2024 Proton S70 details, first impressions – 1.5T 7DCT; 150PS, 226 Nm; C-segment sedan at City/Vios price?

Unlike many of Proton’s recent new model launches, the Proton S70’s gestation period is relatively short. First official details and images surfaced on November 1, and last week, we attended a media preview in Shah Alam to get up close with, and behind the wheel of Proton’s latest sedan on the company’s test track. We may be at the tail end of 2023, but the S70 will be launched before the year closes.

UPDATE: The S70 is now launched, priced from RM73,800 to RM94,800 – full report here

For now, we’ll share all that we know about the S70, barring a few elements still under wraps such as accessories and pricing. I see many debates about the segment of the S70, and I’m not surprised that there’s a (heated, as always with Protons) conversation on this, because it’s not straightforward – even the media were discussing this at the event.

The Great Debate

So, is the S70 a B- or C-segment sedan? Well, it’s based on the Geely Emgrand, which sits on the BMA platform, and the car has a 1.5 litre NA engine/CVT combo elsewhere – 1.5L CVT is of course the ASEAN B-segment default set by the Toyota Vios and Honda City.

In fact, everyone thought that car codenamed SS11 would be called ‘Proton S50’ till we saw spyshots of the S70 badge last month. The expected pricing of the S70 is also squarely within the City-Vios space, and the two class stalwarts were chosen as rivals in the media preview acceleration test.

It’s a B then. But Proton complicates things (by design, I’m sure) by giving the sedan the ’70’ name. Officially, Proton is calling this a C-segment sedan, and ’70’ ties in with the X70, a C-SUV. The carmaker has also plonked in a 1.5 litre turbo engine and dual-clutch gearbox in place of the 1.5L NA CVT that powers the Emgrand in China and the Philippines. Think 1.5T, think Honda Civic, right?

What about dimensions? Glad you asked. We don’t have Proton’s figures yet, but the Emgrand is 4,638 mm long and 1,822 mm wide, with a 2,650 mm wheelbase. That’s 58 mm longer and 74 mm wider than a Honda City, and the S70’s wheelbase is 50 mm longer too. In fact, the S70 is longer and wider than the Preve and Inspira, Proton’s previous two C-segment sedans.

It’s a C then. But cars grow in size, and a Civic then (FB, when the Preve was launched) isn’t the same as a Civic now. On that note, today’s Civic FE is 40 mm longer than the S70, and the Honda’s 2,735 mm wheelbase is 85 mm longer. The Civic’s WB advantage over the S70 is more than the Proton’s advantage over the City. All of the Civic, Toyota Corolla and Mazda 3 are also lower slung than the S70, giving them sportier proportions.

We’ll leave it up to you to place the S70, as it’s a bit of a mishmash. Outside of car guy circles, Proton calling their new sedan C-segment will enable salesmen to use the “Civic rival at City price” good value pitch, just like what they did with the X70.

Turbo-DCT from X50

We already know that the S70 will have turbo power instead of the Emgrand’s standard 1.5L NA unit, but now we can confirm that the turbo engine in question is the 1.5-litre port-injected three-cylinder engine that powers the X50 Standard to Premium, and not the 177 PS/255 Nm 1.5L TGDi unit in the X50 Flagship and X70 MC. Like in the non-Flagship X50, the 1.5L MPI unit’s output is 150 PS/226 Nm in the S70.

For those keeping count, the Civic’s 1.5-litre four-cylinder VTEC turbo engine makes 182 PS and 240 Nm, which is 32 PS and 14 Nm more than the S70. As for the NA B-segment duo, the City has 121 PS/145 Nm (S70 +29 PS, +81 Nm) and the Vios’ 2NR-VE has 106 PS/138 Nm (S70 +44 PS, +88 Nm). Proton claims 0-100 km/h in around nine seconds.

Besides the point that a turbo engine would make the S70 a more convincing C-segment sedan, it also makes perfect business sense for Proton as the engine is already made in Tanjong Malim for the X50, while Geely’s 1.5L NA is not used in any current Proton. Using the engine in two models gives Proton better economies of scale, and in this case, the consumer benefits too. Ditto the seven-speed wet-clutch DCT.

