Rafidah says we are entitled to 5% CEPT rates

rafidah_left.jpgTrade Minister Datuk Seri Rafidah Aziz disagrees with Thailand’s decision to not give Malaysian imports the ASEAN Common Effective Preferential Tariff (CEPT) rate of 5%, instead keeping it at a higher 20% rate.

According to Rafidah, the interpretation of the ASEAN secretariat backed Malaysia’s position on the matter. As long as Malaysia lowers it’s own tax rates to 5% for countries that qualify for the CEPT rate, it should receive the same treatment and should not be linked to anything else. According to Rafidah, Thailand also has non-tarriff barriers in place for palm oil.

Though the amount of vehicles from Thailand going into Malaysia is much more than the other way around, companies like Toyota have decided to assemble certain models here for the region, like the Toyota Hiace van.

I wonder if Thailand is also unhappy with the fact that Toyota, which is something like a national car of sorts to them decided to build some Hiace vans in Malaysia and export them to Thailand instead of building them in Thailand.

Philippines joins Thailand and Indonesia in opposing Malaysian Non-Tariff Barriers
Thailand: Malaysia non-compliant under AFTA

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• harsher (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:28 am

thais no need vans la.. thais need pickup trucks…

• szw (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 2:28 am

NAP sux !

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 4:12 am

so what is rafidah's solution?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 4:59 am

Aiya , never mind lah Thailand give CEPT rate of 5% to Rafidah and slap her with ED of 120%.

• mr tong sam pah (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:17 am

can u believe how some people will twist and lie?

say that only charge thai car 5%, but keep queit about the EXCISE DUTY!!

AP my asss

Ayam Panggang adalah

later sell ayam panggang also rquire AP apa pun boleh

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:30 am

What an UNFAIR trade this is.

Other country never did us like that..we started to do this type of thing first and we'll expect they react to us like that too………..

Proton..what a big stigma,embarassment,disgrace to Malaysia……Fark u lah Proton…NAP…

• cyborgx (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 6:05 am

"As long as Malaysia lowers it’s own tax rates to 5% for countries that qualify for the CEPT rate, it should receive the same treatment and should not be linked to anything else"

bahaha.. Thai is not stupid la. OMG, now every countries in ASEAN laughing at us.Duhh.. Hari Merdeka kononnya. LOL!

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 6:10 am

Hahaha… Rafidah got her throat choked by Thai. Now jumping up n down.. But i think Thai actually can implement some duties instead of remaining CEPT 20%.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 6:43 am

OK lah since AP is illegal under WTO, ignore it. If introduce ED than Malaysia may accuse Thai "rebadge" NAP. So, Thai can implement and I suggest TY tax and quota – give very hot & spicy Tom Yam tax & quota – 150% tax but allow quota of 1,000 car or lower annually.

• mr tong sam pah (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 6:44 am

“As long as Malaysia lowers it’s own tax rates to 5% for countries that qualify for the CEPT rate, it should receive the same treatment and should not be linked to anything else”

thai people is not rakyat lah overweight AP girl…

the thai rakyat can bring down the PM thasin himself…

u r still in power only becoz u r in malaysia apa pun boleh bodek

• my accord was gone.. (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 6:59 am

yaya…

i agree all comment above!!!!

kanasai!!! see a

TOYOTA YARIS….

Toyota Yaris – RM41,000

+ import duty (RM2,050) = RM43,050

+ excise duty (RM32,287.50) = RM75,337.50

+ sales tax (RM7,533.75) = RM82,871.25

Toyota Yaris High-grade – RM42,500

+ import duty (RM2,125) = RM44,625

+ excise duty (RM33,468.75) = RM78,093.75

+ sales tax (RM7,809.38) = RM85,903.13

SEE HOW THAT AP OR EXCISE DUTY BURN YOUR POCKET!!!!!

TOO HELP PROTON WILL CAUSE WHO UNABLE IMPROVE AND NOT ABILITY ALWAYS!!!!

• DAN (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 7:55 am

talk cock only. is clavier do business n bring easy money from other place if Rafidah know how to do to Malaysia.

dont think easy money from rakyat n miss used it n come a reason that not equal to rakyat Malaysians.

tactic that teach there own self at the end!.

what there say for rakyat every thing boleh but not for other people country boleh s simply there talk!.

