Proton Savvy Sedan Photoshop

small_savvy_sedan.jpgIt is common these days for car makers to develop sedans out of hatchback bodies. You have the Honda City based on the Honda Jazz, the Nissan Tiida Sedan based on the Nissan Tiida hatch, and the previous generation Chevrolet Aveo sedan based on the Aveo hatchback.

It would make sense for Proton to develop an Iswara Replacement Model based on the Proton Savvy. Although the Savvy looks small, it’s 2,395mm wheelbase is actually longer than the current Proton Iswara’s 2,380mm wheelbase. So, have you ever wondered what a Proton Savvy sedan would look like? Theophilus Chin, a very talented graphics artist has the answer. Photos after the jump.

savvy_sedan_1.jpg

In the above photo, the Savvy’s wheelbase has been extended a little in order for the car not to have too stout of a look. The photo below however, the Savvy’s original wheelbase was retained. If this ever happens, it would definitely give the Dacia/Renault Logan a run for it’s money in the European market. In fact, the Renault Logan’s chassis is based on a Renault Clio, a supermini hatchback much like our Proton Savvy.

savvy_sedan_2.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aksMs (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 2:06 pm

Hey…not bad what…. Maybe Proton should look seriously into this. I wonder if Teo has made the rear look too!

• tbcheese (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 3:01 pm

haha teksi gila. I prefer the one with the longer wheelbase. The rear overhang of the short wheelbase one looks quite ugly.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 4:00 pm

looks very good ;) good photoshopping skills.

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 4:26 pm

Photoshop skills is there. But the design sucks.

Apply the skills to NEO or Gen2 instead.

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 4:51 pm

Well, I prefer short wheelbase though… longer wheelbase looks a bit strange… does Teo has the rear designed? how's it gonna look like? not a bad design at all… maybe Proton should really hv a look at this.. can save some costs for designing a new car right?

• hiuzi_eriena (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 4:52 pm

Good look, like mini waja. Why not make the roof flat,not slop at the back, give more space to the back passenger

• johanbey (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 5:05 pm

dont you think a savvy sedan will work better than the a gen2/neo based sedan as the platfrom is way much heavier and pronton dont have a 1.5 engine at the moment, a 1.3 campro on a sedan that size will definately be sluggish. either way, the consumer market will benefit, as proton will have to price it in myvi range to make it a rela contender to the mini sedan market, which people is willing to pay more for the likes of accent, vios and city. but lets not hope it will be price at the same of the currrent Iswara, as the savvy is all ready way over the 35k price tag.

then again can anybody really understand the decisions made by the proton product development team? so, lets not hold our breath for this except is hired by proton within the next 2 months.

• johanbey (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 5:08 pm

i meant: except "Mr Chin" is hired by proton within the next 2 months.

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 5:18 pm

hey, dont say suck la.. pls appreciate this man effort.. btw this is his imagination only.. not the real design from proton.. I am sure poton can design much better than this… at least Mr. Teo give our imagination working.. i respect you, teo….

• Whopper (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 5:26 pm

Wow, the Savvy Sedan looks kinda good. I like. Wished my Savvy has a full sized boot.

• malayman (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 5:39 pm

kancil sedan, anyone?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 5:49 pm

I still don't understand M'sians facination with Sedans. Small cars with a trunk is as pointless utility wise as a people carrier minivan with only 2 seats.

I could point out a bunch of small cars that look quite odd in sedan form (ie. City (based on Jazz), previous Echo sedan (based on Vitz), Aveo sedan, Liana Sedan just because they were designed at hatches first, then had a tail tagged on.

I personaly drive hatches because they are light,short, easy to manoever, and with the back seat folded down flat, plenty of utility. Tagging a tail to the back of a Hatch, nagates its most prevailing atributes.

Different tastes I s'pose

ps. a major failure of the Neo in my books is where the rear seat does not fold flat (has a 4 inch step height). A big mistake in the design of a proper hatch.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 5:53 pm

Hi all,

Thanks for the feedback. One man's meat is another man's poison. That applies to design as well. No one design can please everyone, that's what makes design interesting. My impressions are based on the rumours of Proton grafting (just) a boot to the Savvy to make it a Iswara replacement. As to why I didn't do a better design, well do you believe that Proton is a company that is willing to spend so much (more) to transform the Savvy into a sedan with new styling? Usless they do what they did with the Waja, using same platform with new body shell… the Gen2.

Personally I find the Savvy design appealing. It's one of those car that looks better after a longer observation. The Saga is also a good design. Don't forget, it was among the first model in the industry that featured colour coated AND wrap-around bumper when most others were like Sunny 130Y's "hanging" black bumpers.