Local input, deluxe Emgrand

Not much – it is what it is – but there’s some local input. In the switch from left- to right-hand drive (steering now perfectly centred in front of the driver by the way, no longer offset like in X50/X70), the S70 project saw the development of 453 new parts with the involvement of 283 local suppliers, Proton says. The sedan has 145 knocked down (KD) parts and 24 in-house Proton developed parts. Of course, the engine is made in Malaysia. A total of 260,000 man hours were utilised.

Still, the target is to reach 70% local content in a couple of years, deputy CEO Roslan Abdullah revealed at the media preview. That’s nowhere near the over 90% local content of Perodua models from launch, and non-national models probably source more from Malaysia. This is not of concern to the customer, of course, and we only spotted one Geely logo on the fleet of pre-production cars – on the sunroof.

The most obvious change from the Emgrand is the S70’s grille, which combines the ‘Infinite Weave’ and ‘Ethereal Bow’ cues from past Geely-Protons to form an elaborate yet neat grille with pins. The side edges of the grille are blacked out to emphasise the Ethereal Bow (lower border), and Proton’s new round tiger badge floats in the middle. To us, it’s a handsome face and one that’s much better looking than the Emgrand, which has vertical lines in its grille.

Everything else is as per the Geely, including G20 BMW 3 Series-style ‘side intakes’, the two-tone 17-inch wheels, the slightly jarring protrusion of chrome from the A pillars and the fancy rear LED full-width signatures.

Speaking of the rear lights, they perform a show when you unlock the car and appear to be naturally ‘smoked’ even in daylight. We’re also wondering why the smart entry button on the driver’s door handle is in chrome, and not hidden away in body colour. There’s no button on the passenger side by the way, and it’s a downgrade from the touch sensor on Proton’s SUVs.

If the exterior is largely Emgrand bar the grille and rear Proton badge, the interior is a deluxe version of the sedan compared to what’s available in the Philippines, and to a lesser degree, China. The default gear lever is a conventional tall stick, but Proton is offering the stubby ‘T-design’ electronic shifter from the X90, which looks way more advanced and premium.

More parts sharing with existing Protons (which are not from the original Emgrand) can be seen in the steering wheel from the X50. Also, the sedan’s cabin is peppered with a soft material that has a songket-inspired pattern. You can find this S70-exclusive trim on the dashboard and door armrests – it’s a nice touch.

The most important aspect of the local input is none other than the well-regarded ‘Proton ride and handling’. The carmaker says that the S70 is tuned for Malaysian roads and the R&D team spent 75,000 man hours and drove a combined 1.2 million km of development miles. Typically, Chinese cars are softly sprung and comfort-oriented to suit the local palate, but Malaysians drive faster and require more control, more dynamics.

However, Proton stoped short of changing the Emgrand’s rear suspension from a torsion beam to multi-links like they did with the X90. Independent rear suspension is a norm in the C-segment, whereas the City/Vios have a torsion beam. They did however upgrade the size of the front brakes to match the heavier turbo engine.

Lots of kit, at the top

The S70 will come in four variants, but we’ll call it ‘3+’. Unlike the X50, there’s no Standard variant, and the sedan’s range starts from Executive. The mid-level spec is Premium and the top one is the Flagship. The Flagship X makes it four, but the only difference the ‘X’ brings is a sunroof and an exclusive Quartz Black paint option.

Is the S70 well equipped? Yes, but the entry-level Executive is bound to look vastly different from the Flagship/Flagship X cars that were on duty at the media preview. Much of the exterior and interior bits that make the S70 look fancy (LED headlamps, rear LED signatures, 17-inch wheels that look just about large enough, digital meter panel, infotainment touchscreen) are not present in the Executive. A low entry price gets more eyeballs.

All variants have the same 1.5T 7DCT powertrain, six airbags, lane change assist and an electronic parking brake (we’re not 100% sure if auto hold is also standard across the board, but it should be). The Executive comes with fabric seats, halogen headlamps, 16-inch wheels and an 8.0-inch head unit. To get LED headlamps (projectors) and tail lamps, you’ll have to buy the Premium, which also adds on leatherette upholstery, auto air-con and a reverse camera.

LED headlamps have been standard on the Perodua Myvi since 2017, and even a RM40k Axia gets them, so the base S70 is nowhere near C-segment in terms of equipment. We’ll see what the price gap is between variants, but it looks like the Premium is where the range truly starts. Even so, there’s no ADAS at the midpoint.

