BYD mulls setting up an EV plant in the Philippines

Chinese automaker BYD is reportedly exploring the possibility of setting up an EV assembly plant in the Philippines, but said that such a move would very much depend on the level of government support and incentives, including tax exemptions, the Philippine Daily Inquirer reports.

According to James Ng, BYD MD for its Philippines and Singapore units, the company was still in the exploratory stage and studying the feasibility of developing a local assembly line. “We have no plans at the moment, but we are exploring,” he said.

Ng added that the automaker was presently focusing on its distributorship partnership with AC Motors, an Ayala Corporation subsidiary. Earlier this month, BYD and AC Motors announced a partnership deal in which 12 BYD dealerships are expected to be opened in the Philippines over the course of the next 12 months, with the Atto 3 SUV set to be introduced by the end of the year.

The Philippines isn’t the only country in the region vying to set up a BYD plant. Earlier this year, it was reported that Vietnam and Indonesia are also competing with it to host an EV assembly plant for the Chinese EV maker.

Like Indonesia, the Philippines is also a major producer of nickel reserves, reportedly the second-largest producer of the resource globally in 2022, making it a good option for producers of EVs and batteries, where the metal is key raw material.

Having previously missed out on investment opportunities due to its costly power rates, the country is positioning itself as a hub for sustainable manufacturing facilities. By 2040, it aims to increase the share of renewable energy to half of its electricity mix from around 30% currently.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Nurul Izzah on Aug 22, 2023 at 2:07 pm

Anwar menang, investment mari

• Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 22, 2023 at 4:36 pm

Its okay, Anwar later say we are not competing with Pinoy too. To his BAR we should only be competing with Zimbabwe. Deswai his macais keep saying Malaysia will become Zimbabwe of Asia soon, they will make this their dream come true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
      • You fake news supplier on Aug 23, 2023 at 12:23 am

If Malaysia is becoming Zimbabwe of Asia, then MYR should also be like Zimbabwean dollar, with bank notes printed with more zeroes than you can count with your fingers. But biggest MYR bank note still has only 2 zeroes. So, stop lying.

• The Truth on Aug 22, 2023 at 6:10 pm

Anwar menang, investment lari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Honda used to assemble cars in Philippines (led to the wacky 3-4-3 10 seater 2nd generation CR-V) but ceased assembly operations in 2020.

• Celup King on Aug 22, 2023 at 2:25 pm

Dulu with Azminkor they say want to come here, now Azminkor & Sabrikor is gone, BYD oso cabut lari when they see the inept & incompetent PH somehow manage to con their way into being Gomen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
    • Kea Was on Aug 22, 2023 at 3:16 pm

Probably more like his team too much direct negotiation tender given to cronies only making them scared to come back here also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Kantoi But Still Wanna Defend on Aug 22, 2023 at 6:16 pm

Want to lie to who? Under their leadership, we got Porsche to come, we got VW to allow CKD of Golf GTI the first ever outside of Germany, Chery came to setup a factory unlike a certain T brand that came just to sell their cars, we nearly got BYD to setup a CKD here too but evidently they went to Phil instead. Direct nego or whatnot, who cares as we get their business. Now you can talk about tender all you like until turn blue but we still aren’t pulling them back so what is the point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Aug 22, 2023 at 8:28 pm

Dude, go migrate to Singkieland or just move to Kelantan. No menteri is gonna read your wall of text here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
        • We get their business? on Aug 23, 2023 at 12:51 am

No lah. They came to get business from us & if possible, from neighbouring countries. These companies run on profits from sales, not from local politics.

• Peppa on Aug 22, 2023 at 3:52 pm

So what? If you are so lusting over byd then go to their homeland then. There are piles of abandoned byds on the field.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 22, 2023 at 4:39 pm

We want foreign FDI not simply kosong MOU saja. We dun care if the FDI is a black car or white cat as long as it comes here it is a Good Cat. Now we have no cats but lots of rats like yourselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
        • Even cats can't escape on Aug 23, 2023 at 12:45 am

from your fake news. Since when Malaysia has no cats?

• Fake News on Aug 23, 2023 at 8:03 am

Fake news. We don’t have pedigree cats we only have stray cats but upsold by PH to look like pedigree but they aren’t fooling anyone but themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
          • Thanks again for confirming. on Aug 23, 2023 at 11:55 am

Thank you for confirming that your story of PH upselling stray cats as pedigree cats, is actually fake news.

• Yup. PH is all about fake news after all bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • Thanks bro on Aug 23, 2023 at 3:19 pm

Thanks bro. Now we know you’re another creator of fake news.

• Mike Tee on Aug 22, 2023 at 5:13 pm

The “thousands of abandoned China EV proves fake EV sales number” story has been debunked. Inside China Auto (non-Chinese channel) went on site to find out the truth. And those abandoned EVs are Neta Vs, not BYDs, that are part of rideshare companies that have gone bust.

If you do not want to change your mind and I am sure you don’t, do not watch that video

• pravda on Aug 23, 2023 at 7:41 am

BYD company as commercial branch of Zhongguo Gongchandang does not care about politicians in small south east Asian countries & does not run away. It will find way to make as much profit possible for the party & the motherland from people in small South East Asian countries.

• Sohai on Aug 22, 2023 at 3:02 pm

Having it in Philippines is not quite the same. They are a left hand drive market, suitable to serve America and Europe.
    For right hand drive production, please come to Malaysia. We shall also inject some Lotus tuning.

• Kantoi But Still Wanna Defend on Aug 22, 2023 at 6:18 pm

You think they will come when PH openly profess their hatred & mistrust for China? Go figure. Maybe if PH gets replace as the Federal Govt perhaps they might consider it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
      • vi.02xx23 on Aug 23, 2023 at 12:38 am

PH is said to hate & mistrust China but PN says China is DAP motherland.

