More AWAS speed cameras at new locations, e-plate compatibility being studied – dep transport minister

Frequent travellers, do you know of any other country where vehicle number plates are not standardised and can be made at random shops, like in Malaysia? I can’t think of any at the moment, and even if there are such jurisdictions, surely they are in the minority? Perhaps with e-plates, Malaysia can move towards standardisation?

Deputy transport minister Datuk Hasbi Habibollah mentioned RFID-equipped electronic number plates in the Dewan Rakyat today, when answering a question on speed cameras. He said that there might be newer AWAS cameras in the future that are e-plate compatible.

“As for improvements, there may be additional newer cameras installed but not in their current form, at new locations but this is still being studied in regards to e-plate usage,” he said in response to a question by Libaran MP Datuk Suhaimi Nasir, reported by Malay Mail.

In March, transport minister Anthony Loke said that digital number plates would not be compulsory if Putrajaya introduces the system, as vehicle owners would incur additional costs to switch over. But if something like this is voluntary, take-up won’t be great, would it?

Going digital could mean that road blocks will be faster and easier, and it might make it more difficult for cloned cars and fake number plates to exist. It’s almost like cash versus digital transactions – what do you think of e-plates?

As for the number of AWAS cameras, there are currently 45 units across the country and Hasbi said studies by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) found that compliance with speed limit and traffic laws camera locations exceeded 99%. This translates to much reduced risk of accidents at AWAS locations a.k.a. black spots.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Fabian Chong on Nov 01, 2023 at 2:56 pm

Instead of AWAS camera, we should implement average speed limit.

Phase 1
    Implement an average speed limit on closed highways. It costs almost nothing to do so. PLUS already know what time a vehicle enters and exits, and they know how fast people have been driving.

Phase 2
    Equip police with mobile devices to connect to PLUS system. It will allow them to check the vehicles’ average speed at the rest stop.

Phase 3
    Fines collected can fund e-plates and permanent average speed camera gantry at a random location

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
    • Veyron Owner on Nov 01, 2023 at 5:52 pm

Instead of adding more cameras, Pakatan should walk their talk. Back when they were in Opposition they bantah AES kawkaw until they went around and covered them. Now as gahmen they should be removing them rather than putting up extras! Walk your talk, Pakatan!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • Vedder on Nov 01, 2023 at 8:09 pm

Cameras for ppl safety n govt coffers. So it’s ok

• The very people who first placed the AES cameras would now be opposing because they are in the opposition. So, let them play their games. And as disciplined motorists, let us welcome these safety efforts and punish regulation breakers. Safety First.

• Mike Tee on Nov 02, 2023 at 11:42 am

12 dislikes and 8 likes on average speed limit. Why? You prefer to go over the speed limit because you are safer than other drivers at illegal speeds?

We should make Speed Awareness Course a thing like the UK. Either pay something ridiculous like RM1,500 for speeding or attend a speed awareness course. Everyone chooses SAC. You’d be surprised by what you don’t know and learn how speed kills.

• When sitting for tests, semus tahu. After getting licensed, got amnesia or became illiterate?

• How would you track those speeders beating speed limits and take a long break at R&R?

• Hadi Bijak on Nov 01, 2023 at 3:11 pm

To deter over speeding, better to install speed limiter 110kmh in every single car sold in MY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 18
    • Slowcar on Nov 10, 2023 at 3:03 pm

So Fararri also with fixed 110km/h ? Then Naza sure tapau…

• plenty ttdi villa has Hellfire clones on Nov 01, 2023 at 3:56 pm

Standardized rfid integrated vehicle plate shall not cost more than lowest rm20 annual road tax right? Unless it’s made of exotic material LOL

• LOL can buy your DIY number plate via shopee lazada on Nov 02, 2023 at 3:29 pm

Go pressure demands your MP to amend jpj law empowering only POS office, hire-purchase bank finance branch, or maybe MyEG kiosk to issue Tampered-proof RFID license plate.

• Peppa on Nov 01, 2023 at 4:29 pm

Good idea but they need to tackle the root of the problem. Motorist got saman for fancy plate but the shops that are selling them laughing in the corner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • M50B25 on Nov 01, 2023 at 4:50 pm

More cameras at traffic lights junctions please. Use the same AI ones and not the dumb traffic cameras to catch the motorcyclist

• Gomorrah on Nov 01, 2023 at 9:00 pm

Starting to think this RFID bullsh*t is more about tracking citizens and preventing freedom of movement than it is about law enforcement and revenue collection. Why keep pushing this? There is literally a cheap fix by making plates completely JPJ issued and stamped in metal. They did this 22 years ago for a short period and there is as yet no good explanation by any of the transport ministers since that time as to why this move was abandoned. Crazy. Soon somebody will get contract for new AES cameras that can interface with RFID at some ridiculous cost to the taxpayer. And then we’ll all be forced to change our number plates. Korang gila la. Sudah takde duit lagi mau bikin kerja bodoh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Joe B on Nov 01, 2023 at 10:46 pm

Non of any political party that became the Malaysian government took actions on enforcing the regulations on motorbike riders and commercials.. We see more bikes, buses and trucks zig zag on the roads more than passenger vehicles. We had bike lanes in certain highways, still you will see bikes not using it instead. Commercial license specifically spells that you keep to furthest left lane unless overtaking a vehicle but still maintaining the limit of 80/90 kmph. Overload trucks are all over sandblasting cars and riders behind them, tinted screens, fancy wheels and F-16 like exhaust pipes. Our JPJ and Puspakom having different approvals on car tints. Instead of improving things, our government are spending more without transparecies. All these years, all the tax paid monies spent were never disclosed of the progress, success or even why it failed. It is very irresponsible for any Government to think that they can escape the problem from the past, you inherit it. Such an embarrassment.

• problem is that at AES location with 110km/h, all the bodo slowed down to 80km/h and even 60km/h. like helllooo the speed limit is 110, you can still pass safely at 110. can also re-educate all drivers to drive at least speed limit on the middle lane when the right is for overtaking, otherwise abolist overtaking lane as ppl misunderstood and misused it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Mike Tee on Nov 02, 2023 at 11:44 am

That’s why Advanced Driver Assistance Systems (ADAS) are so good. GPS knows the speed limit for every section, for temporary speed limits, camera will scan the sign and reduce accordingly

• dulu nak buang eas sekarang jilat balik. dasar menteri komunis

• Dasar parti2 yg suka kena ikatan on Nov 02, 2023 at 12:13 pm

Ye kan….kalau menteri penunggang x buat camni kan…..

• Abdul Majid bin Abdul Manaf on Nov 03, 2023 at 9:04 am

I notice trailers and buses speeding regardless of the presence of AWAS. Why are these drivers are not complying to the speed limit shown on the back of the trailers and buses is merely because the speed limit recorded by AWAS is 110 kmh onwards, and not as specified by the speed limit imposed on them. More often then not, we will notice these drivers drive faster than cars.
    I would also like to suggest that enforcement officers use unmarked cars to take action on them.

• Can put any number of cameras, but the journey apps on smartphones alert the drivers ” Speed Trap detected!”. So, can catch only those who do not activate these apps.