Proton is once again reserving driver assist for the Flagship. The comprehensive ADAS suite includes Autonomous Emergency Braking with Forward Collision Warning, Adaptive Cruise Control with Stop & Go, Lane Departure Warning and Prevention, Lane Centring Control, Traffic Sign Information, Intelligent High Beam Control, Lane Change Assist (blind spot), Door Opening Warning, Rear Collision Warning and Rear Cross Traffic Alert. By the way, ADAS is not available on the Emgrand, so this is yet another Proton-exclusive feature.

The Flagship also gets a tyre pressure monitoring system, the 17-inch two-tone alloys you see here, the cockpit’s dual screen setup (10.3-inch meter, 12.3-inch infotainment with Hi Proton), wireless charger, powered driver’s seat (none of the B-segment players have this) and 360-degree camera with 3D display.

As mentioned, the Flagship X’s only extra piece of kit is the sunroof, but the range topper does get an exclusive Quartz Black paint option. Black isn’t a common colour for Protons – will this car be supplied to the government? The Flagship X can also be had in Snow White, Space Grey, Marine Blue and Teal Bayou Green – the latter is a new-to-Proton colour inspired by our tropical beaches.

The signature green and Marine Blue, which are the colours you see in the studio pics here, are reserved for the Flagship and above. The dark blue car has a five-piece bodykit consisting of a front lip, side skirts, rear bumper extension and a boot spoiler. Proton did not mention the bodykit in its presentation though, so we’ll have to wait for the launch for more details. No R3 logos on the kit, by the way.

First impressions

It could be just me, but there’s always a different kind of buzz when we’re seeing a Proton/Perodua for the first time. More anticipation and more pressure too, because it seems like national cars are well, of national interest – everyone talks about it, everybody wants to know about it, not just car people. We genuinely want to see the cars do well, but also have the duty to report as it is.

Kudos to Proton for having a couple of cars that it sees as the S70’s rivals at the preview. So confident they are that it wasn’t just the Vios and City present (that’s the price range P1 is aiming for) – we were all shocked to see the BMW 2 Series Gran Coupe and Mercedes-Benz A-Class Sedan parked alongside for static comparison! Surely not ‘Asia’s answer to BMW’ all over again? More on that later.

Our first impression of the S70 is a good one. This is a three-box sedan that’s handsome in a slightly old school way, and it reminds me of the third-generation Subaru Legacy (B4 RSK!). Proton might have just changed the grille of the Emgrand, but it’s a change for the better – the S70 looks more premium than the Geely. SUVs rule the market these days, but many guys still like sedans, and we think that the S70 will capture the imagination of many bros out there.

Step in and you’re greeted by a throughly contemporary cockpit with three of the most popular elements checked – horizontal dash layout (always emphasised by full-width look AC vents), a high centre console, and two screens (meter and central). The latter gives off a high-tech, advanced feel that goes well with (and is integral to) the minimalist design. Plenty of X90 elements, but the S70’s cockpit is way more stylish.

Look closer and you’ll find a delightful local touch – the passenger-facing piece of trim below the AC vents is soft to the touch and has a nice songket-inspired pattern. This material is repeated on the door armrests. This and the dash top both pass the knock-knock Malaysian showroom test – the dash top, which has stitching on the edge, feels solid. Also nice is the stitched pattern on the door cards, which reminds me of Asics’ Tiger Stripes.

This positive feel doesn’t flow into the centre console and doors; the latter is covered in scratchy hard plastic and the door handles, while nicely integrated design-wise, has a lacquer-like silver finish that feels cheap. So, overall perceived quality is a mixed bag, and sitting in the BMW 2GC after the S70 merely emphasised the gulf in premiumness.

To be fair, hard plastics are common in the B-segment, which the S70 will be priced against. But it’s Proton who’s calling it a C (Civic cabin feels more premium in touch and feel) and brought a BMW along. As mentioned, we like the design and advanced feel, and the IP is quality.

We pushed the S70 along a short course in Proton’s Shah Alam proving ground and also had it in a drag race with the City and Vios. It didn’t take long to deduce that the S70 is tuned for comfort rather than sport, as a sub-RM100k family sedan should be – it’s easy to drive with light and smooth steering, and primary ride comfort should be good, based on its calm, composed reaction to a dip in the course.

We didn’t try the sedan on rough surfaces, but based on trend and Proton’s well-proven capabilities in ride and handling, the S70 should be a well-damped, forgiving ride. Expect some lean on steady-state cornering from this relatively tall sedan, but nothing too disconcerting.

