UMW Toyota facing difficulties exporting Hiace

small_toyota_hiace.jpgThailand’s reluctance to reduce duties for incoming Malaysian cars to the AFTA CEPT tax rate of 5% is making it difficult for UMW Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd to export it’s locally assembled Toyota Hiace vans to Thailand. UMW Toyota has raised this issue with our Ministry of International Trade and Industry, in hopes that it will be settle soon between the two governments. For context, read the related blog posts.

Rafidah says we are entitled to 5% CEPT rates
Philippines joins Thailand and Indonesia in opposing Malaysian Non-Tariff Barriers
Thailand and Malaysia negotiation on tariffs
Thailand: “Malaysia non-compliant under AFTA”
UMW Toyota exports Toyota Hiace to Thailand

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 5:43 am

OH NO!!!>>

• AMG (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 6:59 am

what!?!?

• szw (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 7:02 am

assemble wrong car d

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 7:15 am

how on earth msia n thailand wil reach on a compromise…this tarrif tingy is soo complicated..nobody wants to give in..n so much at stake…

• asimo (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 9:34 am

uwekkkkkkkk

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 5:58 pm

Same old story!

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 6:06 pm

Isn't it amazing how humans always regard themselves most righteous at times?And,trying to find faults of other parties.Isn't it easier just to sit down and work details out?Philosophical note eh? No…But anyway…this is Bolehland…Taxland…,and the rakyat? Well,..we have to pay undeservely more for something that could be much much more cheaper….

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 6:18 pm

scrap the excise duty,abolish the ap,thailand will follow cept 5%.is that simple!we are asking people to open your door,i want to come in,but on the other end,close ours,if thailand,indonesia and philipines all say we are wrong,who dun have AFTA spirit,who not following the rules,? just keep the answer to ourselfs!!!

• domoteka (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 11:18 pm

Hah! Baru the greedy unscrupolous dirty UMW Toyota tau! Padan muka! They think they can cheat and fleece Thai people like they cheat and fleece us Bolehland people. Yah here they can cheat and fleece us with expensive stupid rebadged indonesian designed "Peordua Kembara Long Wheel Base" Avanza,

now padan muka, Thailand impose tariffs because our Mrs 30% Minister and her Close one Eye buddies impose tariffs on Thai made Toyotas and Hondas.

HA HA HA HA, next in line will be our stupid lousy protons…..

HA HA HA HA, eh in bolehland can lah tipu rakyat, in Thailand sorry la, jangan harap lah….in Thailand Toyota Fortuner 3.0L is only 1.1 Million Thai Baht, here, 2.7L more than 170K Malaysian Ringgits. So now padan muka UMW greedy faceless unscrupulous company!!!

• domoteka (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 11:19 pm

Akibat lah UMW uwekkkk!

• xg9 (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 2:10 am

awwwww! dont puke!! gross!!! uweeeekkkkkkk!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 5:11 am

Stupid NAP…and whoever who sat down making it.

• rexis (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 4:35 pm

We got people like domoteka and rafida, everything will remain messy.

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 5:34 pm

Well, can't blame Thais.. bcoz msia play a lot more dirty than thais.. thais oso got huge problem to export their CBU to msia bcoz of our stupid NAP, got kuota somemore… poor UMW toyota.. they r the victim.. msian people oso r victims… But didnt stop me buy a vios.. damn!!.. it's a good car compare to any of our national's models, lots of features!!.. without ED tax, the price is aroung gen2 1.3's… sigh..

ps: The Song Remain the Same… Led Zeppelin..

• ckengyo (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 5:54 pm

boleh people shave sawadi people heads, but now boleh people complained that sawadi people is going 2 shave their heads. isnt it strange.

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 9:00 pm

boleh people tak tahu malu… it isn't strange anymore..

add info

latest Business Freedom index.

1.Hong Kong

2.Singapore (our neighbour)

Malaysia??… No. 53!!!

quot from TV3 news..

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 12:16 am

its all menteri menteri fault, not rakyat…we should blame those ministers! nex time dun vote for BN :)

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 5:52 pm

engtaokia said,

September 18, 2006 @ 4:16 pm

its all menteri menteri fault, not rakyat…we should blame those ministers! nex time dun vote for BN

cant agree with you anymore, too much power given made them forget that need to serve the rakyat and rakyat will serve for the nation…all become crocs "pnly know to get rich fast"…I just want justice here…no more blue and white with scale…

• mschai (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 8:02 pm

I was thinking changing to a new car. After considering how much money G take away from me, I said forget it. I am sticking to my wira for years to come even I can afford better cars.

• domoteka (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 1:56 am

halo rexis, it seems you are the black sheep in here,don't like me and the others critisizing our Mrs 30%, Close one Eye ministers,the G and their cronies? Too bad eh, but arent you ashamed that proton and perodua selling cheaper overseas with better specs than the ones sold in bolehlahland? oh sorry i guess you must be one of those with a lot of favours from the G so i am goddamn sure you wouldn't be caught dead driving a proton!

About UMW Toyota, I also dont look up to them at all because they too take opportunities and advantage of we rakyat by cheating us with expensive toyota badged "Kembara Long Wheel Base" Perodua Avanza.

So let UMW Toyota taste the bitter "Excise Duty" and "Tarriff" pill given by the Thai government.

HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA

• domoteka (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 2:01 am

Dear Engtaokia and mycar_stolen

I cant agree with you guys more! lets give the opposition all our votes in the next election, then our present lawmakers will be fired and we will be be able to show them we rakyat are no more bolehlah people!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 7:55 am

This is our G talk cock……….

http://www.malaysia-today.net/Blog-n/2006/09/msia…

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 6:53 am

after selfrealization and deepthought,uncle did make a big mistake in last general election,give my precious one vote to present lawmaker,encumbering the whole nation citizens the rights of automotive fair priced!BIGGG KARMA! and I am SORRY!!!

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 9:30 pm

I have no symphaty for UMW. They hv the most backing from G after P1 and P2. Bolehland have been struck as TAK BOLEH by Thais. Ha ha ha..

• domoteka (Member) on Nov 20, 2006 at 7:51 pm

ha ha ha, baru greedy UMW tau, akibatnya tipu orang malaysia!!! now kena hentam by thais

ha ha ha