way out by parking in bays meant for cars and take up a few lots at that, thus denying other motorists a parking space,” she added.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• call me by your name on Jul 28, 2023 at 12:26 pm

they have the same luxury food truck in SJ?

• Azmin on Jul 28, 2023 at 12:48 pm

Got Saman from majlis perbandaran. No wonder I can’t renew my roadtax for my Tesla Y.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • longjaafar on Jul 28, 2023 at 1:06 pm

Kudos to MBSJ! DBKL is still “studying” the matter, perhaps. Just look at the traffic situation in TTDI. It is a lawless area with arrogant, selfish, and inconsiderate motorists.

• anonimus on Jul 28, 2023 at 2:35 pm

cant piss off the rich and influential residents there

• Ahmadjr on Jul 28, 2023 at 4:33 pm

Syukurrla I just now every Friday noon triple parking to do my prayers but no saman. Terbaik mantap trimekaseh krjn PHBN Perpaduan prihatinn..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Angry Voters on Jul 28, 2023 at 6:59 pm

Kudos yr head! Try to understand why there is a chronic shortage of parking at MBSJ kawasan. Go see PJ New Town, even before 10am you cannot find open parking anymore so how to do business if customers cannot find parking.
      Think la stupid MBSJ!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • MBSJ is the best on Jul 29, 2023 at 12:36 am

If you don’t like, you can just go back to your hometown

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • SIA jim on Oct 11, 2023 at 8:37 pm

Why no action taken by mbkl or police for parking violators double parking long hours at Jalan aminuddin baki on the outer road. This happens daily

• Joyce on Jul 28, 2023 at 2:20 pm

Please look at SS2. Parking as the driver likes. Even entrances & exit also block by parking cars. Lanes also block by parking. Once i went in to the lane & was block & had to reverse all the way back. No fines or towing of vehicles that simply park in SS2. Even the food trucks can put few tables in parking lots. Shop owners put items to reserve parking lots. So where is the Majlis??. We want action. Not talking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Goreng pisang seller on Jul 28, 2023 at 4:54 pm

Hi bandaraya, radin bagus sri petaling please take action.

• PKHow on Jul 28, 2023 at 6:24 pm

That’s a very good move. Keep up good work & hope it’s follow through

• ArnoldLimau on Jul 29, 2023 at 2:18 am

Damn, the food truck caught mi eyes. A big fan of it. Had it in Taiwan.

• Junkies otr on Jul 29, 2023 at 10:42 am

What about those obstructing 5 foot way n backplates?

• Frankie on Jul 29, 2023 at 12:09 pm

Pls also saman those without oku sticker parking lot

• Need three specialists to certified disability on Jul 29, 2023 at 3:17 pm

OKU stickers readily available at stationery shops and car accessories stores.

• Anna James on Jul 30, 2023 at 4:26 pm

It is a common sight to see a chair placed at the parking bay to obstruct parking. Can we remove the chair and park? Do shopowners have the right to obstruct carpark?

• Bargain hunter on Jul 30, 2023 at 6:19 pm

I think we can remove the chair. Biggest problem is the prick shop owners who might scratch or do something to the car instead

• Bargainhunter on Jul 30, 2023 at 6:17 pm

What is the contact / website to report on these offences?

• Pissed-off Road User on Jun 25, 2024 at 2:36 pm

MBSJ summon people for bad habbits is fine, but summon the developer too for inadequate parking facilities as thats the leading cause of parking related offences.