It depends on what your expectations are, but if you hear 1.5T DCT and think ‘VW TSI DSG’ or ‘Civic-beater’, be prepared to be disappointed. There’s a significant delay between your right foot asking for full throttle and the powertrain getting the message, so much so that the City consistently beats the S70 off the line.

But give the Proton enough road and it will eventually overtake and pull away from the Honda, as it should, being turbocharged. The Vios? Quite a distance away from the other two, literally. Away from the drag strip’s standing start, the in-gear acceleration of a turbocharged car would be useful in cut and thrust daily driving.

Speaking of the daily grind, we noticed that the S70’s transmission swaps gears pretty leisurely for a dual-clutch unit, and its engine is more audible than the Vios at idle and low speeds, while sounding coarser. When it comes to isolation, Toyota is tops – even the previous-generation Vios/current Yaris is more refined on the move. Personally, I feel that the lack of powertrain refinement is at odds with the premium messaging.

Moving to the back seat, we can report that the bench is nicely shaped and the seat base height is sufficient. The length is of the seat base is just about right for my 175 cm frame. The S70’s rear headroom betters the City and Vios – it was my first time in the Toyota and I was shocked that they signed this off, and I’m not even that tall.

The most layman way of measuring rear space is legroom, and you’ll expect the ‘C-segment’ car to romp home. Instead, if stretching your rear legs is an important consideration, the City and Vios have more acreage. Mind you, the S70 isn’t cramped by any means, but rear legroom is short of the ASEAN B-segment’s abnormally high bar. Also, if the driver’s seat is set to the lowest position, there’s not much room under it for feet to tuck into.

Anyhow, it’s decent at the back, and passengers get to enjoy AC vents (they look strangely ‘naked’ though), a centre armrest, and two USB ports (1x A, 1x C). As with the front doors, there are stitched stripes on the door cards and songket-patterned soft material on the side armrests. Boot volume is 500 litres and there’s a space saver spare wheel under the floor.

So, how does the S70 compare with its rivals, you ask. The answer depends on who you consider its rivals to be, as discussed above in The Great Debate. Proton is calling the S70 a C-segment sedan, but truth be told, the Honda Civic has it beat in touch, feel, drive and desirability. As such, there’s no need to discuss the BMW 2GC.

Click to enlarge specs, colour chart

However, the S70 could be priced to cover the RM70+k to RM100k range, which is currently owned by the City and Vios. Against those two, there’s certainly a case for the Proton, which is plenty of car for the money – you’ll get a bigger body, a turbo engine, lots of toys and some feel-good features that are first-in-class such as electric seat adjustment. The S70 is a decent drive and it looks good in and out, too.

It must be noted though that much of the good stuff you see here are reserved for the Flagship – full verdict when we have the pricing. Now, read my last point in the style of the late Farit Ismeth Emir from RTM. SUVs are dominant today, but here’s a question to guys in their 30s and 40s: if it was entirely up to you, do you really want an SUV over a sedan? We didn’t grow up wanting those soft roaders, did we? Fikir-fikirkanlah.

For now, what do you think of the Proton S70 as it is, and vis-à-vis the Honda City and Toyota Vios? Join Hafriz as he takes you on a detailed video tour of the S70 below. Yes, he does complain about the lack of Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support.

GALLERY: Proton S70 1.5T Flagship X

GALLERY: Proton S70 presentation

GALLERY: Proton S70 official images

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• make sure you buy 2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 27
  • Kibod Worrier on Nov 20, 2023 at 1:15 am

I’m a hatchback kind of guy, since I owned 2 hatchbacks. But if we talk about going upsize, an suv never crosses my mind. Sedan have way more allure to me and I cant exactly point out why.

Anyway, if Proton played their cards right with the pricing, we’ll probably see more Preves flooding the used market soon lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
    • Shuib kodiang on Nov 20, 2023 at 9:20 am

agree.. Wira & satria with jepunis ingenuity were gems. Preve under the clueless local hands almost disaster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • mr1031 on Nov 20, 2023 at 1:44 pm

agree..i’m quite dissapoined after owning an suv..can only blame myself to go with the hype..heavy, expensive, less space..i quite missed my sedan even it is just the saga..now eyeing this s70, hopefully the price is right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • dong gor on Nov 20, 2023 at 2:37 pm

what suv you drive that has less space than a saga?

• mr1031 on Nov 20, 2023 at 3:27 pm

x70..boot space cant fit many items..on paper bigger than saga, but diff in reality..

