2024 Proton S70 sedan’s official launch date is Nov 28

Proton has started a countdown to the official launch of the Proton S70 sedan. The time is 4.30 pm and the date is November 28, which is seven days from now.

“Embark on a journey where safety meets sophistication with the Proton S70. Designed on the world-class BMA platform, this exceptional sedan promises to redefine your drive with unparalleled intelligence that adapts to every journey. As the countdown begins, join us in unveiling the ‘Intelligence that Evolves’ on November 28. Your adventure awaits!” the social media caption reads.

Yes, the S70 rides on Geely’s BMA platform, which also underpins the Proton X50. It’s based on the Geely Emgrand sedan, which has dimensions that are in between current B- and C-segment sedans. Proton has elected to call it a C-sedan, with the ’70’ name to match.

Click to enlarge specs, colour chart

Also more C than B-sedan is the 1.5L turbo engine and seven-speed dual-clutch gearbox combo. This is the same pairing found in the non-Flagship X50, which means a 1.5-litre port-injected three-cylinder engine with 150 PS/226 Nm, and not the 177 PS/255 Nm 1.5L TGDi from the X50 Flagship and X70 MC. The Emgrand uses a 1.5L NA + CVT combo elsewhere but the 1.5T MPI is made in Tanjong Malim so it makes perfect business sense to use in the S70.

The S70 will come in four variants, but we’ll call it ‘3+’. Unlike the X50, there’s no Standard variant, and the sedan’s range starts from Executive. The mid-level spec is Premium and the top one is the Flagship. The Flagship X makes it four, but the only difference the ‘X’ brings is a sunroof and an exclusive Quartz Black paint option.

We’ve already detailed the Proton S70, gave you a through walk-around tour and shared our first impressions test drive notes – the only mystery left is the price. Expect a price range that covers the RM70+k to RM100k ground, which is currently Honda City/Toyota Vios territory. Full details here.

GALLERY: Proton S70 1.5T Flagship X

GALLERY: Proton S70 presentation

GALLERY: Proton S70 official images

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• newme on Nov 21, 2023 at 5:05 pm

Did Geely’s boss object Mercedes donation to the middle east conflict?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • ClownsEverywhere on Nov 24, 2023 at 10:41 am

You want to boycott then boycott, boycott everything, masuk balik gua.

• Abe jo on Nov 21, 2023 at 8:02 pm

Station wagon please. . We don’t want carrying box top on the roof of the car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • abe jo on Nov 21, 2023 at 8:10 pm

Imagine saga cheap entry level with manual box . Station wagon . I would want one. Carrying my folding bike . Rb or mtb. Not to mention on car boot sale. Totally what we need now. People change . Now people can accept boxy car. Even juara now looked as a beauty. Functionality superceded beauty. And now it is beautiful when it is functional

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Tips for Malaysian:
    1. B segment = Vios / City / Almera
    2. C segment = Go for a used D segment car

• Nonsense on Nov 22, 2023 at 2:16 pm

Lol afford to buy isn’t the same as afford to own. Please stay on C, else you’ll be charged with premium during service, and dangerous cheap 18 inch tyres that doesn’t break bank. Big engine doesn’t come with cheap spare parts neither. Remember it’s a used car.

• Uncle driver on Nov 22, 2023 at 9:46 am

Interested to know the price and specs of the exec and premium only. A nice leather seat and simple reverse camera sufficient for me, those sunroof, adas, acc are totally useless for me.

• Civic Type Rawr on Nov 22, 2023 at 2:29 pm

Correct, I’d go up to premium only. My completely analog E36 never had a dent until I sold her. No need fancy tech if know how to drive properly. I need screen for navigation only, other than that it’s a complete distraction. Reverse sensors has never failed me even once.

• Outalingam Crap on Nov 23, 2023 at 1:22 pm

Circa 85k – 90k MYR ballpark, if I’m not mistaken