Proton Apple CarPlay, Android Auto will only come on new model launches – existing cars will not support it

A lot of you will have been waiting with bated breath for Proton to add the long-overdue Apple CarPlay and Android Auto functionality to its models. Some will have even bought cars recently with the expectation that these features will be added through an over-the-air (OTA) update. Well, sorry to burst your bubble, but the latter has been emphatically ruled out.

That’s right, Proton has confirmed that existing cars – including the X90, S70 and even the just-launched 2024 X50 RC – will not receive Apple CarPlay nor Android Auto, not even OTA as the company previously indicated. This was intimated to paultan.org by deputy CEO Roslan Abdullah and head of group engineering and technical Haizam Ghazali during the X50 launch event.

Apple CarPlay and Android Auto will likely only be added to the X70 facelift

Instead, the two leading smartphone connectivity services will only be introduced through new model launches, including the forthcoming facelifted X70 and possibly 2025 model year updates for the X90 and S70. This means that existing customers – some of which will have based at least some of their purchasing decisions on that elusive OTA update – will be left out in the cold.

There is light at the end of the tunnel, however – Roslan told us that Proton is in the final stages of getting licence approval from Apple, so expect the very next launch, the facelifted X70, to have CarPlay and Android Auto support.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• OUCH Bro

• LoneOpinion on Jun 04, 2024 at 12:46 pm

Who da heck buys a car based on AA/ACP?? Since when this is a deciding factor…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 34
  • Sohai on Jun 04, 2024 at 12:48 pm

So they decided to handle the noise rather than incur the cost.
    Way to go Proton.

• Owner S70 yang tersakiti on Jun 04, 2024 at 1:21 pm

Haha, kena kencing. Proton really need to control their information sharing to the public. So inconsistent.

• Cerdik Man on Jun 04, 2024 at 2:17 pm

Haha. Anyone who believes Proton’s BS about CarPlay/AA should get their head checked. Proton always penipu one.

• ClownsEverywhere on Jun 04, 2024 at 3:22 pm

Lied to the public, for X90 & S70 sales, then u-turn the decision of OTA update for AA/AC, nice one

• Proton on Jun 04, 2024 at 4:03 pm

S70 owners:

• That day he said the S70 (or maybe more models) has the hardware capability. Now you say cannot. Wah now selling lies ke Proton. If that is the case, then everyone cancel new Proton and wait for 2025 model lah. What a joke Proton.

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 04, 2024 at 5:10 pm

Lol dead on arrival

• “Sorry, we are being vague from start to not to affect our sales volume. Now that many people have received their car, we are more than comfortable to thank them all with a middle finger”

• ACOTech should say something. Tgk website gempak, tp useless rupanya.

• opmanmy on Jun 05, 2024 at 8:10 am

First they entice you, then later say …oh, for new model ya… Apa la P1! Same old same old P1!

• newme on Jun 05, 2024 at 8:36 am

Isn’t this outright lying?

https://paultan.org/2024/02/02/proton-confirms-apple-carplay-android-auto-support-this-year-x90-to-get-ota-update-but-not-older-models/

• opman on Jun 05, 2024 at 11:07 am

What do you expect?! U-turn lagi lor…kantoi. Cakap tin kosong. Bila dah viral meletup nanti, mungkin cakap…oh, can support on old model pulak! Grab a popcorn and see how it turns out.

• Where is Consumer’s Association Penang when we need them? Time to do your job

• Should have got the Kia on Jun 06, 2024 at 1:18 am

Unacceptable. I will not rest until my waste of 152k has oem CarPlay with warranty

• PissedOffCustomer on Jun 24, 2024 at 3:15 pm

Ridiculous. They lied. Had I known, I would have purchased the X70’s competitor – Cherry..