• but at least the interior space is more right and solid drive experience. proton should explain how they calculate such a big boot space on paper when in reality it doesn’t stack up

• Firestone enjoyer on Nov 23, 2023 at 8:23 am

Drove Mazda CX5 to genting via Socar, thinking that i can bring my family and parents up to genting, but it cant fit the stroller parallel to boot length, now the boot fully occupied with the stroller horizontally. My VW Jetta FL can even put the stroller parallel to the boot length. Talk about practically.

SUV = slightly/super useless vehicle perhaps?

• Carl25 on Nov 20, 2023 at 4:33 pm

probably ativa

• Why new Proton Persona now B segment 4366 is shorter than old Proton Persona then C segment 4477 when cars grow in size

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • JJTan on Nov 20, 2023 at 6:15 am

Everything looks good except for all colours which is supposed to be available for all variants instead of selected colours for selected variants. Iyktyk

• NoLoveCVT on Nov 20, 2023 at 6:54 am

wow i bet this car would be even better in hatchback

• Leaves your comment below if thumb down on Nov 20, 2023 at 11:19 am

Pricing likes City Hatchback, size likes Civic, luxury likes Accord, reliability likes EX5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • EX5 enjoyer on Nov 20, 2023 at 1:49 pm

Don’t you dare shitting on EX5, that bike much more reliable than luxury car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • Most reliable vehicle on the road is EX5 on Nov 20, 2023 at 7:34 pm

You had been trolled, go read its comment thoroughly.

• Peppa on Nov 20, 2023 at 6:55 am

I can smell the electrical failure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 51
    • Vets Association on Nov 20, 2023 at 10:33 am

SPCA has limited-time canine kennel vacancy, do check-in asap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • Aikon on Nov 20, 2023 at 1:26 pm

Adoi, enough with these lame jokes already lah. Want to ketuk also be a bit more creativelah.

• Minion Director on Nov 20, 2023 at 8:00 am

They keep engine 1.5TGDI for next coming facelift or special edition R3…

• 4GR-FSE on Nov 20, 2023 at 10:28 am

they keep the 1.5TGDI because our currency went down

• Under the tree foreman on Nov 20, 2023 at 10:38 am

MPI engine 8s always worried free from carbon sud build up around intake valves compares to direct injection engine.

• so now the current target buyer is the uncles?

• mechanicnextdoor on Nov 20, 2023 at 8:52 am

Unfortunately this is not targeting City/Vios, but rather along the likes of Civic/Corolla instead

• Civic Type Rawr on Nov 20, 2023 at 12:57 pm

How did you come to that conclusion. They technically pit the City/Vios against S70 during media preview. No Civic/Corolla to be seen, but a premium priced German’s as stationary comparison instead. That should be more than enough hints.

• Minion Director on Nov 21, 2023 at 6:28 pm

See…Geely so greedy – they want to capture both B and C segments.
      Declare C segment but pricing at B segment to make it looks cheaper.

This time LiChunRong pls dont arrogant and pretending you’re so good to HQ Geely by producing & selling as much possible (main KPI maa..) BUT spare parts availability at one star rate (slow like ‘pig snail’) …

• Kugan V on Nov 20, 2023 at 9:03 am

When is the official launch date of the S70?

• newme on Nov 20, 2023 at 9:03 am

C-segment? hahahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Sohai on Nov 20, 2023 at 9:09 am

If the flagship priced below rm80k… then maybe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • Nonsense on Nov 20, 2023 at 1:00 pm

Typical B40 asking price, but want a Type-R specs. Work harder sohai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
      • Cassandra on Nov 20, 2023 at 4:28 pm

Sudah cut cost for a C segment

1. Not the same 3 cylinder 1.5tgdi from X70 C-SUV.
        2. 205mm wide Tyre only, smallest tyre in ‘C segment.
        3. Shortest Wheelbase in its ‘C’ segment
        4. Don’t have Android Auto / Apple Carplay
        5. No Full Size Alloy Rim Spare Tyre.
        6. Timing Belt

I think it will be alot cheaper than X70.

• Random guy on Nov 20, 2023 at 5:03 pm

Apa features pun mau, harga tinggi tak mau. Typical car buyer.

• dong gor on Nov 20, 2023 at 2:46 pm

look at the value of Ringgit la kawan… cars need material to build also. want good material then need pay more lor..every day 80k, gardenia also naik harga so many times d.

