Myvi driver who went against traffic on PLUS highway in Johor arrested – 74-year old uncle got lost in JB

The driver of the silver Myvi caught driving against traffic on the PLUS highway in Johor has been arrested. According to Iskandar Puteri district police chief Rahmat bin Ariffin, the driver, a 74-year-old uncle, was arrested at Taman Nusa Bayu, Gelang Patah, yesterday morning.

According to the cops, the man was from Segamat and this was his first time in Johor Bahru. At the time of the incident, he was on his way to a friend’s house in Gelang Patah, but was unfamiliar with JB roads, which led him down the wrong path. The case is being investigated under Section 42 of the Road Transport Act 1987 for dangerous driving.

In the viral video, the dashcam car was driving on the fast lane on the North South Highway in Johor when the Honda City Hatchback in front of it slowed down drastically before coming to a near stop. The Honda then evaded an oncoming Myvi, which the camcar had to do as well. Fortunately, both cars managed to evade the intruder safely.

PDRM has stated before that driving against traffic is an offence under Section 42 (1) of the Road Transport Act (Amendment) 2020.

Those found guilty of reckless and dangerous driving can be punished by imprisonment for a term of not more than five years, and with a fine of not less than RM5,000 and not more than RM15,000. The person can also be disqualified from holding or obtaining a driving license for a period of five years from the date of conviction.

While we feel for the old uncle who probably got disoriented in an unfamiliar place, this isn’t the first time that an elderly driver has been caught on camera driving lawan arus. Instances of driving against traffic has resulted in death and injury.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Seriously, start re-assessing drivers (whatever type of vehicle) when they reach 65. For a small fee, cause if its free, then bribery will increase again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
    • newme on Feb 27, 2024 at 12:35 pm

Can you write in BM?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 64
      • You're welcome on Feb 27, 2024 at 1:50 pm

Serius, mula menilai semula pemandu (apa-apa jenis kenderaan) apabila mereka mencapai 65. Dengan bayaran yang kecil, sebab jika percuma, maka rasuah akan meningkat lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Daim-ler on Feb 27, 2024 at 1:51 pm

Serius, mula menilai semula pemandu (apa-apa jenis kenderaan) apabila mereka mencapai umur 65. Dengan bayaran yang kecil, sebab jika percuma, maka rasuah akan meningkat lagi.

• Back at you on Feb 27, 2024 at 3:17 pm

You should use BM name then. Pick one from Barusaya, Sayabaru, Baruaku or Akubaru

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Biadap on Feb 27, 2024 at 5:02 pm

Attitude problem, not necessarily age related.
      Same like those that stop at road divider, or those that tried to take sudden exit junction from few lanes apart.

• Lets See on Feb 27, 2024 at 6:18 pm

Here comes the Sam defenders to plotek old defenceless unker cuz he is a non.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • like father, like son on Feb 28, 2024 at 11:46 pm

Old defenseless people… You know, seniors are soooo much more humble, polite and civilised than their reckless greedy arrogant descendants :-/

Let’s officially inaugurate a new public Holliday called : Old defenseless Folks Day !

A special day to celebrate those old innocent and humble people. A Smart day for old people to enjoy free-style driving during 24h!!!

Let’s make old people feel young again once a year -> A Smart Day to celebrate old criminal tards – Amen!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • DonkeyKong on Feb 27, 2024 at 12:38 pm

Being in an unfamiliar place is no excuse. You see that you’re driving against traffic, on a highway no less, and you keep on driving? He needs to be jailed regardless of his age.

By right anyone who might have accidentally got onto the wrong side of a one-way street. or got on the wrong side of a ramp onto a highway, upon realizing that they’re on the wrong side they should put on the hazard lights and stop at the road side immediately. Even reversing back to the junction is dangerous although it might be attempted once the highway patrol has arrived to assist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 37
    • Banyak org sudah gila on Feb 27, 2024 at 3:49 pm

Becos this type of people are totally idiot no common sense.
      Normal people would turn around if once noticed they entered wrong traffic flow and driving against the flow.
      Stupid useless selfish people will continue drive until accident occur. And then tell everyone he/she not familiar with road.
      Non sense excuses. Once u know u at wrong flow should just stop and turn back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Normal_user on Feb 27, 2024 at 5:59 pm

Japan with significant ageing drivers also faced this kind of problem. Elderly people tend to have cognitive disorders such as dementia, and alzheimer. A mandatory health screening test is needed for those above 65 or 70 with traffic offenses to renew driving license, subsidised or covered by the govt.

https://unseen-japan.com/elderly-drivers-japan-new-regulations/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • Improve road safety! on Feb 28, 2024 at 9:55 am

Agree on the screening test on above 65 yrs old. As we grow older, unfortunately everything is started to deteriorate. & Some old folks reluctant to use Waze as either they dont know to use or just ego. Frankly speaking, our roads maintenance also need to improve, many roads marking & signboards also missing or confusing, especially in those one way road. tq

• Tok yg lebih tahu on Feb 27, 2024 at 6:18 pm

Tok harap kamu semua akan panjang umur.. Kalau boleh, lebih dari 74 tahun.. Baru lah kamu semua akan rasa pahit manis pengalaman hidup seorg warga emas..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Lets See on Feb 27, 2024 at 6:23 pm

Even if got lost and went wrong direction, a sane person would have driven on the emergency lane as precaution and not directly on the fast lane as what that unker did. He fully knew what he did but now giving excuses after getting caught.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • IIIIIIIIII on Feb 27, 2024 at 9:00 pm

You sound like you are 15 years old and have 0 clue about old people. The guy is clearly nyanyuk, obviously he isn’t doing it intentionally. He looks like he can barely even walk in the photos. As stated by others, elderly people should be retaking tests. And no, he didn’t kept on driving because of his “ego” please go outside more.

