smart Malaysia targets up to 1,000 EV sales in 2024 – over 500 #1 bookings at launch; 60% chose the Brabus

The smart #1 makes its Malaysian launch debut today, and you can find everything you need to know about the electric vehicle (EV) over here. At today’s event, Pro-Net – a subsidiary of Proton – revealed it received over 500 bookings at the time the #1 officially went on sale.

As a brief recap, order taking for the #1 began on September 19, 2023 and it is being offered in three variants. The base #1 Pro retails for RM189,000 on-the-road without insurance, while the #1 Premium goes for RM219,000 and the range-topping Brabus at RM249,000.

Of the three variants offered, the Brabus is the most popular among smart customers, with 60% of orders being for the performance model. Deliveries of the #1 will start from tomorrow, with 300 units forming the first batch of cars to arrive here. If you didn’t place an early booking, the waiting period is currently at about a month.

Pro-Net also pointed out that it is targeting #1 sales to be between 800 to 1,000 units in 2024, which it estimates to account for 10% of the local EV market in the year. For some context, 274 EVs were sold in Malaysia in 2021, with the figure jumping to 2,631 units in 2022. The figure for 2023 is expected to be much higher, as stated by the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) last December.

Are you among those who have placed a booking for the #1? Which variant did you opt for and are you satisfied with what you’re getting for your money? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Peppa on Nov 21, 2023 at 6:54 pm

Are those 500 bookings come from mainland chinese living in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
  • EV user on Nov 21, 2023 at 7:21 pm

Smart #1 Brabus is fast, I like the design too, and with this pricing is worth it. No longer need turner’s or supercars to go fast anymore. 180kmh tops is also more than enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • ROTI CANAI on Nov 21, 2023 at 7:32 pm

out of the 500 bookings how many cancel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 35
    • handout number 1 on Nov 22, 2023 at 10:41 am

Onli for show off at raya. After that sell and ask for handout again.

• Tipu2theM@x on Nov 21, 2023 at 10:04 pm

Hype marketing is often the appeal of reality to bolehland market.

• Tesla on Nov 22, 2023 at 7:22 am

In M’sia, this smart sells same price as Tesla Model 3….hahahaha…in the UK, this is cheaper than the base Tesla. Msian already con

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • newme on Nov 22, 2023 at 9:05 am

Still can sell? after the donation by their parent company.

• Tempting EV on Nov 22, 2023 at 10:50 am

I don’t understand how come they remove the mercedes emblem when come to malaysia market.

• GetSmart on Nov 22, 2023 at 12:25 pm

Like H brand hybrid or WRV, blow water said already how many thousands booking also no use. Potential buyers that afford these price are smart enough to judge whether it’s overpriced or not.

• Made a booking for the Premium model back in August after going through many reviews which are generally very positive. I then cancelled the booking about a month ago after so many previews, launches and whatnots but prices were still announced. I booked a Tesla Model 3 instead. During the time I also delved further into EV battery types. I think not enough has been made about the difference between NCM battery (which is used in the Premium and Brabus models here) vs FLP battery (used in the Pro model and Tesla). NCM battery simply does not last.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Thats some really half arsed research you did there, honestly. Fyi, Tesla 3 LR still using NMC (not NCM ya) battery packs.