• Aikon on Nov 20, 2023 at 2:53 pm

You are as per your nickname…

• Nah choki2. on Nov 20, 2023 at 9:23 am

Pggil S50 xleh jual mhl.
    Pggil S70 auto blh jual mhl.

Pjg lebar :
    Nak jual harga vios or city pnya range, kne up kan nama dia (marketing) n bg goodies2. Pdhal asalnya mmg B-Seg.

Dgn mnggunakan kelebihan drpd dimension keretanya yg bsr a.k.a B-Seg+. P1 auto ‘declare’ utk Preve replacement yg C-Seg (hint da kat situ utk price range).

So booom, dapat jual B-Seg Emgrand pd harga yg sama mcm B-Seg Vios n City n nmpk S70 (‘C-Seg’) value 4 money.

Kesimpulan, rakyat Msia mmg easy-peasy utk di-candy2 kan.

Selamat membeli, beli jgn x beli tahu. Hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
    • Nonsense on Nov 20, 2023 at 1:06 pm

They’re fine with a 100k lowly specs WRV, what do you expect. They also fork out their money for HRV instead of Corolla Cross.

• Nah choki2 lagi on Nov 21, 2023 at 9:18 am

Did you read until conclusion?

Reality the rakyat easy ‘digulakan’. That’s why people are still buying those WRV despite the lowly specs.

• Bumper panjang sikit… 3cm tak susah dicapai.
      Hahaha

Tapi hard cornering tu yang suffer sikit with more overhangs.
      Wheelbase pendek, front and rear overhangs terlebih-lebih for longer length and ‘wider’ to looks like uncle sivik

• lelbxb on Nov 22, 2023 at 12:18 pm

^^^^^
        This comment make a lot of sense .. just watch the video, the rear seats aren’t spacious as city or vios and boot space also almost the same as those too.

But Proton “mati-mati” want to market this as C segment sedan with B price tag. Just look bigger on paper but reality just B segment car.

• proton rahmah? on Nov 20, 2023 at 9:35 am

gone is the old proton who looks after the B40 man. all new protons are upmarket. old proton would have definitely sold this as cheaper B-seg 50 for the common family man. now new model all overpriced by stuffing it full with cheap China tech and gadgets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
    • Nonsense on Nov 20, 2023 at 12:49 pm

Which is a good thing. We have Perodua for B40 while the lower tier within M40 is torn between underpowered flagship Perodua or Import, there’s Proton to fill the gap and save the day. Cars for everyone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Aikon on Nov 20, 2023 at 3:40 pm

Yes, Proton bridges the gap between the B40 Perodua and the Japanese brands.

• Cheetarah on Nov 20, 2023 at 4:46 pm

At least P2 owns that segment of the market.
        P1 is still deciding and got itself confused in the process. C segment B segment haha all siok sendiri.
        Nobody wants a proton unless is cheap enough to compensate for the time wasted when the car burn up and need to wait 6 months for parts. Forget about City and Vios, Price it too high and ppl might just get the X50 instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • Nonsense on Nov 20, 2023 at 9:14 pm

You see, there’s a lot P2 owners here & there lamenting “if not under 60k,80k, no buy”. It ain’t nobody, it just them that can’t afford more than P2. They also the largest income group in MY, no wonder P2 doing very well selling underpowered 15 inch wheels. That only help P1 to have that exclusivity and a class above against masses of P2 cars & owners. Lol

• i bet you are driving myvi bezza car and dreaming for a cheap powerful car but low fuel consumption and maintenance.

my advise to you is to work harder and buy 1 proton and 1 perodua ( still cheaper than 1 japanese car like honda civic).

or just keep dreaming, at least it is free.

• @NotBruceWayne on Nov 20, 2023 at 9:49 am

Dear Proton CEO,
    Congratulations on your new release. Please consider a B-seg hatchback too; enough of fugly iriz – you can copy pijot 208 design since they’re never gonna make it to our shores.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • kl hop on on Nov 20, 2023 at 9:58 am

C segment car length and width is not handy in the city and will reduces interests from female buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Proton Oh Proton on Nov 20, 2023 at 10:23 am

if right pricing, quality and spare part availably, S70 clear winner.

• Alfred on Nov 20, 2023 at 10:31 am

Proton kind of lost its identity… I dont see any signature design on this car that will tell me it is a Proton. Looks like any other generic car.