• drM (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 6:04 pm

interesting. very interesting. wonder what engine should Proton put in, to move the sedan?

• monkeyking (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 6:32 pm

nice… better then MyVi Sedan Photoshop.

• jules (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 6:42 pm

The top pic is the nicest among all but in economic sense the bottom one would be the one built if Proton decides to built it. Good job!

• xg9 (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 7:40 pm

i wonder if proton design team gonna make the taillight upside down like in teo's pics or stick with the current design. if they stick with the currrent design, we're gonna have waja all over the place going in reverse :-S nice work teo!

ps: teo, make something out of gen2 and neo

• paradoxx (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 8:14 pm

reminds me of the '06 Lancer…

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 8:56 pm

Proton should consider redesign it's entire fleet of cars internally or externally. the whole model of proton's car still look outdated with budget internal finishing and much without human safety aspect. come on… if proton going to survive it's species, they have to think of a car 10 years to come and not yester years car design, technology and feature.

drive like lotus? come on… it's old story. proton should hire a better designer… even the current Satria Neo do not have much impact on it's look, feature and price.

• jzkzlz (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 9:01 pm

ya…

iswara should have replacement model already..

but personally i dont like the front & back of Savvy..

i think Mr. Chin could redesign it for proton…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 9:35 pm

the front should be retailen..looks good..bt hope the rear wil have some touch up..atleast a diff real lights…bt how to market this car n wat price…if its same as savvy thn whos gona buy the savvy,if its slightly more expensive thn its gona touch the gen 1.3 price range…i tink its hard to put a price on this without affecting the sales of the othrs…bt this move really makes sence…bt i personally dont this its gona looks so much like the savvy although on the same platform…im sure the design wil change…

• retrofuturism (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 9:43 pm

surprisingly from the side view it looks better than nissan tiida sedan. The taxi version kind of funky and cute (please note the 'Bas and restaurant')…personaly i would prefer the first version which has cuter look and cleaner lines at the passenger door panels.oh yea, it just an imagination…

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 9:45 pm

Nice job! Made me wanna go showroom to see it liao! Looks abit like Honda City…

• afor2 (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 9:56 pm

sumone should show the design to proton..btw, fine photoshop skill!! kudos!!

• sQew (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 9:57 pm

I would love to see the 4 doors sedan based on Neo car and 2 doors hatchback that will look like Putra from Gen2 platform

• whatsoever (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 10:44 pm

i don't think proton will come out such idea, they are too conservative. they are only "dare to change" on slogan only.

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 11:20 pm

It still looks ugly, but it's a feasible idea for if Proton does so, it can save a lot on development.

• szw (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 11:40 pm

i like da hatch better .

• jzkzlz (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 12:20 am

Anyway, i think proton should r&d on electric power from now..

Our fosil energy will finish in 20 years later..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 12:55 am

If really want to replace Iswara, please come out with a new idea, don't steal from Savvy, looks cheap and sounds even cheaper…….

• penguin (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 1:02 am

good job man…i think u should try for the satria NEO …

• gokibin (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 1:16 am

i've to say, the sedan look for savvy does look nice. i initially didn't like savvy becoz of its alang2 look n power. slowly but surely, i'm beginning to warm up to it, especially now wit the bodykit option. my fren drives one. i drove it a couple of times n it's ok. roomier than my kancil 850. but in terms of esthetics, i prefer myvi hands down. however, if a sedan looking like taht came out, maybe i'd rethink my stand.

kudos to theo for a great job. i'm a graphic designer myself but not up to ur level. kudos!

• weili (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 2:24 am

Congrat! he just produced a nice picture of a better look proton Savy.If Proton wanna survive in the automotive market they should improve the expertise and also r&d in their products. Most of the time they just produce something outdated and said its the latest in the technologies aspect.Look at SEAT ,Hyundai, thay had learned a lot from the big companies in the form of technologies and also done lots of R&D to improve their products ……

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 3:57 am

hhmm…better than current savvy…but….TTTTTTTTIIIIIIIDDDDDDDAAAAAAKKKKKKK!!!!!!!!!!!

• wmzhaffran (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 4:20 am

hmmm…. i think i like this car……….

waaaaaa………

• asimo (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 5:35 am

wow..very interesting Sir Teo..how about satria neo with 4 dours…maybe u can sell thi design..heheh

• asimo (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 5:36 am

good job ..cun juga

• Chapree Da Grande (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 7:18 am

Wow, this definately look better than Honda City, IMHO. At least, it doesn't look like a whale from certain angle.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 7:31 am

They have to change the front lights-make it more pointed to match the body, and remove that ugly rear light. Also, make like the first PS pic where the rear windows are having a continuous line with the front windows. I still don't think a sedan savvy is something worth while. Ruin the current looks of the savvy.