• PGlang (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 3:41 pm

Talk, talk, talk… Asean free trade by 2015 is all bull shit! All lies!

• raverus (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:32 pm

You guys talk only but no action, you guys also strong support those who approve all this BS and suck up our money to feed fat crocodiles. It is time to think for yourself, don't talk but do or should i say vote.

• oranglulu (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:33 pm

human being are natural oscar actor,knowing the fact that we are the cause of thailand action,still can publicly accuse others of unjust,can cheat those kampung folks lah,yes,afta means you 5 %, i too 5 %,but you impose excise duty xx%,restriting no of vehicles from thailand to 20,000 units,and all thais imports need AP..siapa ta ikut peraturan,siapa ta marah? ask youself another question,why indonesia and filiphines too against us,you means they PAKAT?or we are oredi wrong in the 1st place.dia ta malu,gua malu oh!

• KingKong (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:34 pm

raverus.. well said!!!!

• kvinlim (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:42 pm

The idea of having a national car is not a totally bad idea. There are success cases in other countries to reduce imports and minimise the outflow of our currency.

The main mistake we made is engage people with no business mind or even technical competance to run the company. Unlike any businesses, car industry is extremely complex, risky, and involve huge capital. It is not a platform to bread entreprenuers, to show how proud u r to have this industry. Be realistic, the world players, and market won't wait for you. Either you suceed or out of the industry. Prolong this would truely hurt our resources; deprive our rights for cheaper and better necessity (car). Your result in other big industries such as telecommunication; or airline also proven how badly it is run. Stop BS yourself, give these to professional with proven records, and not select by race. Mixed them instead with the good one so that they could learn from each other. Put all with the same standard, could only get worse.

Wake up our policy makers, the longer your make the wrong policies, the longer M'sian have to suffer for it. From the future out look, Malaysia are going to be the sickman of Asean, if we continue to discreminate; neglact our talented man power; and day dreaming….

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 6:22 pm

yes we need to do something to c;ear this "power abuse" in car pricing.I dont want my kids and the people kids suffer in future…we already suffer enough…

I will "Merdeka" is only true democracy implement here….no proton..no whole life HP.so sad la….

declacred merdeka 48 years ago..but later occupied by local crocs..we need to change

• szw (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 9:55 pm

fookeatmin1989 pls mind ur language

n dis thing has nth to do wif proton

if there is , is dat rafidah fella takin proton as excuse oni

• jawa5281 (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 10:13 pm

excuse me, szw.

If this whole thing has got nothing to do with p1, would you share your thoughts on the matter?

• rexis (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 10:42 pm

You say entitled but people dont give you ahh, you blow ah? We rakyat no choice but they have choices.

• quest (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 10:58 pm

It is a big part because the government is trying to protect P1. Somewhere in between, many people made a lot of money too, that we cannot deny.

So who's paying for it? You and me. If Proton did not exist, we'd be driving Civics at 60k and we'd complain it's expensive. All the taxes in between makes the price of car as expensive as a moderate condo porperty in KL. All this… is because of P1

• goingberserk (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:48 pm

Dear Rafiassdah ! . Please go to eat urself ! lah . Talk rubbish !

• goingberserk (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 12:48 am

Next coming election. I will know wht to do ! .

• volvolover (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 5:52 am

uncle paul tan: Why is it proton column cannot post comments one?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 7:10 am

Yalah, Paul Proton column cannot post comment, just stop at 32

• Paul Tan on Aug 24, 2006 at 7:29 am

All of you were going way too off topic, I'm getting a headache from filtering everything. If I open up the comments again, are you going to comment responsibly?

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 7:53 am

everytime i see this woman she seems to be screaming…."shoot me"

rafidah should quit talking rubbish and dont look so silly.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 8:15 am

Paul, O O oh ……….. that the reason behind it. Than me can "put down my heart" lol, very reasonable. I though/suspect you stop it because got something like warning/request/demand from G/P1 to do so?

So this measure is to "discipline old man like me – go to mamak store drink a cup of teh tarik but ranting non stop for 3 hour". So your eye ball also not spinning anymore!

