The Selangor government says it is aiming to raise public awareness of children’s safety to prevent further deaths of children left unattended in cars. This comes following the recent incident in which a five-year old girl died after being left in a parked car at the Hospital Shah Alam car park earlier this week.
Given the repeated occurrences of such cases, state executive council member Anfaal Saari said the Selangor government plans to create awareness of the issue via a campaign, and is looking to launch the Selangor Safe Family Campaign as soon as possible.
She called on industry players and NGOs to participate in the campaign. “God willing, at the state government level, we will implement the Selangor Safe Family Campaign as soon as possible to increase the awareness of parents and community members about child safety,” she said via a Facebook post, as reported by Malaysiakini.
She said that the case earlier this week “gave us a ‘red flag’, especially to me as a policy maker, because the same thing happens repeatedly.” Cases such as this have been happening of late, perhaps due to forgetfulness, a long to-do list and stress, or a combination of the above. This phenomenon is known as the “forgotten baby syndrome.”
Besides getting parents to be more aware of their children’s wherabouts at all times, Anfaal said that the use of technological innovation could help in resolving the issue. “We need startups that can develop apps and devices that allow parents to monitor or receive alerts about their children’s whereabouts digitally and physically such as in a vehicle or at a daycare centre,” the Taman Templer state assemblyperson said.

Raising awareness isn’t as important as raising IQ in this case. All the perpetrators in every one of these cases are low IQ troglodytes that shouldn’t be allowed to procreate in the first place.
IQ?
PTS for Darjah 3 9 years old
sudah lama abolished.
Memang la abolish. Tak benefit dorang pun. Tak bulih nak catch up. Org lain dah lompat kelas dorang lagi ketinggalan terkial2 masuk kelas pemulihan
keep PTS, abolish lompat kelas
Letting kids roam at playgrounds without parental supervision.
Forgetting kids in a locked car.
Allowing underaged rempits motorbike keys.
Time for PDRM nab the parents,get the best deputy public prosecutors to secure a 100% conviction,put them behind bars.This way,they “insaf and ingat”.
May I ask…how can u forget your toddler in a locked car?
Deeply engrossed with tiktok or what ? It is unimaginable one can FORGET a kid locked for hours in a car.
Bigo! Their ppl love bigo
Anak lemas kat sungai
Mat lajak kena langgar kete
Baby tertinggal dalam kete
Rempit kena langgar pulis
Anakku baik orangnya. Mama lipat baju teringat adik. Masih kedengaran suara adik
Yup can’t agree more. Their men shouldn’t even be allowed to raise their ding ding dong
Let nature takes its course to rid off the weak & useless
if this need awareness,
clearly the parents has ignorance, not by accident, JAIL/PUNISH them!
Selangor Govt have been talking about this for YEARS yet we continue seeing more deaths. Since their inaction, Selangor Govt MB should share the blame and be charged along with the kids parents.
Pls dont waste public funds on awareness campaigns.
Start getting the court to JAIL the negligent parents.This will definitely bring more awareness.
Do you know what’s the population mix here? We won’t have enough cells to jail all of them. Maklum lah yg cuai pun dorang bukan org lain
Stupid Prison DG…wtf you tokok.
So if the population mix is the minority race..then what? Why u need segregate races?
Salah..go prison .Anwarkor can getfunds to build more prison cells.There r tons of class A contractors on standby.
#Amirrudin4prison
He can use the former cell of his boss in Sg Buloh
Neuter and spay them too soon they don’t reproduce after released from prison
Need to neuter and spay all the PH supporters & voters too so that next generation do not make the same mistake and causing chaos that we see today.
let’s straight to the point then,
make a GPS with heart rate monitors for Rakyat.
Young, Old, and Sick one can benefit from it.
Aim apa menda? Child seat talk for how long already also haven’t enforce usage. Everyday we see parents letting their kids jumping inside the car. Some even hogging the road because the kid is sitting on the parent lap while driving.
What about rempits sandwiching 1 kid between the parents and 1 in the bakul upfront?
Try to understand that some people simply can’t afford buying a car.
How can children upbringing be cheaper than owning a car? You don’t need to feed them? They don’t need medication & education? Even rice and canned sardines cost money. Ohhh…I get it now they depend on gomen tongkat to survive
Tu pasai kita buat PADU
Then don’t have kid until you can afford one.
Don’t listen to them. Tonite go to bed earlier and keep making babies. We need more voters. We’ll continue to tongkat your type
No enforcement of child seats because Tony 67 is busy selling number plates and kissing up to UMNO and Anwar. Other than that he’s doing nothing as transport minister and SG of DAP.
For a start all parents should set reminder in their waze.
Talk is cheap la. Keep talking and children will keep suffering this fate.
Apadehal. Our reproductive rates are through the roof. Takut negara ni tak cukup tempat utk orang kita je
Suggestion compulsory all new cars equipped with internal motion sensor that send notifications to owner mobile and initiate car alarm when detected motion when car engine off.
Very hard to teach people, just add on safety features to reduce such cases.
Negligence very difficult to teach people.
Suggestion compulsory all new cars equipped with internal motion sensor that send notifications to owner mobile and initiate car alarm when detected motion when car engine off. Create people attention on car alert.
Very hard to teach people, just add on safety features to reduce such cases.
Negligence very difficult to teach people.
what about the potholes?
Have you seen the road craters in Sabah? Siapa lagi power? Sabah atau selangor?
Sabah got elephants, Selangor ada elephant ke?
Everyone knows Selangor is pothole state in Malaysia, this Selangor PH Govt is failing the state. High time to change dy
Elephants in Sabah causing road craters in Sabah? Crikey!