• optimus_prime (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 8:09 am

it doesnt look bad at all. but I dont think they can use the 1.2 engine or maintain the TUV rating for savvy. Plus it will be another vehicle that competes against protons own, gen2, waja, wira …. Drop waja, wira and create a neo sedan.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 8:27 am

try swapping the front to back. the back looks like the front anyway lol

• rosdi (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 6:44 pm

For the guy who said the photoshop design sucks… do it yourself la.. prove it so are terrer than him.. dont just cakap only.. little kid can also say anything they want. Post your design to Paul and see how good your talent is.

anyway.. I love the teksi gila… hahaha..

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 8:41 pm

Looks like the Chevy Optra IMHO.

• engtaokia (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 8:47 pm

wow…looks nice! i mean the photoshop skills! good job u did Mr.Chin!

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 10:28 pm

Sedan ok what.. why we need them??.. well, if u want to carry smelly stuff like durians, sedan is very useful.. smuggle stuff like sugar or rice oso can.. so those who likes hatchback so much fail to understand this….

btw, up to u la which is the best….

• engtaokia (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 11:46 pm

well man, i just spice up some hot upgrade for this savvy taxi….check out this link : http://www.trinivox.com/savvy_modded.jpg
    opps!!!i forget to add a spoiler!!!

• engtaokia (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 11:50 pm

im not so expert in photoshop compared to Mr.Chin, so dont blame me for this cacat photo, ok? :p

cheers!!!

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 7:14 am

not bad engtaokia… hehe…

• shaif (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 4:59 pm

I hope the Savvy sedan will be materialised at it can replace the ageing iswara. By incorporating the strong bodyshell, savvy sedan is much more worthy than iswara at an attractive price. Can't wait to see the real savvy sedan. For now, good job mr Teo for spice up the savvy.

• gokibin (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 7:59 pm

that's impressive engtaokia. maybe can star in that movie about the mod taxi wit queen latifah driving. he he he…

anyways, i hope p1 engineers n designers come out wit somthin as good-looking as neo. not that i'm a big fan of neo, but, the look is good. they're gettin somewhere wit it. hope it gets good reviews unlike the UK review for gen2. ha ha ha… kena slam one…

• neurra (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 12:34 am

nice!

i like the blue one on top.. longer wheelbase makes it look nicer.. and for sedan u just have to lose the side lines of the door.. or why not make the side line jump on the rear door instead..

would love to view the rear of the car thou..

overall, great work.. it'd be nice looking this car than the nearly-my-age iswara..

• synchro_k (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 8:32 pm

Neato!

I like the short wheel base, the pix under that Teksi GILA (yup, taking a taxi to KLIA will make you GILA a bit, hence the RM++ :P). It reminds me of that Daihatsu small sedan , errr.. the Ascend right? If it got somekind of a hi-tech engine or gadget or something in it, i bet this one can take out the City or any small Expensive Chevy… Proton u should hire this guy! Or at least 'sewa' this design from Mr Teo here :P

• motberg (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 1:56 am

Cool… Savvy wins an award already! :)
    http://www.autozine.org/Misc/Award/AutoZine/AutoZ…

• albert_gwm (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 7:37 pm

Is that really Iswara replacement?Good news!

• cikepong (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 12:03 pm

the front boot is look ugly.Proton like to design the front look "leper".I'm sudgest to proton please replace the old front glass with new supplier.All new car dont used the big glass like era 80-90an.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 10:44 pm

the back ….im not sure bout it, but great effort though!

• hamdanii (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 7:09 am

i thnk it wld be nice if they reall make it for proton saga replacement model. try it proton!

• fitri (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 6:44 pm

Nice one! But I don't think that it will attract malaysians to buy this car…But maybe there's a lot of enhacement need to be done so it will look better all rouded…But to Mr. Chin, don't u think it possible if u could facelift the savvy and turn it into MPV?…I think MPV has become favourable since there's a lot of mpv generations coming out (toyota wish, avanza, innova, naza citra, etc)

I love my savvy and how i wish i have bigger room and space!

• winsom on Feb 13, 2009 at 12:50 am

oklah proton savvy sedan utk small famliy.

• aiman on Sep 25, 2009 at 4:24 am

perodua now is better than proton…