Petronas opens first fuel station in Sao Paulo, Brazil

Petronas has opened its first fuel station in Sao Paulo, Brazil last week, in partnership with the Monte Carlo fuel station network in the country, as shared by Petronas general manager for retail and brand licensing, downstream refining, marketing and trading Badrul Hisham Mahmud on LinkedIn.

The opening of the Petronas station in the country makes this “the first station by the Malaysian petroleum brand to be opened outside Malaysia”, said Argenta director of planning, projects and new businesses Murilo Dancieri Silveira in the shared post. Petronas fuel stations have previously entered the Thailand market.

“With this move, we now offer Brazilian consumers the option of filling up with the fuel [powering the eight-time] champion of the [Formula 1] constructors’ championship, Petronas Primax. We at Argenta and SIM Distribuidora de Combustíveis are proud to participate in this movement,” Silveira said in his post.

“We are very proud to be part of this historic moment for the fuel sector in Brazil, with the inauguration of the first Petronas gas station in the country,” said Erik Martimiano da Silva of new businesses development at SIM Distribuidora de Combustíveis.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Bob Mal on Jun 19, 2024 at 10:06 am

So Malaysian petrol still better since they do not have the XTra’ or with Pro-Drive and Pro-Race branding?

• Alfonso Romeo bin Kelembai on Jun 19, 2024 at 11:36 am

Proud to be Malaysian

• first outside Malaysia? i thought they have already entered Thailand many years ago? saw a few of them there

• ThePolygon on Jun 19, 2024 at 11:52 am

Please work hard to bring back $$$

• Leslie Cha on Jun 19, 2024 at 1:37 pm

They tapau in Indonesia what,blaming the Indo gov doesn’t allow them to sell subsidize fuel over there.

• Petronas got balls to compete with their own Petrobras

• Tsalesman on Jun 20, 2024 at 2:45 am

So, Shell/Petron/BHP got balls to compete with Petronas ?
      The no.1 Formula 1 sir.
      instead they welcome Petronas, that are very famous because of their Merc Formula 1 team.
      They look at our Petronas higher than their brand actually

• Elin Misk on Jun 19, 2024 at 6:25 pm

Congrats Petronas, we luv u, all the best!

• Ali raza on Jun 19, 2024 at 8:36 pm

I proud to PETRONAS

• Brazillian Chicque on Jun 20, 2024 at 6:20 am

Que? Mi casa su casa ?