OK lah, in order to ensure this column also not face the same fate. Then back to topic, G have to adapt and make necessary changes in the spirit of AFTA to face the international trades environment that embrace open market. Crappy NAP protective market won't work anymore! No point of take care of one tree but lost one jungle!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 8:18 am

OK, OK the jargon is KISS – Keep It Short and Simple. Focus on Topic!

• volvolover (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 7:57 pm

uncle paul, we want to post mah at proton, we still can anti proton right? But what you mean responsibble?

• KelvC (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 9:06 pm

K.i.S.S….OK, Got it!

To begin with, the allocations for the 9MP has been budgeted therefore if they were to remove the ED where will the additional monies coming from? If the ED is removed only to be replaced by 50% income taxes from 20plus% then where do we stand? The other factor that has been ignored here is the GST that will be implemented too. So if removed ED but increase income tax with GST to be on par with the rest of the developed countries, ok? Oh, let’s not forget the petrol subsidies too (another factor). Thought provoking indeed.

In all fairness, the ED is definitely not in the spirit of AFTA and long term trading relationship will only be severely affected hence jeopardizing the Malaysia's status as a major trading nation. As the signatory of AFTA, as a long time ASEAN member and big bro to the region, Malaysia got to walk the talk. If ED removal is what everyone needs (not want) then it is time to live and breathe the effects too.

Remember the bottom line…there are Causes and Effects to consider.

So YAB* Paul, is this what you would consider as constructive criticism?

*Yang Amat Blogging

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 9:31 pm

Paul, u can remove Datuk Rafidah pic?.. I feel sick oredi.. marilah Thai, just implement 120% ED tax on msian cars.. go to hell la with CEPT… no meaning…

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 12:49 am

yea im sick of it too. but leave it there. it emphasizes how some people high up are actually stupid rather than just looking stupid.

msia is not big bro to region anymore. been eclipsed by singapore and thailand. but at least msia still has the talent. just that the talented ones are very surpressed.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:36 am

motorhead said, "Paul, u can remove Datuk Rafidah pic?.. I feel sick oredi.."

So I strongly 200% support the above. To remove means have to replace, I suggest put in China doll so more relax ……..

KelvC said, "To begin with, the allocations for the 9MP has been budgeted therefore if they were to remove the ED where will the additional monies coming from? If the ED is removed only to be replaced by 50% income taxes from 20plus% then where do we stand?"

Can imposed 50% tax, but this is where we should stand:-

1. All cars subject to AFTA tax only and under free market.

2. G build highway without toll, just like UK, tol at 2 places only, if not mistaken at undersea tunnel at Liverpool and Severn Bridge at Scotland!

3. G implement welfare state, jobless also have financial assistant.

4. Free and community base healthcare system.

5. Petrol price fluctuate based on prevailing market rates.

6. Implement policy to compel supermarket or hypermarket employ retirees, especially woman as casher so that the younger people divert to employ at more productive economy sector.

7. Policy of meritocracy to encourage R & D and attract the best brain.

8. Introduce and implement economical viable projects that creat future wealth to nation. Not like P1 create liability to future generation.

9. Implement best education system, where R & D, innovation, intelectual thinking thrive.

10. The above list is not exhaustive but there are more to do! Kill P1 and crocodile first!

• domoteka (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 6:04 pm

All Hail Mrs 30% Minister!!! AP is her rice bucket, ED is her lauk pauk, how can you ask G (means her,Close One Eye Mps etc etc etc) to abolish AP,ED bla bla bla? It is the duty of every able and submissive Bolehland people to buy expensive but cheap quality, nasty,lousy cars manufactured in a jungle clearing so that Bolehland lawmakers like her and Close One Eye Mps can suck our blood and buy SLKs,BMs, Jags……

So in the spirit of Bolehland,we shall commit to buy inferior,lousy,nasty,expensive but cheap quality protons. Then scrap our cars after 10 years to get a rebate of 5K to buy another inferior old lousy nasty expensive proton,thus keep Mrs 30% and her Close One Eye Mp buddies rich always.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 10:37 pm

Yeah domoteka!!! next GE we all ajar them cukup2… merdeka is coming, but nobody put flags on their cars.. we all angry… I am not feeling merdeka, we ve become slaves to cut throat gov….