• Lets See on Feb 29, 2024 at 8:48 pm

Yes pls continue to defence old defenceless unker. If he were to killed someone perhaps your relative, will you still talk the same tone?

• time and tide wait for no man on Mar 01, 2024 at 5:58 pm

those who still have their youth tend to judge too rashly mainly because they don’t have a long enough life experience to draw on, but eventually age will catch up with them & sooner or later, they’ll find out whether the opinions they had made in their youth were actually correct or wrong.

• kenny tan on Feb 27, 2024 at 12:39 pm

I think it is high time the govt need to reassessed those elderly from aged 70 above for competence test annually or bi-annually before renewing their licenses. These elderly posed risk to other road users by driving slowly, turning without indicators and driving leisurely and stop at their whim and fancy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Is easy to pick on these old folk. But is it really the old folks that cause bulk of our traffic problems?
      You have statistics that support old folks being the a significant part of accident?
      Otherwise is just a knee jerk reaction to a viral video. We shouldn’t propose something that cause alot of inconvenience to old folks unless necessary.
      Most Old people don’t choose to drive unless they have to. They normally are driven by their kids, and maybe the less fortunate ones that still need to drive themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • JustGuessing on Feb 27, 2024 at 12:46 pm

Just hope not a shit young driver who try to escape law by switching driver to his elderly.
    Elderly go to jail also nothing to lose.

• Made In China on Feb 27, 2024 at 1:01 pm

Got OKU card?

• Sohai on Feb 27, 2024 at 1:04 pm

As I expected, people who drives against the flow, will have to have some kind of mental disorder to do so. I truly sympathize with him as one day we grow old too.
    And who is to say is 100% his fault? Certain parts of our roads are ill design to begin with that is very confusing unless you drive around there regularly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • call me by your name on Feb 27, 2024 at 3:30 pm

maybe dont drive at all?

• Sohai on Feb 27, 2024 at 5:42 pm

Well is easy to say that. I know of some old folks where their children are not around and they need to be self sufficient.
        And sometime, you just don’t realize that you have an early sign of dementia.
        I know is quite clear cut that he is against the law. I just wish the law take into consideration that he perhaps didn’t do it intentionally and hope he gets a more lenient punishment if it is a mistake due to oldness.
        And yes, you can punish him by taking away his license and prevent him from driving if he is endangering himself and others, just that, sometime a dementia patient doesn’t even remember and still continue to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • IGP mom on Feb 28, 2024 at 3:20 pm

Excuses. What’s so hard with exiting at the highway at the next stop and then make a u-turn properly at some junction?

Got lost is not wrong, what’s wrong is the stubbornness for shortcut even if that means driving opposite lane. If the uncle initially didnt realize, he should by the time he encountered oncoming traffic. He should have reverse right away and drive at the right direction.

• Peppa on Feb 27, 2024 at 1:05 pm

Lost? What a dumb excuse. No sane people drive in opposite lane because they missed the exit. Fuck you la uncle. May your children will not inherit your behavior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
  • Ben Yap on Feb 27, 2024 at 2:33 pm

a 74 year old man should be pardoned. if he is fined or jail, it must be reduced taking into consideration his life journey, family, services and contributions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
    • Lets See on Feb 27, 2024 at 6:20 pm

Like Anwar?

• Daulat Tuanku! on Mar 01, 2024 at 3:40 pm

are u questioning the validity of the decision made by the Head of State in accordance to his constitutional powers?

• anton on Feb 27, 2024 at 5:46 pm

If guilty, the punishment should be to ban him from driving for 10 years. And any vehicle owned by him should be seized for the same duration or transferred the ownership to his family members. Then if he still caught driving, then the vehicle owner will be jailed 1 year. This can be considered a crime since can cause death. Nothing to do with age based on pass cases.

• And authorities insist in prohibiting autonomous driving aid.

• Dredd on Feb 27, 2024 at 6:23 pm

The society nowadays is so quick to judge.
    Perhaps we shouldn’t judge so quickly since we don’t walk his path.
    Is important to establish what are the circumstances that lead him to do this. No sane person other than the most die hard rempit would intentionally do something like this.
    His profile doesn’t fit as a die hard rempit…. But off course this need to be determined too

• Frankc on Feb 27, 2024 at 9:07 pm

This case need to be investigated. Brought to court and be judged if he is still fit to drive. Being confused and lost direction and driving against traffic is a sign he is no longer fit to drive safely

• You disoriented or lost your way, you stop at emergency lane. Or drive on emergency lane. I seriously don’t understand why people can go wrong way on the highway and use the fast lane but in opposite direction. Seriously? Use the emergency lane dammit

• WeeWee on Mar 01, 2024 at 3:20 pm

not that hard to understand why he uses the fast lane… because on the right flow, is actually the slow lane by keeping left.
      He just got very confused.
      people here commented that why didn he do this why he continue doing that… Hello, if he is old and really with demantia and confused him, you think he knows what exactly he was doing or how he should have responded?
      No people in their sound mind would do this, which clearly tells you he is not.
      Spend a day in an old folk home, you will understand abit more.