The New 2006 Mercedes Benz S-Class

Mercedes Benz has updated the S-class with it’s latest incarnation, the 2006 model. This new model is longer and taller than the previous model, with updated engines. In US and Europe where it will be introduced in the first quarter of 2006, there will be S350 and S600 models. If it ever comes to Malaysia, I should expect an S280 model to be introduced. This country isn’t very road-tax friendly to large capacity engines.

The silhouette resembles the Mercedes Benz CLS and the Maybach. The wheel arches are really strong and defined, unlike the smooth flowing look of the previous W220 S-class.

Interesting safety features: brakes that are radar guided to brake if objects are detected in front of the vehicle even if the driver doesn’t, automatic tightening of seatbelts on sudden braking, and automatic closing of side windows when an impact seems imminent. Nifty stuff!

Very nice interior, although I do not like the design of the meter cluster area that much. Seems like 2 sets of clusters too close to each other. There is also no sign of handbrakes or a gear shift lever. I wonder if they’ve tried to implement the handbrake like the CLK coupe, where it’s foot-operated, or by pulling a lever like most Benz.

Previous Incarnations of the Mercedes Benz S-Class

The first S-class, the W140. Previously, Mercedes’s top of the range luxury model was the 300SEL.

The W220, what every businessman wants to be chauferred in. I think I was Form 3 or Form 4 when this was introduced. I thought it was serious drool material.

Although right now I could never remotely afford any of the cars in this class, I would take a BMW 7-series over this anyday. Especially the ACS7 facelift.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wingz on Jul 06, 2005 at 11:10 am

merc mia handbrake is located beneath the steering one ler hehe

• daniel on Jul 06, 2005 at 3:50 pm

hurmm… look and dream only car.. i can never afford that.. with the tax for foreign cars in malaysia, i can never can.. stupid proton.. all becos of protecting them that i can never afford one of these beauties.. heh.

• krizijau on Jul 06, 2005 at 6:03 pm

mmm.. merc CLS awarded one of the Ugliest Car of the year by AutoZine. You can see them here

• narrowband on Jul 06, 2005 at 6:16 pm

I saw the pics all over the internet few days ago. 2006 S-class: I think the rear wheel arches are abit odd-looking. Even the front wheel arches are quite big. The W220 remains as my fav S-class. It IS a serious drool material. I also saw Mazda 5 MPV from the same website – It's a ToyotaWish/HondaStream contender. Beautiful.

• karheng on Jul 06, 2005 at 8:43 pm

I love the new Merc S class. It looks really smart plus the rear is just all Maybachy.. It sure looks great! Two thumbs up.

• oh my god, the new s class. it is … l can say it… so forking ugly and american

l still like the current s class so elegant and cool. my plan is to buy the current model in 20 years time when its value becomes

• Tan Beng Hooi on Jul 09, 2005 at 5:48 pm

Interior dash and centre column, copying BMW?

Initially, Toyota is trying to copy Merc and now it is the other way round. The S-Class is trying to copy the Lexus LS430 now???? Well the old S-Class still have many assembly problems, lets see if this new model is free from problems?

• eckoric on Jul 26, 2005 at 11:54 pm

wah lau eh, so damn nice, need to buy one. Need to write a cheque effective 05……….

Thats going to be another 100 years before i can actually afford it

• has anybody any information on test shown on top gear on sunday night showing the distronic failure on the new s class

• RichGal (Member) on Apr 12, 2007 at 1:16 am

Guys,

face the fact. All mercedes benz models mostly are gorgeous and solid rock. As a luxury cars seller, i admit BMW wont be able to compare Merz at any time. I drove or seen all models of BMW, but the interior is so cheaply done and too squarish. but once u in the merz, u can see the difference that the finishing is so high standard and its a picture perfect of a prestigious & luxurious life. not to mention the sound system..merz sound system?pheww…fantastic man! its like having Bose sound system all around u! but sadly, bmw soundsystem is so not powerful.

most successful people, wud assume owning a Merc benz is like owning a trophy of their life, besides big houses and a pretty wife of course!