Ensuring that a home electric vehicle charger is properly installed makes for safety, and the onus is on the home owner to check and find out that the work is done correctly. With this in mind, making sure that the charger is installed after the incoming mains meter is somewhat of a given, but it seems that nonsense can still happen.
Such is the case with a Tesla owner, who was paid a visit by a Tenaga Nasional field crew over an incorrectly installed junction box. In a video clip that has since gone viral, the TNB personnel can be seen telling the home owner that the incoming supply for his charger was tapped before the electricity meter, meaning that electricity usage from the EV charger was not being recorded, essentially leading to losses for the electricity provider.
The man can be heard telling the TNB staff he was not aware of the ‘improper’ install, stating that it was the work of the technicians who installed the unit, thereby implying that the error was made from their end. Giving him the benefit of the doubt, the TNB crewman said it could be the case, but then informed the man that it was nonetheless an offence and that the problem needed to be rectified immediately.
Benda dah kantoi. So buat² bodo je lah .
Curi elektrik. Buat buat tak faham konon.Kredit video owner pic.twitter.com/llWOe9koio
— #UpdateInfo🇲🇾🌍 (@update11111) August 15, 2024
It is not known if any action will be taken by TNB in this case, but the lesson from this is that if you’re carrying out a home charger installation, make sure you know exactly how the work – and routing path – has been carried out. And, if you’re thinking that you can outsmart the provider, think again. Smart meters can detect such illegal installations, which is what alerted the TNB in this case
In the end, it’s not just inconvenience – and embarrassment – you have to worry about. Illegal wiring extensions resulting in electricity theft is punishable under Section 37(3) of the Electricity Supply Act 1990 by a fine of between RM1,000 to RM50,000 or a maximum one-year jail term or both for a first-time offender who is a domestic consumer.
Because of free road tax for EV until 31 Dec 2025, he thinks charging is also FOC till then. LOL
He “didn’t know” after paying off/instructing the technician to install it that way.
You should be alarmed whenever the installer says the chargers can be installed next to the meter panel.
Also, you should be alarmed if you notice no increase in power consumption in your bill after using the charger.
The utility knows when people play victim/acting naive.
Impossible the installer unaware of this. It’s either installer is unqualified or instruction from the owner. Dua2 pun salah owner. Hire installer cap ayam and intentionally stealing electricity.
Farid mana Farid, buka tu Farid.
Tesla salah pasang.
ignorantia juris non excusat
Got $ to buy EV but no brain to understand the most basic requirement. Ignorant is such a lame excuse.
Buat tak tahu willful ignorance then in the heart hiya kan government punya duit itu I pun contribute sikit sekarang main nak ambil balik.
don’t blame technician la… the owner himself is guilty. it is like shot someone with a gun and said doesn’t know the gun is loaded.
Owner flex to friend:”Walauweh..sooo cheap using EV meh”. “Cheap cheap cheap” (just like Singaporean sound)
eh….u don’t know meh ? they are the ‘national bird of JB’…hahahhaha…..’cheap cheap cheap’ is the only sound coming out from them…
Dah kantoi…apa la…bagi saman kasi home owner tuh la. Dah la boleh pakai Tesla, rumah besar, 3-fasa wiring. Buat bodoh aje…konon.
Kalau mcm ini boleh lepas….nanti semua pun ikut buat bodoh.
Malaysia Boleh…
you can afford an EV but you decide to employ 20sen electrician? knowing that if they screw up probably your car would fail or blow up? pls la…saman je.
Do invest and convert your landed house roof to Solar panels and LFP batteries storage. Peace of mind monthly with low charges of power utility bill.
aiyoh why kacau tnb periuk nasi kenot bill high
Smart meter is not that smart. TNB have recorded of supplied and billed energy usage for certain area. They just compare and look for mismatched. Thats why the TNB staff said have to cut. Probably have been for few months.
get free juice for his vehicle by acting dumb and ignorance….
Another downside of EV, people can always ‘steal’ or cheat on their electricity bill but you can’t cheat on internal combustion vehicles. Even if you don’t steal electricity, you can always hook up to a public electric point and gain free charging
Typical Malaysian tesla owners. Fcking idiots
Good explanation by the TNB technician. Please don’t steal anything, it’s a sin.
Looking at the Tenaga meter, it looks like the house has 3 phase wiring. So I can safely deduce that the house owner is part of the T20 category.
This is the common character amongst most of the T20 category. Steal where possible… get caught put the blame on others… remember bosuku?
it seems teslas are just here to cheat and steal
first cheats the govt with false promises of factory to get a free pass to sell here
next the owners cheat tnb..
it seems being a dirty cheat is an STD that muskymusk is passing thru the tesla seats
too much trust being put into this scamEV car company. the gullible t20 is obviously easy to get scammed too.
B40 spotted. Work harder bro else forever drive axia.
Big fat liar Tesla customer. Pretending not his fault. He never realised before and after fix that his bill showing no difference. Penipu
ha ha ha.. drive tesla impossible dunno.. probably he’s the one who allow technician to install that way.. now kantoi buat bodo je la.. ha ha ha
Hahaha…!!! Tesla car owner as “conning” as Tesla real owner A-hole Musk…!!!
Sambung sebelum meter ibarat menteri ambik gaji buta
This sohai Tesla owner obviously pretend dont know. Or else he will surely be fined or jailed or both.
Amateurs… I build a petrol station tapping from the riser pipe bypassing the platform…
Ini 3rd party installation ni.
Definitely not Tesla’s own technician.
TNB needs to be vigilant to protect their rice bowl.
Buat buat bodoh
Not the first and definitely not the last doing this sort of thing. Many more stealing electricity.
Tor soi ka
hahahaha. no need high education to understand this. is it become more rich become more dumb.??