• pravda on Aug 23, 2023 at 7:29 am

Zhongguo Gongchandang is the only power in the motherland. Other parties are strictly not allowed.

• Lets See on Aug 23, 2023 at 9:44 am

PN says China is DAP motherland. But PN never said they hate China. See the difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • The difference is how you see it. on Aug 23, 2023 at 12:24 pm

If PN hates DAP but doesn’t hate China, it shouldn’t associate DAP & China via the motherland relationship.

• vi.02xx23 on Aug 23, 2023 at 12:50 pm

PN doesn’t need to say they hate China. They just link China as the motherland of what they hate, DAP.

• Lets See on Aug 23, 2023 at 2:42 pm

PN never said they hated DAP either. But PH macais clearly said they hate China dulu dan kini. So it is not PN that chased China away but it was the hatred from PH. See the difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
          • Are you trying to spin doctor out of your own mess? on Aug 23, 2023 at 3:38 pm

Are you trying to spin doctor your way out of your own mess? Didn’t PN say no to DAP? May be you also say no to crime without hating crime.

• Logical Deduction on Aug 24, 2023 at 8:59 am

cingcong = DAP/PH = hate China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • Why China again? on Aug 24, 2023 at 5:02 pm

Looks like mossad ordered to you to stay back & try destabilising the country again with fake news involving China.

• You also fake news? on Aug 23, 2023 at 12:59 am

If PH openly profess their hatred & mistrust for China, Geely should have already pulled out of the country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • pravda on Aug 23, 2023 at 7:33 am

All companies from the motherland are commercial branches of Zhongguo Gongchandang.

• Look how PH in 2018 treated Proton & Geely fter they got preferential treatment from PM Najib for coming here, even threatening to come out 3rd national car to fight against Proton/Geely partnership. Thanks to Najib they have invested here so not so easy to pull out but they nearly did if P3 had went ahead.

• PM7 was PM4 on Aug 23, 2023 at 12:15 pm

The 2018 PH admin was led by PM7 who was PM4. Indeed he was against PM6 & seemed intent to undo what PM6 had done. So, the mainland ruling party sent in alibaba boss to meet PM7 as their unofficial ambassador of commerce, to cool things off. Geely got to continue with their business plans & PM6 became a special guest of the government in Kajang.

• From the web on Aug 23, 2023 at 2:57 pm

PM6 Gomen siapa? BN (Geely masuk)
            PM7 Gomen siapa? PH (China lari)
            PM8&9 Gomen siapa? PN&BN (Chery masuk)
            PMX Gomen siapa? PH (China lari)

Nuff said kthxbye

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
          • China lari? on Aug 23, 2023 at 3:47 pm

China lari? Negara besar dgn tentera besar takut dgn ahli2 politik negara yg lebih kecil? Para pelancong dari China pun dah mula kembali bercuti di Malaysia.

• Lets See on Aug 23, 2023 at 12:57 pm

AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 22, 2023 at 8:16 pm
          dulu najib pun jual negara ke china…

This is proof that PH macais sow hatred to China. Nuff said, case closed, PH guilty. End of story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
          • You must be the kindergarten judge on Aug 23, 2023 at 4:03 pm

You bring a comment here from another thread in another article & you childishly pass your own personal verdict, play acting like judge, jury & executioner. But the reality is that this is just the comment section for grown-ups, not a children’s play room for you.

• Lets See on Aug 23, 2023 at 6:44 pm

Sori bro ur just slapping ur face for showing ur hatred to China and now denying it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
          • Nobody's gonna slap own face. on Aug 23, 2023 at 10:04 pm

Sorry for you bro. Nobody is going to slap own face just because you childishly say so.

• You're just a play acting kindergarten judge on Aug 24, 2023 at 7:34 am

You have to stop your kindergarten judge play acting antics. Nobody’s going to care about your ‘slapping your own face’ sentencing.

• Bad Move on Aug 23, 2023 at 9:00 am

Bad move if BYD set up a plant in Pinoy land. Marco jr is a paid puppet for Washington. This could be a potential disaster for BYD as the Pinoy gov is very unstable especially when it comes to its policies. There is no way Philippines can make any decision on any policies without the green light from America. I suggest BYD better consider Vietnam,Laos, Indonesia instead. Malaysia would be nice but I believe our current gov is also a semi paid puppet of the USA

• Squid on Aug 23, 2023 at 9:46 am

This is obvoiusly BYDs tactics to get the best government deal. They’re hoping other governments will notice and start making offers.

• Bangala on Aug 23, 2023 at 3:11 pm

Of course laa bila meminang jodoh mesti la pick the best deal, tak kan la doctor mau kawin dgn Bangala. Tapi janji2 lepas kawin tu mesti mau tunangkan, jangan jadik macam ketua2 PH hanya tau janji manis tapi xde niat mau bagi lepas dah jadik gomen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • tiktokkok on Aug 23, 2023 at 7:04 pm

tak apa, bangala. kalau tak suka politik malaysia, nanti ada abg jim dtg utk uruskan hantar bangala balik ke kampung halaman, kembali ke sisi keluarga yg disayangi.

• GIL TAALA on Aug 24, 2023 at 11:14 am

BYD car is ok. We know that the car is from China. But the problem is the Chinese business people whom we cannot trust because of their bad business behavior and crazy style. Look what happened in WPS, the same old story. No standing honor or words of honor

• Gil Taala on Aug 24, 2023 at 11:19 am

What happened to my comments, may be blown by the wind