2 new biodiesel plants

Two new biodiesel plants will be set up in Malaysia, one a RM74 million ringgit plant in Sabah and the other costing RM24 million, through partnerships between a US firm and local companies.

The RM74 million ringgit plant to be built by IJM Biofuel Sdn Bhd is a 60:40 joint venture between IJM Plantations Bhd and CTI Biofuels Malaysia, a 95% owned subsidiary of US-based company Capital Technologies Incorporated. It will be built in Sandakan, Sabah. It is expected to produce 90,000 tonnes of biodiesel per annum by Q1 2007.

The other plant is to be built by Boustead CGI Biofuels Sdn Bhd, a 55:45 joint venture between local conglomerate Boustead Holdings Bhd and Capital Technologies Incorporated (same as above). The RM24 million plant is expected to produce 5 million gallons of biodiesel a year.

Apparently 1.5 million tonnes = 450 million gallons.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 11:00 pm

bio-diesel? 95% diesel + 5% palm oil? What’s the point? diesel = Died Cell?

Seriously, 5% content of bio is far too insignificant!!!

Please correct me if I am wrong on the ratio of diesel and bio content. Just like the NAP. Too little (maybe) to late.

• nissan130Y (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 12:31 am

wow, i wonder what benefit do we citizen get besides more job opportunity. maybe another alternative to run our cars?? cheaper and environmental friendly. anyway it should be a good news.

• Initial D (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 1:45 am

……………….but i seriously hope the biodiesel will be used by us instead of exporting most of the biodiesel overseas.

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 4:21 am

Not really just 2 plants…

i think more are to be built….

• rexis (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 4:41 pm

yup it is B5(5% biodiesel 95% petrodiesel), this is just a good start, you cannot jump to B100 immediately, as pure biodiesel might be more expensive then petroldiesel, and we might require to change some parts of fuel system for higher content of biodiesel.

Wow, does that mean we will have a higher change of getting a TDI compact car or sedan in Malaysia for a reasonable roadtax?

• wc5be (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 1:21 am

if use B5, no need to change parts for any existing diesel engine.dat's wat i heard, but im not sure bout d catalytic converter, coz emission composition is different, eventhou emissions are lower.

in d pipeline for next development is 10% palm oil, 90% diesel.

was hoping these biodiesel fuel would be market cheaper den normal diesel fuel. so let's wait n see….

• rexis (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 4:32 pm

I think it will at least make some economical sense to use B5, either lower the B5 price, or spike the diesel price again(tats their favourite).

Also wait and see if there any new policy for anyone using B5, like diesel roadtax etc.

• nummerzwei (Member) on Apr 09, 2006 at 1:11 pm

it is nice to hear that..actually there is no problem to jump to B100..here in germany people are getting enthusiasist to convert their diesel engine to biofuel engine..they even use the direct vegetable oil, bought from fast food restaurants… they filter the oil and with some DIY biofuel kit..they convert the diesel engine to biofuel engine one….. more in www.iznan.com/biofuel..do visit