Proton S70 is based on Geely Emgrand, not Preface

With the announcement that the Proton S70 sedan has entered production and its order books have opened, many may be aware that the C-segment sedan is based on an existing Geely model.

What may not (yet) be common knowledge is that the S70 is based on the Emgrand, a Geely BMA platform-based B-segment model sold in the Philippines rival to the likes of the Toyota Vios and the Honda City. The S70 therefore, is not a model based on the Geely Preface or Xing Rui, despite earlier confusion that presumed the S70 is to be based on that car.

That confusion arose from the Emgrand-based Proton that was previously thought to be named S50. A theoretical, larger Proton sedan was visually rendered by Theophilus Chin, and so that larger car, then thought to be named ‘S70’, was imagined to be based on the Geely Preface/Xing Rui that is on Geely’s Compact Modular Architecture (CMA) platform.

Geely Preface-based rendition of Proton Perdana replacement by Theophilus Chin

Now that the S70 nameplate has in fact been confirmed ahead of its unveiling, a sedan larger than the S70 would mean stepping up to a larger number, and so the odd-multiple-of-10 convention so far used by Proton means the next step in the progression would be ‘S90’. That would present a naming issue as an S90 already exists courtesy of Volvo, and even if Proton broke with convention, so does an S80, for that matter.

The positioning of the S70 as a C-segment car means that any Preface/Xing Rui-based Proton model would be a D-segment model, however that may be academic as the D-segment category has been shrinking amid the market’s growing appetite for SUVs, and that Perdana replacement is therefore unlikely to materialise.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Wahab Tan Abdullah on Nov 03, 2023 at 6:50 pm

Many will hapgred from their current city n vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • since its another rebadged on Nov 03, 2023 at 7:36 pm

Why not naming it the new Inspira?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • DonkeyKong on Nov 03, 2023 at 8:43 pm

Just call it Perdana. Why bother with using an alphabet + number system across the board? The Iriz is still the Iriz, the Persona is still the Persona. In the same vein, let this be the Perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Hahaha on Nov 05, 2023 at 3:52 pm

Perdana was d-segment lol. Using tat name is a huge downgrade.

• By calling S70 and categorising it as a C-segment car, Proton hopes to charge more money for it. The greed is going to be its own undoing I tell you. Any idiot can tell that the S70 cannot compete with the ‘god car ‘ Civic, and just because it’s a little cheaper, it’s not going to sell, I tell you. Gonna be like the hangat-hangat tahi ayam X90 in terms of grabbing market share – just how many X90s have you actually seen on the road?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • Random guy on Nov 04, 2023 at 6:41 pm

I had been reading all these “it is not going to sell”, “how many of this actually seen on the road” remarks before and after the launching of X50. Guess what, now X50 can be seen almost everywhere on the road.

Let’s see if you will eat your own words this time for S70.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Syaiful Nizam Hassan on Nov 06, 2023 at 3:33 pm

I agree with you, not many X90 on the roads, maybe unless the rear end should be major facelifted.

• car with no name on Nov 04, 2023 at 10:52 am

Should just stick with the Preve name or maybe name it Evolvé (pronouns as Ee-vol-vay).

• Levin on Nov 04, 2023 at 11:09 am

MPI engine uses timing belt, good luck Proton S70. Premium car price but primitive technology.

• topkek on Nov 05, 2023 at 12:12 am

people been saying this since before x50 launch but today x50 is everywhere lol

• Tan Chin sown on Nov 04, 2023 at 1:09 pm

Was looking forward to the S50 that rival the Vios and City… Now the S70 to rival Altis and Civic??? With everybody know it is Geely Emgrand that rival Vios and City… I better save my money and keep my old car…

• Paparadzi on Nov 04, 2023 at 4:11 pm

What Proton need is an EV based on the Geely’s SEA platform

• Ooooo on Nov 05, 2023 at 3:51 pm

Haha so basically taking a cheap b-segment and upsell as c-segment

• Hopefully Proton can really look into spare part supply and not just launching new model!