Would Geely allow Proton to design their own car using their platform? Do Proton have the expertise? Or do they willing to be a kuli forever?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • newme on Nov 20, 2023 at 11:22 am

Geely did let Proton to design the grille. It was a huge job requiring highly skills and technical expertise from Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Village warriors on Nov 20, 2023 at 10:39 pm

Don’t forget R&D team of 2,000 and R&D budget of RM20 bil just for the grille

• Jemuk on Nov 20, 2023 at 11:03 pm

Well geely on want to sell their cars, proton should just close down and rebrand to PROTOG, perusahaan otomotif GEELY, or maybe PROTOC as in CHINA, i dont even care to try a proton anymore, have just become another china rebrand product like your lazada taobao

• the rear passenger doors resemble Waja door design kan…

• Ur moms car on Nov 20, 2023 at 11:01 am

When proton gonna tell the price?

• Ground europe passenger on Nov 20, 2023 at 11:46 am

If premium variant under rm90k, i’ll buy 1 the space grey color.

• Betul, 2023 already mana boleh no L2 Self Driving.
      Used car L2 Self Driving like Civic Ativa Elsa Corolla Camry Flagship high Market Value.

many S70 low spec, HR-V 1st gen SUV also lousy resale value now.

• ScooterDude on Dec 01, 2023 at 5:22 pm

Well its indeed < 90k, you done booking?

• VICKY on Nov 20, 2023 at 1:04 pm

WAITING FOR EV FRM PROTON,NOT PETROL ANYMORE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • lchan on Nov 20, 2023 at 1:22 pm

Hope they don’t go and bring funny two tone interior colours like white and make it standard. I know there are reviewers who like these type of silly colour combo. Looks nice in the brochures and that is about it.

• Fikir-fikirkanlah Farith Ismeth got me

• hmmmm on Nov 20, 2023 at 5:18 pm

Where AA/CP?

• Sipping Jus Coffee on Nov 20, 2023 at 7:39 pm

both Aunty Adeline and Chan Ping on vacation leaves.

• DID BOOKING AFTER SEEING THE CAR LAST WEEK.LOOKS VERY NICE AND THE BLUE COLOUR IS STRIKING ME A LOTS.

• Firdaus on Nov 20, 2023 at 9:40 pm

Typical Proton…show a little bit here this month, show backside next month….launch the car 3 months later…reveal price 6 months later. And finally, first batch will arrive next Christmas!

Where else for Perodua, all quiet and suddenly launch a all new model complete with price and the new car already registered and waiting to roll off the showroom tomorrow!

• Johnny Dosa on Nov 21, 2023 at 9:25 am

That’s the different between ‘ada otak tiada akal’.

Tease her and there (can change from Proton to Protease) and then basi.

Meanwhile P2… (Proven with sales)

• P2 is cheapest, it is not proven with sales, it is proven with rakyat poverty.

• Ground europe passenger on Nov 21, 2023 at 9:32 am

Watch a few youtube review lastnight, if price range rm80k~rm100k. City and vios or even civic and altis can tapao dy.

• samloo66 on Nov 21, 2023 at 11:09 am

please make an estate version of s70..

• Laugh on Nov 21, 2023 at 2:37 pm

All new Proton can easily guess the price…
    1.5 x Oversea price.

Apa susah mau tau harga?

Proton simply take old unwanted stuff from China, repack everything then slap the 1.5times price on it for sale in malaysia.
    When questioned, just say that’s the cost of redesigning from left to right hand drive version and it’s not as easy as slapping in new accessories to it.
    Because ah beng accessories shop can do it at the roadside.

• Very disappointed with Proton. Even basic Car Play and Android Auto also don’t want to give.

• The price is VITAL, then the quality. If both pass the level of satisfaction, then it may be a “game changer” for PROTON competitors.

• Mumtaz on Nov 23, 2023 at 11:26 am

Proton , saya akan tunggu awak sendiri buat Sedan atau +Japan .

• Persona is actually good except Proton still maintains the dated Campro Engine. Geely should throw in ADAS, more internal features, gear box etc….
    Why not create a better B segment with better quality.?

• opmanmy on Nov 28, 2023 at 7:57 am

Better quality? Dream on mate. Even better spec also don’t have. Underpowered and lagging drive. Trying to be everything but achieves little to nothing. Let’s see how the S70 will be priced at. Anything above 60k range is no go.